We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Griz Inn Sport

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Griz Inn Sport
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

53 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 53: English reviews
Start your review of Griz Inn Sport
 Click to rate
Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This was my second winter ski vacation at the Griz Inn Sport. After spending a week in 2016, I rented a one-bedroom condo for two weeks in February 2017. I like the Griz for several reasons. It's a real ski-in-ski-out, with trails and lifts at its doorstep. Inside, the Rusty Edge is a great watering hole with a wide variety...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Don W
St. Albert, Canada
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have been staying at the Griz Inn for over 20 years and we are always happy when you look at your wallet when you leave! Friendly staff. The kitchenettes have all your basic needs and yes they are a little dated but for $130 a night I think most people will be happy staying on the slopes and paying...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ScottiO67
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I've just returned from a ten day ski package. The Griz Inn made for a great ski in/ski out base to enjoy the slopes at Fernie. Four of us stayed in a two bed condo, so with the pull-out sofa bed we each had a bed to ourselves. The young staff team were very helpful and welcoming - nothing was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Geoff C
Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Excellent accommodations and location doesn't get much better. Rooms have everything you need and the 10 steps to the ski hill makes it amazingly convenient. Our family of 5 had good meals in the restaurant on the main level. This is one of my absolute favorite places to stay! We will, most certainly, be back for our next ski vacation.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KikiSchmidt
Okotoks, Canada
Reviewed 9 January 2017

We have been here twice in 2016 so I am writing again because I really do love this place. First time was Spring, second time was for New Years. The front desk staff are always very friendly and helpful. I find the rooms are clean and tidy when we check in. Yes, the decor may be a little outdated, but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sherrie W
Alberta
Reviewed 3 January 2017

My better half suprised me for a December getaway and we returned to one of our favourite places to ski, Fernie BC! The powder... wow... when you hit Fernie right its some of the best skiing ever! We also returned to stay at the Griz Inn which we had stayed at many years back. The ski-in ski-out location can't be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MYAG
Simone A, Manager at Griz Inn Sport, responded to this review

Hello MYAG, Thank you for your review, we have had quite the December for snow! We are glad you enjoyed the proximity to the slopes and the outdoor hot tub, we are looking forward to welcoming you again, with that valued guest discount!

Reviewed 27 October 2016

We went to this hotel for a wedding, chose this place based on price and will never do that again. First off we tried to check in around 9pm and the office was closed and all the door were locked. There was an intercom that we pressed to speak with someone to let us in. They were very rude and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenna S
Simone A, Manager at Griz Inn Sport, responded to this review

We are very sorry that you had difficulty on arrival and therefore we have reviewed arrival procedure with our staff to minimize inconvenience for guests. We have also shared your comments regarding your unit with the owner so that they can be given consideration in future owner upgrade plans. With regard to the extra charges for cleaning and for smoking:...

Taber, Canada
Reviewed 25 August 2016

We got married at the Rusty Edge which is the restaurant that's attached to the Griz Inn. All of our family and friends stayed at this property or their sister property the Cornerstone. I knew when I first called the Griz Inn and spoke to the lovely Simone I was in good hands. She worked out all the room blocks/reservations...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cristagray
Simone A, Manager at Griz Inn Sport, responded to this review

Christa – it was an absolute pleasure to share your special day with you at The Griz Inn, we are glad you were happy with the service and hope to see you again, maybe for an anniversary?

Sudbury, Canada
Reviewed 3 July 2016

Great service, great location, and beautiful mountain views. We were very happy with our stay, and appreciated the friendly staff. Our condo was clean and well equipped and met all of our expectations. We especially were pleased that our small dog was also welcome. Would certainly recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sherri M
Simone A, Manager at Griz Inn Sport, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review, we enjoyed having you and Pepper to stay, we hope to see you again soon.

North Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 2 June 2016

We and the majority of guests for our daughter and son-in-law's wedding stayed at the Griz Inn. It was good to be very close to the Rusty Edge where the reception was held. The different room configurations were great for friends and family and groups.The rooms were clean, comfortable and quiet. Lots of people enjoyed the hot tub. The Griz...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 213dawn
Simone A, Manager at Griz Inn Sport, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback, I am so glad that everything went smoothly with your daughter’s wedding, we wish them every happiness!

23 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fernie hotels
0.1 mi away
Lizard Creek Lodge
Lizard Creek Lodge
#1 of 22 in Fernie
501 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cornerstone Lodge
Cornerstone Lodge
#9 of 22 in Fernie
37 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fernie Slopeside Lodge
Fernie Slopeside Lodge
#12 of 22 in Fernie
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Fernie Mountain Lodge
3.1 mi away
Park Place Lodge
Park Place Lodge
#7 of 22 in Fernie
148 reviews
3.2 mi away
Powder Mountain Lodge
Powder Mountain Lodge
#5 of 22 in Fernie
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Ski-In / Ski-Out
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Hot Tub
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Griz Inn is your family's first choice for quality accommodations on the mountain at Fernie Alpine Resort. The facility offers a full range of lodging options ranging from comfortable hotel rooms to fully equipped one-to-three bedroom suites, including loft units. Amenities include the Corner Pocket Restaurant, Top Shelf Bootfitters & Rentals (winter), indoor pool & outdoor whirlpools. The Griz Inn also offers a ski-in/ski-out location in the center of the ski resort. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Griz Inn Sport

Address: 5369 Fernie Ski Hill Rd, Fernie, British Columbia V0B 1M6, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Fernie
Price Range: £62 - £269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Griz Inn Sport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Griz Inn Sport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Griz Hotel Sport
Hotel Style:
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Fernie
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Griz Inn Sport staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Book early”
 of 5 bubbles donw608, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Try and stay on the upper floors as the floors are a little thin and ski boots don't help the cause ether!!”
 of 5 bubbles ScottiO67, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a view of the hill!”
 of 5 bubbles SherrieW_11, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Request a unit with a balcony on the front for great views of the ski hill.”
 of 5 bubbles MYAG, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Spend the extra and rent one of the condos .”
 of 5 bubbles justinf762016, 23 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5