We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Howfield Manor Hotel

Howfield Manor Howfield Lane, Chartham, Canterbury CT4 7HQ England
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (226)
Room & Suite (29)
Dining (27)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#1 of 1 hotels in Chartham
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Country House Hotel in superb setting.Easy access to Canterbury
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Bicycles available
Table tennis
Books, DVDs, music for children
Taxi service
Banquet room
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Board games / puzzles
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared lounge / TV area
24-hour front desk
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Bottled water
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, Russian, Lithuanian, Romanian
578Reviews6Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 322
  • 164
  • 60
  • 17
  • 15
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
jimN263EL wrote a review Yesterday
Hampshire, United Kingdom193 contributions52 helpful votes
I stayed in room 8 which is a lovely small suite with a sitting rooms and ressing room as well as the usual bedroom and bathroom. Dinner was wild boar pate, roast beef and a chocolate and black cherry pudding. This was all very good, although the beef could have been better quality. Although a sirloin it had too much gristle. Still a very good meal with a Rioja served at the correct temperature. The glasses and cutlery could be improved to make more impact and the lighting lower to feel more atmospheric. There is a very nice well feature in the restaurant. Service was friendly. The bed was futon style but I had a good night's sleep. The bath is a large jacuzzi with coloured LED lighting, which was entertaining, and the water pressure in the shower was good. The wifi is not strong enough. Breakfast was freshly prepared by a friendly chef who came out for a chat and checked that all was well later. Excellent butcher's sausage, a crisp hash brown and the bacon rind had been cooked until crispy without drying out the rasher. This was a very well prepared breakfast, one of the best that I have had in a while. I would definitely come back to this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Reed wrote a review 16 Feb
16 contributions14 helpful votes
We often stay here when visiting Canterbury it is well priced,friendly, comfortable and provides a good breakfast. Lovely historic building with well appointed rooms for the price. Would recommend for a couple of nights stay in this area.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
NERE wrote a review 3 Feb
4 contributions2 helpful votes
This was our 3rd stay here and all 3 stays have been extremely good. All staff were polite, attentive and very helpful. We have stayed at different hotels in and around Canterbury and the food here far exceeds other meals that we've had at these other hotels. It is close to lots of attractions, we would not hesitate to stay here again and would recommend a stay here.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Brian S wrote a review 3 Feb
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg4 contributions1 helpful vote
This is a seriously old property and there is evidence of the owners' struggle with that as well as charm. For example, drafts and cold, ill fitting doors, LED electric fires rather than real ones in large cold spaces, but a magnificent enclosed well made a feature of in the restaurant and enough of a garden to be able to take the air and walk a bit. While I was there there seemed to be very little passing trade or local custom for the restaurant and this shows up in the offer from the kitchen. At the price charged though, it was good, the food more than decent, with some surprises - an excellent local cheeseboard for example - and the staff were very friendly. Coverage at breakfast was rather patchy - I had the impression of the one staff member on duty multi tasking - so you need to be able to go and find someone but once you do all is well. I will return.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Shelley S wrote a review Dec 2023
Canterbury, United Kingdom148 contributions86 helpful votes
Good location close to Canterbury. Rooms are okay. Seems to be a wedding/hens' party destination with lots of noisy guests well past midnight. Food is very average and service variable: some are attentive, others disinterested.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Anthony N wrote a review Nov 2023
Oxford, United Kingdom4 contributions1 helpful vote
An excellent location for visiting this part of Kent. The hotel is well located off the Ashford Road. The rooms are spacious and very comfortable. The food especially the breakfast is all freshly cooked. The staff were excellent as was the service.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
kejules wrote a review Nov 2023
Northampton, United Kingdom8 contributions2 helpful votes
Clean decent size rooms . Well equipped and professional helpful staff . Superb breakfast . Highly recommended. Peaceful and calm environment and only 10 min into Canterbury on park and ride . Best of both worlds .
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Philip F wrote a review Nov 2023
Sydney, Australia8 contributions1 helpful vote
We rang twice to make a reservation and neither call was returned. disappointing for our family. We were going to have a celebratory lunch for a 70th birthday and were forced to go elsewhere. We won't be trying again.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Patricia wrote a review Nov 2023
5 contributions8 helpful votes
Awlful food! I had one of the worst meals I have ever had in the Restaurant at the Hotel. Frozen, deep fried cheap ingredients. I messaged the Manager as he was not around to talk to me in the evening or the morning as I was staying at the hotel. His response was a generic one! I am sure he just flings it out to the many customers that no doubt complain. He wasn't interested. Do NOT eat there
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Paul Sharma, Owner at Howfield Manor Hotel
Responded 16 Nov 2023
Good evening Thank you for your review, we have been expecting this to be submitted after your recent email saying a bad review was on its way. In your email you mentioned that you felt we should be offering you something to ensure a review wasn't submitted, something we felt questionable. Having investigated it would appear that your dissatisfaction with the food you ordered, cold vegetables, was not shared at the time but on the following morning at check out. As you will appreciate this does not allow for any rectifying options to be provided, we could and of course would have replaced the vegetables you thought cold on request. In respect of our food suppliers, yes like any food business we do have a frozen food supplier, a local Kent based one, KFF, who pride themselves in sourcing local produce, we purchase certain products from them for both the variety and quality on offer, we don't however purchase frozen vegetables from them. Our vegetable supplier Harwoods are also Kent based, not the cheapest but again the quality is assured. Our other suppliers are also all local, our butcher from Canterbury, our fish arrives in Rye, even our cleaning products are supplied by a local Canterbury company. We offer well cooked and presented local produce, we take pride in our dishes and the service we give, we can however only rectify errors when we are told at the time, otherwise it becomes difficult. I appreciate that you also felt we did not respond in a way that would satisfy you, I am unsure what we could offer other than perhaps some compensation. This may have been considered at the time but unfortunately it is much harder after the event and not possible in exchange for not writing a review We are always open to receiving reviews, good or bad, as they offer the opportunity to either praise the hard work of the staff at the hotel or give honest feedback to allow for improvements With your review in mind we have reminded the front of house that it is important to check back with diners, and discussed with the chefs the expectation of temperature appropriate dishes Once again thank you for taking the time to review is, and I am sorry we did not achieve the high standards we expect in this instance
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Tine1971 wrote a review Oct 2023
Bournemouth, United Kingdom50 contributions79 helpful votes
This was our third stay with Howfield Manor Hotel. The food and staff are amazing. All the staff went over and above , ww discovered our car tyre was flat, staff assisted without even being asked. Sadly after a particularly heavy rainfall we had water leaking into our bathroom, the staff moved us to what can only be described as an appartment at no extra cost The manager has a great sense of humour and is so helpful. The receptionists were all so welcoming and the hotel is spotless. One very small negative is that the mattresses were very soft and not the comfiest however also appreciate its a personal.choice. Sorry I don't know all the names for staff however thank you for making our stay so relaxed. We hope to return for a 4th time!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Chartham area.
PRICE RANGE
£75 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandKentCanterburyChartham
NUMBER OF ROOMS
15
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOWFIELD MANOR HOTEL - Updated 2024 Reviews (Canterbury)

Frequently Asked Questions about Howfield Manor Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Howfield Manor Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Escape In The Towers (2.2 miles), Walrus & Oyster Emporium (2.3 miles), and Escape Kent (1.8 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Howfield Manor Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Howfield Manor Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Howfield Manor Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Howfield Manor Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Mr Falafel Canterbury, Notorious BRG Canterbury, and The Monument.
Does Howfield Manor Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and a banquet room during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Howfield Manor Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, Russian, Romanian, and Lithuanian.
Are there any historical sites close to Howfield Manor Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Chilham Village (3.4 miles), Eastbridge Hospital (2.2 miles), and St. Augustine's Abbey (2.5 miles).
Is Howfield Manor Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.