We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe

Show Prices
GreenLeadersBronze level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

420 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 362: English reviews
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

The motel unfortunately did not really live up to the website. The rooms were ok but nothing special. The pool was good. The complex is midway between the main shops and the lake but there is no outlook and it did not feel near the lake. Fine for a night on the way to somewhere else.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew P
Ruben Z, Manager at Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe, responded to this review

Hi Andrew, Thanks for your feedback and support! We appreciate your business and we will continue improving until we gain your full satisfaction!

Concord, North Carolina
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 16 May 2016

We arrived Thursday night (05-12-16) after renting two rooms. We specifically wanted rooms 139 (with kitchenette) & 140 because they have a large patio with BBQ, tables and chairs right outside the door. Turns out they were in the process of painting the patio. We expressed our disappointment because we had relatives coming in for dinner and had packed burgers...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Linda M
About Hotel's Favourite Review
Ruben Z, Manager at Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe, responded to this review

Hi Linda, It has been a pleasure having you here! Please come back soon!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The Big Pines Mountain House is located a walking distance from Nevada border (and the cassinos) in the east of South Lake Tahoe. It's close to the city's main street (Lake Tahoe Boulevard), the gondola to Heavenly Mountain Resort and, best of all, near the lake itself, a perfect place to watch the sunset. The hotel is simple, with a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emanuel F
Ruben Z, Manager at Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe, responded to this review

Hi Emanuel, Thank you for your business and support! Please come back soon. Thanks again!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Booked this plCe via hotels. Com Just off I50..all rooms are non smoking.. Parking permit advised so that you don't get towed.no backing up. Rooms have an AC as well as heaters. Continental breakfast not that great. Private access to the laje via stateline street. Overall good experience.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Son-Ron
Ruben Z, Manager at Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe, responded to this review

Hi Son-Ron, We truly appreciate your business and support! Please come back soon. Thanks.

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Its not fancy, but its a great value for the price. Rooms & beds are comfortable, refrigerator, microwave, coffee and heat all work, the lights all work, the TV works---all things that for many places in this price range are not always guaranteed. Folks in the office are friendly and helpful, the property is well maintained and quiet, and in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank johncak
Ruben Z, Manager at Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for staying with us. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback!

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

staff were superb and the location is pretty decent but the bed... My gosh it makes this weird plastic sound no matter how small the movement on the bed! It made the sleep so uncomfortable. Try and get a room away from the Barbeque area as it gets really noisy.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jpvoon
Ruben Z, Manager at Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for staying with us. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback!

Spurger, Texas
Reviewed 1 November 2016

Location was convenient for walking to nearby shopping and restaurants. No issues with parking either. Check-in was easy and staff super nice. Room was quiet and water pressure and hot water was excellent in the shower too. No tub, only a shower but it was nice.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank leah8700
Ruben Z, Manager at Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you, thank you, thank you... Please come back again!

Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

I loved staying here it was one of the best places in Lake Tahoe. The customer service was top notch. I really have to give it to Joaquin Rodriguez who went above and beyond to help us and to accommodate us in the hotel great customer service and super friendly 5 plus stars.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fernando R
Ruben Z, Manager at Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe, responded to this review

Hi Fernando, Thank you, thank you, thank you.... and yes, we all appreciate Joaquin's work ethic and great love for our Hotel. Please come again soon!

Dayton
Reviewed 24 October 2016

The pictures made the room look nice. Paid 100$ for a room that smelled like a combination of bleach and cheap soap. Wallpaper was coming off. Floor in bathroom was rotted and the sink was clogged. So unless you are desperate, don't stay here.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kimberlyd783
Ruben Z, Manager at Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe, responded to this review

Hi, We’re sorry you were unhappy - we’ll work hard to fix the issue you experienced. Thanks for letting us know.

Cape May, New Jersey
Reviewed 23 October 2016

We really enjoyed our stay here! It was our first trip to Tahoe, so we werent sure what to expec, or what location we were looking for. The location is great - withing walking distancs of the casinos and heavenly, so no need to drive around town. It was about a half hour drive to get to emerald bay for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank eguido2016
Ruben Z, Manager at Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you, thank you, thank you... Please come back soon!

156 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (103)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
1:52
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (53)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
#35 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
245 reviews
1.4 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#14 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
778 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bluelake Inn at Tahoe
Bluelake Inn at Tahoe
#31 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Americana Village
Americana Village
#7 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
351 reviews
0.1 mi away
3 Peaks Resort & Beach Club
3 Peaks Resort & Beach Club
#19 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
1,046 reviews
0.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Casino Center Lake Tahoe
Americas Best Value Inn - Casino...
#33 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Big Pines Mountain House is conveniently located in the center of South Lake Tahoe, within walking distance to major attractions - Heavenly Ski resort, the casinos and the Lake itself. We offer clean, comfortable and affordable rooms. Free wi-fi, complimentary breakfast, heated seasonal pool and the location make us the best value in town. Do not leave your pets behind, we will be happy to accept them in our hotel. Come visit us! Our friendly staff is always here to help you to make your Tahoe getaway simply fun! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe

Address: 4083 Cedar Ave, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6979 (Formerly Viking Motor Lodge)
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Price Range: £37 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe 2*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Pines Mountain House Of Tahoe Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Big Pines Mountain Lake Tahoe
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Shop for online discounts and PLAN AHEAD. Tahoe has inflated above worth.”
 of 5 bubbles 551scotts, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“There is no elevator- ask for ground floor or else drag stuff up very dark stairs.”
 of 5 bubbles 250tamarah, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Only book if their rates drop back down to $60.00 a night. Otherwise, it's not worth the $215.00+ per night”
  • The sheets didn't even stay on the bed.
  • Moldy Shower.
  • Groody plug in the bathroom.
  • The Bathroom Shelves are NOT dusted.
  • You can't see it, but it's a very OLD and dusty hair dryer.
  • This is how we found the fireplace and the books above it.
 of 5 bubbles yellowab2, 6 Sep 2016 | Read review
“convenient location, No lake view for any room, no elevator--so first floor rooms easier for bags.”
 of 5 bubbles 200krishnab, 4 Sep 2016 | Read review
“be sure to specifically ask for a room with a window”
 of 5 bubbles kfultronic, 20 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay