We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Llangoed Hall

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Llangoed Hall
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

561 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 556: English reviews
Start your review of Llangoed Hall
 Click to rate
london UK
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

We came after Christmas and we were delighted. The hotel is old, country house style, very comfortable and not too chi-chi. The chef is unbelievable- dinner was better than most expensive London restaurants-absolutely stupendous ( and we are very particular). Country walks by the river are lovely. Staff are in need of training ( no one asked us to pay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank myralondonUK
C C M, Owner at Llangoed Hall, responded to this review

Dear myralondonUK, Thank you for taking the time to write a review - Its appreciated . I'm pleased that you thoroughly enjoyed yourself and i note your feedback re Account Settlement - Apologies if there was tone used - Delighted you enjoyed Dinner so much - I shall ensure Nick Brodie Head Chef is aware - Your feedback is appreciated...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Llangoed Hall is a beautiful Edwardian country house, in a lovely location. It's furnished very, very well, classic country house style, lots of antiques, luxury fabrics, squishy sofas, soft lighting, good pictures, all of high quality, which makes for a lovely atmosphere on a cold day, especially with fires lit. Service was very attentive throughout. Our room was large with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TheBristolJohns
C C M, Owner at Llangoed Hall, responded to this review

Dear TheBristolJohns, Thank you for taking the time to write a review - Its appreciated . I'm pleased that you thoroughly enjoyed yourself and as a wee gesture the next time you book direct with us and not thru Online Travel Site then id be pleased to offer you a complimentary room Category Upgrade and Welsh tea for two ....

Cashel, Ireland
Reviewed 1 week ago

The Hall is surrounded by beautiful well maintained gardens, it has a very 'oldy worldy' feel to it and has character in abundance. Our room was described as 'Petite' but it was more than large enough for my wife and I. There are plenty of thank you letters up on the walls showing who has stayed in the past, all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence-Janice M
C C M, Owner at Llangoed Hall, responded to this review

Dear Lawrence-Janice M, Thank you for taking the time to write a review - Its appreciated . I'm pleased that you thoroughly enjoyed yourself and i note your feed back re Dining - Dining & Price the two Demons are both Subjective & Relative to ones individual Palate & Pocket - Nonetheless your feedback is appreciated . As a the...

Powys, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Thoroughly enjoyed our first break with you, beautiful surroundings, bedroom so lovely and warm! Delicious food - the best ever scrambled eggs! Sorry to say we didn't really agree with the way the tipping is added to the bill - not that the staff don't deserve it (they couldn't have been more attentive) we would have tipped anyway.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank glyntlew
C C M, Owner at Llangoed Hall, responded to this review

Dear glyntlew , Thank you for taking the time to write a review . Delighted you enjoyed your stay, May I also thank you for the feedback too . As a wee thank you , I'd be pleased to offer you a complimentary Welsh Tea for two the next time you stay with us, Please contact my ops manager /...

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I booked the hotel to celebrate my wife's birthday. The location is extremely attractive and driving up to the hotel entrance is impressive. Our check in was done in a cold aloof manner-no hint of a welcome. We collected our bedroom key and climbed two flights of stairs to our bedroom.My wife found the stairs difficult. The climb was worth...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris D
C C M, Owner at Llangoed Hall, responded to this review

Dear Chris D Firstly thank you for taking the time to write a review. Apologies regarding the bill mix up - simple error with two sets of guests & Same first initial too - the penny only dropped after you pointed out luckily that's why we ask everyone to check their accounts . if we can persuade you to come...

Bristol
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Lovely hotel and great service. If you are looking forwards to an evening meal, make sure you reserve a table before arrival. They were fully booked when we arrived and so we ate in the lounge, on the sofa , from the bar menu. The dining room menu is very expensive and table d'hote only, so little choice,, and drinks,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anserrees
C C M, Owner at Llangoed Hall, responded to this review

Dear Anserrees, Thank you for taking the time to write a review , I'm pleased to see you enjoyed your stay. I appreciate that you felt £65.00 for 6 courses was too expensive , However I believe the fact the Dining room was full, speaks for itself. Regarding Price - Its all relative . none the less I thank you...

Brecon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

How can these people justify £45 for 3 half chutes of Prosecco? No wonder we were the only people at the place. The surroundings are beautiful and the afternoon tea was nice, so we had decided to make visiting a regular occurrence. Unfortunately this has now been blighted by extortionate over pricing. Sorry Llangoed Hall you won't have our custom...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank car0le846
C C M, Owner at Llangoed Hall, responded to this review

Dear car0le846, Thankyou for taking the time to write a review . . car0le846 - 3 Glasses of Fine Champagne are £45.00 however 3 (£9.00 a Glass ) glasses of Prosecco are £27.00 . We have Drinks Menus on every table for your perusal . I believe the beautiful surroundings and World famous art collection along with Fine Cut Crystal...

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My daughters purchased an overnight stay in this hotel as a relaxing evening away for my partner and myself as a Christmas gift. They paid £175 and put an additional £100 towards the cost of dinner. The hotel and surrounding area was very beautiful, our room was of very high standard. The hotel was very quiet and lacked any atmosphere...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tracie U
C C M, Owner at Llangoed Hall, responded to this review

Dear Tracie U Thank you for taking the time to write a review . My Profuse Apologies over this slight mixup - I am pleased my team apologised to you both at the time . We did have a trainee undergoing training at the time and infact she was assisting you before The Head of Department stepped in after being...

cardiff
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband and I used to stay at Llangoed Hall frequently before we had a family and have very fond memories of lovely weekends there. The week before Christmas, our family of six, with four children aged between 12 and 20, their grandmother, two aunties and uncle and pup stayed at Llangoed Hall for a pre Christmas treat. The bedrooms...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sancerrecardiff
C C M, Owner at Llangoed Hall, responded to this review

Dear Sancerrecardiff / Mr Ex Rugby :-) Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Your Point is noted regarding the Charge for your dog, may I say though its not a dog charge - Its A Full Allergy Certified Clean Charge so that any guest subsequently taking that room doesn't suffer an allergic reaction to dog hair...

Worcester
Reviewed 19 January 2017

This has all the air of being a very well run hotel in a wonderful location. However it would seem that the staff have to double and treble up their roles, with the result that those serving are not necessarily cleanly turned out or trained for the duties they are undertaking. Having traveled with a group, it would appear that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ashley C
C C M, Owner at Llangoed Hall, responded to this review

Dear AshleyC Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay all be it some 3 months ago. Such a shame that you didn't mention it at the time . Nor in the subsequent 3 months. The feedback & numerous letters from the organiser and at least 6 other rooms/ participants in the Ghost Club has been Excellent...

441 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (297)
Viewed
Dining (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (77)
Viewed
Room/Suite (38)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (126)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (107)
Viewed
Amenities (5)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (36)
Viewed
The Hotel (59)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llyswen
8.6 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
838 reviews
11.8 mi away
The Lake Country House & Spa
The Lake Country House & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llangammarch Wells
851 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Swan at Hay
The Swan at Hay
#1 of 1 in Hay-on-Wye
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Builth Wells
739 reviews
8.5 mi away
Castle of Brecon
Castle of Brecon
#2 of 2 in Brecon
439 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Three Cocks Coaching Inn
The Three Cocks Coaching Inn
#1 of 1 in Three Cocks
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled on the banks of the River Wye amidst 17 acres of stunning landscaped gardens, this elegant Country House Hotel enjoys the full scenic beauty of the Welsh Countryside, within easy reach of the main A40 and the main town of Brecon. Enjoy the finest Welsh cuisine in the 2 AA Rossette award-wining restaurant, or just soak up the ambience by the blazing log fires. In the summer enjoy the views of the River Wye and the Black Mountains whilst relaxing with a drink on the outdoor terrace. The hotel also offers complimentary Wi-Fi throughout and free parking. Dating from 1632, Llangoed Hall is rich in local history, a fact that is expressed in its numerous period furnishings and antique fittings and a distinguished collection of paintings and drawings from such notable artists as Whistler, Herman Dudley Murphy and James Cowie. Such refined splendour has contributed to the hotels enviable reputation for hosting weddings. From large lavish parties with a marquee, to smaller affairs with a just few close friends and family, guests can relax safe in the knowledge that there every need will be catered to. Indeed, with such a picturesque location, including breath taking views across the Black Mountains, it is hard to imagine a more perfect venue for that most special of days. Each one of the hotels twenty-three en-suite bedrooms has been individually designed and exquisitely decorated with a full refurbishment in 2013. As well as the classic room types we also offer graceful four-poster rooms and luxurious suites. Every room is complete with all the necessary creature comforts one needs for a relaxing, stress-free stay including a flat-screen TV, telephone, free Wi-Fi access, bathrobes and slippers, fresh fruit and mineral water. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Llangoed Hall

Address: Llyswen | Brecon, Llyswen LD3 0YP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llyswen
Price Range: £99 - £285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Llangoed Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Llangoed Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Llangoed Hall Hotel Llyswen
Llangoed Hall Brecon
Llangoed Hall Hotel Brecon
Hall Llangoed
Llangoed Hall Llyswen, Wales
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Llangoed Hall staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Llangoed Hall staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“North wing you will hear the boiler”
 of 5 bubbles glyntlew, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Check location of bedroom and stairs needed to access”
 of 5 bubbles 683ChrisD, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“They really are all beautiful. There is no lift though”
 of 5 bubbles sancerrecardiff, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The Hotel has no lifts, so if you have limited mobility book a room close to the staircase and on the first floor.”
 of 5 bubbles AshleyC422, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
“In the past we have had Corner room no 7 and is spacious”
 of 5 bubbles 783deannad, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5