We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Sandman Hotel Castlegar

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Sandman Hotel Castlegar
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

118 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 117: English reviews
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Hotel is old and needs updating. Seemed to be a lot of beetles inside this year. I couldn't kill them fast enough!! Terrible breakfast as everything is in a fridge and they want you to microwave it. I had an apple. I will not return.

Helpful?
Thank Norstor1
GMCastlegar, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Castlegar, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy our continental breakfast. We are constantly working at updating the hotel so hopefully when you are in the area again you will give us another try. More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2016

I stayed the night for work and the staff were very helpful and accommodating to us. They are great ambassadors for the community. I loved the atrium where the pool and the hot tub was it was very relaxing.

Helpful?
Thank TravelBCGirl
GMCastlegar, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Castlegar, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review I am happy that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future. More 

Cranbrook, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2016

The room was not clean and every day it was a surprise as to which supplies you would get. Sometimes you got a bath mat and sometimes you got hot water. There were orange stains on the wall, curtains and the bed cover. The ones on the wall could have been washed off. Definitely needs updating.

Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela1958
GMCastlegar, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Castlegar, responded to this review

Thank you for your review I am sorry to hear the room was not to standard. I will review the standards with our housekeeping staff. I hope we will see you again when you are in the area and see an improvement to the room. More 

Travellers are raving about these Castlegar hotels

Penticton, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2016

We stayed as a family of four for 1 night for a soccer tournament. After reading mixed reviews we were not sure what to expect. We were happy with the hotel and would stay again as choices are limited in Castlegar. Service was friendly, parking was free and wi-fi was included. The room was clean with comfortable beds and a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tracy S
GMCastlegar, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Castlegar, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. I am happy to hear the kids enjoyed the pool and hot tub. Hopefully we will see you again when you are in Castlegar. Thank you for staying with us. More 

Cranbrook, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2016

Notes on customer service: Arrived early, with no attempt to accommodate a family with young children. In Castlegar for a youth soccer tournament. Communication and customer service was horrible. Have names but no need to mention. Will never stay again. Other guests were registering around us with early check ins and absolutely NO attempt to accommodate us while we waited... More 

Helpful?
Thank LAfamilyRADE
GMCastlegar, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Castlegar, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and comments. My apologizes on the inability for my staff to be able to check you in early it may have been do to the type of room you had booked or the person that was in your prior had not checked out. On a normal basis we always try and accommodate early check ins... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2016 via mobile

Good: -walking distance to restaurants, shopping, etc. -huge parking lot with lots of parking -friendly staff -decent sized rooms on the third floor Bad: -rooms facing indoor pool have no natural light and are ver dark (request a room facing the parking lot) -housekeeping staff failed to clean room one night - bed was uncomfortable

Helpful?
Thank Jit B
GMCastlegar, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Castlegar, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and your comments. We are constantly changing out our beds I will make sure we check all beds on the 3rd floor and change out any that appear to be deficient. Thank you again for your comments and hopefully we will see you again in the future More 

Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2016 via mobile

I stayed here on business for a week and the room was very clean and very spacious. The facilities are great with a restaurant inside and breakfast included(certain rooms). Pool was very nice and clean as well as the hot tub. I would definitely stay here again.

Helpful?
Thank Chris F
GMCastlegar, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Castlegar, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future More 

Airdrie
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2016 via mobile

Got to the hotel at about midnight or one in the morning en route to Vancouver, the "best price" they could offer was $145 with tax which was 10$ off the regular price because it was a weekend rate. (Even though there's no chance that room would have sold that late at night) get up to the room and it... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank 72shaneg
GMCastlegar, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Castlegar, responded to this review

Thank you for your review I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay or your room. We are constantly upgrading and making changes to our rooms and hopefully when you are in the Castlegar area you will give us another chance. More 

Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2016 via mobile

Dog friendly with a goody bag and seperate registration for the dog. Nice clean rooms, pool open late, good location. Good price...would stay again. Beds were comfortable. Walking distance to restaurants and stores.

Helpful?
Thank Robyn M
GMCastlegar, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Castlegar, responded to this review

Happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and we do enjoy our four legged guests as well. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again More 

Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2016

Booked a JR king room with a kitchen. the room was smallish but functional. the room had a full kitchen with pots pans cutlery and dishes. The maids were stingy with the dish towels but there were plenty of towels in the bathroom ;-) The room seemed a bit overpriced but what hotel doesn't jack their rates up in the... More 

Helpful?
Thank rickbar9116
GMCastlegar, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Castlegar, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and I am glad the room seemed to be functional for you. I will make sure the housekeeping staff are not so stingy with dish towels for future guests :) Hope we see you again when you are in the Castlegar area. More 

11 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
1:15
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castlegar
0.0 mi away
Canadas Best Value Inn & Suites- Castlegar
0.3 mi away
Fireside Inn & Conference Centre
13.7 mi away
Glenwood Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Columbia River Hotel
2.1 mi away
Chameleon Hotel
Chameleon Hotel
#6 of 8 in Castlegar
21 reviews
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Castlegar BC
Super 8 Castlegar BC
#1 of 8 in Castlegar
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
As Castlegar is nestled in the heart of the West Kootenays, so is the Sandman Hotel nestled in the heart of Castlegar. Minutes from shopping, business, and entertainment, Sandman Hotel Castlegar features modern amenities such as high-speed Internet access, a business centre, indoor pool and whirlpool, and meeting rooms, making this Sandman the perfect choice for your next stay. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sandman Hotel Castlegar

Address: 1944 Columbia Ave, Castlegar, British Columbia V1N 2W7, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Castlegar
Price Range: £82 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sandman Hotel Castlegar 2.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Sandman Hotel Castlegar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sandman Hotel Castlegar staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Cache Creek, Canada
2 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Sandman Hotel Castlegar staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask to stay on the third floor. You needed a key card to get up there so I assume it is nicer.”
 of 5 bubbles Pamela1958, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Room over looking parking lot if concerned with pool noise”
 of 5 bubbles K8325UMtracys, 30 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Go to the super 8”
 of 5 bubbles LAfamilyRADE, 17 Sep 2016 | Read review
“join their star plus program”
 of 5 bubbles rickbar9116, 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Happy with a ground floor corner suite and the trees buffed the highway noise at the back. Various prices for different suites.”
 of 5 bubbles susan5161, 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay