We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Westwood House Hotel

Amenities
Top amenities
Room Service
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Room Service
Free Parking
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Breakfast included
Meeting Rooms
Laundry Service
Banquet Room
Conference Facilities
Dry Cleaning
Business Centre with Internet Access
Multilingual Staff
Babysitting
Breakfast Available
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Hotel description
Located in the University District of Galway and nestled amidst a rural landscape of greenery, the 4 star Westwood Hotel is ideally positioned only minutes from the city centre and Salthill while also being an ideal base to tour the beauty of Connemara.At the Westwood we seek to exceed your expectations in all aspects of your experience with us and we look forward to welcoming you.
Save
Traveller (117)
Room & Suite (185)
Dining (55)
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
Overview
  • Excellent52%
  • Very good31%
  • Average11%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“city centre”(69 reviews)
“lovely hotel”(46 reviews)
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Room Service
Suites
4 Star Hotel
All hotel details
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (967)
There are newer reviews for Westwood House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
926 results
Traveller rating
475
282
105
37
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
475
282
105
37
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscity centrewedding receptionlovely hotelbar foodlast weekendstayed here for one nightfollowing morningreception areacooked breakfastfrom start to finishenjoyable staylovely roomboth nightsgalwayreceptionistirelandoutskirts
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
411 - 415 of 926 reviews
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

My girlfriend and myself stayed here for a weekend. We also stayed recently in a 5star hotel. And I have to admit The Westwood is far superior. The quality of service was by far better. The room was of a very high standard. The food...More

2  Thank Stephen W
Reviewed 20 May 2014

My boyfriend & I recently stayed in the Westwood for a night. We have stayed here previously and find the amenities to be good for the price and the staff have always been very efficient and helpful. There was no room service menu in our...More

2  Thank cmacDublin
Response from GM1Galway, General Manager at Westwood House HotelResponded 31 May 2014

Dear cmacDublin, I would firstly like to once again sincerely apologise for what is a very simple procedure and one we do well every other day. I have no excuses but to insist that it was a once off and that as your past experience...More

Reviewed 14 May 2014

My Mother and i stayed here over the Easter weekend and overall had a very pleasant stay. The staff were very friendly & efficient, the food in the restaurant was very good as was the breakfast. The only complaint was the air conditioning was not...More

1  Thank LesleyCoWexford
Reviewed 8 May 2014

I stayed for two nights over Easter for a family wedding. The outside was a bit off-putting (in a delicate shade of tangerine!) but inside was lovely and the staff were very friendly. We had a deluxe double room at the back of the hotel...More

1  Thank Angelnet
Response from GM1Galway, General Manager at Westwood House HotelResponded 13 May 2014

Dear Angelnet, Thank you for sending in such a lovely and honest review. I am delighted to read that you had a wonderful experience while attending a wedding. We take great pride in providing a warm and friendly service as well as one of the...More

Reviewed 5 May 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed in the Westwood House Hotel on May Bank Holiday weekend. I was really looking forward to our stay. On arrival I thought the hotel looked nice. However, our greeting was underwhelming and the lady at reception was by no means...More

2  Thank A S
Response from GM1Galway, General Manager at Westwood House HotelResponded 13 May 2014

Dear Aine O, i would firstly like to thank you for taking the time to leave your review. I would also like to apologise for experience you had with us here in the Westwood. As seen from other reviews we take great pride in providing...More

View more reviews
Best Value Properties in Dangan, Ireland
See allSee all
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Details
Price range
US$77 - US$211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Smoking rooms available
Details
Price range
US$77 - US$211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Smoking rooms available
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (117)
Room & Suite (185)
Dining (55)
Pool & Beach (1)
Amenities (7)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (6)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
stewtick
5 April 2018|
Answer
Response from Lynne032 | Reviewed this property |
I was told it was closing at the END of September.
0
Votes
stewtick
5 April 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Westwood H | Property representative |
Hi, Yes we are closing later this year but we will be open through September. Kind Regards The Westwood Team
0
Votes
Kwelsh243
27 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Mike F | Reviewed this property |
Not sure how far it is from the race course, but a taxi into town is about €10. Think its about 30 min walk into town..
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Avoid rooms overlooking the air con units!"
Read review
"Room was overlooking front/ side of hotel . Lovely trees outside ."
Read review
"Verify with the hotel if there will be an event/reception during your stay - if so, cancel your booking and..."
Read review
"Look elsewhere"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing