We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Bunga Raya Island Resort & Spa

Travellers' Choice award winner
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Bunga Raya Island Resort & Spa
Bunga Raya Island Resort & Spa
Panoramas (10)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

455 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 387: English reviews
Start your review of Bunga Raya Island Resort & Spa
 Click to rate
Guildford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We spent 3 nights at Bunga Raya at the end of what had been a really good trip to Bali and Borneo. What a shame! From check-in onwards we had the impression of being fleeced by a poor quality holiday camp. Check-in was in a small, noisy, over-crowded office on the quay in KK full of Chinese people fighting to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jo G
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed here in the off season (March) and it was very quiet plus the weather was superb so we had a great time. We had bungalow 21 which was uphill and we had beautiful jungle views as well as limited sea views over the treetops. It felt very secluded and the room was huge, plus we had a little...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pen451
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

This was our second visit to Bunga Raya Resort, we previously went in September 2015. However this time it was a terrible experience. We arrived at the airport to no one from the hotel being there to pick us up, as was arranged by confirmation email by the hotel. So we took a taxi to the jetty and the scheduled...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cathie1981
TomasAndersen, General Manager at Bunga Raya Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Cathie1981, Everything and anything that could have gone wrong went wrong when you visited early March, we are truly sorry. A thorough investigation shall be undertaken and more training given. You claim of bed bugs, we had an exterminator visit and they said no bed bugs, but plenty of sandflies. I know this does not make you feel any...

Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We booked a 4 night stay at Bunga Raya Resort - over 12 months in advance - as a rest and recovery from a 16 night ocean cruise. When booking and paying in full and at a (now we see) premium price we EXPECTED a 5 star resort experience. The resort is STILL promoted as 5 star today. So I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tony L
TomasAndersen, General Manager at Bunga Raya Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Tony L, Thank you for your candid review and pictures. Some things we can change some things we cannot. As I have stated before our resorts can get hit by rubbish during the North East monsoon (Nov-March). Between Gayana and Bungaraya we collect approximately 4000 bags of rubbish a year. We also receive a lot of driftwood which we...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My husband and I have just returned from a week staying in a beach villa with plunge pool. On the positive side the island and room were both beautiful. However although plenty of people have mentioned the mosquitos in previous reviews no one has mentioned why..... The whole resort is a mass of stagnant streams and ponds. Our villa was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michele B
TomasAndersen, General Manager at Bunga Raya Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Michele B, we truly appreciate your feedback which I shall share with the team. When things don't go to plan its often due to lack of communication. As long as we ask the right questions, we can pretty much do whatever is required whether it being creating unique menus for guest or be specific with spices etc. In your...

Bridlington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LMS570
Taipei, Taiwan
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Constance C
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Clairer23
TomasAndersen, General Manager at Bunga Raya Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JC-relax
Teddington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank dlane766

918 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (508)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (66)
Viewed
View from Room (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (96)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (96)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (32)
Viewed
3:13
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (172)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (351)
Viewed
Amenities (123)
Viewed
Beach (44)
Viewed
Plunge Pool Villa (71)
Viewed
Pool (30)
Viewed
Dining (48)
Viewed
The Hotel (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (59)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (40)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pulau Gaya
2.3 mi away
Gayana Eco Resort
Gayana Eco Resort
#3 of 3 in Pulau Gaya
431 reviews
12.5 mi away
Shangri-La’s Rasa Ria Resort & Spa
5.0 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#12 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
1,264 reviews
4.9 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#5 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
1,980 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#3 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
1,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Room Service
Show More
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bunga Raya Island Resort & Spa staff and other travellers.
16 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (16)

Questions? Get answers from Bunga Raya Island Resort & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go for the uphill bungalows - like living in the rainforest and we had hornbills outside the window”
 of 5 bubbles pen451, 25 Mar 2017 | Read review
“plunge pool villa”
 of 5 bubbles cathie1981, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are accessible by golf carts which are readily available. For convenience and easy access though, select a villa on the beach.”
 of 5 bubbles LMS570, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“go for a higher room for the best views. You can always get a buggy if you don't feel like walking up the steep hills!”
 of 5 bubbles 675susiet, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
“The best room are the cottages with dipping pool located just in front of the beach.”
 of 5 bubbles Pasyalero, 18 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5