We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Bay Palm Motel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Bay Palm Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

44 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 43: English reviews
Blenheim, New Zealand
Reviewed 29 December 2016

A mixed review Negatives: Lack of compassion - when we turned up and she asked where we'd come from and I said that I'd just had 3 1/2 days in hospital there wasn't any compassion evident or further discussion Dirty - it needed a springclean and higher standard of regular cleaning ie grime on painted wallpaper; handprints on doors; cobwebs;...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TLC181
Stuart S, Owner at Bay Palm Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, however we must pull you up on a number of points All our staff are told not to engage in politics religion or personal matters as often this can offend guests, in your case you mentioned being in hospital which can be of a very personal nature so the conversation was taken no further. Motel...

New Plymouth
Reviewed 15 November 2016

We had a couple of nights at the Bay Palm, The owners were very friendly and happy to assist when we arrived and showed us around, While the 2 bed room was small with a kitchenette (The second bedroom was on a mezzanine) it was adequate for a short stay. My daughter said the upstairs was very warm even with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KiwiPaulNewPlymouth
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Reviewed 30 October 2016

The rooms are good, clean though there were cobwebs everywhere. The carpet and wiring looked like done by them not professional looked tacky. I had tripped in the joinery area near the kitchen. But for a short stay of one night it was okay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ABJTraveller
Reviewed 2 October 2016

Absolutely fine hotel, normal level of amenities. Pretty comfortable rooms, beds etc. We had a room at the back and it was OK for street noise, but as it's on a busy road I'd avoid the rooms closer to the street. Great location, close to the Airport, Mall and beach. If you wanted a quiet get-away I'd suggest somewhere else....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JCS-Nelson
Reviewed 6 August 2016

Spent a night here & really enjoyed the place. We were attending a birthday party at a local restaurant. The Motel was in easy walking distance & just round the corner is Bayfair Mall for breakfast. On a main road but our room was quiet & the bed was comfortable. Spa bath a nice touch.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
baypalm, Owner at Bay Palm Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feed back We aim to please Travel safe and see you again soon

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 23 July 2016

We thought the owners or Managers were very unhelpful and unwelcoming. Very Hot in the rooms. No aircon. Pool was closed at certain times but people ignored that rule. people using the pool very late at night and were very noisy, even though it was closed. People using the pool early morning even though it was closed.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank thistledorob
Dublin. Ireland
Reviewed 12 June 2016

I found this motel not geared to wheelchair assistance nor very friendly. Just like you get motels in the states, unfriendly,unwelcoming & over advertised on web sites. Stairs are difficult if your in a wheelchair & this is not covered in the ads. Heated pool is however

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lal1943
Whakatane, New Zealand
Reviewed 17 April 2016

Owners were lovely , really accommodating, rooms clean and well appointed , decent everything excepting the pillows, too hard , be ok if there were some hard and some soft but all too firm. the only other minor complaint is the neighbours partying outside out side our room , I eventually went out at 11;30 and asked them to move...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank frangii
baypalm, Owner at Bay Palm Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feed back , we will see what we can do about the pillows Sorry about the noisy people next door Always inform the office if to loud and we will sort for you Travel safe

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 16 April 2016

A good location being close to Bayfair and a quick trip down to Papamoa. Room was clean and check in and check out easy. Was busy (fully booked out) so a bit noisey in the morning when other peoples kids wake up early...to be expected in the school holidays.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 281Emma_C
baypalm, Manager at Bay Palm Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments we aim to provide a good service

Tauranga, New Zealand
Reviewed 23 March 2016

Highly recommend staying at Bay Palm! It's clean, friendly and the motel goes above and beyond to make your stay great! When I checked out it was a heavy rainstorm and the owner offered to give me a lift to my next stop, will always be grateful for that and will be sure to stay here again if in the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank zerrj
baypalm, Manager at Bay Palm Motel, responded to this review

Thank you we here to make your stay enjoyable

33 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Maunganui
3.4 mi away
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
#4 of 57 in Tauranga
1,029 reviews
0.2 mi away
Boatshed Motel Apartments Mt. Maunganui
Boatshed Motel Apartments Mt. Ma...
#9 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
46 reviews
5.3 mi away
Summit Motor Lodge
Summit Motor Lodge
#2 of 57 in Tauranga
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hotel on Devonport
Hotel on Devonport
#3 of 57 in Tauranga
493 reviews
2.7 mi away
Aquarius Motor Inn
Aquarius Motor Inn
#11 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
12 reviews
3.2 mi away
Baywatch Motor Inn
Baywatch Motor Inn
#1 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Friendly hosts welcome you to 16 quality, spacious fully self-contained units with heated swimming pool, just minutes from all amenities. Beach, shops - Bayfair Mall, Baywave aquatic centre, Baypark stadium, both Omanu and Mount Maunganui Golf Courses. Mini putt, driving range. A short drive to airport - Complimentary transfers available. Wireless internet. 30 seat conference facility. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bay Palm Motel

Address: 84 Girven Road, Mount Maunganui, Tauranga 3116, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga > Mount Maunganui
Price Range: £85 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bay Palm Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Bay Palm Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Mount Maunganui
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bay Palm Motel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Bay Palm Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Away from the pool due to children's use and rather noisy”
 of 5 bubbles TLC181, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a rear room to get away from road noise”
 of 5 bubbles KiwiPaulNewPlymouth, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“all rooms have double storey so if kids sleeping upstairs very noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles ABJTraveller, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“As far away from the road as possible”
 of 5 bubbles JCS-Nelson, 1 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Don't use this hotel”
 of 5 bubbles thistledorob, 23 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5