We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Hillhead Farm Lets

Pirnhall Road Nr Stirling, Bannockburn, Stirling FK7 8EH Scotland
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (34)
Room & Suite (13)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#1 of 1 B&B in Bannockburn
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Hillhead Farm Lets provide six luxury rooms which have been converted from a traditional Scottish farm steading in June 2010. The rooms have been finished to a very high standard and are set around a traditional Scottish cottage garden with panoramic views towards Stirling Castle, the Wallace Monument and the Field of Bannockburn. Our rooms have free hi speed wifi internet. We are located in the countryside close to the historical town of Bannockburn, within walking distance of the Bannockburn Battlefield site where Robert the Bruce defeated the English armies in 1314.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
Languages Spoken
English, French, German

Location

Pirnhall Road Nr Stirling, Bannockburn, Stirling FK7 8EH Scotland
Hillhead Farm Lets
139Reviews2Q+A15Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 39
  • 31
  • 19
  • 14
  • 36
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Claire wrote a review Feb 2024
4 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
Lots of construction activity at neighbouring properties. There was a very bright construction light shining in through the window. Car park very small and difficult to manoeuvre a large car or van. Poorly equipped room - no hooks or other storage in bathroom. No toiletries. Bath towels were small. On arrival all the windows were open, so the room temperature was close to the 2C outside temperature, and no effective way to heat room, as the only heater was a storage heater and did not work. The bed consisted of two single beds pushed together and a layer of thin foam layed over the top. The foam was larger than the mattress meaning that there was an overhang of foam with no mattress underneath it. Worse still, the mattress was completely burst open along the entire length of one side, the springs and insulation were exposed and there was little support on that side of the mattress. The owner must have known as they would have noticed the mattress had a gaping hole when changing the sheets. Duvet wasn't wide enough for the bed, unless you are flat Stanley. Window blind was broken so did not fully close. The room was not very clean. There were stains on the bed frame and also on the cushions. The bedside units were worn and tired. The shower worked, but the flow was poor. Had booked for three nights but only stayed for one - getting a decent night's sleep is a fundamental requirement, and it was well short of that standard given the terrible bed. We have been let down and ripped off.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Do not visit this place.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
AdrianaR740 wrote a review Sept 2023
Montevideo, Uruguay82 contributions15 helpful votes
To go to this accommodation it is necessary to have a car. Public transport is a single bus per hour or a taxi (8 -10 pounds). Development Housing is being built around the place, so there was noise from machinery/trucks from 7 a.m. to 5:30 p.m. every day. The room was very bright. The owner is not very kind and unfriendly.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Get your own car to stay there.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Ruben C wrote a review Jul 2023
8 contributions
We booked this hotel 4 months ago, and 3 days before our trip they cancelled our booking because they have a wedding and decided to give our room to the bride to put make up on. They offered to provide me with an alternative option, which is inferior to their standards, and refuse to pay for a similar accommodation. I found them rude, disrespectful, inconsiderate and with lack of customer care. I strongly advice everyone to avoid booking with them, since they wouldn't hesitate to ditch you if something better comes up.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: They just don't care about their customers
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Alasdair MacPherson, Owner at Hillhead Farm Lets
Responded 29 Jul 2023
We are sorry we had to cancel your reservation. You are very fortunate we did not report you to the police for being abusive to our staff, please learn from this.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Greer O wrote a review Jun 2023
Hereford, United Kingdom19 contributions7 helpful votes
Never actually stayed as the booking was cancelled by the host with less than 48 hours notice. (recurring theme here). We had booked many months in advance. We were informed this was an administrative error. When I asked how the refund would be arranged I was sent an illegible Pay Pal receipt and given a new excuse for the cancellation (cited as a brawl between previous guests that had made the accommodation unusable). Having booked and paid through a booking agency, I contacted this agency. It was made clear that the hosts had not informed the agency of the cancellation and the refund could not be processed until the cancellation was confirmed. The refund matter was resolved by the booking agency, though the reason for cancellation reverted to 'administrative error'. The reviews show that this problem has occurred for other travellers over many years. This property is either very poorly run or there is some questionable business practice taking place.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: I booked Travelodge at Stirling services instead. Much more reliable.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Alasdair MacPherson, Owner at Hillhead Farm Lets
Responded 29 Jul 2023
We are very sorry we had to cancel your reservation.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
suzy h wrote a review Nov 2022
19 contributions6 helpful votes
Spent 1 night here with my friend. The room was spotless and also very cosy. We met Elaine and she was lovely. Would highly recommend and would definitely stay here again if I was through in Stirling/Bannockburn area. My friend and I ate at Thistle Arms and it was delicious.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
amitsharma1684 wrote a review Oct 2022
55 contributions15 helpful votes
Absolute disgrace and extremely unprofessional. I arranged my friend to stay overnight at last minute they cancelled and didn’t even refund. It’s a fraud business they are running- at the time of enquiry they hung up and blocked my number. Stay in car but don’t book here.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Brenda T wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
The owner, Alistair cancelled our booking just 4 days before our arrival. His excuse was that he had a wedding party using the other rooms and they had asked for our room to use for doing their hair and make up! We were already on holiday, staying up near Skye in Scotland and it meant we were faced with a 400 mile drive home with no overnight break. We had a dog with us too making it very difficult for us to try to book anywhere else. As my husband, the driver is 78, I did not want him embarking on such a long drive. We wasted a whole day of our holiday trying to find somewhere else and ended up going a long way off our route to get something. I attempted speaking to Alistair by phone but he was unsympathetic saying it was a ‘business decision’. We had booked through booking.com and they were no help except to say they would refund our payment which they had already taken. I noticed in the reviews that a number of months ago, somebody else had had their booking cancelled on the last minute here with another ‘wedding’ excuse. I don’t know what’s going on here but I would never book with Hillhead Farm Let’s, (Bannockburn, Stirling) again.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Prissy wrote a review Feb 2022
1 contribution
I wanted to ask a couple of questions before I booked so thought I would give them a call. A guy answered hello, I asked a question about the guesthouse. The guy put the phone down on me. When I rang again it went straight to voicemail the landline and the so called mobile. I don’t care how cheap they are, with an attitude like that. They can stuff the booking. I had every intention of making a booking but that attitude and the negative reviews on here made me change my mind. If they can’t be bothered to answer politely and just have an I don’t care attitude. Don’t run a guesthouse. So rude and definitely not needed. Glad I read the reviews before I made the mistake of staying there.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
SnappySam wrote a review Dec 2021
Aberdeen113 contributions44 helpful votes
Last minute booking. Lady called us after booking through external site within 20 Minutes to double check requirements. Clear instructions given on arrival. Lady very friendly and chatty. Great recommendation for where to eat. Room was very clean and warm. Comfy beds - and only complaint is that the shower was a bit small (I’m a big chap!) For the money excellent. Very convenient - Not far off motorway but quite close to everything.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Watch your satnav - we were taken along a very narrow road and missed the venue - Head for the...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Coral D wrote a review Oct 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
If I could, the "stay" here would get a 0 star rating! Absolutely shocking behaviour towards customers that have booked with them! I have had a room booked for almost 3 months and received and email today informing me that my stay was cancelled leaving me only 6 days to find accommodation for a trip that had been planned 3 months ago. The excuse I was given was that a bride had booked out all the rooms except mine but NOW decided she need it for hair and makeup, regardless of the room already being booked by someone else. The fact that Hillhead seems to think it's appropriate to just leave people hanging with only a few days notice is appalling. It also appears that many other people have had the same experience with the same excuse of a wedding party... wouldn't surprise me if this whole place was a giant scam! DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME BOOKING HERE.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Bannockburn area.
PRICE RANGE
£62 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandStirlingshireStirlingBannockburn
NUMBER OF ROOMS
4
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HILLHEAD FARM LETS - Updated 2024 Reviews (Stirling)

Frequently Asked Questions about Hillhead Farm Lets
Which popular attractions are close to Hillhead Farm Lets?
Nearby attractions include Bannockburn House (0.4 miles) and The North Third Reservoir (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hillhead Farm Lets?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and reduced mobility rooms.
Is parking available at Hillhead Farm Lets?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hillhead Farm Lets?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Bannockburn Coffee House, Pirnhall Inn Brewers Fayre, and Tartan Arms & McQ’s.
Is Hillhead Farm Lets located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 miles away from the centre of Bannockburn.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hillhead Farm Lets?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, and German.
Are there any historical sites close to Hillhead Farm Lets?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Stirling Old Town Jail (2.8 miles), National Wallace Monument (4.0 miles), and Stirling Bridge (3.3 miles).
Is Hillhead Farm Lets accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.