We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Cley Windmill

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cley Next the Sea
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

366 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 365: English reviews
Start your review of Cley Windmill
 Click to rate
ESSEX
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I booked a stay at the windmill as an anniversary treat for myself and my husband and we have just returned after staying last night . I can not describe it as anything other than perfect .We were met by a lovely lady Ellie who checked us in and showed us to the gorgeous stone room with its stunning views...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rudeys
Holt, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Not sure where the person was eating this liver - but as far as we were concerned it was fantastic, and the sweet was to die for. What I fail to understand is that if 'you' are not happy with the meal, then say something to the waitress and it could be resolved. To complain afterwards is just ridiculous -...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DaveH148
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Lovely setting, top quality ingredients but no passion in the cooking. It makes you think when there are only 3 couples, eating a set menu, when mashed potato and gravy is cold. Dish was pan fried liver and bacon and the whole thing lacked passion on the hob, tepid, cool, just, ermmm, boring. Add to that, a probabley prepared earlier,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GM G
Carolyn G, Owner at Cley Windmill, responded to this review

We're sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your meal and more than a little confused, as the other 2 couples who ate with you on the evening in question were full of praise for the chef, as is the usual response to dining at Cley Windmill. All of our food is freshly prepared each day on the premises, using...

cambs
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I attempted to book our wedding in November 2017 in Cley Windmill. We were proposing to take over their entire accommodation for the event, for the night, which was a Friday, and to get their staff to cater. However my call was met with a dogged refusal to accept the booking as we were not staying for 2 weekend nights.......

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank howdidtheyrate
Carolyn G, Owner at Cley Windmill, responded to this review

I am sorry that you were unable to find a date to book your Wedding at Cley Windmill. As of today our 2017 weekends now all have bookings for the 2 night weekend as per company policy. I am sure we would have advised that we are very happy to accept single night bookings from Sunday to Thursday.

Bedfordshire
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

It was 45 years since I was last in Cley! I remembered a childhood summer holiday here and wanted to revisit and see if the village is still the same. The good news is that it's still small and pretty, although somewhat busier. There's a lovely gallery, Made in Cley and a super little smokery where you can buy local...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank T55MCS
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Cley is a lovely spot on the north Norfolk coast, and Cley Windmill is a gorgeous building in a stunning location. The rooms were interesting with plenty of exposed wood & brick, which I love. But there was a shabby, unloved feel to the room too: an old piece of skirting board on the floor in the wardrobe, a sign...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Just back from a short two night stay at Cley Windmill and absolutely loved it. A simply divine place to stay. The situation is spectacular with views out over the river and marshes. It is very quiet with no obtrusive traffic noise which made for a good night's sleep. The whole place is steeped in history and very well equipped....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank geordie9Kent
Carolyn G, Owner at Cley Windmill, responded to this review

We're so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. Do come and see us again!!!

Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Booked the Barley Bin for my husband's birthday and was looking forward to a great couple of nights in a windmill. The place was kept very cosy and warm which was lovely as we were wearing jackets made for Antarctica when we went out. The room is not actually IN the windmill, it is attached to the side and is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank camphillian
Carolyn G, Owner at Cley Windmill, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We're sorry that you did not fully understand the location of Barley Bin. It's one of our nicest rooms but we do clearly state which rooms are in the actual tower on our website and also verbally when dealing with bookings by phone. We are so sorry that you had a fall during your stay...

Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 January 2017

Absolutely great, just got back after a couple of days staying at the windmill at cley, the setting is perfect and the facilities are first class. The views of the surrounding countryside are spectacular, the room we had was laid out to a very high standard. We had a meal on the 2nd night, the food and service were first...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anthony S
Carolyn G, Owner at Cley Windmill, responded to this review

We're glad you enjoyed your stay! Please come again!

Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 January 2017

we stayed in the wheel room and it was a great experience.once the hatch was closed we felt in our own little world.The staff were lovely especially Simon and Sarah.Very helpful and nothing was too much trouble.We ate in the restaurant for 2 nights and the food was amazing.would go back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sylvi2016

319 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (290)
Viewed
View from Room (30)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (91)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (42)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (96)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cley Next the Sea
3.4 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
506 reviews
13.3 mi away
The Hoste
The Hoste
#1 of 1 in Burnham Market
1,219 reviews
1.1 mi away
The White Horse
The White Horse
#2 of 3 in Blakeney
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.7 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
792 reviews
11.5 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
659 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Lawns Hotel
The Lawns Hotel
#2 of 4 in Holt
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Unique accommodations in a converted 18th-century windmill. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cley Windmill

Address: Cley Windmill The Quay, Cley Next the Sea, Holt NR25 7RP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Holt > Cley Next the Sea
Price Range: £76 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Cley Windmill Hotel Cley Next The Sea
Cley Windmill Cley Next The Sea, Norfolk
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cley Windmill staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question
Peterborough, United Kingdom
4 months ago
Miami Beach, Florida
over a year ago
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Cley Windmill staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stayed in the Stone room which has door leading to balcony of windmill with fabulous views”
 of 5 bubbles rudeys, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“look on the website which shows all rooms and also call and discuss any concerns”
 of 5 bubbles sylvi2016, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We didnt stay in the hotel this time but stay at the top if possible”
 of 5 bubbles Mysonsinyuxi, 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
“River room is on ground floor and has has easy access.”
 of 5 bubbles alantip, 9 Dec 2016 | Read review
“We had a double called the boathouse but do contact them if you want to stay in the room at top of windmill.”
 of 5 bubbles Smashy27, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5