We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

YHA Penzance

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
YHA Penzance
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

132 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 116: English reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

We arrived for our winter foray into Cornwall this year, booking last minute - as usual, we got straight through on the phone and arrived half an hour later to a friendly welcome. A huge place very well fitted out - cosy on the cold evenings but with a great bar, lounge and facilities throughout (including a huge drying room!)....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Douglas K
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

YHA Penzance is fantastic! In a huge manor house called Castle Horneck, it is really grand. It was a welcome sight after a day of travelling and the staff were very welcomming. My room was clean and comfortable with a toilet close by and it was a pleasure to unpack and settle in. The showers were spick and span with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie T
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 November 2016

We stayed overnight in a family room with 6 beds in it. The check in was welcoming, the staff very helpful and we immediately felt comfortable. The beds were good quality bunks, each with its own light console as well as hanging space. the room was large and carpeted - our bathroom was opposite. We had supper together in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hortophagus
Paul K, Manager at YHA Penzance, responded to this review

Cheers guys. I am glad you had a good time. Those days of bed making and sweeping the floors are long gone. I am glad you had a better experience for it. The Mousehole Christmas lights are fabulous well worth a return visit. See you soon. Paul

Markham, Canada
Reviewed 1 November 2016 via mobile

I stayed here last night and it was a bit of a walk getting here from the train station. It wasn't too hard to find, thanks to the directions that was emailed to me but as the sun started to set, it got incredibly dark since you need to walk through an unlit and wooded pathway to get to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melissa L
Paul K, Manager at YHA Penzance, responded to this review

Hello Melissa, Thanks for taking the time to review us here at Penzance YHA. I appreciate the last part of the drive is dark. Unfortunately the lane is private and lighting it is not a priority to the land owner. We do have torches here for the trip back to the pub. Paul

St Austell, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 October 2016

Although not technically a 'youth', I have over the last year or two, been a regular visitor to YHA Penzance and it never disappoints. Manager Paul and his team are always welcoming, the hostel rooms, grounds and amenities are always clean and overall well maintained. The only comment or suggestion to prospective guests who are not used to sleeping in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank domghisays
Paul K, Manager at YHA Penzance, responded to this review

Cheers for your great review. So you had the snorer! For those booking shared single sex dormitory accommodation an ear plug pack can be purchased at reception. They are a number one seller! Paul

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 October 2016

Clean quiet warm rooms, beds were relatively comfortable and the linen was clean, the carpet was clean. The breakfast was well cooked and the hostel had friendly staff, who checked us in even when we arrived nearly at 11pm. Spacious clean kitchen with enough room to place one's food. Very close to the sea front. Truly enjoyed our brief stay

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SangN
Paul K, Manager at YHA Penzance, responded to this review

Hello, thanks for the great review. There is nothing worst than a sticky carpet! Thanks for noticing. The cleaning staff will be happy to hear that they are appreciated. Paul

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 October 2016

Tidy place and was impressed with the clean furnishings, a tad up on yer average YHA I thought. Price was good for room and despite shared toilets and shower, those were clean and available. Kitchen facilities were ok (but please note get a new rice cooker, it doesn't work). Staff were friendly and helpful. If I were to make one...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ricky B
Paul K, Manager at YHA Penzance, responded to this review

Hello Ricky B, Thanks for taking the time to review us. The cleaning team will be happy that their work has gone unnoticed. The rice cooker was left by a group of friends. I have just changed the fuse and know why they left it. Its broke! Sorry. Sorry about St. Trinnian's. They are an excitable but polite group and...

Swindon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 October 2016

I booked one night for myself and family members to provide inexpensive accomodation the night before travelling to Scilly Isles. We needed breakfast early and somewhere to leave the car securely whilst we were away. The manager helped us with both of these. The facilities were clean and welcoming. A number of Austrian students found the wifi worked best in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank annesmith885
Paul K, Manager at YHA Penzance, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review us and making use of our facilities. The wifi will be upgraded within the next week so battling your way through a group of teenagers in the corridor should be a thing of the past! Fingers crossed. Cheers and I hope to see you again. Maybe even more than one night! Paul

Reviewed 13 October 2016

Camped in the grounds because the hostel was full but we're allowed to use the showers and restaurant and lounge, very friendly staff and clean, food was great but the bar was over priced £3.50 for a bottle of beer,but there was a pub just down the road, the pirate Inn,

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tanzalfaromeo
Paul K, Manager at YHA Penzance, responded to this review

Thanks Billy and Marty. A great review thanks. I will pass your great comments onto the cleaning team. They just feel unloved sometimes! You probably didn't get much change from a beer at The Pirate! Still, it's a great pub with a real fire through the winter. Come on back. Paul

Taunton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 October 2016

Well organised, clean and friendly hostel located in the park about 1 mile from Penzance train station. Self catering in a pleasant, spacious and well equipped kitchen. Under-beds lockers provided for safely storage of your belongings (must have your own padlock). Good size 6 and 8 bedded bedrooms. Busy environment so do not forget your earplugs and headphones :). Helpful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sylvia-Cathy
Paul K, Manager at YHA Penzance, responded to this review

Hello, Thanks for your great comments. Just to let you know that we also have smaller rooms too. Why not try one? With winter and the best storm watching just around the corner the rooms will be less busy. I will pass your comments to the staff.

55 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (55)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (40)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castle Horneck
1.2 mi away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 4 in Penzance
734 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#3 of 4 in Penzance
393 reviews
6.9 mi away
Old Success Inn
Old Success Inn
#1 of 1 in Sennen Cove
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Land's End Hotel
Land's End Hotel
#1 of 1 in Land's End
424 reviews
5.8 mi away
YHA Land's End
YHA Land's End
#3 of 7 in St Just
67 reviews
1.1 mi away
Artist Residence
Artist Residence
#7 of 88 in Penzance
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about YHA Penzance

Address: Castle Horneck, Alverton, Castle Horneck TR20 8TF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Castle Horneck
Price Range: £25 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — YHA Penzance 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your YHA Penzance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penzance Youth Hotel Castle Horneck
YHA Penzance Castle Horneck, Cornwall
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from YHA Penzance staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We liked being at the end of the corridor”
 of 5 bubbles hortophagus, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If one is not used to bunks and ladders, request lower bunks and claim early when booking in.”
 of 5 bubbles domghisays, 28 Oct 2016 | Read review
“for families room 6”
 of 5 bubbles SangN, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We had a five beds room just for us but dorm style were available too”
 of 5 bubbles annesmith885, 14 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Choose a bed away from the door if you can, as it can be noisy with the door opening and shutting.”
 of 5 bubbles CrystalVoyager69, 8 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay