We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Powder Mountain Lodge

Show Prices
#5 of 22 Hotels in Fernie
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Powder Mountain Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

112 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 110: English reviews
Start your review of Powder Mountain Lodge
 Click to rate
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Booked 2 rooms for 3 nights on a snowmobile trip. Rooms not cleaned once, no clean towels, filthy hot tub with mold all over and no dry/clean towels, tv didn't work, wireless internet didn't work. Told manager this after each night, nothing changed. Told us, " I give you discount next time". There won't be a next time.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian K
powdermountainlodge, Manager at Powder Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Mr. Brian, First of all, we gave you $140 discount to start with. When there are guests belongings on the beds, housekeepers are instructed not to touch them, because of liability issues. Fresh clean towels are provided if the towels are on the floors. TV works fine, just need to know how to use it. Sometimes guests change the source...

Montreal, Quebec
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

my stay at the powder lodge was rewarded by the best owner ever. the rooms a clean and spacious, the common area is alove and electric and Sam, the owner is awesome, kind and very very helpful. ui would stay here over and over again!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank capt_cannibal
Reviewed 23 January 2017

I have nothing bad to say about this hotel. The price is great, it has everything you need. The regular rooms have a mini fridge, microwave, k-cup coffee machine, comfy beds, clean bathrooms. You can also get a suite with a full kitchen. There is a common room that can be used by all guests, we went in there to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank NikiZee
powdermountainlodge, Manager at Powder Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Niki, It was our pleasure having you and your friends with us. Thanks for your detailed 5 star review. Glad that you enjoyed our hospitality and had great time in our lodge. Thanks for noting our clean comfy rooms, helpful & accommodating staff, great price and excellent free amenities. We look forward to welcoming you and your friends again...

Newborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 January 2017

Great to be back and being looked after by Sam. New housekeeping but just as efficient. Sam continues to give a fabulous personal service and always has a warm smile and welcome. Just ask and he probably can do or get someone who can. I see some negative comments. Do not believe them. Look at all he positive ones and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bill B
powdermountainlodge, Manager at Powder Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Bill, Welcome back. Thanks for making our lodge your home away from home in Fernie. It's always such a pleasure and an honor having you with us. Glad that you are enjoying our lodge facility and amenities and having great time again. As usual, we are here to make your stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible in Fernie....

Wainwright, Alberta
Reviewed 17 January 2017

We stopped here on our way through, and I would not stay again. Our room was cold, as the heat wasn't working. So the gentleman was accomodating and brought us a little heater, which was very nice. He was very helpful. Hotel is very dated, and really could use some work. Our room was very small, and had a smell....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Clipper02
powdermountainlodge, Manager at Powder Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for noting our "accommodating and very nice" staff. The room you stayed is the cheapest room in our lodge. You have not seen the rest of our rooms or suites, so your comment of "hotel is very dated" is misleading and incorrect. While check-in, the manager gave you 10% discounted rate and put you next to a...

Warborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 January 2017 via mobile

From the first contact we got more than an excellent service. After our plane was delayed we were running late to check in by 11pm. I called the owner and he said he'll wait for us. The room was clean and warm, big fridge was a bonus. We woke up the next day to a beautiful view of Fernie and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AT23D
powdermountainlodge, Manager at Powder Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Dear James, Thanks for staying in our lodge and for your 5 star review. Glad that you found our rooms clean, warm and our service more than excellent. Happy to hear that you enjoyed our facility e.g. communal kitchen, hot tub, fire place, pool table etc. We look forward to welcome you again soon. Have a wonderful day!

Regina, Canada
Reviewed 14 January 2017

We had a two bedroom/kitchen room and it was perfect for our family of 4. Sam was very accomodating and friendly (our 3 year old remarked after one conversation "he is a very nice man"). Our room was a bit on the cooler side, which we don't mind but on New Years Eve when the grandparents were in our room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Loganator34
powdermountainlodge, Manager at Powder Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Logan, It was such a pleasure having you and your family with us for holidays. Thanks for your review. Happy to hear that you found our lodge "perfect for family". Thanks for noting our excellent free amenities, facility and unbeatable price. We hope to see you again soon. Have a fantastic day!

Medicine Hat, Canada
Reviewed 7 January 2017 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here 3 nights while we went boarding and it was such a good experience. Sam was very welcoming and friendly right from the start when we checked in. The rooms had everything we needed and the price was perfect! It felt like a home away from home. The common room with the pool table, fire...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kklaiber
powdermountainlodge, Manager at Powder Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Kaylie, Thanks for staying with us and for your review. Glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and our lodge felt like "home away from home". Thanks for noting our free excellent amenities and relaxed yet fun environment which our lovely guests adore. We always have pleasure having guests like yourself who is easygoing and happy. We look...

Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 January 2017

This is the 4th time we have stayed at Powder Mountain Lodge and Sam really makes us feel like its our second home. The Lodge is superbly located for access to the ski hill and for a short walk into downtown Fernie. The suites have everything you need for self catering in comfort. The common room with log burner, TV...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Markfrobi
powdermountainlodge, Manager at Powder Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Mark, Thank you for making our lodge your 2nd home in Fernie and for your kind words, so nice of you. It's always our pleasure and an honor having you and your family with us. As you have noted, our lodge is centrally located in Fernie, within walking distance to downtown, all public amenities and only 5 min to...

Reviewed 2 January 2017 via mobile

Sam was very helpful and accommodating. I enjoyed the common area with the pool table, hot tub and lounge with fireplace. A nice place where like minded people can come and stay while enjoying the town, and beautiful natural surroundings :)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Darren M
powdermountainlodge, Manager at Powder Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Darren, Thanks for staying with us and for your 5 star review. We are glad that you enjoyed guest communal area and had a good time. As you have noted, our lodge is surrounded by beautiful nature and majestic Rocky Mountains and most of our rooms have fantastic mountain views. With so many excellent amenities to enjoy free of...

65 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (39)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fernie hotels
0.1 mi away
Park Place Lodge
Park Place Lodge
#7 of 22 in Fernie
148 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Fernie Mountain Lodge
3.1 mi away
Lizard Creek Lodge
Lizard Creek Lodge
#1 of 22 in Fernie
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Red Tree Lodge
Red Tree Lodge
#4 of 22 in Fernie
263 reviews
3.2 mi away
Fernie Slopeside Lodge
Fernie Slopeside Lodge
#12 of 22 in Fernie
90 reviews
3.3 mi away
Cornerstone Lodge
Cornerstone Lodge
#9 of 22 in Fernie
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Powder Mountain Lodge is a family owned hotel with a beautiful courtyard housing an outdoor pool and BBQ area. A common room with a full kitchen, pool table, wood burning fireplace & TV area. We offer rooms with 1 or 2 queen beds as well as studio's and 2 queen kitchen suites. We are centrally located and close to all Fernie's amenities and just a short 10 min drive to the ski hill. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Powder Mountain Lodge

Address: 892 3 Hwy, Fernie, British Columbia V0B 1M0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Fernie
Price Range: £57 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Powder Mountain Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Powder Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Fernie
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Powder Mountain Lodge staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Powder Mountain Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you have ANY issues with the room, let the Manager know. He was great about helping with anything we had!”
 of 5 bubbles NikiZee, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“If you cook make sure you get your own kitchen”
 of 5 bubbles C1895DHbillb, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Great Location, fantastic service, excellent value, all rooms have kitchens”
 of 5 bubbles Markfrobi, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“I had a room facing the street because I wanted to keep an eye on my rig parked outside. An inner courtyard room would have been quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles gunnyappleseed, 21 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Book direct with Sam as you will get the better rate and not be charged the Booking fee of an online company”
 of 5 bubbles nosilla251, 8 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5