We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Canterbury Inn

11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
No availability for your dates from these sites
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
The Canterbury Inn
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

25 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 25: English reviews
Start your review of The Canterbury Inn
 Click to rate
Coquitlam, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

The rooms here are recently redone and freshened up! The personal coffee maker in each room is a great touch! Walking distance to all the shops and main street. Very friendly and helpful stay! Will definitely stay here again!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bethlatorre2
Reviewed 9 April 2017 via mobile

No sleep,people were allowed to party till 2:30 in the morning. When I phoned to book the room there was no mention of a party going on. When we booked in I was told they were busy because of a 90 year old woman's birthday party. I was not informed that they were able to party as long as they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cindy S
Joshua E, Manager at The Canterbury Inn, responded to this review

Hey Cindy, we are truly sorry you didn't sleep... when you called and when you checked in we informed you of a giant party that was occurring at the property, to which you seemed not to care too much... the party was happening when you checked in, and continued, yes, and unfortunately you were the only guest not part of...

North Bay, Canada
Reviewed 6 October 2016

We stayed here Sept 29 to Oct 3. The owner Pierre and his wife Tracy were beyond accommodating. We felt like family. The room was small but very comfortable and clean. We sat on the deck while Pierre, Tracy and our son played guitar. It was such a fantastic time. This quaint motel is right in the heart of the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank isis4247
Vernon, Canada
Reviewed 1 September 2016

* I was charged more than I was originally quoted but could have dealt with that if the room was up to standard * beds are terrible they squeak every time you move * We stayed the weekend and they did not do room service or provide extra towels * TV reception was not clear owner said probably because too...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SMGee99
Reviewed 26 August 2016 via mobile

Friendly and helpful service. Rooms are clean and well kept. It is an older hotel but has been renovated and well looked after. There is a microwave, mini fridge and coffee maker in the room. Would stay again. Close to Main Street, great for walking around town. Easy to find and close to a great pizza place.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FroggerOK
Grande Prairie, Canada
Reviewed 21 August 2016 via mobile

Called last minute cause that's how iam!! And lucked out with a last minute booking!! He was more then helpful. Got checked in by the owner of the property ! Very fun person would recommend anyone to stay here! Very happy with the stay and would stay again!! Thanx again boss!!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank gjbeam
Camrose, Canada
Reviewed 3 August 2016

My wife and I stayed a number of nights here in July. As most places, it has a number of pluses and minuses. It is right downtown, hardly a block from the main street shopping and restaurants. Everywhere is walkable. It is considerably less expensive than the nearby Best Western. The room was clean, but very basic, no phone, no...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John W
Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 18 April 2016 via mobile

My wife and I spent a weekend at the Canterbury Inn and loved it! Basic accommodation with great value. Right in the middle of the downtown- close to shops, restaurants and the lake. Pierre, the owner, and Josh, the manager, are both wonderful people and very helpful. Would definitely stay here again

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Mike B
Victoria, Canada
Reviewed 15 March 2016

Stayed here while attending a wedding, was allowed to check in early which was amazing. The HEAT was off in the room which seems hotel 101. The room was clean and fairly new, the pod system for the coffee was hard to use due to them only supplying one ceramic cup and it only wanted to work with that one....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VickyVicL
Joshua E, General Manager at The Canterbury Inn, responded to this review

VickyVic, so what I'm reading is the room was clean and fairly new, which I am very glad you noticed, but the heat was off in the room, which isn't entirely true... We keep the rooms at 15 C which is a reasonable temperature... The thermostats are super easy to use and will increase the heat with a simple adjustment...

Reviewed 13 March 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights for a wedding that was across the street. We stayed in a three double bed room for $149 in March.. Pretty pricey considering it's an off season for invermere. But they also charge for dirty dishes, and if you get makeup on the sheets or towels.. A little ridiculous for a motel. The beds and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Amy P
Joshua E, General Manager at The Canterbury Inn, responded to this review

Hey Amy P, I'm sorry we weren't your cup of tea... The rate you stated in your review is not, in fact, what your group paid, as the discount you were given for the wedding was significantly less than that... That being said, I would suggest you look around town and you would see that a two bedroom suite with...

5 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Invermere
0.1 mi away
Best Western Invermere Inn
8.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Prestige Inn Radium Hot Springs
Best Western Plus Prestige Inn R...
#4 of 22 in Radium Hot Springs
353 reviews
8.2 mi away
Piccadilly Motel
Piccadilly Motel
#2 of 22 in Radium Hot Springs
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Copper Point Resort
Copper Point Resort
#1 of 3 in Invermere
1,398 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Kanata Inns Invermere
The Kanata Inns Invermere
#3 of 3 in Invermere
243 reviews
8.0 mi away
Bighorn Meadows Resort
Bighorn Meadows Resort
#3 of 22 in Radium Hot Springs
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
"Located right in the heart of downtown Invermere, the Canterbury Inn of Downtown Invermere is your best choice for value, comfort and convenience in the Columbia Valley. Whether you are just passing through, or staying for a visit, our downtown location is walking distance from all the first class shops, cafes and restaurants, the famous Farmers Market, hiking trails and even Kinsmen Beach on the shores of Lake Windermere. We are also located within a 20-minute drive of both Radium and Fairmont Hot Springs, and half an hour from Panorama Ski Resort. Our room configurations range from 1 bed and 2 bed options or our popular 3 bed family suites (which include kitchenettes and a separate bedroom). All of our single queen room options have been fully renovated with your comfort in mind, and include flat screen TVs, slate tile washrooms and luxe bedding. There is free wireless internet throughout the building, and we have a bbq available for those who want to cook in the open air. The Canterbury Inn of Downtown Invermere recently changed hands, and is under new management and ownership. The Inn is now owned by Joshua Foy and James Lazarus, two local entrepreneurs, who also own and operate a historic downtown bookstore, called The Book Bar, a popular destination for visitors and residents alike. Local journalist, photographer and freelance writer, Joshua Estabrooks, and his fiancee, make up the new management team, and live on site to ensure your stay is safe and easy. So whatever your reason for visiting our amazing little valley, if you need a place to rest your head, make sure you check out the Canterbury Inn of Downtown Invermere; your most affordable and convenient downtown accommodation choice." ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Canterbury Inn

Address: 747 12th Street, Invermere, British Columbia V0A 1K0, Canada (Formerly The Invermere Boutique Hotel)
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Invermere
Price Range: £78 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Canterbury Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your The Canterbury Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Canterbury Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“all of the rooms have a mountain view; second-floor rooms only have stairs to get up there”
brammatothreeboys, 20 Sep 2015 | Read review
“do not go to this motel there are plenty of better ones that cost about the same if not less.”
drayt0np, 6 Jul 2015 | Read review
“All are air conditioned, clean and comfortable”
lisafO5660TM, 29 Jun 2015 | Read review
“Good views, great eats, amazing staff”
570turnerm, 29 Jun 2015 | Read review
“2nd floor rooms have the best view.”
TL516, 24 Jun 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Check these sites for availability
Booking.com
Hotwire.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates