We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bells Estate Great Ocean Road Cottages

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Bells Estate Great Ocean Road Cottages
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

18 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 18: English reviews
Umina Beach, Australia
Reviewed 7 April 2016

What a wonderful stay we had at Bells Estate. The place was so easy to find, right at the start of the Great Ocean Road and a very easy drive from Avalon airport, don’t think we even saw a set of traffic lights or if we did they were green. It was also a quick drive down the road to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jacqui K
Terry T, Owner at Bells Estate Great Ocean Road Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you Jacqui for providing such a positive review. So pleased you and the family had such a good time here and in the Torquay region. I also enjoyed the birthday cake and thank you note from the children. Thank you children Best wishes to you all Terry

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 19 March 2016

What can I say, this place was just not a pleasant stay for the money paid.... the kitchenette was like something from a the 70's..They even post a sign in the kitchen saying if you don't clean up after yourself they will have to charge you extra as they employ cleaners to clean the place... but they don't employ cleaners,...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Popps69
Terry T, Owner at Bells Estate Great Ocean Road Cottages, responded to this review

I don't know who Popps 69 is. Would be good to know your real name. I regret that you had a bad experience and please accept our apology. I also regret not knowing who you are, when you stayed and disappointed not having had the opportunity to talk to you at first hand at the time of your stay. Some...

Greater Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 13 March 2016

I stayed overnight with my wife and two sons and we all loved every facet of the experience. The owner was extremely accommodating and we were made to feel like old friends immediately. The cottage was well presented and well maintained. It contained a distinct natural feel and was perfectly suited to the country setting surrounding it. The natural setting...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew20160313
Terry T, Owner at Bells Estate Great Ocean Road Cottages, responded to this review

Thanks Andrew & Jacqui. So pleased you and the twins had an enjoyable stay. Best wishes Terry

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 26 February 2016

Booked a 3 night stay but went home within 24 hours due to the amount of flies either living, dying or dead everywhere in the cottage, cobwebs and dust soo thick the whole family had sore throats and allergies.. 42 degree heat but air conditioner was so clogged with dust it wouldn't work...children got the added bonus of spiders in...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank 429tash11
Terry T, Owner at Bells Estate Great Ocean Road Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. Difficult to identify with most of what you claim. It was a super hot day which undoubtedly added to the frustration. Our property receives the majority of its bookings from Booking.com who have presented our business with 'excellence awards' for the past 2 years based on guest reviews. Best wishes to you and your family..Terry

Reviewed 9 February 2016 via mobile

The property is nice with the farm animals roaming around. A bit pricey for what it is, very basic. No extra little touches. (That would make a lot of difference) eg nice towels or even a little welcome basket Would suit a family, but not for a romantic couples get away.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Niomi81
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 1 September 2015 via mobile

This property is good for those travellers or anyone that is not fussy. There is no luxury about this property but they are clean and good for a night stay. We have stayed in a two bedroom. The beds are comfy and close to Torquay. When you check in you wil notice a very old reception and you can see...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ashcherry n
Terry T, Owner at Bells Estate Great Ocean Road Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for your appraisal. Our property is located in a farm country environment and although we aim to maintain the highest standards at all times, we don't claim to be a 5 star luxury hotel.

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 25 April 2015

While the accommodation has much to offer in terms of location, coziness and a nice rural setting, it is badly in need of a refresh of the bathroom, kitchen and bedding. Appliances and fittings are decades old so no matter how hard the owners try to keep it looking clean it is always going to seem a little grubby. Based...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sydneymarts
Reviewed 19 April 2015 via mobile

My family and I stayed here and were very disappointed. 200/night is far too high a price for this quality of accommodation. Not clean; very tired furniture; the chimney had some kind of issue, which we weren't aware of until we lit a fire and smoke filled the unit; the walls are paper thin; the bed linen did not seem...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank CassandraESM
Terry T, Owner at Bells Estate Great Ocean Road Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments which we take seriously and have acted upon. Guests who stayed following your departure were delighted with the same property as the chimney had been rectified following your reporting of its malfunction

Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 January 2015 via mobile

Where to begin?? Me and family stayed for 2 nights for the new year due to a birthday and a young infant so we could easily reach a beach. It was a present due to visiting family at first glance I already saw several factors but due to not wanting to ruin anything I kept quite. The promise of barn...

 Report
Helpful?
11Thank Shep21
Terry T, Owner at Bells Estate Great Ocean Road Cottages, responded to this review

The audacity of this person. Wow, this review is extremely scathing and totally exaggerated. I cannot believe the length that this person has gone to denigrate my business, largely due to the fact that they did not receive and were not entitled to a refund.. They booked 2 separate cottages but decided to all move into the one 2BR cottage...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the cottage. We travelled with a family of four and our dog. Everyone was made welcome including our furry pet who had his own fenced off yard and dog kennel. The cottage was very clean, plenty of linen and the open fire was bonus in the middle of winter. We were made to feel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ivana G

20 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bellbrae
3.9 mi away
Wyndham Resort Torquay
Wyndham Resort Torquay
#3 of 5 in Torquay
458 reviews
20.6 mi away
Grand Pacific Hotel Lorne
3.8 mi away
Torquay Tropicana Motel
Torquay Tropicana Motel
#4 of 5 in Torquay
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Peppers The Sands Resort Torquay
2.7 mi away
RACV Torquay Resort
RACV Torquay Resort
#1 of 5 in Torquay
394 reviews
6.1 mi away
Great Ocean Road Resort
Great Ocean Road Resort
#1 of 1 in Anglesea
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Bells Estate is situated on a 10 acre property and located on the world renowned Great Ocean Road and is only 5 minutes from the famous Bells Surf Beach. Torquay is just a 5 minute drive and offers a choice of 3 major supermarkets, many restaurants and bars. All 3 cottages provide privacy and contain fully serviced kitchens, bed linen and towels supplied. Heating and cooling facilities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bells Estate Great Ocean Road Cottages

Address: 545 Great Ocean Rd, Bellbrae, Victoria 3228, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Bellbrae
Price Range: £114 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bells Estate Great Ocean Road Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Bells Estate Great Ocean Road Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Bells Estate Great Ocean Road Cottages staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Excellent if you need to travel with your pet.”
 of 5 bubbles 428ivanag, 13 Jul 2014 | Read review
“We were in the double cabin which was perfect for two.”
 of 5 bubbles Joandkevin, 24 Apr 2014 | Read review
“Dont sleep in the 2brm cottages, they are too noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles Sydney846, 1 Feb 2013 | Read review
3 of 3
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay