Bamboo Bungalows
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Bamboo Bungalows

one of the beautiful sunsets
Traveller (261)
Dining (29)
Bamboo Bungalows
Videos (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#1 of 18 lodges in Ko Phayam
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Value
Koh Payam is a unique island in Thailand. There are no big shopping centers or cars on the island. Koh Phayam Thailand Like Koh Samui in the 70s But you will find is long beaches, natural jungles, smiling people, great food and a sense of community. Bamboo Bungalows offers an authentic Thai experience with comfort and warm hospitality.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Yoga classes
Bar / lounge
Beach
Bicycle rental
Kids stay free
Babysitting
Secured parking
Internet
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Happy hour
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Wine / champagne
Boating
Canoeing
Diving
Snorkelling
Water sport equipment rentals
Windsurfing
Fishing
Indoor play area for children
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Car hire
Taxi service
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Massage
Neck massage
Open-air bath
Salon
24-hour security
BBQ facilities
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Mosquito net
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Shared bathroom
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
First aid kit
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Washing machine
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Dining area
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Private bathrooms
Room types
Ocean view
Landmark view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Ocean View
Hidden Gem
Languages Spoken
English, Burmese, Thai

Location

56 Moo 1, Ko Phayam 85000 Thailand
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Car recommended
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 49 out of 100
49
Ranong Airport
13.7 mi
See all flights
Kawthaung Airport
24.1 mi
See all flights
1 Attraction
within 0.75 miles
232Reviews0Q+A30Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 106
  • 63
  • 25
  • 19
  • 19
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Thomas 1 wrote a review Dec 2022
Property's Favourite Review
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Bamboo Bungalows is a wonderful resort at the beach. Bungalows are located in the forest. Excellent food in the restaurant at the beach. There is also a bar where you can enjoy nice cocktails and watch the sunset. Or drink a coffee with homemade cheesecake. The staff is very helpful and friendly. if you have any wishes or desires manager KoKo will take care of you. Just relax and enjoy your time at the wonderful beach.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: There are two kinds of bungalows, seavieww and gardenview, Both of them are very nice. Gardenview...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pedro W wrote a review Jan 2020
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Best place to stay on Koh Phayam, really! Staff is very attentive and friendly. Bar and restaurant are competent and provide delicious meals & drinks. Especially, the almost daily seafood BBQ is excellent, Nicky knows, how many different ways your choice can be prepared and gives advise.
Modern furniture, no protruding nails that hurt your clothes and skin.
The bungalows fit into the jungle-like environment, its awesome, to come back from a walk or a scooter tour around the island, and walk straight into a gorgeous sunset - every day (South Beach Ao Yai is well known for that!). Flat sandy beach, no rocks, safe for children as well.
Rooms have an built-in outdoor bath room, with beautiful shell covered walls.
During our 3 week stay, we've seen lots of other resorts, no one like Bamboo Bungalows, really. Maybe once an Indian dinner outside, or a Pizza down the road (both walking distance), but at Bamboo, you can indulge yourself with a different menu every day, including delicious Thai Hot Pot.
C.U. there, Pedro & Eva/Switzerland
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dom21076 wrote a review Jan 2022
Thailand
4.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife and I spent two nights at the resort in a Junior Suite. The location is stunning - on the beautiful and clean beach of Ao Yai. It would be hard to find a better place for relaxing, swimming and enjoying sunsets. The staff - limited as tourists have not yet come back due to the pandemic – is super nice and helpful. Koko, the manager is doing a fabulous job at making her customers feel comfortable and well taken care of. The food is excellent and relatively inexpensive.
Our bungalow (Junior Suite) was quite spacious and met our needs although it felt a little bit worn out, with an open air bathroom that easily fills with leaves… and a few (non aggressive) bugs. Hot water comes at an additional cost. Power is limited and does not allow for a fridge, hair drier, etc. Wi-Fi is only available in public areas.
Overall, most of our time was spent outside, exploring this amazing island and enjoying the resort / the beach / the relaxing atmosphere. It will definitely be a choice when we come back to Ko Phayam later in the year.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bryan Ra wrote a review Jul 2020
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Came solo to surf and met the stand in manager who was nice enough. I opted for the best room with AC.

Let me clear shack/bungalows are what they are but there are those that are well kept and those not. I would grade the room itself 6/10 for shack standards. The safety box was so rusted the whole thing broke and needed to be drilled. Bathroom and rooms were not dirty but not clean.

The worst part of the trip were the staff. The owner Avi is nice enough but he doesnt have the ability to run a tight ship. His staff are indifferent at best and rude at worst. When I told them the safety box was broken, they all spoke in Thai behind my back (not knowing I am Thai) saying they didn’t want to address the issue. Shocking and appalling.

The top of the line room which I paid extra for AC, yet the AC was also broken. I had to follow up with them 3 times and only got it fixed at 9PM when the problem was first reported at 11AM. The staff also had a litany of excuses: “I don’t work here” “we needed you here to fix it” etc.

Unfortunately, I wasn’t the only unhappy guest. I met two other Europeans who left after the first day and went to Flower Power - also an amazing establishment to eat and stay.

The waves and location are immaculate but Bamboo needs a 100% overhaul. Let the professionals do the job and leave the amateurs out of the picture. Let this be a wake up call - in no way do I want to harm a business but if they want to be sustainable it is time to face reality.

Nearby I rented a surfboard from a Swiss man who looks to be running a clean operation, the name I can’t recall but it’s part of phayam surfers.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Avi Garret, General Manager at Bamboo Bungalows
Responded 21 Jul 2020
Hi Bryan, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, even though we found it to be quite unfair. Let me first acknowledge that you are correct in saying that you had issues with the AC and safety box. While such occurrences are rare they do happen (the AC at least), and you have our sincerest apologies for that. However, your description of how it was handled is lacking in self-awareness. While we later found out that you are actually a nice person after the owner had a one on one conversation with you, you need to understand how you came off to the staff until that point. It be can be summarized as intimidating and aggressive. The issue with your AC was easily fixable, but since you were away from your room, and so mistrusting and irritable, the staff felt uncomfortable with fixing the issue without your presence in the room and simply waited for you to be available again to fix it. Regarding the safety box, it is not a matter of some falling apart. The key to the safe was broken because force was used in the wrong direction, not the safe itself. It was promptly fixed, without pointing any blames. It’s also important to note that you did not check-out of your room and instead just left. While we believe it was an honest mistake, you should also know that you did not pay your bill for your meal at the restaurant. We hope your next stay in Koh Phayam will be more enjoyable, and it’s unfortunate that we did not come to an understanding.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Steven S wrote a review Sept 2022
Pattaya, Thailand
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The owners and staff were all friendly and helpful during my stay. As I don't rent motor bikes as a rule they organised my moto taxis for me as requested.
The beachfront was screened off due to constant strong winds and storm activity being the rainy season. Hence, bungalows with seaview had no seaview. Some bungalows are being renovated. It appeared a number/most of the beachfront resorts along the beach were closed altogether for the low season. The resort is well shaded with trees and foliage everywhere.
Fortunately, I had booked a villa with garden view. It was clean and spacious. The oscillating ceiling fan kept the room cool enough. I did note though that Booking.com states a mosquito net and sockets next to bed are provided in villa rooms but not in my villa room. The salt air had caused a problem with my front door's locking mechanism but the owner soon got that sorted out.
The outdoor bathroom was large. It only had cold water but there was a sign saying hot water was available for 200 baht per day. I enjoy my warm showers but being solo I could not justify the cost for one shower each day.
The restaurant overlooks the beach and has an extensive menu though being low season some items were unavailable but that's common wherever you stay. I had no problems with any of my meals.
Be aware the southern half of the beach has sandflies. I would not recommend staying along that part of the beach.unless you have a good supply of coconut oil. I got hammered on my beach walk but I carry a cream to apply to affected spots.
The standard moto taxi fare between the pier and the resort was 80 baht.
Overall, I had an enjoyable experience.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GyongyiH wrote a review Jan 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We come back for many years to Bamboo Bungalows and every time we enjoy our stay! The bungalows are comfortable and stylish, the location is amazing (just like paradise), the staff really makes you feel welcome, very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed also our food and drinks in the restaurant. Also for families with kids this is a perfect location for all ages: small ones can play in the sand and shallow water, bigger kids can bodyboard on the waves or SUP or kayak. You can have a real holiday here in Bamboo far away for the too busy world. We will come back for sure!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kendall and Glenda wrote a review Feb 2020
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The food was tasty and service great.
Coffee was fresh ground. Meals to suit all. Overall pricing food and lodging was around 1/2 of what Id pay in Canada. Wine was three X the price and half the quality in all of Thailand. The massages at the resort were awesome and 400 baht/ hr. $20 cdn. Beach is 3 km long and in low tide the beach goes out 120 metres . sun tanning was awesome.
Lots of eating options within 10 min walk. Have fun
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2020
Room Tip: The older rooms that were actually made of bamboo lattice and you could be visited by a frog,...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Avi Garret, General Manager at Bamboo Bungalows
Responded 30 Jun 2020
Dear Jeff, Thank you for the detailed review, we're happy you enjoyed your stay with us, as well as the unique charm of Koh Phayam. If you're ever in the area, you know where to find us.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Angela J wrote a review Jan 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Absolutely amazing place ! My partner and I have visited bamboo for 3 times now in different seasons and it was amazing each time! The staff are incredibly friendly and are really helpful. The bungalows are super comfortable and nice decorated ! I personally love the outside shower but there are bungalows with closed showers aswell 👌
And the best beach in Thailand ! So pleasant and I love the waves. Bamboo provides body bords aswell for a small fee. I can go on and on how much I love this place ! Highly recommended and go and see for yourself.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jenna D wrote a review Dec 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I’ve been looking for some alone time yet still close enough to the action and the beach and this place was perfect! I stayed in one of the wooden bungalows with a view of the ocean. I felt like I had privacy yet if I wanted to be social I strolled to the bar area which is beach front and right in front of the waves! It was perfect. The food was great (my fav was the chicken sandwhich), staff (special thanks to Koko, gem and noi) were super friendly and there was a good selection of boards (very well maintained, brand new leashes and ranging from fun board size to SUP). The grounds were stunning and sunsets incredible! It was a well needed solo trip which I got but I also left with plenty of new friends! couldn’t be happier that I chose to spend my time at bamboo bungalows. Thanks guys!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Avi Garret, General Manager at Bamboo Bungalows
Responded 23 Dec 2020
Thank you so much for your kind words Jenna, it means a lot to us! you were a pleasure to have as a guest and we're glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to having you stay with us again.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Holiday R wrote a review Dec 2020
Bangkok, Thailand
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The property, right in front of the beach is very quiet and well managed. Peaceful vibes, nice staff and good food. You can also rent surfboards and enjoy the big waves from the beach. One of the best hotel in the island considering the limited offer in Koh Phayam.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
SandraK1969 wrote a tip Mar 2023
Woerdense Verlaat, The Netherlands36 contributions47 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Unfortunately longbeach is a place of sandflies, bring coconut oil!"
Read full review
quixotedog wrote a tip Feb 2023
Livingston, Montana61 contributions17 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"100 baht per person to the pier and fairy"
Read full review
Thomas 1 wrote a tip Dec 2022
5 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"There are two kinds of bungalows, seavieww and gardenview, Both of them are very nice. Gardenview bungalows are a little more confortable."
Read full review
HnineNeij wrote a tip Mar 2020
Berlin, Germany1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"We like all types because we asked for check all type for our next visit in December."
Read full review
Kendall and Glenda wrote a tip Feb 2020
3 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"The older rooms that were actually made of bamboo lattice and you could be visited by a frog, lizard or snake."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Ko Phayam area.
PRICE RANGE
£18 - £21 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
ThailandRanong ProvinceKo Phayam
NUMBER OF ROOMS
3
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

BAMBOO BUNGALOWS - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Bamboo Bungalows
Which popular attractions are close to Bamboo Bungalows?
Nearby attractions include Ao Yai Beach (0.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Bamboo Bungalows?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Bamboo Bungalows?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a dining area, and a fireplace.
What food & drink options are available at Bamboo Bungalows?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Bamboo Bungalows?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Bamboo Bungalows?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bilbos Cafe & Bungalows, JJ Seafood Restaurant, and Brew Lagoon by Phayamas.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Bamboo Bungalows?
Yes, guests have access to yoga classes during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Bamboo Bungalows?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Bamboo Bungalows?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Bamboo Bungalows?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Thai, and Burmese.
Does Bamboo Bungalows have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
All Ko Phayam HotelsKo Phayam Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Ko PhayamHotels near Bamboo Bungalows
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire