We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Active Holidays BIG4 Lake Macquarie

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Active Holidays BIG4 Lake Macquarie
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

69 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 69: English reviews
Coolangatta, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We had a lovely new spotless cabin. Pool and foreshore were nearby. The only drawback was we had to go to the laundry to iron a shirt. Ironing facilities in the cabin would have been good. Local shops are dreary but the park itself is clean and well maintained.We would visit again.

Thank Leonne J
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed just before school holidays started in NSW and the place was very nice. I imagine it would get a little more hectic and noisy when full!! Magnificent location right on Lake Macquarie, with a lovely walking path along the waterfront, and at least while we were there it was "serenity now!" Local eating options weren't the greatest but it's... More 

Thank Bells5544
Bowral NSW
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2016

My wife and I stayed two nights in October 2016. While some parts of the Park are a little ordinary in that some people keep their old caravans on site, the cabins for hire are quite good. Our daughter and her family stayed in a lakefront cabin, larger than ours, and she had a great lake view from her deck... More 

Thank goldmercedes
Level Contributor
92 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2016

Being part of a large group we have been staying at this park for a number of years now, same time, and fundamentally the same sites. We have observed over the past two visits a noticeable decline in the overall cleanliness, upkeep and atmosphere of the park in general. Dirty amenity blocks, NO HOT WATER, broken and poorly maintained equipment,... More 

Thank Nigel B
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2016

We went there for 3 days, as a booking to Tasmania was cancelled due to an illness, so we thought that we would go somewhere not too far away, about 1 1/2 hours from Sydney, a lovely park, with all the trimmings, pools, childrens play area, jumping cushions, outside BBQ's and there was your own BBQ attached to the 5... More 

1 Thank rubyjaz
1 review
Reviewed 11 September 2016

Stayed for one night during fathers day weekend in the parkside cabin. Cabins were comfortable and clean. Bed wasnt bad but not the best one either. Unfortunately jumping pillow was broken, apparently broke the week before and was going to be fixed next week.... Wish we knew this while making a booking and would have been chosen different place. Pool... More 

Thank Hilkka L
St Helens, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2016 via mobile

We booked 3 nights online and was told we could have a drive through site. Was not told we were only one of two caravans in the park and the site was beside the other caravan already there. Very wet and boggy site - ducks and rabbits messing everywhere - coming up and sitting on mat at caravan door. After... More 

Thank Christyne T
BIG4LakeMac, Front Office Manager at Active Holidays BIG4 Lake Macquarie, responded to this review

Dear Christine, Sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay with us, unfortunately we do not have any dedicated drive through sites to offer at our park thus when you booked online you booked a powered site not a drive through.On arrival we do try to arrange drive through sites for guests if requested and park is not too busy... More 

Level Contributor
125 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2016

We arrived after a very wet day of travelling, reception was good explained the park boom gate system, provided park map and directions to our booked water front site. Park entrance looks fairly ordinary with a number of old permanent sites, once past these sites the park looks good with grassed sites. The water front sites are of a good... More 

Thank Bruce P
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2016

Enjoyable stay - a quiet spot for the family. We stayed in the boat shed, which is a standalone 2 bedroom cabin with it's own private balcony/porch/BBQ area. It was exactly what we wanted - quiet and peaceful. It was clean and well furnished, everything worked as you would expect it would, plenty of linen, etc. Overall could recommend to... More 

1 Thank Richardschey
Karuah, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2016

Stayed here whilst working on the Central Coast. I only booked a budget Park Side cabin but was very impressed. Bed was super comfortable, nice linen. Kitchen has everything you need, even a full size fridge. Bathroom & lounge very modern and cozy. Will be staying here again. Oh, and the ladies in the office were very friendly and helpful.... More 

1 Thank 887john
Active Holiday P, Manager at Active Holidays BIG4 Lake Macquarie, responded to this review

It's always a nice feeling to exceed our guests expectations. Thank you so much for your great review 887john our staff we would be happy to welcome you back. More 

45 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (34)
Room/Suite (3)
Family/Play Areas (5)
View from Room (3)
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Dining (1)
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (11)
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Room/Suite (5)
Family/Play Areas (2)
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mannering Park
2.9 mi away
Bay Hotel Motel
Bay Hotel Motel
#1 of 1 in Morisset
21 reviews
9.1 mi away
Lake Macquarie Motor Inn
25.0 mi away
Active Holidays BIG4 Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Caves Beachside Hotel
Caves Beachside Hotel
#1 of 1 in Caves Beach
193 reviews
4.8 mi away
Raffertys Resort
Raffertys Resort
#1 of 1 in Cams Wharf
283 reviews
10.7 mi away
Belmont Bayview Caravan Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Pool
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located just 70 minutes north of Hornsby, Active Holidays BIG4 Lake Macquarie is nestled in the serene southern shores of the lake, at the northern end of the NSW Central Coast. We offer a variety of accommodation options to suit all tastes and budgets - from luxury waterfront villas to holiday cabins and grassy powered sites. Enjoy the pool or take a short drive to some of the best beaches in NSW. The jetty and waterfront reserve provide easy access to the lake, where sandy inlets and secluded bays are ideal for boating, fishing and swimming. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Active Holidays BIG4 Lake Macquarie

Address: 28 Monterey Ave, Mannering Park, New South Wales 2259, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Mannering Park
Price Range: £53 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Active Holidays BIG4 Lake Macquarie 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Active Holidays BIG4 Lake Macquarie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Active Holidays BIG4 Lake Macquarie staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Active Holidays BIG4 Lake Macquarie staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try a lakeside cabin although the others aren't bad.”
 of 5 bubbles goldmercedes, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“we always go for a larger room than we need as like room to put luggage out of the way”
 of 5 bubbles rubyjaz, 15 Sep 2016 | Read review
“We like the cabins and sites down with direct access to the Lake.”
 of 5 bubbles David_Meikle, 29 May 2016 | Read review
“Don't trust the photos!”
 of 5 bubbles mauriciob146, 13 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Don't visit this park”
 of 5 bubbles 556bobg, 17 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay