We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Moorhill House Hotel

Traveller (223)
360
Panoramas (16)
Room & Suite (180)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Nestled in the woods, the Moorhill House Hotel is affectionately known as the Village Hideaway Hotel in the New Forest. Just minutes from the village of Burley, our tranquil retreat is perfect for overnight stays, weekend getaways, relaxing breaks and wedding celebrations, as well as corporate events and meetings. Family-friendly includes the whole family, so you can bring your pet pooch too. Comfortable rooms combined with great amenities, plus our warm hospitality, ensures a relaxing stay. Ideal for family breaks, romantic weekends and business overnighters. Enjoy our idyllic New Forest setting, complete with roaming ponies and deer, as well as great hotel facilities, including a heated indoor swimming pool.
Read more
Property amenities
Pool
Free parking
Restaurant
Room service
Free Internet
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Banquet Room
Heated pool
Indoor pool
Laundry Service
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Wheelchair access
Show more
Room features
Family Rooms
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
HOTEL CLASS
852Reviews
516Photos
11Q+A
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 335
  • 284
  • 125
  • 68
  • 40
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Great dog friendly hotel, in the New Forest, and not too far from coastal walks at Christchurch. Friendly staff, lovely rooms and a great breakfast. Will be very happy to stay again, having also stayed last year.
Read more
Response from MoorhillGM, General Manager at Moorhill House Hotel
Responded 3 days ago
Dear 458mikej Many thanks for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. We do pride ourselves on being perfectly placed in the Forest and welcome dogs with as much enthusiasm as we welcome our two legged guests. We will make sure that the entire team are aware of your comments and look forward to welcoming you back to the beautiful New Forest. Kind regards
Read more
We booked this hotel as we wanted a hotel with a pool that was also dog friendly. We arrived checked in only to be told that pool was out of bounds till the morning. A bit disappointed we went up to our room. No bed was made up for my daughter, the room was cold. I rang
Read more
Response from MoorhillGM, General Manager at Moorhill House Hotel
Responded 3 days ago
Dear Georgieboy73 Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay at Moorhill House Hotel. We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay here. Unfortunately our pool developed a leak on Friday 15th with our maintenance team being on site within an hour to repair it. It was found that a new pump was also required and it was immediately ordered but was unable to be delivered until Monday 18th March. We could not open the pool during this period for the safety of our guests, which is paramount. Our pool was repaired on Monday and is fully open again. We do apologise for your bedroom being cold and the bed not being made up for your daughter. Our head housekeeper checks each room's specific requirements but it appears that on the day of your stay this had not been done which is regrettable, I understand that a member of our team did sort out these issues promptly. We have had no reports of televisions not working and following your review I have personally checked each television in the hotel and all are working. As I am unsure what room you stayed in, it is difficult for me to comment on the shower head. We have a maintenance team on hand to deal with faults such as this and I cannot see that this was reported. We will however, check all the rooms showers to try to find which one was loose. I will pass your comments along to our head chef concerning the breakfast buffet. We value all feedback from our guests and thank you for bringing these points to our attention so that we can continue to develop the best guest experience possible. We do hope you return to Moorhill when I am sure that the issues that you have raised in your review will have been rectified and you can enjoy your stay fully with us in the beautiful New Forest. Kind regards
Read more
To the management of this hotel. We visited Friday 15th onwards as a family for my wife’s 60 th birthday. We had fun but it could have been ruined by the fact you are running a poor hotel manned by a few overworked staff. Thank you to them.the emails back and forth getting the
Read more
Response from MoorhillGM, General Manager at Moorhill House Hotel
Responded 3 days ago
Dear Lance F Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay at Moorhill House Hotel. We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay here. We do apologise for the cots not being set up for your arrival. Our head housekeeper checks each room's specific requirements but it appears that on the day of your stay this had not been done which is regrettable. I understand that two members of our team did sort out this issue while you were bringing your bags up. Unfortunately our pool developed a leak on Friday 15th with our maintenance team being on site within an hour to repair it. It was found that a new pump was also required and it was immediately ordered but was unable to be delivered until Monday 18th March. We could not open the pool during this period for the safety of our guests, which is paramount. Our pool was repaired on Monday and is fully open again. We are aware that the heater in room 29 was reported to our maintenance team who were on site but unfortunately the thermostat was broken and a new one had to be ordered. I cannot see that any other heating issues were reported though. We are in the process of redecorating all our rooms and expect room 29 to be completed in the next few weeks. We value all feedback from our guests and thank you for bringing these points to our attention so that we can continue to develop the best guest experience possible. We do hope you return to Moorhill when I am sure that the issues that you have raised in your review will have been rectified and you can enjoy your stay fully with us in the beautiful New Forest. Kind regards
Read more
I visited the Moorhill House Hotel earlier this week with three girlfriends for afternoon tea. We booked a table online and duly arrived. We had a warm welcome and the table had been set up in the Lounge. A lovely aspect overlooking the lawn. We were immediately brought two
Read more
Response from MoorhillGM, General Manager at Moorhill House Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Helski Many thanks for taking the time to write a review following your recent visit to Moorhill House Hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed your tea and will pass your comments concerning the food along to our head chef. It will be a please to welcome you back here in the future. Kind regards
Read more
Just returned from a 3 night bed and breakfast stay at The Moorhill House. Our Agister room was cosy and comfortable over reception door but very quiet at all times. All staff were welcoming and friendly and keen to help. Breakfast was lovely each day (buffet style on
Read more
Response from MoorhillGM, General Manager at Moorhill House Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear DollyB1606 Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay at Moorhill House Hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and will make sure that my team are aware of your comments. We would love to welcome you back to Moorhill should you decide to stay in this area again. Kind regards
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & BeachBusiness Centre & Event RoomsFamily and Play Areas
Photo provided by managementMoorhill House Hotel
Guest room
Photo provided by managementMoorhill House Hotel
Guest room
Photo provided by managementMoorhill House Hotel
Guest room
Photo provided by managementMoorhill House Hotel
Guest room
Photo provided by managementMoorhill House Hotel
Guest room
PreviousNext
12345636
the Garden and White frames wooden Gazebo would make a wonderful setting for a Wedding. Garden is secluded and sublime in the sun Staff are v hospitable and food was very good I'm sure if you booed the hotel you would be well looked after and have a fantastic day.... Good Luck :-)
0 votes
Show all answers
Is there a set checking in time?
There is but we arrived early and asked if we could park the car and go into town, they let us have the room. Amazing place
1 vote
Show all answers
Hi there,is there a limit on size of dog? 😁
No. We have seen everything from Chihuahua to a lurcher via Scottie and sheepdog and including many a mutt.. All are made welcome with waterbowls, towels after walks and a few dog treats have been seen! Only assistance dogs allowed in the restaurant.
2 votes
Show all answers
Do rooms have tea making facilities
All the rooms I have stayed in have a kettle and a small supply of sachets for tea, coffee, hot chocolate, plus milk and biscuits - replenished each day
1 vote
Show all answers
Can dogs go in the pool?
Sorry but no
0 votes
Show all answers
PreviousNext
123
"choose your room ascertain exactly where it's located"
"Not all rooms have garden views, so ensure you ask for one when booking."
"We have had several rooms and they all seem to be quiet."
"Some of the Attic rooms were small with sloping ceiling, not all have a shower and quite a few stairs to get to them."
"Always ask for a quiet room."
PreviousNext
12345620
PRICE RANGE
US$93 - US$170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
moorhill hotel ringwoodthe moorhill hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandNew ForestRingwoodBurley
NUMBER OF ROOMS
31
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing