We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Howard Johnson Hotel Golden

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Howard Johnson Hotel Golden
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

165 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 165: English reviews
Start your review of Howard Johnson Hotel Golden
 Click to rate
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

My dad, my sister, and I stayed for one night here. The rooms decor was modern and the beds soft but otherwise the hotel wasn't that nice. It was a overpriced, the heater took forever to start, and the door to the balcony was broken. Honestly if it was twenty dollars cheaper I would have given it 4 stars but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fire-princess666
Pavi K, Owner at Howard Johnson Hotel Golden, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback. We are currently in a property wide re-model. We are trying to have all our changes completed and corrected by April 1st. I am value your feedback and hope to have all the issues you mentioned corrected and welcome you back once again. Thanks Pavi Khunkhun

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Me and kids loved the place I will definitely come back again for the price under 100$ a night and you are on 10-15 drive to the Kicking horse resort . Swimming pool and hot tub is excellent after a long day of skiing, if they only have CD player in the room so kids can watch movie but other...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Igor V
Pavi K, Owner at Howard Johnson Hotel Golden, responded to this review

Thank you for your Feedback. A CD/DVD is not a bad suggestion. I will look into this this and hope to have it in the rooms asap. Thanks Pavi Khunkhun

Reviewed 1 week ago

Average hotel. Nothing spectacular but for the price we were happy. Beds & pillows were comfy, and the rooms were relatively clean. (One room had cigarettes and beer on the balcony from the previous tenant and room service neglected to clean this so that was kinda gross). Otherwise, easy check in, and was suitable for our quick weekend away when...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gabrielle C
Pavi K, Owner at Howard Johnson Hotel Golden, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive feedback. I do apologize for housekeeping missing the clean up on the balcony, this is not acceptable and I will have this issue addressed. We are still in the process of having our renovation completed and hope to have everything ready for March 2017. We hope to see you again. Thanks Pavi Khunkhun

Canmore
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Fantastic value. Well appointed rooms. Not the greatest location but offset by the price. The only ice machine on the property needs to be fixed. On two separate visits to the hotel it never worked (December 2016 & January 2017).

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank KickingHorseSkiers
Pavi K, Owner at Howard Johnson Hotel Golden, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback. I am sorry about the ice machine, because we are renovating part of the property is shut down and it happens to be in the area our ice machine is in. We are installing all new bathroom showers and tub as well as new toilets, sinks and all new fixtures. We hope to have all the...

Victoria, Canada
Reviewed 21 January 2017 via mobile

This place lives as a testament to what the end result is if you do everything as cheaply as possible. Towels like sandpaper, lukewarm water for bathing, a toilet which was all sweaty under the lid and stained yellow in the bowl, a coffeemaker in the bathroom, mattresses directly on homemade plywood platforms,drapes that are too small for the windows,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bunny D
Pavi K, Owner at Howard Johnson Hotel Golden, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind words. I am sorry there was nothing that satisfied you during your stay. We will again fix everything and spend more money. We will buy newer towels, increase the boiling capacity of the water for bathing, we will correct the problem of the sweaty lid and yellow bowl. We will move the coffeemaker. FYI the mattress...

Eckville
Reviewed 12 January 2017

We did not book at the Howard Johnston..we were booked at another hotel that was closed when we arrived at 11pm We were transferred to the Howard Johnson which was 86 $ more a night and the guy wouldn't give me an ama discount or let me use my Windham rewards card....I didn't have it with me but the other...

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank aprilk670
Pavi K, Owner at Howard Johnson Hotel Golden, responded to this review

I am sorry you had a negative experince at our property. At the time of your check in we only had specific units available. These units included the jacuzzi and family suites which are higher in rates. Other guest were charged the same rates, therefore it would not be fair to provide you with a lower rate because of a...

Calgary, Alberta
Reviewed 16 December 2016

Upon arrival our room which was reserved was very cold. No heat running. It took over two hours for the room to be warm enough to take off our jackets and hats. Also no restaurant on breakfast available. Otherwise the room and stay was ok for the price

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Scottski80
Pavi K, Owner at Howard Johnson Hotel Golden, responded to this review

Sorry for the issues you faced during your stay. Staff did have a miscommunication and should have had your room heated prior to your arrival. I apologize for this mistake. The new tenants of the restaurant will be moving in soon and we will be launching an amazing new dining experience for our guests. I hope you please keep us...

Victoria, Canada
Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for a night after a day in Revelstoke and before a day in Banff. Great location, easy check-in and lots of parking. Our room was very quiet and clean. We could tell it had been renovated. The staff were kind and helpful. Great value for the price! Would recommend it to anyone needing a place to stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JJJC_10
Pavi K, Owner at Howard Johnson Hotel Golden, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. We are working hard on completing a remodel of the entire property. We hope you visit again soon. Pavi Khunkhun

Duncan, Canada
Reviewed 15 September 2016

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Q9784THedwardw
Pavi K, Owner at Howard Johnson Hotel Golden, responded to this review

Alberta
Reviewed 9 September 2016

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Franzy016 Y
Pavi K, Owner at Howard Johnson Hotel Golden, responded to this review

36 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Golden hotels
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Golden
Days Inn Golden
#5 of 19 in Golden
428 reviews
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Mountainview Inn
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Golden Sportsman Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Ramada Limited Golden
Ramada Limited Golden
#10 of 19 in Golden
329 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Golden
1.1 mi away
Prestige Inn Golden
Prestige Inn Golden
#4 of 19 in Golden
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel Golden

Address: 1439 Lafontaine Rd, Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H3, Canada (Formerly Golden Village Inn)
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Golden
Price Range: £57 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Hotel Golden 2.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Booking.com so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel Golden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Village Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Howard Johnson Hotel Golden staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There are rooms in the back of the hotel office which are not facing the highway and are quieter and have a good view.”
 of 5 bubbles stephengibson2016, 15 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Get a room with a balcony so you don't have to sit on stairs to get fresh air”
 of 5 bubbles GarynHeather, 3 Aug 2016 | Read review
“best views reasonable price”
 of 5 bubbles officialkuljitgrewal, 27 Jun 2016 | Read review
“best views, clean room, friendly staff, very accomodating”
 of 5 bubbles jillp699, 21 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Great Views”
 of 5 bubbles sharir10, 21 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5