We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel de France et de Russie

Save
Share
51 rue du General Lamy, 24800 Thiviers France
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Booking.com
View all 11 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (21)
Room & Suite (23)
Dining (15)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
This elegant, small luxury hotel, furnished with fine antiques offers you the charm, comfort and authenticity of a beautiful home. Set amidst pretty gardens with a terrace sheltered by fine trees the hotel is a haven of tranquility and is open 7 days a week, all year round. English, French and Spanish are spoken. Situated in the centre of Thiviers, opposite the Town Hall and surrounding parkland. Free high speed Internet access and secure parking. The Hotel is at the start of the Flow Velo cycle route and been awarded the Accueil Velo Marque
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Street parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Canoeing offsite
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Ironing service
Wifi
Breakfast available
Picnic area
Sun terrace
Show more
Room features
Bottled water
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English, French
72Reviews2Q+A11Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 47
  • 20
  • 4
  • 1
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Carolyn P wrote a review Aug 2020
7 contributions10 helpful votes
+1
We stayed at the hotel in August 2020. I initially booked for 5 days but after staying there for one night we decided to check out after three days. It would have been the day after but felt bad that we had initially booked for five nights. We stayed in room 4, which overlooks the front garden. A garden I hasten to add that guests can’t use when the independent restaurant is open. That is some lunchtimes and most evenings. We were met by the owners on arrival on a particularly rainy night. The reception is only open between 8am and 8pm there is no room service whatsoever which you would expect from a three star hotel. We were handed a bottle of water and told that despite an eight hour drive there was no food available. Apparently guests wanting to eat in the restaurant need to book three months ahead. It would have been nice to have known that at the time of booking, it would have certainly had an influence on whether we stayed there. When we went to our room, we could see that the rug just inside the door was curled up which was an immediate trip/fall hazard. Couldn’t understand why the rug hadn’t been turned around to avoid an accident. The room had two small double beds in, they were very low down and very hard and uncomfortable. There was a mish mash of cheap white ill fitting furniture in the room, along with a tatty ironing board . There was no dressing table or mirror in the room either. A tv sat on the desk which showed nothing in English at all. The bedside lamp on one side of the bed was tiny not giving enough light to read by. There were two paper cups to hold a hot drink and two thin plastic glasses for water. ( these were not changed during our three days there) We were told that China cups and glasses weren’t available because of COVID! Strange when glasses and china were being used elsewhere in the hotel. The room was not cleaned or attended too either during our stay, again because of Covid! I could understand the room not being attended to if we were in it, but once we had gone out why couldn’t the room be cleaned etc with people wearing appropriate ppe? We did put the plastic bag from our bin outside but this was not replaced. The en-suite bathroom had a Lidl hand soap and cleaning products which is hardly worthy of a premium room. In order to turn the shower on you have to lean under the shower as the screen is fixed to the bath. It also took an age for the water to disperse. After checking in we asked where we could get a drink. The waiter suggested us to sit in what looked liked an anti room by a small bar. We had a bottle of wine. I asked if there were any nuts,olives which is normal in France when ordering drinks. I was told there was nothing. We sat on a tiny sofa ignored by all the staff, watching them cut up bread and prepare food for the restaurant. All in all this hotel is not worthy of three stars. It’s no more than a B&B and at €90 a night for the room only a bit expensive. Breakfast is €9 per person for a very small continental breakfast. I would not recommend this hotel and I certainly wouldn’t return.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: The only tip is not to stay there if you want any level of food and comfort.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Adrian Finch, Propriétaire at Hotel de France et de Russie
Responded 1 Sep 2020
Dear Caroline, Your review reflects more upon yourself than it does the hotel especially as we had many conversations during your stay and at no point did you raise any of the numerous incorrect statements that you have now raised. To clarify your original reservation was for seven nights for which you were given a discounted room rate, before you even arrived at the hotel you had already asked for that to be reduced to five nights. When you arrived at the hotel you said you plans to move to France had changed and you asked for your stay to be reduced to three nights. You room was re booked by French guests within hours for €20 per night more than you were paying. You received a booking confirmation one month before your stay that asked you to read our Coronavirus controls before you arrive at the hotel and also informed you that if you wished to eat in our immensely popular gourmet restaurant an advance booking was essential. You clearly did not read this important information either prior to arrival or since, otherwise I would like to think you would not now be complaining about information you were given on two separate occasions before your stay and was also displayed in your room during your stay. To correct a few of your statements 1) You need to book the restaurant a few days ahead not three months. 2) The Garden is available to guests at all times 3) You did not stay in room 4 4) The requirement for a three-star hotel is reception is open for 12 hours per day which ours is. 5) It is quite normal when you switch on a television in France, they show French tv and not English TV. 6) You refer to us being no more than a B&B however I have never heard of a B&B with an on-site gourmet restaurant. 7) Our restaurant does not serve nuts and olives but does serve amuse bouchées in between courses but only if you have made a reservation to eat in the restaurant of course. 8) We are awarded our star rating by Atout France, we achieved a score of 98.5% against a very strict criteria. The hotel and restaurant had a 100% occupancy rate for August 2020 so clearly we are doing something right during these difficult Coronavirus times. Regards, Adrian & Sharon Finch
Read more
Debbie S wrote a review Nov 2019
3 contributions2 helpful votes
We stayed here recently and had a fantastic time. Our room (no 2) was large and beautiful, with all mod cons. The bathroom was also big with a separate bath and all singing and dancing shower cubicle. We had a lovely view over the front garden. The owners are very welcoming and hands on. Their breakfasts of yoghurt, fresh bread, mini pastries, jam and plenty of coffee were delightful eaten on the terrace outside. We enjoyed exploring the beautiful surrounding countryside and there are lots of interesting places to visit. We highly recommend this hidden gem of a hotel!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Thiviers-Hotel, Owner at Hotel de France et de Russie
Responded 19 Feb 2020
Thank you for your lovely review. We do hope to see you here again soon! Adrian and Sharon
Read more
H & A Rolf wrote a review Sep 2019
Roquebrune-sur-Argens, France2 contributions1 helpful vote
We stayed at the beginning of August for 2 nights. This was our second stay here. I need an accessible room. They have two. Very modern bathrooms with everything you would need. We were very comfortable. Adrian made a point of checking that we had everything we needed in the room. The breakfasts are very filling with copious amounts of tea and coffee. There is a wonderful restaurant within the hotel run as a separate entity. Definitely worth eating there. Lots to see and do in the surrounding areas. We were just passing through but will definitely be back for a longer stay. Couldn't fault it.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Thiviers-Hotel, Owner at Hotel de France et de Russie
Responded 19 Feb 2020
Thank you for your lovely review, It was lovely to see you again and we do hope we see you again this year. kind regards Sharon and Adrian Finch
Read more
Siobhan wrote a review Aug 2019
1 contribution
The English hosts, Adrian and Sharon welcomed us at the door and went out of their way to make us feel comfortable, happy and welcome. Nothing seemed too much trouble for them. They recommended towns to visit such as Perigueux and Brantome and this amazing mussel and sardine festival in a neighbouring village, Corgnac, where we had a fantastic night. They also directed us to this amazing lake with a bar and live music, an incredible setting to swim, eat and relax. The rooms in this 18th century coaching inn were large, comfortable and immaculate with exposed beams and a history lesson around the corner from our host Adrian. We will definitely return to this wonderful hotel which I recommend unreservedly.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Ask for the '3 bears room', an amazing family room with lots of character, light and...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Thiviers-Hotel, Owner at Hotel de France et de Russie
Responded 27 Aug 2019
Thank you for your lovely review. We like to pride ourselves on our customer service and it is always good when it is appreciated. We do hope you come and stay with us again soon. Sharon and Adrian
Read more
Steve & Tracey wrote a review Aug 2019
Oxted, United Kingdom4 contributions
We came across this wonderful hotel by chance and so glad we did Highly recommend very friendly helpful owners nothing was too much trouble All rooms individually styled all with en-suite bathrooms very clean and tidy We enjoyed a sunny breakfast on the terrace and the restaurant is outstanding even if you can’t get a room food here is wonderful
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Thiviers-Hotel, Owner at Hotel de France et de Russie
Responded 27 Aug 2019
Thank you for your lovely review. We really appreciate your comments and hope you come and stay with us again soon, Sharon and Adrian
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$77 - US$94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
FranceNouvelle-AquitaineDordogneThiviers
NUMBER OF ROOMS
11
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel de France et de Russie
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel de France et de Russie?
Nearby attractions include Saint-Jean de Cole (4.1 miles), Couvent Saint Paul (0.05 miles), and Eglise Saint-Jean-Baptiste (4.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel de France et de Russie?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a lounge, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel de France et de Russie?
Guests can enjoy a lounge and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel de France et de Russie?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel de France et de Russie?
Conveniently located restaurants include L'Escapade des Sens, Le Temps des Mets, and The Fiddlers Rest.
Is Hotel de France et de Russie located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.1 miles away from the centre of Thiviers.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel de France et de Russie?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and French.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel de France et de Russie?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Chateau de Jumilhac (8.5 miles).
Is Hotel de France et de Russie accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.