Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Satis House Hotel

A12, Main Road, Yoxford, Saxmundham IP17 3EX England
Traveller (305)
one of the bedrooms
Room & Suite (256)
Restaurant at the Satis House Hotel
Dining (78)

View prices for your travel dates

£118
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#1 of 1 hotels in Yoxford
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
This Garde II listed Georgian House sits in 3 acres of woodlands. Recently awarded a Gold award, 2 Rosettes and Best Breakfast accolade from the British tourist board and AA, Satis House offers the perfect setting for relaxing or visiting local tourist hot spots like Southwold and Aldeburgh. The restaurant offers locally sourced Modern British cuisine and has just been voted top tree restaurant in Suffolk 2009.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Hiking
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Express check-in / check-out
Room features
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Seating area
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Telephone
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
Languages Spoken
English
1,010Review6Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 650
  • 168
  • 70
  • 66
  • 56
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
ingatestonian wrote a review Aug 2020
Essex, UK165 contributions83 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Arranged 2 night stay at a few days notice as base for enjoying Suffolk coast during forecast heatwave, booking the last available room. Satis House is a 250 year old country house which provides antique and quirky furniture and fittings alongside good service, breakfast and dinner. The character of the building and secluded garden provided a relaxing stay after exploring Dunwich, Southwold and Walberswick.

Food was good and well presented and at £20 (plus some supplements) the 3 course dinner was good value. Overall it was pleasant to stay at an independent family hotel instead of an identikit chain. Amongst the staff, Jacob was very helpful, as were the rest of the team.

We felt Covid safe and breakfast and dinner was staggered with only some tables available at any time and waiting staff wearing gloves.

It's always interesting to study negative reviews, I see that one of the most negative was from someone who has given 5 stars to the the same Premier Inn hotel no less than three times. Satis House's offering is very different to a chain hotel, not perfect but individual to guests.

It is definitely worth calling the hotel to book direct rather than using internet agents as offers may be available. Would we stay again, yes, especially if the weather can be guaranteed.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JustFlying wrote a review Jun 2021
2 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I don’t usually do reviews, but after reading some very mixed ones about the Satis House Hotel, I feel obliged to now do so. This hotel will not suit everyone, but for those who like something a little different it’s a visit worth making.
The Satis is hard to find, even using the postcode doesn’t help much. It’s right beside the A12, hidden behind a rather splendid mix of towering trees. Arrival is like stepping back a few decades, the predominantly gold decor a sight to behold. Giant mirrors in gold frames attached to walls covered with wonderfully crafted wallpapers. Golden effigies of the kings of the animal and bird world adorn the walls between the mirrors; the human form depicted in seemingly gold-leaf covered statues, some of them not very PC for today’s world, but perfect for the hotel’s assigned era.
On arrival guests are required to chose their time for breakfast and given a form to select the next morning’s delights. Both the breakfast and dinner menus are limited and unfussy. After enjoying dinner on our first night, choosing the only two things on the menu that appealed, we were disappointed that on the following evening when we were presented with the same menu.
Our top offering room came with a balcony that formed the portico over the entrance to the hotel. The small metal table and chairs on the balcony had seem better days. They were rusty. But if you love looking at mature handsome trees through full height windows then it was a great view.
We had a four-poster bed. Very comfortable and offered a good night’s sleep. The nicely carpeted floor hid ups and downs and a few slopes that made getting around seem like we may have had one too many. The wide chest of drawers was definitely on the slope. Electric radiator heating was very efficient and although the bath took forever to fill, the shower above it was pumped to full pressure. Tea making was a pleasure because the tiny capsules contained real milk (not UHT!).
Satis House has been a hotel for centuries. It was built in 1791 and it said that Charles Dickens stayed there when he wrote Great Expectations. So only have great expectations of this place if you look forward to stepping back in time and being a little regimented. We enjoyed it.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Joanne wrote a review Jan 2020
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here for 1 night on 11th Jan 2020, a fantastic hotel, food was amazing! All staff were friendly and helpful. We stayed in a superior room it was very cosy and the bed was very comfortable. Will visit again. Highly reccomend !
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from CaraD343, Owner at Satis House Hotel
Responded 29 Jan 2020
Thank you for taking the time to give us positive feedback about your stay.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ali D wrote a review Aug 2020
4 contributions4 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Very disappointing overnight stay. Room advertised as a deluxe garden room, with patio, on arrival found to be a wooden pod with an unkept patio. Unable to check-in until 5pm supposedly due to intensive cleaning reference COVID 19, yet an empty water bottle from the previous guest was found on a shelf, large amounts of dust on the telephone and behind the bathroom bin. Shower cubicle in need of a clean and replacement tiles due to mould, inner light also not working. One bedside light did not work and the other was broken, unable to angle as expected. The emergency light above the bed had a blue plaster stuck over it to dim the brightness. This room certainly did not meet the charge of £155 without breakfast per night. On complaining at reception I was met with a rather cold response from the management who did not seem to be interested. We did not eat in the restaurant as every item was carefully priced with an unneeded supplement and breakfast was overpriced at an extra £15 per person. I would not recommend the Satis House Hotel. Sadly the only compliment I would give would be to the comfortable super king sized bed, yet even the quilt cover was torn on the top right hand corner.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Katherine C wrote a review Jun 2021
5 contributions12 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Booked the Satis Hotel for two nights in a twin bedded room, this week.
Was told we had our own private entrance to the garden.
We were also told that we could not check in until 5pm due to extensive cleaning
The Hotel had a strong unpleasant smell, which was quite overpowering, musty and smelt a bit like vinegar, the 'room' was the same
We were shown to a 'POD', which was a glorified shed. This was a shock as we thought we had booked a room in the hotel
The room was far from clean, the window above the bed was covered in dust and cobwebs and the bedside tables were dusty. Scatter cushions on the bed were dirty
Breakfast was OK, however the cook was also the waiter and was the only person around. We had to ask him to get the Manager, which he did.
We asked to pay our bill and check out as we would not be staying for the second night.
The Manageress was OK with that and didn't object. At £150 per night for B and B in a dated understaffed Hotel that needed a thorough clean, was definitely not value for money.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Elaine P wrote a review Sept 2020
London, United Kingdom62 contributions33 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Having booked this for one night, we arrived to discover that we had to pay an additional £30 for breakfast( more about that later) the hotel looked pleasant enough but after waiting for 5 minutes for the woman on the desk to stop chatting to another member of staff we were getting a bit fed up.
We were shown to our room, which looked pleasant enough at first glance. However on closer inspection we noticed that the door lock was hanging by one screw, the drinking glasses were dusty and the room smelt of curry and damp. The bathroom wasn’t big enough to swing, let alone swing a cat, tiny shower with hot and cold knob reversed. Extractor fan did not work. We went to the already open window to be met by the most dreadful view of what appeared to be a small courtyard used to dump rubbish in, the TV was very basic and we couldn’t alter the rather bizarre colours. We even had to pay £2.00 for a small bottle of water. One mini pack of biscuits between us.
In the morning we went down for our preordered breakfast ( remember we paid £30 for this) to find one slice of dry toast and tea with UHT milk. The breakfast itself was OK, but by then we couldn’t wait to be off
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Anon_N_London wrote a review Mar 2020
London, United Kingdom8 contributions11 helpful votes
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I have never been so humiliated in my life. I booked a room plus dinner and breakfast to celebrate my husband’s birthday and it turned into a nightmare. Firstly when we arrived at the hotel with our dog (we planned to do a lot of walking in the countryside) the hotel manager Cara gave us one room outside the hotel because of the dog, until then I understood the situation. The place that she gave us was like a container without ventilation (the ventilator was broken with a lot of dust) and the smell of damp heat was horrendous. When I come back to the reception and asked her to provide a ventilator or change the room she treated me very badly, In this hotel there customers have no rights. I suffer from allergy and at the moment I entered in that damp heat room I felt a strong headache and I told her that I have allergy to damp but she didn’t care. When I told that I will put my review on the internet and I will speak with other customers Cara told me to leave. She asked very angrily why I’m an unpleasant customer and that I need to leave. I told Cara that it is too late to come back to London (I don’t like to drive in the dark and also I’m tired!) and I don’t know if I will find other hotel to stay in at that time, her answer was sharp, hard and nasty: “I don’t care about what you will do after you leave this Hotel”. At this moment, I was so distressed that I turned to my husband and asked him to find another hotel at booking.com. Thank goodness we managed to find one hotel nearby. I attach some pictures of the room (no ventilation, damp and pubic hair on the toilet). Please, if you think that I paid £169 per one night and I had to go through this nightmare I advise think twice before you book.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
mickchicken wrote a review Oct 2021
London, United Kingdom103 contributions104 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel refers to itself as a boutique hotel, I have never quite understood that term but lets call it on the "shabby chic" side of things. The room we had was very clean and comfortable. The mini bar prices were on the high side and the room notes refer to a "complimentary bottle of tap water is provided" really!!
The food was very good however, the sea bass was a little on the dry side but overall the food dinner and breakfast was very good.
The hotel has two dinning rooms one for dinner and one for breakfast, this seems to be a waste as the bar area is very small and forms part of the dinner dining area. If the breakfast room was turned into a lounge it would become somewhere to relax in and enjoy tea, coffee and an after dinner drink. A log fire would also add to the staying experience in the winter/Christmas.
After dinner the bar was less than welcoming and the only member of staff was servicing dinner so a long wait for a drink would have been on the cards. Again it wasn't very welcoming.
Would I stay here again or recommend it... I don't think so. Sorry.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: The Aldeburgh room is adjacent to the main road and can be a little noisy however the four poster...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jean B wrote a review Aug 2021
2 contributions8 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
After spending some time locating the hotel as not very sign posted ! First impressions looked good . We stayed in the room with balcony , the room looked tired , fluffy rug was full of dust , and the room had cob webs and was dusty, window's and mirror's had not been cleaned . Lack of accessible power points for modern day technology equipment also no point near a mirror to use hair dryer etc . Balcony was dirty and had not been swept for some time .Reception was un manned most of the time other than a young waiter who ran the bar and restaurant and served breakfast the next morning ,after meal in restaurant we were told we could not have coffee as machine had not been turned on and the same the next day . Breakfast the first day was good as with the meal in the restaurant the night before , Breakfast the second day was a bit of a shambles as we did not receive as ordered , toast was not toasted sent back only to get the same bread re toasted that was like a biscuit and uneatable . There was nobody available to take up our complaints . For £170 per night we feel this is over priced and definitely not worth the money .
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
Room Tip: avoid this hotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Janet J wrote a review Jul 2021
Bedford, United Kingdom330 contributions82 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Have always liked the look of this hotel and after over 50 years have eventually spent three nights there. Decor is incredible,glam 40s style,it is kept very clean and the rooms are very large and comfortable.Breakfasts at the moment are pre ordered but the system works very well,their fruit salad is gorgeous and the smoked salmon very tasty. We only ate in the restaurant for the first night but the menu was good and the items we chose were very good. The young waiter who looked after us at breakfast works very hard dealing with all the tables,I wish I had asked his name to give him a mention. The grounds are very pleasant,we did know where entrance to drive was but it could be difficult for people new to the area,signage could be more obvious. There is a bit of traffic noise from A12 with windows open in the current heatwave,there is a fan provided in bedroom.Loved our bedroom (Dunwich) and our whole stay,would certainly go again.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tracey C asked a question Apr 2019
Newmarket, United Kingdom24 contributions4 helpful votes
Is the restaurant dressy or is smart casual acceptable
Answer from Kim S
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom23 contributions24 helpful votes
I would say casual,that is why I like the ambiance
Answer from Cara D
Harrogate, United Kingdom3 contributions5 helpful votes
If you read your original booking terms your initial booking was a non refundable booking cancelled on the first date of the stay. The hotel however made an exception and moved your booking but made it clear that we would not move it again. You wife was taken ill again during your stay and you left early. You were asked at the time if everything was ok and you said it was purely because your wife was unwell. If there were issues with your room you should have raised it at the time. You specifically requested this room due to accessibility of it. The hotel has been more than reasonable with you. It is a shame you have not been reasonable in return.
mummyx2 asked a question Jan 2017
essex1 contribution
Is the hotel in walking distance to town/ pubs/ restaurants?
Answer from Jules49
London16 contributions7 helpful votes
Yes it is approx 5 to 10 mins walk to the local pub and one or two shops and restaurants. Regards Julian
angelat163 asked a question Jul 2016
Royston, United Kingdom51 contributions19 helpful votes
Who now owns this hotel please?
Answer from 8Fifi
London, United Kingdom69 contributions93 helpful votes
Don’t know who they are but we as locals have stopped using it as our experience on three visits since they took over has been awful. And if you comment about how bad it is on trip advisor you will get abuse from the owner. Really no longer worth going.
Answer from Sharon K
Hollesley, United Kingdom67 contributions96 helpful votes
Hi they have rooms for people who wish to take pets ..we were shown some of the rooms whilst there for a meal .. All beautiful
Kate H wrote a tip 10 Apr
London, United Kingdom1 contribution1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ignore the fact the restaurant is advertised - there doesn't seem to be one. "
Read full review
Molly321smith wrote a tip Dec 2023
4 contributions4 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"You have to ring a door bell to get a drink, no one to be seen, no signage on doors, no light bulbs in. Toilets, unpleasant smell and so coldwegaveupandwenthome"
Read full review
Ajit wrote a tip Oct 2022
Bengaluru, India32 contributions45 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Great if you are attending events near Sibton park. If you want scenery , check out some b&b farms"
Read full review
Gilly M wrote a tip Aug 2022
London, England, United Kingdom4 contributions12 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"don't have the room at the far end of the corridor !"
Read full review
Bazza099 wrote a tip Oct 2021
Nottingham, United Kingdom184 contributions39 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Turning right out of the hotel entrance - better off turning left and turning around further down the road. Very fast traffic on the A12"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Yoxford area.
PRICE RANGE
£76 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandEast AngliaSuffolkSaxmundhamYoxford
NUMBER OF ROOMS
12
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SATIS HOUSE HOTEL - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about Satis House Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Satis House Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Suffolk Escape Room (3.6 miles), RSPB Minsmere (4.7 miles), and Dunwich Heath and Beach (4.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Satis House Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Satis House Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Satis House Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Satis House Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Satis House Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Huntingfield Arms, Cinnamon Leiston, and The Queen's Head.
Is Satis House Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the centre of Yoxford.
Are pets allowed at Satis House Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Satis House Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting St Peter, Wenhaston (4.5 miles), Walpole Old Chapel (4.2 miles), and Heveningham Hall (4.1 miles).
Is Satis House Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire