We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Lanes Hotel

High Street, West Coker, Yeovil BA22 9AJ England
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (120)
Room & Suite (37)
Dining (11)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#1 of 1 hotels in West Coker
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
A contemporary boutique hotel in a traditional hamstone building. Beautiful grounds with friendly goats on their own island. Modern Brasserie restaurant. A Somerset cider list complements a well chosen wine list. Spa & gym. Perfect location for the Royal Navy Fleet Air Arm Museum as well as stopovers to and from Devon & Cornwall.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot bath
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Meeting rooms
Spa
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Room service
Seating area
Telephone
Clothes rack
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Refrigerator
iPod docking station
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
Languages Spoken
Spanish, Italian
462Reviews3Q+A76Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 305
  • 109
  • 27
  • 16
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Gordon D wrote a review Jan 2024
4 contributions1 helpful vote
Just had another fanastic lunch at Lanes for a friends birthday. This venue never fails to impress with beautifully presented food and outstanding service. Always guaranteed a warm welcome from the entire team at this first class venue. Thanks
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Shaun Whitehouse, Owner at Lanes Hotel
Responded 29 Jan 2024
It's so nice to receive such kind and positive feedback. I have passed on your comments to all staff. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards Shaun
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
gracienne j wrote a review Nov 2023
12 contributions5 helpful votes
Went to the lanes today and not the first time we have been. The restaurant and bar area was lovely. Our main course came out relatively quickly considering we were the first ones to eat. However 5 of us ordered deserts, cheesecake and sticky toffee pudding. After 20 minutes no sign of deserts and 2 of us had to leave to go on the M5 so I went to the bar to ask for the bill and also to clarify that I had to leave at 215 . I cancelled my dessert . As I'm walking out the door my dessert arrives at the table and told I still had to pay. Even though I cancelled the dessert 10 min earlier and had had to wait 30 mins in total. Totally disappointed in the managers attitude and told to pay.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Don't order desserts!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Shaun Whitehouse, Owner at Lanes Hotel
Responded 29 Jan 2024
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. I was sorry to read that you had to wait 30 minutes for your dessert. We normally serve all courses within 20 minutes. Please contact me if you want to book again (shaun@laneshotel.net) I can assure you that this was an isolated incident. Regards Shaun
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Judy P wrote a review Nov 2023
Somerset, United Kingdom17 contributions6 helpful votes
The last time we were at Lanes was when we got married and held our reception there 4 years ago. That day was perfect in every way and we could not fault the service we received . Time has flown by and with Covid etc it has taken us this long to return . Shame on us ! We booked just the two of us to celebrate my birthday and what can we say . The service and food were superb . The staff were so welcoming , friendly and courteous. The food was truly delicious and presented beautifully . Just first class all round . The whole place has such a lovely ambience . We can not recommend highly enough . We will certainly not be leaving it this long again and plan to come next to one of their themed nights and book a room for the night . Many of our wedding party stayed at Lanes for our wedding and they all reported all their rooms were first class as was ours it was perfect . Thank you to everyone again for a wonderful evening .
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Shaun Whitehouse, Owner at Lanes Hotel
Responded 29 Jan 2024
Thank you for your kind review. It's really appreciated. Don't be strangers too long. Best regards Shaun
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Brian G wrote a review Sept 2023
7 contributions7 helpful votes
We stayed here on our wedding day and was given it by my brother as a present. We were supposed to have a penthouse room (didn't know this until 2 days later), but ended up staying in a normal room, which we arrived at after midnight due to wedding reception, put bag in room and had to go straight to reception and ask for a fan as the room was like a sauna. Room was very average, certainly not worth the money that's for sure as we have stayed at far superior Holiday inn 's at £85, including Air conditioning, bathroom was not very clean, broken tiles on the floor which you wouldn't expect from a supposedly Boutique hotel (room 23), and bed was very hard. The Spa wasn't open as it's expensive to run, but still ok to charge customers a lot of money per night for a very bland room and average hotel. When we went to check out (we were glad to leave) I had to chase staff around to find out where to leave my keycard as there isn't a clearly marked reception, only to be pointed eventually to someone I took to be the manager and when I greeted him was only met with a attitude and a tut, not even asked how my stay was. All in all it is an overpriced average hotel, and I have stayed in places a quarter of the price with a lot better customer service. We will certainly won't be returning again!!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Shaun Whitehouse, Owner at Lanes Hotel
Responded 24 Sept 2023
So sorry to read that you were not happy. I am not why you thought you should have been in the Penthouse. Your booking was made through an OTA and was booked as a double room with shower and bath - exactly what you were allocated. Your comparison with a chain hotel is interesting as I have also recently stayed with the same chain and paid a lot more for a much smaller room. This is where dynamic pricing comes in. Our rooms are always offered at the best price on our own website. I disagree with you comments regarding the room and do not accept your comments regarding cleanliness. There are 3 cracked tiles (one is hairline) in that room, out of over 400 in the bathroom. We are retiling rooms on a room by room basis. I simply cannot reopen the Spa with energy costs as they are, I regret this but it is a reality. I can also assure you that our pricing is fair and we do benchmark regularly. The price increases we have had to absorb this year together with increased taxation means that we are still running with wafer thin margins. It's a shame that you won't be returning but, then again it's probably for the best as this is clearly not the hotel for you. I wish you every happiness in married life.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
JR wrote a review Sept 2023
2 contributions
Visited for our daughters wedding reception. Everything during our stay was great-the room, service, staff and location. The staff were all great even when things got really busy,not a frown in sight! Would heartily recommend for celebration gatherings.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Shaun Whitehouse, Owner at Lanes Hotel
Responded 13 Sept 2023
Thank you! It's great to hear that you had a good time and I know the team here really enjoyed the day too. I hope we see you again soon. Shaun
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Helen MH wrote a review Aug 2023
8 contributions1 helpful vote
Lovely, spacious apartment for my family and little dog. Fabulous breakfast. My son was particularly taken with the homemade granola. Excellent service provided by the staff on duty. We had to sit in the lobby area as we had our dog with us, but a table set up quickly for us, and we didn’t really notice that we weren’t in the main area. We only stayed for 1 night this time, next time we will definitely stay for longer!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Shaun Whitehouse, Owner at Lanes Hotel
Responded 9 Aug 2023
Thank you for your review. It's so nice to read that you enjoyed your stay and your family and dog were made to feel so welcome. Your son is right, our home-made granola is lovely! Hope to see you next time! Regards Shaun
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Graham B wrote a review Jun 2023
Canterbury, United Kingdom21 contributions8 helpful votes
Although the cost of a room for the night may seem high, the hotel is modern and well appointed with the bedrooms being large, modern and well equipped. The grounds are well looked after and great to walk round or just sit in. The beds are comfortable and the bathrooms modern with a great shower and bath. The kitchen staff prepare good quality food at both breakfast and evening meals. The hotel staff are friendly and willing to help when asked but could do with a little more training on being proactive with their table set up tasks and general service. Overall a great 3 days stay. We would return to this hotel if we need to visit this lovely part of the country.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Shaun Whitehouse, Owner at Lanes Hotel
Responded 6 Jun 2023
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are all so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. I have noted your comment regarding training and will incorporate this into our ongoing training programme. We'd all be delighted to welcome you back in the future. Many thanks! Shaun
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Richard W wrote a review Feb 2023
Wembley, United Kingdom4 contributions4 helpful votes
Our monthly meeting was booked at Lanes Hotel, a convenient location, plenty of parking close to the entrance. Coffee & Danish waiting on arrival, lovely quiet room for our meeting & presentation, and excellent buffet lunch. Staff were all extremely polite & friendly, and the owner made us feel extremely welcome and 'at home. Look forward to meeting there again when next in Yeovil on Business.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Book Early
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Shaun Whitehouse, Owner at Lanes Hotel
Responded 26 Feb 2023
Thank you for your review. It's great to get such positive feedback. Hopefully see you again soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Kyle wrote a review Dec 2022
Bridgwater, United Kingdom14 contributions3 helpful votes
We went to Lanes for our work Christmas party. It took around 20 minutes to get served at the bar and my colleagues who were having beverages with mixers thought they tasted watered down. The parsnip soup was plentiful, but thick and heavy - far too filling for a starter. Pigs in blankets had been advertised as a side dish for an extra £5.00 per portion, inferring these were not included with the turkey main, however this was not the case so lots of pigs in blankets were unnecessarily purchased, and subsequently wasted. The sticky toffee pudding was by far the worst I've had. The top and sides was crispy and the bottom was rubbery. I like my food but I could not finish that, and many colleagues were in the same boat. I can only imagine that they're not as good at catering on that scale, with food coming out at the same time. I'd heard lots of good reports of the Lanes during its usual dinner service, but I wouldn't recommend for works christmas meals.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Shaun Whitehouse, Owner at Lanes Hotel
Responded 13 Dec 2022
Thanks for your review. I was sorry to read that you did not enjoy your meal with us. I do wish you had spoken to us on the evening. Over the weekend, we have served several hundred meals and to date only had positive feedback. The bar was very busy, it's usual at this time of year but our team were able to serve customers in a decent time, once the initial rush was over. I can reassure you that we do not water down any drinks, never have and never will. Again, if a mixer tastes watered down, please let us know, we will look into it at the time. Please do visit us again, I am sure we can demonstrate that those reports you have received are true.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Matt84London wrote a review Oct 2022
London, United Kingdom98 contributions120 helpful votes
We stayed at the Lanes Hotel for a weekend break in Somerset. The hotel is located in the village of West Coker outside of Yeovil and advertised as a three-star property. The property consists of 2 buildings – the old main building housing the reception, bar and dining room and a new Annex building with most of the rooms. Check-in was quick and our room was located in the Annex building. The room was clean and featured a modern interior. The bed was also of decent size a very comfortable. Bathrobes were provided and the bathroom featured a bathtub with a fixed mounted shower head plus the usual bathroom amenities. We also had breakfast at the hotel the next morning. The breakfast was cooked to order with the service being quick and pleasant. A nice variety of buffet options have also been available. Overall, we enjoyed our stay at the Lanes Hotel. From my point of view the hotel is punching above its weight and we would certainly come back here if again in the area. The hotel has also a decent sized car park with parking being free for hotel guests.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the West Coker area.
PRICE RANGE
£159 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
lanes hotel west coker, lanes hotel yeovil
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandSomersetYeovilWest Coker
NUMBER OF ROOMS
29
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

LANES HOTEL - Updated 2024 Reviews (West Coker)

Frequently Asked Questions about Lanes Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Lanes Hotel?
Nearby attractions include The Octagon Theatre (2.6 miles), Montacute House (2.5 miles), and Tintinhull Garden (4.0 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Lanes Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Lanes Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Lanes Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Lanes Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Lanes Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Tamburino, Daniel Sushi , and Cat Head Inn.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Lanes Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Is Lanes Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the centre of West Coker.
Are any cleaning services offered at Lanes Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Lanes Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Lanes Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.