We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
We are a Restaurant, Pub and Bed & Breakfast located in the picture postcard village of Askham. We offer Twin and Double Rooms all En-suite and would like to take this opportunity to welcome you to escape the mundane pressures and stress of everyday life and enjoy a wonderful break with us in this picturesque region.We serve food from 12 noon through 'til 9pm every day (service hours during winter may vary). Finally, dogs (and children) are always welcome!
Read more
Property amenities
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Breakfast included
Wheelchair access
Spa
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Non-Smoking Hotel
Show more
Room features
Non-Smoking Rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Quirky Hotels
HOTEL CLASS
Location
Full view
Getting there
Newcastle Airport52 mi
See all nearby hotels
Nearby restaurants
See all nearby restaurants
Nearby attractions
See all nearby attractions
Reviews (249)
Filter reviews
249 results
Traveller rating
139
65
15
17
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
139
65
15
17
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews punch bowl the pub lowther castle lovely village lovely lunch sunday lunch bank holiday weekend lamb varied menu queens head picanha received a warm welcome roaring fire stayed for two nights lasagna fantastic food following morning
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 249 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Came to the punch bowl last Sunday for a family lunch to celebrated our ruby wedding ,and a good time was had by all , we got the table we requested ,,service ,food and ambiance was all perfect nothing to much trouble . Will definitely...More

Date of stay: November 2018
Thank DianeT32
Reviewed 25 September 2018 via mobile

Arrived at Punchbowl Inn for a two day stay, received a warm welcome and was shown to our room which was Room 2. Room 2 was a King En Suite; Clean and Tidy with a nice overlooking the front. Surprisingly when booked we did not...More

Date of stay: September 2018
1  Thank M H P
Reviewed 25 September 2018 via mobile

We only stopped for a pint as it looked so attractive from the road. It’s actually very large inside and was catering for a wedding and seemed to absorb the people easily. It’s attractive inside with a couple of snugs and very good beer which...More

Date of stay: September 2018
Thank debcox
Reviewed 30 August 2018 via mobile

Great pub! Stayed for one night with our dog as we were going to a wedding at askham Hall. Place was great, room was nice, service was brilliant, good breakfast and superb beer!!! Didn’t eat there but food looked really good! Will definitely be back.

Date of stay: August 2018
Thank Quest607920
Reviewed 17 August 2018 via mobile

Health hazard to asthmatics. Terrible amounts of kerosene in our room causing asthma attacks. Staff knew of problem. 3 staff told us of known problem and duty manager moved us out as he said fumes were too bad to stay. My health really suffered.

Date of stay: August 2018
1  Thank Stevan M
View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Raine W
5 December 2016|
Answer
Response from alancathoakley | Reviewed this property |
Contact the pub and ask them,I am sure they will be doing Christmas meals
0
Votes
taarrnyaw
1 June 2016|
Answer
Response from Jacobs08 | Reviewed this property |
Hi, I think we arrived a little earlier and the room was free. It will depend upon how busy the pub is the day before and it has been busy with wedding guests for Askham hall in June/ju;y/aug.
0
Votes
William5758
10 January 2015|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Punchbowl_Inn_Askham | Property representative |
Rates for standard double or twin rooms are £90 for B&B. Kind Regards
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Beware of rooms at the back, might be quieter but closer to oil tank."
izabel421
16 Aug 2018
Read review
"We had room 4 overlooking the front and the road but it was very quiet."
dorcas_11
17 Feb 2018
Read review
"We had number 2, with a lovely view over the forecourt."
jillc984
23 Jan 2018
Read review
"The front facing rooms"
sheilajohnston05
19 Apr 2017
Read review
Show More 
PRICE RANGE
US$75 - US$152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
punchbowl hotel penrith
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandLake DistrictEden DistrictAskham
NUMBER OF ROOMS
6
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing