Margaritaville Island Reserve Cap Cana Hammock
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Margaritaville Island Reserve Cap Cana Hammock

Boulevard Zona Hotelera, Playa Juanillo Cap Cana, Cap Cana, Punta Cana 23000 Dominican Republic
swim up suites - quite nice
Traveller (4053)
Overview Pool
Pool & Beach (203)
MG HDR Editar
Room & Suite (182)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#1 of 2 special resorts in Cap Cana
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Languages Spoken
Spanish
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Snorkelling
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Valet parking
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Pool with view
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Private pool
Yoga classes
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Personal trainer
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Happy hour
Kid-friendly buffet
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Rooftop bar
Tennis court
Water sport equipment rentals
Aerobics
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Karaoke
Patio
Table tennis
Nightclub / DJ
Kids club
Kids pool
Airport transportation
Car hire
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Body wrap
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Light therapy
Makeup services
Manicure
Massage
Pedicure
Salon
Steam room
Waxing services
Rooftop terrace
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shops
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
Butler service
First aid kit
Infirmary
Umbrella
24-hour front desk
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Private beach
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Extra long beds
Walk-in shower
Additional bathroom
Dining area
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Sofa bed
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
Pool view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms

Location

Boulevard Zona Hotelera, Playa Juanillo Cap Cana, Cap Cana, Punta Cana 23000 Dominican Republic
Getting there
Car recommended
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 49 out of 100
49
Punta Cana Airport
La Romana Airport
32.9 mi
See all flights
2,294Reviews131Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 1,866
  • 240
  • 94
  • 41
  • 54
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Raul Q wrote a review Feb 2023
Erie, Pennsylvania
+1
Property's Favourite Review
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Our stay: 5 nights in late January 2023
Room: Junior swim up suite

Pro summary:
—less than 15min ride from airport in upscale secure gated area
—Awesome spotless room with both a pool and an ocean view.
—great hot water and AC, no dampness or mildew smell like other Bavaro resorts
—A la carte restaurants were very good
—No weird steaks or burgers. All were delicious like at home
—Quiet beach with cabana beds, no need to reserve
—Always an open spot in a pool
—no keycards or towel cards to carry around
—everything is new and top of the line
—all restaurants are as casual as you wanna be. never took long pants out of my suitcase

Con summary:
—Vacation club membership sales pitch (ours lasted 75 minutes)
—Swim up pool water turned extremely cloudy for 2 whole days
—Breakfast and unch buffet was on par with lesser resorts
—Need smartphone and app for menus at restaurants
—beach isn’t quite as picturesque as other Cap Cana and Bavaro resorts (but still amazing to relax on)
—more upsells than we’ve been offered at other resorts, sometimes blurred the line on what was part of all-inclusive

RESORT:
Resort is in Cap Cana which is only a 15 minute ride from the airport and has a security gate at the entrance to the zone where your driver will have to leave his license to enter. There is another security gate at the entrance to the resort where they check your reservation name to allow you to pull up to the lobby. Many other resorts in Bavaria are much further from the airport and require riding through some not so nice areas.

Check in took 5 minutes and they gave you a margarita flavored popsicle during the process. You get a bracelet that serves as your room key and is scanned by the hostess at restaurant entrances. Other Bavaro resorts still have key cards that you have to carry around any time you leave the room.

ROOM:
We were in a junior swim up suite, room number in the 3100s which is northernmost building on the Hammock side on the 2nd level, and it was awesome. Squeaky clean. Comfy bed. Giant TV. Ample space in the room with the toilet. Glass and tile shower with a wand and rain shower head. Great water pressure and hot water was always available. Air conditioning was awesome and had a ceiling fan over bed. Room was NEVER too warm or humid or damp or had any hint of mildew. Multiple other Bavaro resorts have weird dark showers, AC that doesn’t keep the room cool, and smell like mildew and even require a request for a dehumidifier to get rid of the dampness.

There is a sliding glass door to go out on your private balcony. There is a table with two padded dining chairs and a large two person chaise lounge.

The swim up pool is more like a giant plunge pool, since the rooms are on the second floor, that extends for about 8 rooms from one end to the other. Every room has their own ladder entrance, and also a couple submerged concrete ledges so that you can either sit with just your feet in, or sit with your lower half in, or go all the way in to the 4ft deep water. Since you are on the second floor, you have the best of both worlds: a semi-private pool and a view that looks out over the resort with the ocean visible too, where you can sit on the patio or in the pool and see the unobstructed sunrise over the horizon of the ocean. Would definitely recommend this class of room over any other, including the higher priced options. It was awesome. There was direct sun on it until about 11am then partial sun through the pergola until about 4pm, then full shade until sunset on the opposite side of the direction rooms face. No mosquitoes or other bugs anywhere in the resort.

The only room complaint was we stayed for 5 nights, and for two formal of those the water in the swim up pool was very very cloudy. Was crystal clear for the first two days but went cloudy on the third and stayed that way until we left, despite multiple attempts by us for someone to correct it. Either it took two days for someone to clear it, or no one did anything specific and it cleared on its own.

There is a mini fridge in the room, but it’s empty unless you ask for water from housekeeping. No liquor is in the room at check in. You get an allotment of points to spend at the convenience market to get beer, soda, liquor, snacks, and other edible items. It’s kinda weird and a bit of a hassle because you have to scan your bracelet to find out how many points you have left and not everything in the market is labeled clearly with point prices, so we probably didn’t use it as intended to stock the room during the stay. We basically just spent most of them the day we left on coffee beans and some other edible items to take home with us.

FOOD:
You don’t get physical menus at any of the restaurants. I think this is a leftover COVID practice. You have to download the Margaritaville app on your phone and look at the menu in it and give the order to your waiter instead of from a physical menu. Kind of weird but not a big deal other than at least one person has to bring their smartphone with them.

I was not impressed by the breakfast and lunch buffets at the Boathouse. It was all just fine, but on a similar level to other Bavaro resorts we’ve been to.

However, all of the restaurants that take individual orders were really good, on par with restaurants at home, and far better quality than what we’ve had at other Bavaro resorts. Frank and Lola’s Italian was awesome (osso buco, lasagna, arincini, tiramisu). JWB steakhouse had a great NY Strip steak. Brewery had awesome burgers (just like at home, not weird ground beef at all). Out near the beach is the Cheeseburger in Paradise stand that has awesome burgers and fries, fried pickle chips, and chicken strips. There is an Asian restaurant, but we didn’t make it there since it wasn’t open everyday. I do not think it is Hibachi though, as seems to be standard at other Bavaro resorts. Since it is a smaller resort, there aren’t quite as many different options and you may have to repeat a few places if you stay longer than we did, but the quality and selection of dishes should not make that an issue.

Room service was very good and that was our breakfast choice for everyday except the first. You order through the app, which is convenient and sometimes easier than overcoming the language barrier with phone orders. Breakfast was better than dinner, but dinner was fine too. Pizza was OK and club sandwich and fries was good. It would arrive in about 30 minutes after ordering. Only one day did breakfast take about an hour.

They do try to upsell you wine at dinner, as opposed to the included house wine. There are also several premium meals that are not part of the all-inclusive, such as certain steak cuts and lobster and others. They didn’t actively try to sell as those, but it’s a little tacky to me to upsell at an upscale all-inclusive. I often questioned what was included and what was extra.

DRINKS:

Waiters were plentiful at the beach and pools to bring drinks without having to go to any of the bars. No complaints.

BEACH:

The beach is both amazing and slightly disappointing. I recommend finding some of the fly-by videos of the resort on YouTube before you book so that beach expectations are clear. The sand is fine to walk on, but it is a mixture of the fine white sand and some pebbles, unlike most of Bavaro beach and the other Cap Cana resorts that are almost entirely powdery soft sand. The resort is at the far south end of the beach, so there are no vendors to bother you and people walking are almost exclusively other people staying at Margaritaville. Technically you can access the water, but I would not recommend it at the resort directly. There is a lot of permanent seaweed, large rocks, and waves. There was no seaweed odor though, just clean ocean breezes. You can take a short walk along the beach to areas a little further down that have better sand and a more picturesque swimming experience. However, there are lounge chairs in the sun and shaded cabana beds that attendants cover with fresh towels and position umbrellas as the sun moves to keep you in the shade. Waiters bring drink orders. If you want to just lay in the peace and quiet and watch the fish jump and listen to the waves, then the beach is amazing. If you want powdery sand and swimming, it’s only a short walk along the beach.

POOLS:

There are ample clean towels all over around the pool that you can take as you wish. Other Bavaro resorts require you to give a towel card to get a towel and you have to return the towel to a person to a get card back so that you can get a new towel the next time.

The water in all the pools, including the swim up, was a little chilly. However, it’s very refreshing in the hot sun.

The main pool is pretty loud most of the day with bass thumping (surprisingly very little Jimmy Buffet, mostly EDM), or waterobics or other pool activities over the speakers. We were always able to find a quiet spot away from that and away from other people in one of the adjacent pools. There was plenty of open space and chairs and cabanas at all the pools, so you never have to show up early and claim a spot or anything.

SALES PITCH:

Our “butler” was primarily a means to ensure that we attended the vacation club membership sales pitch. After we attended the pitch on the second day, we never got a text from him again. So when the butler asks you early in your stay if you want to see the villas or suites, be aware that they will show you as part of the formal sales presentation and not as like a casual favor as it was made (intentionally) to sound. They say it takes 30-60 minutes. Ours was at least 75 minutes and I had zero interest in signing up. You will talk to multiple layers of sales people each time you decline interest in an effort to convince you. They were not aggressive but were persistent, so beware. Definitely the biggest downside of the entire stay. We did get a spa BOGO and a “Dominican box” that had little souvenirs like honey, mamajauna, magnet, etc for our time.

Overall, it was an amazing stay and I will come back. At previous Bavaro resorts, I was ready to go home at the end of the trip. However, I did not want to leave Margaritaville when we checked out.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: -research their beach ahead of time -decline butler’s tour offer, it’s a sales membership...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Karisma Hotels, Atención al huésped/Recepción at Margaritaville Island Reserve Cap Cana Hammock
Responded 13 Feb 2023
Dear F3703ZP, On behalf of all the staff and the management team, we would like to thank you for sharing your review detailing your most recent experience with us. Please accept our sincere apologies for not coming up to your right expectations. We at the Margaritaville Island Reserve, Cap Cana All inclusive by Karisma pride ourselves on our high levels of service and glorious offerings; we are sorry if that did not come across during your visit. Your comments have been discussed in great detail to identify where immediate improvements can be made to perfect our experience. We appreciate you, and we hope to have the opportunity of hosting you in the future to show the improvements made thanks to your insight. We remain at your disposal,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Swamp Cabbage wrote a review Feb 2022
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in the Villas Swim Out Suite - Every the Villas Area Bartender deserves a promotion. He single handedly made our trip the best vacation we had in years. The Villas Swim Out Suite is the best hotel room I have every stayed in and the Villas Area private pool was so quiet and peaceful. Pictures don't capture this place, we hardly left or felt the need to use the rest of the resort. Jorge our Private Butler was great and handled all of our needs and checked in with us daily for dinner reservations. He went over the top and decorated our room for my wife's birthday. The Spa had a hydrotherapy pre-treatment to the massage that was amazing! The Food was overall good, Frank & Lolas is the best, Rum Runners is the worst and the 24 hour room service has lots of options. The only down side is the beach/swimming area is small, so if a beach is top on your list this is not the resort for you. They have daily events/schedule if you want to be active, good music and live entertainment. COVID testing was $37/pp and they have a good system with same day results. Pool water is colder than I would like, but with the hot weather it didn't matter. The suite has an outdoor private shower that was huge.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Karisma Hotels, Atención al huésped/Recepción at Margaritaville Island Reserve Cap Cana Hammock
Responded 12 May 2022
Dear Tourist734119, Thank you for taking the time to provide us and the Trip Advisor community with your honest review of your most recent stay with us. It is extremely important to us to have the valuable feedback of guests like you, and we are delighted to know that regardless of a few mishaps during your stay, you were able to have a great holiday vacation. Rest assured that your comments have been taken into great regard and we will implement worthwhile improvements to ensure our guests receive excellent service and MargaritaVille Island Reserve experience. Please, allow us to have the honor of having you visit us again in the future to show you the improvements. We hope that Margaritaville Island Reserve Cap Cana will be your favorite resort for your next visit to Punta Cana and the Dominican Republic.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
jrkelly1962 wrote a review Dec 2021
Dartmouth, Canada
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I would consider myself a parrot head so when I saw that Margaritaville was opening, I ditched the 8 month old reservation I had at Royalton Bavaro in favor of this new exciting choice. This was my 50th all inclusive in 14 years so I splurged and wanted something special!

Beautiful Rooms, Great food and drinks. The resort is great but there are some growing pains!
As most reviews have stated, the hotel is beautiful. The staff try very hard to help with everything.

We enjoyed a second floor swimout room in the main building although we had booked a main floor. The room and amenities are very nice. We enjoyed the room service on many occasions and the Al La cartes were also very good.

We had a "personal concierge" that turned out to be mostly a sales person for timeshare. That was disappointing. Dealing with issues at the front desk also seemed to take far longer than they should.

The Experience

The free form pool with the 5:00 o' clock somewhere swimup bar was a focal point where we spend many afternoons. Live music in the afternoon and excellent drinks and service only enhances the experience.
The bars and restaurants in the evening were grea and there was also live music each night (another plus)

The Catch

This is almost a perfect beach getaway during the cold winter months in Canada. The catch is.... the beach! We are beach goers and not just sun worshippers on a lounger. We enjoy extended time in the ocean each day of our vacation. Although Margaritaville is located at the edge of the ocean and their own literature alludes to the fact that it is on a gem of a beach... they do NOT have a swimable beach. The beach is full of rock and coral and nobody could go in the water. The resort is aware of this and does little to advise in their literature. After about 4 days we paid roughly $160 for transport and day passes to a resort on the Bavaro beach. A fantastic day really

The resort was understanding and did offer an upgrade in lieu with 1 1/2 days left (much appreciated ) but we did not want to pack up twice in 2 days.

Overall we had a fantastic vacation but for me the beach is too important to consider a return to Margaritaville until they address the beach situation.

If they can get the beach fixed and actually usable, I will likely be a repeat guest at this resort. Til then I will continue travelling to other resorts.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: If you enjoy time actually in the ocean, you better think twice about this resort as you cannot...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Karisma Hotels, Atención al huésped/Recepción at Margaritaville Island Reserve Cap Cana Hammock
Responded 12 Jan 2022
Dear jrkelly1962, Thank you for taking the time to provide us and the Trip Advisor community with your honest review of your most recent stay with us. It is extremely important to us to have the valuable feedback of guests like you, and we will utilize the new insight gained to contemplate and implement worthwhile improvements to ensure our guests receive excellent service and MargaritaVille experience. Please, allow us to have the honor of having you visit us again in the future to show you the improvements. We hope that Margaritaville Island Reserve Cap Cana will be your favorite resort for your next visit to Punta Cana and the Dominican Republic. Edelyn Cordero Customer service agent
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Shertina’s Travel, LLC wrote a review Dec 2021
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This newly opened resort (opened November 2021) has the potential to be an amazing property.

They have great staff from the Concierge and Check in staff to Sanchez the awesome bartender at Landshark Brewery and Grill. Sanchez made the trip for me with the freshly made apple martini blended with fresh green apples and absolut vodka. I went to this bar two nights in a row just to have these apple martinis. There was a couple at the bar the first night who saw how I enjoyed the drink that they told there friends the next day and ended up at Landshark the next night for dinner and ordered the apple martini.

Edward and Danny working the pool area have great spirits and we’re a pleasure. You could see their smiles through their masks.

A big shoutout to the concierge Santa. She was a bright star who would see us on the property and say hello.

The resort is beautiful. Their are multiple restaurants, bars, and pools. There is no bad room on the property. All rooms with the exception of the Villas have views of both the resort and ocean. Higher floors have better views of the water depending on the building you are in.

I absolutely enjoyed the shrimp fried rice in The Restaurant, I enjoyed the New York steak medium-well in JWB Steakhouse, I enjoyed the cheeseburger in The Boathouse, and I enjoyed the garlic-parmesan baked wings at Landshark.

There were a few small issues but again the resort is new so they welcome the feedback to make improvements. Their was no ketchup for the burgers, the show at the theater was not on my liking (I didn’t enjoy the music at all), the Landshark lager at Landshark Brewery and Grill was not ready for consumption.

The beach has rocks and seaweed but they work hard to keep the seaweed and rocks to a minimum. The water is very murky along the shore.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Bring your own travel mug to eliminate the condensation on the cups if you don’t want it dripping...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Karisma Hotels, Atención al huésped/Recepción at Margaritaville Island Reserve Cap Cana Hammock
Responded 12 Jan 2022
Dear shertinastravelllc, Thank you for taking the time to provide us and the Trip Advisor community with your honest review of your most recent stay with us. It is extremely important to us to have the valuable feedback of guests like you, and we will utilize the new insight gained to contemplate and implement worthwhile improvements to ensure our guests receive excellent service and MargaritaVille experience. Please, allow us to have the honor of having you visit us again in the future to show you the improvements. We hope that Margaritaville Island Reserve Cap Cana will be your favorite resort for your next visit to Punta Cana and the Dominican Republic. Edelyn Cordero Customer service agent
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Robin Strickland wrote a review Jan 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This was our first trip to DR, and our first trip anywhere as Prestige members. I’ll separate this review into different topics. We traveled January 15-23, 2022.

ROOM: We booked a swim up suite but were upgraded to a villa. The villa was on the second level and had a large balcony with a couch, table and two chairs and a jetted plunge pool. There was a fantastic breeze throughout the day and night. There large sliding glass doors to the balcony have black out curtains for the night and sheer curtains for the day so you could have privacy but still let in the light. The villa has a bar area with a mini fridge, ice bucket, cocktail shaker and coffee maker with coffee cups, margarita glasses, wine glasses and regular glasses. The entryway has a table with a lamp which was perfect for stashing masks, sanitizer, sunglasses, etc. so it’s easy to grab and go. The living room had a comfy L-shaped couch with lots of pillows. The living room also has a sliding glass door to get to the balcony. The tv was on an island in the middle of the living room, sent the other side held the tv for the bedroom. There are no interior walls in the villa, so the living room and bedroom are separated by the unit holding the TVs. The king-sized bed and pillows were very comfortable. There’s an extra blanket and pillow in the closet. The bedroom is open to the bathroom, although there are pocket doors to close it off, although
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Karisma Hotels, Atención al huésped/Recepción at Margaritaville Island Reserve Cap Cana Hammock
Responded 26 Jan 2022
Dear Rlestrick, Please allow us to thank you dearly for taking the time to provide us with your comments and this 5 stars review! It means the world to us to know that we did meet your expectations; it fills us with pride and encourages us to continue providing our valued guests with excellent service. We hope that Margaritaville Island Reserve Cap Cana will be your favorite resort for your next visit to Punta Cana and the Dominican Republic. Fins up!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
mariejohnson0412 wrote a review Apr 2022
Silver Spring, Maryland
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We just returned after spending seven wonderful days at the resort. We are diamond elite members and usually go to the Mexico properties but decided to check out Cap Cana and I am so glad we did. We stayed in the son of a sailor suite with our two teen boys and there was plenty of room for all four of us. Alpha from member services did a great job setting everything up for us.

Our butler, Eramy, took such good care of us. He was so attentive and responsive taking care of anything we needed. The property is very pretty and we enjoyed the pool. The pool area never felt crowded and the 5 o’clock somewhere bar was fun. Fast Eddie at the pool took great care of us setting up our pool chairs and getting us drinks.

Because we are members we were able to use the lounge and get premium drinks. Letizia took great care of us. Always friendly and willing to make whatever drink we wanted.

The gym and spa were amazing and my husband enjoyed the hydrotherapy every day. The coffee at Joe’s merchant was great but the point system is odd. They should just restock your minibar the way they do at other karisma properties.

All of the restaurants were great and our favorite was the Asian and Italian. The buffet is good and has plenty of options for breakfast and lunch. Rum Runners had good typical Dominican food. And order the floating tacos for lunch at the pool, it was a great experience.

We had an in room dinner and it was fabulous. Kory and Annell from room service did a great job setting it up and chef Frankley sent up a tray of delicious cannolis since they were out the night we dined at Frank and Lola’s. Yuleydi and Eduardo took great care of us at the Asian restaurant.

For my birthday my husband ordered a cake and it was so good, moist and delicious with a whipped cream frosting. All of the staff go above and beyond to make it a great vacation.

We can’t wait to return!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Karisma Hotels, Atención al huésped/Recepción at Margaritaville Island Reserve Cap Cana Hammock
Responded 25 Apr 2022
Dear mariejohnson0412, Thank you for taking the time to provide us and the Trip Advisor community with your honest review of your most recent stay with us. It is extremely important to us to have the valuable feedback of guests like you, and we are delighted to know that regardless of a few mishaps during your stay, you were able to have a great holiday vacation. Rest assured that your comments have been taken into great regard and we will implement worthwhile improvements to ensure our guests receive excellent service and MargaritaVille experience. Please, allow us to have the honor of having you visit us again in the future to show you the improvements. We hope that Margaritaville Island Reserve Cap Cana will be your favorite resort for your next visit to Punta Cana and the Dominican Republic.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Barbara Jean G wrote a review Jan 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This property is fairly new and very modern, the rooms were spacious and all had a belcony. The pools and lounge chairs were clean and plentiful. The beach was groomed frequently and had quite a few private loungers as well. With several restaurants there was always a variety, and the serving staff were outstanding no matter where you were. We had a butler that was extremely helpful thank you Greyden. Face masks were worn by all staff including the cleaning staff who were also professional. Guests were required to mask when entering restaurants.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: All rooms were very nice as shown on the website
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Karisma Hotels, Atención al huésped/Recepción at Margaritaville Island Reserve Cap Cana Hammock
Responded 1 Feb 2022
Dear barbarajeang2022, Please allow us to thank you dearly for taking the time to provide us with your comments and this 5 stars review! It means the world to us to know that we did meet your expectations; it fills us with pride and encourages us to continue providing our valued guests with excellent service. We hope that Margaritaville Island Reserve Cap Cana will be your favorite resort for your next visit to Punta Cana and the Dominican Republic. Fins up!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nick T wrote a review Jan 2023
Ottawa, Canada
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
It's hard to put this resort into words. So I posted as many pictures as I could!

To start, it's beautiful. Only one year old, so fresh and very clean and very good modern touches, like dual voltage plugs in the rooms for North America and UK plugs plus lots of USB plugs.
To try to name special staff who did a great job would be unfair to the staff we worked with. What is fair to say is that every staff member we met was friendly and helpful and obviously enjoyed working there. It is clear that morale is high.

We are Prestige members and had a wonderful experience. Check in was as smooth as we've ever had. Our first butler had some communication issues, so we were able to change and our butler for the week was great. Alvaro really did a great job of meeting our needs and getting things we wanted.

We don't always do a meeting with Prestige, but Ranfi the Prestige Concierge did a great job of telling us about some new details. Jordi, the Prestige Representative was very approachable and honest in our conversation. We had no intention of updating our membership, but they really gave us a great offer and we could not refuse. Proud to be members for a long time!

The restaurants are, as usual with Karisma, amazing. Boathouse the main food display was seemingly unlimited choices.

Landshark is a great grill and beer place.

Frank and Lola's is "to die for" Italian. Don't miss the cheese and antipasto display.

JWB STEAKHOUSE is incredible, especially for what is included at no extra fee.

Joe Merchant is a great coffee and snack shop.

The spa and fitness centre and excellent. The fitness centre is very well equipped with brand new equipment and lots of it.

The pools are very big and there's lots of room to find a quiet spot.

The beach is nice, but due to the rock face, you cannot swim there at all. If want to sunbathe, it's great. If you want to swim in the sea, go down a few hundred feet and there's a decent entry point.

Highly recommended, we can't wait to go back.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Karisma Hotels, Atención al huésped/Recepción at Margaritaville Island Reserve Cap Cana Hammock
Responded 13 Jan 2023
Dear 13199nickt Please allow us to thank you dearly for taking the time to provide us with your comments and this 5 stars review! It means the world to us to know that we did meet your expectations; it fills us with pride and encourages us to continue providing our valued guests with excellent service. We hope that Margaritaville Island Reserve Cap Cana by Karisma will be your favorite resort for your next visit to Punta Cana and the Dominican Republic. Fins up!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tonya F wrote a review Jun 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This all-inclusive resort did not disappoint. From the moment we arrived the Margaritaville staff did everything to make our stay fun and memorable. Our days by the pool we were taken care of by Eddie who brought drinks continuously to us always with a smile. Fresh Prince made sure we were having the time of our lives, teaching us local dances and setting up beach volleyball games. We immediately felt a connection to the beautiful Dominican people who are loving and always happy. There are plenty of food/restaurant choices and the grounds are extremely well kept. The rooms were also beyond our expectations, gorgeous and over-sized. The cleaning ladies came daily making sure the room was clean and sanitized and replenished water bottles. If you want a vacation to remember, you have to go to Margaritaville Cap Cana.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Karisma Hotels, Atención al huésped/Recepción at Margaritaville Island Reserve Cap Cana Hammock
Responded 14 Jun 2022
Dear 634tonyaf Please allow us to thank you dearly for taking the time to provide us with your comments and this 5 stars review! It means the world to us to know that we did meet your expectations; it fills us with pride and encourages us to continue providing our valued guests with excellent service. We hope that Margaritaville Island Reserve Cap Cana by Karisma will be your favorite resort for your next visit to Punta Cana and the Dominican Republic. Fins up!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
rickybobby711 wrote a review Jan 2022
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I wish I could give two reviews, one for the resort, and another for Karisma and their deceptive marketing practices. We've been to another Karisma resort several times, El Dorado Royale in Mexico, and it's one of our favorites. We wanted to try something different this time, so our travel agent recommended Margaritaville in Cap Cana. The resort has only been open since Nov '21, so as others have noted, everything is new and in great shape. We loved the layout of the restaurants and the main bar, it keeps everything within walking distance and creates a great vibe. The food at the Italian restaurant was really good, as was the steakhouse, Land Shark had a good burger (which can be hard to find on a Caribbean island) and "The Restaurant" was a buffet that wasn't advertised but provides a great breakfast and lunch choice (open for dinner as well). The main bar, Punch, is central to the hotel rooms and always had a good crowd and a good variety of bands. One thing we noticed about the pool bars, they don't stock top shelf liquor, i.e. Grey Goose, Tito's, etc. not a big deal, but the other Karisma resort we go to markets the fact that they do offer top shelf liquors, just surprised Margaritaville didn't.

So we like the resort. The issue I have, and why I gave a 2 star review, was because of the Black Friday marketing promotion Karisma had offered for $1,000 resort credit that when it came time to give us that credit, said we didn't qualify for it. When I asked the personal concierge, Jeffrey, who had been assigned to us, he started asking me to provide information on the offer. I had to go back and find the emails I had been sent from my travel agent, after finding them I forwarded them on to Jeffrey, and then was asked to then send more info to another email address. I spent quite a bit of time giving them info on the promo they created. In the end, they said because we booked it through a 3rd party travel agent, one that often refers clients to Karisma, btw, and not directly with Karisma, we didn't qualify for the resort credit promo. This was simple deceptive advertising, offering something and then using a technicality to get out of coming through on their end. I had offered a solution for Jeffrey, help us with the couples massage, which is really the only thing we were planning on using the resort credit for anyway, and never heard back from him for three days, he ghosted us after we let him know we weren't interested in the membership they offer. Our travel agent has tried to work with Karisma management to do something to make up for the issues/hassle, but we haven't heard back from them either. Disappointed in Karisma, definitely had an opportunity to make things right and they chose, twice, to do nothing.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Karisma Hotels, Atención al huésped/Recepción at Margaritaville Island Reserve Cap Cana Hammock
Responded 1 Feb 2022
Dear rickybobby711 We are so very sorry to read your review and greatly appreciate you bringing these issues to our attention. We greatly regret that you sadly left the hotel with a poor impression of your time with us and I offer you my sincerest apologies, as you did not experience Margaritaville Island Reserve, Cap Cana All inclusive by Karisma at its best. On this occasion, it seems our usual warm welcome and caring service was regrettably missing and this is certainly not the level of service we wish for our valued guests. I trust you have received my personal communication to you, as it is important that your next experience is reflective of Margaritaville Island Reserve, Cap Cana All inclusive by Karisma's high standards of service and quality. We take all guest feedback very seriously and so we thank you once again for sharing your experience and observations We do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Margaritaville Island Reserve, Cap Cana All inclusive by Karisma in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
James M asked a question 19 Jun
8 contributions1 helpful vote
Is there diving school nearby
Answer from Tim C
Machesney Park, Illinois93 contributions20 helpful votes
The beach at the resort is not for swimming, However there is a beach not far away that you can swim at. It's a beautiful resort otherwise.
travelguy14 asked a question Apr 2024
North Carolina48 contributions
Is there a casino close by to vist
Answer from Denise M
1 contribution
I know people did leave the resort to go to a casino so I assume there is one nearby - they did have to take a taxi.
Joanne asked a question Apr 2024
Matlock, United Kingdom24 contributions8 helpful votes
Hi is the wave or the hammock side adults only and what is the difference in the rooms ?
Answer from Denise M
1 contribution
The Hammock side is Adults Only but it was not exclusively for Adults .The pools were definitely kept separated but not all of the restaurants were Adults Only. The main buffet was shared by both sides of the resort at all times.
Freddie P wrote a tip 9 Jun
Coventry, United Kingdom3 contributions2 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Go in high season when choice and staff levels are up to expectations for a 5 star resort hotel "
Read full review
phil wrote a tip 7 Jun
Birmingham, United Kingdom21 contributions1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Do not bother to go unless it’s high season ( Dec - Feb)"
Read full review
sragaines wrote a tip 4 Jun
Birmingham, Alabama91 contributions23 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Tip well at the beginning of the week for the best experience."
Read full review
Reagan M wrote a tip 4 Jun
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Make sure to check the activities everyday to see what’s going on. Around lunch they bring snacks to the pool"
Read full review
Eilish P wrote a tip 2 Jun
North Ridgeville, Ohio1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Bring your own sunscreen. "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Cap Cana area.
PRICE RANGE
£248 - £456 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
CaribbeanDominican RepublicLa Altagracia ProvincePunta CanaCap Cana
NUMBER OF ROOMS
268
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MARGARITAVILLE ISLAND RESERVE CAP CANA HAMMOCK - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Margaritaville Island Reserve Cap Cana Hammock
Which popular attractions are close to Margaritaville Island Reserve Cap Cana Hammock?
Nearby attractions include Hoyo Azul (2.6 miles), Juanillo Beach (0.5 miles), and Marina Cap Cana (2.4 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Margaritaville Island Reserve Cap Cana Hammock?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, a rooftop bar, and free wifi.
Which room amenities are available at Margaritaville Island Reserve Cap Cana Hammock?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and an additional bathroom.
What food & drink options are available at Margaritaville Island Reserve Cap Cana Hammock?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, a rooftop bar, and free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Margaritaville Island Reserve Cap Cana Hammock?
Yes, free parking and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Margaritaville Island Reserve Cap Cana Hammock?
Conveniently located restaurants include La Yola Restaurant, Sanctuary Town Cap Cana, and La Palapa by Eden Roc.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Margaritaville Island Reserve Cap Cana Hammock?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Margaritaville Island Reserve Cap Cana Hammock have airport transportation?
Yes, Margaritaville Island Reserve Cap Cana Hammock offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Margaritaville Island Reserve Cap Cana Hammock?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Margaritaville Island Reserve Cap Cana Hammock offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Does Margaritaville Island Reserve Cap Cana Hammock have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
All Cap Cana HotelsCap Cana Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Cap Cana
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire