We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Bay Palm Motel

Show Prices
GreenLeadersSilver level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Bay Palm Motel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

46 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 45: English reviews
Start your review of Bay Palm Motel
 Click to rate
Whakatane, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Good location for my 4-day training course, husband joined me on the Saturday night, which meant we had 2 vehicles. Initially, we were told we would have to park one vehicle outside the motel (with yellow lines on road) but when I arrived, the friendly male host allowed me to park in front of their own garage. Much appreciated. Our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nix51
baypalm, Owner at Bay Palm Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for you comments, Great to hear you enjoyed your stay We work hard to make everyones stay a good experiance For others reading this review Parking is one car park per unit when we are full Extra parking is available on the grass area around the outside of motel No one has to park on the road Have...

Broadbeach, Australia
Reviewed 14 March 2017

On 2 of the nights of our stay, the wifi did not work(appeared to be turned off) Contacted reception who advised us they were having problems with wifi. When it was working, it only worked periodically and very slowly. Also the stairs to the main double bed are very steep. Not advisable for a person who has problems with their...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Pat B
Blenheim, New Zealand
Reviewed 29 December 2016

A mixed review Negatives: Lack of compassion - when we turned up and she asked where we'd come from and I said that I'd just had 3 1/2 days in hospital there wasn't any compassion evident or further discussion Dirty - it needed a springclean and higher standard of regular cleaning ie grime on painted wallpaper; handprints on doors; cobwebs;...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TLC181
Stuart S, Owner at Bay Palm Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, however we must pull you up on a number of points All our staff are told not to engage in politics religion or personal matters as often this can offend guests, in your case you mentioned being in hospital which can be of a very personal nature so the conversation was taken no further. Motel...

New Plymouth
Reviewed 15 November 2016

We had a couple of nights at the Bay Palm, The owners were very friendly and happy to assist when we arrived and showed us around, While the 2 bed room was small with a kitchenette (The second bedroom was on a mezzanine) it was adequate for a short stay. My daughter said the upstairs was very warm even with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KiwiPaulNewPlymouth
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Reviewed 30 October 2016

The rooms are good, clean though there were cobwebs everywhere. The carpet and wiring looked like done by them not professional looked tacky. I had tripped in the joinery area near the kitchen. But for a short stay of one night it was okay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ABJTraveller
Reviewed 2 October 2016

Absolutely fine hotel, normal level of amenities. Pretty comfortable rooms, beds etc. We had a room at the back and it was OK for street noise, but as it's on a busy road I'd avoid the rooms closer to the street. Great location, close to the Airport, Mall and beach. If you wanted a quiet get-away I'd suggest somewhere else....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JCS-Nelson
Reviewed 6 August 2016

Spent a night here & really enjoyed the place. We were attending a birthday party at a local restaurant. The Motel was in easy walking distance & just round the corner is Bayfair Mall for breakfast. On a main road but our room was quiet & the bed was comfortable. Spa bath a nice touch.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
baypalm, Owner at Bay Palm Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feed back We aim to please Travel safe and see you again soon

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 23 July 2016

We thought the owners or Managers were very unhelpful and unwelcoming. Very Hot in the rooms. No aircon. Pool was closed at certain times but people ignored that rule. people using the pool very late at night and were very noisy, even though it was closed. People using the pool early morning even though it was closed.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank thistledorob
Dublin. Ireland
Reviewed 12 June 2016

I found this motel not geared to wheelchair assistance nor very friendly. Just like you get motels in the states, unfriendly,unwelcoming & over advertised on web sites. Stairs are difficult if your in a wheelchair & this is not covered in the ads. Heated pool is however

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lal1943
Whakatane, New Zealand
Reviewed 17 April 2016

Owners were lovely , really accommodating, rooms clean and well appointed , decent everything excepting the pillows, too hard , be ok if there were some hard and some soft but all too firm. the only other minor complaint is the neighbours partying outside out side our room , I eventually went out at 11;30 and asked them to move...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank frangii
baypalm, Owner at Bay Palm Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feed back , we will see what we can do about the pillows Sorry about the noisy people next door Always inform the office if to loud and we will sort for you Travel safe

49 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (41)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mount Maunganui hotels
0.2 mi away
Boatshed Motel Apartments Mt. Maunganui
Boatshed Motel Apartments Mt. Ma...
#11 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
46 reviews
3.2 mi away
Baywatch Motor Inn
Baywatch Motor Inn
#1 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
123 reviews
2.7 mi away
Aquarius Motor Inn
Aquarius Motor Inn
#8 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers
Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers
#2 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
171 reviews
1.1 mi away
Gateway Motor Inn
Gateway Motor Inn
#9 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
41 reviews
3.8 mi away
Mission Belle Motel
Mission Belle Motel
#4 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Friendly hosts welcome you to 16 quality, spacious fully self-contained units with heated swimming pool, just minutes from all amenities. Beach, shops - Bayfair Mall, Baywave aquatic centre, Baypark stadium, both Omanu and Mount Maunganui Golf Courses. Mini putt, driving range. A short drive to airport - Complimentary transfers available. Wireless internet. 30 seat conference facility. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bay Palm Motel

Address: 84 Girven Road, Mount Maunganui, Tauranga 3116, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga > Mount Maunganui
Price Range: £72 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bay Palm Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bay Palm Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Mount Maunganui
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Mount Maunganui
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bay Palm Motel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Bay Palm Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The units form a square, with carparking lining the inside. The corner units have less foot traffic walking past windows.”
Nix51, 31 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Cannot help in this question”
831patb, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Away from the pool due to children's use and rather noisy”
TLC181, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a rear room to get away from road noise”
KiwiPaulNewPlymouth, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“all rooms have double storey so if kids sleeping upstairs very noisy.”
ABJTraveller, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5