We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Hillcrest House Bed & Breakfast

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waterloo
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Hillcrest House Bed & Breakfast
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

39 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 39: English reviews
Holmdel, New Jersey
Reviewed 14 October 2016

If you stay at the Hillcrest House, you will NOT be disappointed. Stefan and Wendy are the most gracious and knowledgeable hosts you can find. Their fabulous service began before we even arrived. Stefan was most helpful selecting OctoberFest Festhallen so we could pre-purchase tickets for the kind of experience we were looking for. Once we arrived, the benefits were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank carlfrancolini
HillcrestHouse1882, Owner at Hillcrest House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you so much, we had a great time hosting you and you were incredible guests!

Bowen Island, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed 20 July 2016

I stayed in Bean's Retreat which was perfect. Huge room, comfy bed, vintage furnishings and all the comforts I needed including a comfy robe. I knew the area well so had very few questions and came and went as I pleased, without ever feeling I was intruding. Wendy and Stefan are excellent hosts and catered to my low-carb breakfast requests...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Brenda M
HillcrestHouse1882, Owner at Hillcrest House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

It was a pleasure having the family here and thanks so much for the kind review. Wendy and Stef

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 29 June 2016

Hillcrest House is everything you want, you can walk to all the activities in Uptown Waterloo, your room is large and comfortably furnished the bed is beautifully done with nice linens. Breakfast cooked to order was delicious and Stef and Wendy are fun and welcoming - you will not want to leave!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MissyDixie
HillcrestHouse1882, Owner at Hillcrest House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thanks very much, it was great having you in our home! Wendy and Stef

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 4 January 2015

Huge example of under promise and over deliver :). Wendy and Stef were incredible hosts. I loved the relaxed and fun atmosphere. So relaxed, I felt at home with family. We felt so welcome. Beautiful yard, Beautiful home. Great people.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MiriamDunne
The Netherlands
Reviewed 21 September 2014 via mobile

Thank you soooo much ,Stefan and Wendy,while staying with you 2,we weren't guests ,but ,,,more family or Friends that we have known for a long time, but what is more inviting (if that is possible )is the house,it just wraps around you like a warm blanket on a chilly night . It felt like home,(as it should be) thank you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andy v
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I'm not sure what I enjoyed most. The lovely old-suburban street, the closeness to the heart of downtown, the beautiful yard and landscaping that makes you feel like you're in a forest clearing, the old 1880s mansion and antiques, the huge bedroom, the unbelievable breakfasts by a cooking professional, or the professional massage by Stefan, the co-owner. Talk about perks...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank wayne300944
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Hillcrest House is "the" quintessential B&B. From your first step on to the property, you feel like you're entering another era, especially first seeing the open, grand entrance hallway with the Victorian-styled rooms leading off of it. Tastefully decorated, yet suited practically to accommodate guests comfortably, this beauty is worth another visit. My husband and I spent 3 nights here....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kirst7575
Vancouver
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Stayed two nights at beginning of September with my daughter who was moving into residence at St. Jerome's (U. of Waterloo), then one night on my own. We had a large suite with separate sitting room and our own bathroom as well as queen bedroom. Entirely private. The house is a turn-of-the century gem, beautifully appointed with lush gardens featuring...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ladiablesseyvr
Dundas, Canada
Reviewed 12 June 2013

My husband and I stayed one night at the wonderful Hillcrest House B&B in Waterloo. We toured the K-W countryside earlier in the day and were greeted by our charming hostess Wendy upon arrival. We had booked a dinner prepared by her husband Stefan " Trust the Fat Guy" chef. What a fabulous meal, and so very entertaining. We never...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cathy905
Berlin, Germany
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We stayed at Hillcrest for two nights. The beautiful historic house is located in a quiet and green street close to uptown waterloo. Stefan was a wonderful host, the breakfast simply fantastic. It could not have been any better!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TSt82

4 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waterloo
Delta Hotels Waterloo
#2 of 9 in Waterloo
231 reviews
City Commercial Core
Crowne Plaza Kitchener-Waterloo
The Walper Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kitchener
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Waterloo Hotel
#8 of 9 in Waterloo
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
Things to do
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
You'll find Hillcrest House in the heart of uptown Waterloo, on a quiet residential street, just steps from a wide variety of shops, restaurants, galleries and activities. Ideal for executive or vacation stays! Each of our 3 luxurious suites are private with room to relax. We take care to provide the amenities that make you feel at home. A rejuvenating lift for the discriminating traveler! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hillcrest House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 73 George St, Waterloo, Ontario N2J 1K8, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Region of Waterloo > Waterloo
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Hillcrest House Bed & Breakfast Waterloo, Canada - Ontario
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hillcrest House Bed & Breakfast staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Hillcrest House Bed & Breakfast staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All good suites”
 of 5 bubbles alan002294013, 2 Aug 2012 | Read review
“All three rooms are equally great”
 of 5 bubbles KeithLianne, 1 Jul 2011 | Read review
“Try to sleep in a bed away from the stairs”
 of 5 bubbles WaterlooConference, 25 May 2011 | Read review
3 of 3