We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Durham Ox

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Durham Ox
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

282 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 280: English reviews
Start your review of The Durham Ox
 Click to rate
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We were recommended this pub/restaurant by the owner of the guesthouse we were staying in a few miles away. We went for a drink on the first night of our stay. It was very welcoming with cosy fires and a friendly atmosphere. We booked for evening meal for the next night. The meals we had were delicious. There was a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie C
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Dropped in here for a bar lunch. The service was pleasant, the menu extensive and interesting: fair value. The Ox has a lovely ambiance with different eating areas, including a new and airy function space; and we intend to return and stay overnight.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bramble40
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I went to the Durham Ox for my sister's 40th birthday party. The area out the back was beautiful - twinkly lights, a large disco ball, funky glass chandeliers - and the staff were friendly. But the best part about it was the food. We had cold beef and ham with potatoes, coleslaw, roasted vegetables and rolls. The meat was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mel E
Solihull, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a dinner reservation for 5.45pm on Friday 10th February, we arrived on time and were shown to our table in the bar area (No other Diners were present) After reading the menu's for ten minutes, a Lady waitress came over and asked for our drinks order, I said I was also ready to order our food, she said...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Kebuts
UK
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Wonderful location but overall the food did not seem as freshly cooked as we had assumed given the reputation. Warmed up pigeon breast was not as succulent as hoped for , tasteless beets, and my fish was dry. Although the brownie had good flavour it wax overall a disappointing meal

 Report
Helpful?
Thank drfoody
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had a fabulous meal at the Ox last evening. The Partridge with wild mushroom and bacon sauce and truffle mash was superb but difficult to bone on the plate. No problem, they provided another which was off the bone, within 10 minutes. "We listen to customer feedback and respond" our favourite waiter explained. Superb customer service was the order...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pru J
Doncaster
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

An excellent night at the Durham Ox, with Private Dining for 12, and an overnight stay in their on site accommodation. Taking up the Studio, the cottage and 4 of the suites, we had extensive coverage of nearly all the available rooms, and must say each one was excellent. Comfy beds and modern bathroom suites. Arriving mid afternoon, we took...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank percyneal60
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed one night in the Rose Cottage 23rd January. A warm welcome on arrival and shown to our cottage which was lovely and warm, the bathroom is large with a seperate double walk in shower and lovely big bath, very modern. The bed was lovely and hugged you with gorgeous linen. We had booked a table in the restaurant and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jbailey2015
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We were very much looking forward to celebrating the new year with what promised to be a very special meal at this gastropub. What we got was largely very disappointing and over priced. Fist there was the canapé - yes in singular we had to ask for a second chance to try the canapés on arrival. Then the first course...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jo F
Reviewed 8 January 2017 via mobile

Where do I start? We arrived to a blazing fire, great if our table, (which had been extended to accommodate our family party of 6 adults and three children) had been at the opposite side of the restaurant. We were literally two feet away. We asked if something could be done as we were all too hot having only been...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dawn L
thedurhamox, Manager at The Durham Ox, responded to this review

Dear Dawn L We were thoroughly disappointed to receive your review this morning. We strive to provide impeccable service and delicious food and it seems during your visit we fell short on both and for this we can only apologise. We too are saddened that you did not mention anything on the day, as we would have done our up...

101 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (64)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crayke
13.8 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
3.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Burn Hall Hotel
7.4 mi away
Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
The Worsley Arms Hotel
The Worsley Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hovingham
589 reviews
17.8 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,353 reviews
12.1 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about The Durham Ox

Address: Westway, Crayke, Easingwold YO61 4TE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Easingwold > Crayke
Price Range: £79 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Durham Ox 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Durham Ox reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Durham Ox Hotel Crayke
The Durham Ox Crayke, Yorkshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Durham Ox staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Ripon, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Ripon, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Durham Ox staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Accommodation good all round.”
 of 5 bubbles percyneal60, 3 Feb 2017 | Read review
“I am reviewing the disappointing restaurant”
 of 5 bubbles 443jof, 20 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All ground floor rooms have an amazing view over stunning country side”
 of 5 bubbles myself54, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Field - small but wonderfully cosy. And opt for the Sun to Thurs £150 per couple DB&B option - amazing value!”
 of 5 bubbles dalesboy, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
“All very good. The studio suite being the biggest”
 of 5 bubbles RBandAF, 17 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5