We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Woodlands Lodge Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Woodlands Lodge Hotel
Woodlands Lodge Hotel
Panoramas (10)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

513 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 507: English reviews
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I booked this hotel in order to celebrate my 70th birthday with friends earlier this week. Overall the hotel was very pleasant, lovely location and rooms and very friendly staff. Unfortunately we encountered several problems during our stay. Our dinner the first night was very disappointing, the starters and desserts were beautifully presented but the main courses were not great....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jan A
Imogene A, Owner at Woodlands Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jan A, it was disheartening to read your review, as we had made every effort to ensure you had a pleasant stay and Gina and Charlotte went above and beyond to help you achieve this. We are a very obliging hotel, as proved by creating you a bespoke menu for you on your birthday. The kitchen team are bedding...

Horsham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We spent our Christmas break here and liked it very much, the staff are very friendly and helpful, the food was good and they do a lovely breakfast, we had a family suite which was quite spacious but unfortunately on the first night someone switched our heating off but that was rectified, certainly would stay there again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nebcop
Beaminster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a very poor quality meal at Woodlands Lodge Hotel. The service was good and friendly, but the food was pretty unpleasant, especially the carrots. I'd be really interested to hear of any improvements planned.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JuliaHailes
Imogene A, Owner at Woodlands Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

We are very sorry to learn that you had a disappointing meal with us. We would have liked an opportunity to discuss your meal with you especially the carrots. Please feel free to e mail us directly to tell us what was wrong with them specifically so we can make improvements. We have passed your review to the kitchen team...

swanage
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Hotel location is good. Reception desk person very off hand. Found out later could have been the owner. Bedroom was ok size wise but bed not at all comfortable room was a bit dated. Floor in shower unit was quite slippery with not means of support. Noise from corridor with plenty of creaking floor boards. Breakfast was excellent but for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cymru1908
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

A lovely pet friendly family run hotel in a good location for visiting the forest. Lovely rooms and excellent food... Mr Breezy, our border collie, particularly liked his welcoming biscuit and special bed provided by the hotel!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ChequeredJustice
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 December 2016 via mobile

Spent 2 nights in this hotel, the staff esp Steve were excellent, the location allows easy access to Southampton ( we went to the Christmas market) and local attractions such as the motor museum and the NT property at mottisfont. The real bonus is the ability just to walk across the back lawn and straight onto the forest, the people...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank missjar
Hambledon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 December 2016

The room for our meeting had a lovely view out onto the gardens and we (eventually) managed to get it up to temperature after arriving to find it very cold. Unfortunately the lunch that followed was of a very poor standard. We were the only ones in the dining room for lunch so perhaps the regular chef had some time...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janetyjanet
Imogene A, Owner at Woodlands Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Janety Janet, It is so disappointing to read this review as we try very hard to please our guests. I really wish that you had told us that you were unhappy with lunch, especially at the point that you were asked if everything was ok. I have spoken to the waitress and she advised you said everything was fine....

Weymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 December 2016

It was never intended that I should end up here - the first choice of the booker was the Cloud which, apparently, was fully booked. In retrospect this was a fortunate event. This property is in good repair and well furnished in the bar and public areas. The restaurant sprawls out in to a conservatory thus there is plenty of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roger W
Devon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 December 2016

Small family run hotel in there's forest. It was our second visit and the staff were again very warm and welcoming and more than helpful and accommodating. Varied breakfast menu so lots of choice, gluten free bread also available. Lovely suite of surpringly dog friends rooms. Unfortunately the weather was wet but there were umbrellas and welli boots by the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank scox578
Horsham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 December 2016

Must firstly point out that this review pertains only to the lunchtime dining experience, as we did not stay overnight. We were warmly welcomed, and made for the bar, which is somewhat cramped and uncomfortably furnished. As we had a dog, we ate in the conservatory, which is spacious and overlooks the garden. The festive background music was loud enough...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank apatish3
Imogene A, Owner at Woodlands Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Apatish thank you for taking the time to review, although we are disappointed that you did not fully enjoy your lunch. I am pleased that you thought the team were friendly and helpful And that you were able to enjoy our fabulous surroundings. We are sorry that you did not find the fish cooked to your taste, although it...

365 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (107)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (41)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (30)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (229)
Viewed
Amenities (2)
Viewed
Deluxe Double Room (28)
Viewed
Family Suite (41)
Viewed
Four Poster Double Room (35)
Viewed
Dining (33)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (27)
Viewed
The Hotel (63)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodlands
5.8 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
948 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
2.7 mi away
Lime Wood Hotel
Lime Wood Hotel
#2 of 8 in Lyndhurst
1,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
241 reviews
7.1 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Beaulieu
1,067 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Beaulieu Hotel
The Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 3 in Beaulieu
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Woodlands Lodge Hotel is a charming Country House hotel well away from main roads set in three acres that open directly onto Hampshire's New Forest. The perfect base to relax, walk or enjoy the local New Forest attractions. Woodlands Lodge Hotel can also host, conferences, weddings and special events. We have The Hunters Restaurant on site which is open to non-residents and has been awarded an AA rosette for culinary excellence. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Woodlands Lodge Hotel

Address: Bartley Road, Woodlands, New Forest SO40 7GN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Woodlands
Price Range: £62 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Woodlands Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Woodlands Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlands Hotel Woodlands
Woodlands Hotel Southampton
Woodlands Lodge Hotel New Forest
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Woodlands Lodge Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Woodlands Lodge Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Check the room before settling in”
 of 5 bubbles cymru1908, 20 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Room 17 is a ground floor suite of rooms, that includes a sitting room, conservatory and small garden. It is also dog friendly.”
 of 5 bubbles scox578, 11 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Room 1 has a great view of the garden. No one above around you so its relatively quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles Clarker63, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms overlooking the garden are apparently better.”
 of 5 bubbles chriscH4161DY, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We only saw our room but there are rooms on two floors - ours was a lovely large luxurious room with en suite.”
 of 5 bubbles 931lynl, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay