We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Wighill Manor Lodges

Traveller (59)
Room & Suite (11)
Dining (3)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Peacefully located within traditional Parkland these luxury 4 star rated lodges, each with its own private hot-tub, enjoy a delightful setting on our family run working arable farm just 8 miles from historic York. You are ideally located to discover the city of York, the beautiful spa town of Harrogate and the glorious surrounding countryside. Our luxury 4 star Nordic lodges feature timber interiors to create a unique holiday atmosphere. The lodges have a simplicity of design and a log cabin feel yet with all the comforts of a modern home. All beds are made ready for your arrival, towels and tea towels are provided. Each lodge is privately situated within mature pastureland with peaceful panoramic views of open countryside. Each lodge has hard standing access & parking bays. All the lodges have flat screen TV with freesat in the lounge, DVD player, en-suite facilities to the master bedroom, and a kitchen fully equipped with oven and hob, full-size fridge/freezer, microwave, dishwasher and washer dryer. There is even a built-in sound system which will allow you to connect your MP3 player and enjoy your own music in the living area. The lodges are designed for all year round living - centrally heated and double glazed. All of our lodges are non-smoking, and sorry, we do not accept pets.
Read more
Property amenities
Free Parking
Hot Tub
Non-Smoking Hotel
Room features
Microwave
Non-Smoking Rooms
Refrigerator in room
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
HOTEL CLASS
77Reviews
61Photos
3Q+A
5Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 70
  • 5
  • 1
  • 1
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
I have just returned from 3 days staying at the chestnut lodges Please be aware the owners are so rude and really are not interested in hearing about the lodge if any problems should arise. When we arrived I was given a list of Not to do’s and was told how much I would be
Read more
Response from RGBMJB, Owner at Wighill Manor Lodges
Responded 18 Sep 2018
Thank you for your review. As a business we greatly appreciate our guests taking the time to review our business. The constructive feedback we receive, both positive and negative, enables us to enhance our offering and customer experience. Unfortunately, there are occasions, like this, when guests decide to abuse the feedback forums with false or enflated problems. Unfortunately, you did have cause to telephone us and inform us that you had found a dead moth on a window sill. We apologised and said we would come straight down and remove it, you declined this offer. We accept this as a failing on our part. We also said we would rectify the kitchen under unit lighting, again you declined this offer. When we inspected the lights after your departure, they were all functioning correctly. A short while later you telephoned and informed us that the hot-tub was not working. We came straight down to the lodge to rectify this issue. We were somewhat surprised to arrive at the lodge and find all 4 guests in the hot-tub with it operating normally. It was then you informed us that there were not enough bubbles. As you confirmed you had not read the hot-tub operating instructions, we gave you a brief explanation regarding the operation of all aspects of the hot-tub. The reason for the lack of bubbles was that one of the air inlet switches was turned off. With respect to your comments regarding arrival, you were offered the same courtesy as every other guest. Your recollection of our arrival procedures does not bear any resemblence to our recollections. On arrival you announced that you had been drinking in the village pub since lunchtime, why not, you are here to enjoy yourselves. Unfortunately, the alcohol was clearly affecting your behaviour and it was not us that was rude. We have admitted our failings, we apologised to you and we offered to rectify the problems. However, presumably due to the effects of alcohol consumption, you seemed unable to handle the issue/s in a proportionate manner. As the owners of the business it is clearly in our interest to ensure our guests expectations are met, if not surpassed. This what we strive to do at Wighill Manor Lodges.
Read more
We stayed here for a long weekend on 31st August. We had no problem finding the place and check in was quick and we were told everything we needed to know for our stay by Melanie. Very friendly and helpful owners. As we drove down to Hawthorne lodge where we were staying for the
Read more
We stayed here for a long weekend during the May bank holiday but it wasn't our first choice of stay. It was as a result of Hoeseasons messing up our first holiday which was due to be in Derbyshire. As a result, we were given little choice of where to stay at such short notice
Read more
Myself, my partner and our 3 children (14,10,8) have just spent a delightful week in the Chestnut lodge. We regularly stay in lodges and I can honestly say this is one of the best we have been in. The lodge has everything you could need and the outside space is fantastic, the
Read more
Response from RGBMJB, Owner at Wighill Manor Lodges
Responded 26 Aug 2018
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review - we very mush appreciate your kind comments. As you say, there is so much to do around us and when you have finished a busy day out you can return to the peace and tranquillity of the Lodges. Thank you for your recommendation.
Read more
Just come back from a week at Wighill lodges and we had a fantastic time. Loved every minute of it. It’s a beautiful place and the lodges are excellent. They have everything you need in there plus more and are spotlessly clean. The hot tub is so relaxing. Our children had a
Read more
Response from RGBMJB, Owner at Wighill Manor Lodges
Responded 26 Aug 2018
Thank you for your review and fantastic comments. It is always great to hear when our guests have really enjoyed themselves.
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining
The living room
The bedroom
The kitchen
Bathroom
Bedroom
PreviousNext
123
we had a day in York we got the bus. had a great day in York. recommend York dungeon it was really good fun! also recommend the lodges local pub the white swan for a meal. Very good pub food.
1 vote
I think the ones that can accommodate you are in the middle of the row. we stayed in the one bedroom first lodge. Can't remember what the last in the line of lodges was accommodation wise. email them and ask cos I think that will be the one least over looked. beautiful place though.
0 votes
Show all answers
Unfortunately not, The White Swan Pub is the only restaurant within the small village of Wighill. There are various other restaurants and takeaways in Tadcaster (5 mins drive) & Wetherby (10 mins drive). Additionally, many of the local takeaways offer a delivery service for a small additional charge.
0 votes
"All lodges are quiet."
"No rooms just lovely lodges"
"The White Swan is just a very short walk away and is a very friendly pub serving wonderful food!"
"if rains put parasol from patio at end of the hot tub keeps you dry. buses from village(outside white swan pub) to York only run twice in morning approx. 915 and 1115 am or you can get bus (or taxi £6) to Tadsworth (2.5 mile) bus station get bus direct to York which has buses running back from York city to Knaresborough up until approx. 8pm."
"We had the Oak room which is tucked around the corner"
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandYorkshireSelby DistrictTadcaster
NUMBER OF ROOMS
5
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing