We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Original Hut Company

Save
Share
Quarry Farm, Bodiam TN32 5RA England
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveller (57)
Room & Suite (11)
Dining (4)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#1 of 3 Speciality lodging in Bodiam
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Glamping in beautiful hand built Shepherds' huts sited in a sunny glade in the woods next to the orchards, or camp in one of our campsites on our 200 acre family farm. Located just a stones throw from the National Trust's Bodiam Castle, wander through the orchards along the river into Bodiam. Hop on a steam train, take part in water & land based adventure activities or just chill out in front of the camp fire and enjoy the beautiful countryside. Bring your own tent, and camp in one of our campsites or alternatively if you're looking at a bigger party, book one of our private hire campsites! Our campsites offer wash huts and a private fire pit per pitch. The majority of our pitches are in the Gabil Meads Campsite which is located in-between a disused steam railway and the River Rother.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Restaurant
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Outdoor fireplace
Picnic area
Shared bathroom

Location

Contact
Quarry Farm, Bodiam TN32 5RA England
74Reviews1Q+A9Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 40
  • 12
  • 4
  • 9
  • 9
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sarah Q wrote a review 21 Sep
Birchington, United Kingdom1 contribution
There is something magical about the hop pickers wood and the poplars field at the Original Hut Company. It’s almost like walking into a famous five book. The orchard, the river, the castle, the meadows, the oast house views, the amazing food at the Hub cafe and not to forget the wise owl cider. A really special thanks to Anna and Nick for creating such a special place where us town dwellers can recharge. Roaring camp fires and spacious pitches. Really cute wood and tin hut bathrooms that are cleaned meticulously every morning. The toilets are compost and if you are new to compost toilets (one of our party was), there is an odour. It’s no big deal. Just part of the fun. We have been five times now and I’m already looking forward to the next. Can’t recommend it enough. The children climb trees, swim in the river, kayak. None of them asked for a phone/tablet. Bliss. The Quattroluni Family
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Anna Eastwood, Owner at The Original Hut Company
Responded 3 days ago
Thankyou so much for taking the time to review us and for your very kind words!! We look forward to seeing you again at some point in the future. A xx
Read more
Jez S wrote a review 8 Sep
1 contribution
Idyllic setting, cosy huts with a nearby cafe bar/restaurant. We stayed two nights in a tabernacle as a last minute getaway before the kids went back, and after abandoning our holiday in Greece. Beautiful position, very chilled environment and all of the facilities we needed. I'm surprised about the toilet and shower comments - we experienced absolutely none of this!!! The Hub is great; coffee, snacks. Great food - on site! The weather was grey and heavy, but we got the steam train to Tenterden for a bit as an easy remedy. The kids loved it, and the next morning we hired a canoe and paddled past the castle. Thumbs up all round! This is still essentially camping - you are at the mercy of the elements. But we were free, in the wild and had the opportunity to embrace nature and take some time out in a romantic little setting. 5 Stars!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Anna Eastwood, Owner at The Original Hut Company
Responded 1 week ago
Thankyou very much for taking the time to review us! Hopefully we will see you again at some point in the future :) A x
Read more
JaneDoe wrote a review 4 Sep
1 contribution
The facilities at this site need updating the stench of the toilets was absolutely horrific. As the shower block is attached to the toilet my daughter had to stand holding her nose whilst showering! We did not see the toilets emptied at all so the smell got progressively worse during our stay.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Anna Eastwood, Owner at The Original Hut Company
Responded 1 week ago
Thankyou for taking the time to review us. Throughout the summer season, we introduce thunderboxes throughout our campsites for the customers convenience. These are eco-loos & showers which can be used for emergencies in addition to the main plumbed in block up at The Hub. The toilets are cleaned 4 times a day with the aim to cause as little disturbance to our customers as possible. Which could be by you didn't appear to see them. They are pumped every 48 hours. We're very sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us, it is a shame that you didn't address these issues whilst onsite as one of the team would've happily reassured you & done everything in their power to help rectify the issue. A x
Read more
LightPacker582762 wrote a review 1 Sep
London, United Kingdom17 contributions5 helpful votes
We were booked for the first day of the summer holidays as a family group of friend with 4 kids under the age of 8 with our own tents. The weather was shocking with heavy rain forecast. Before making the 50 min journey down from our house in London a phone call was made to the campsite to check conditions as flood warnings had been given in the area. Staff ensured us their campsite was open with people pitched up camping. We got down to the site after a soggy drive to find the field under water (check photos, I’m not joking). The company line staff were towing was to give the field an hour and it will drain, no chance of refunds and no movements of dates. So we waited an hour and after another heavy downpour we went back to talk to the site staff on the practicality of pitching on a field which was under water. They still insisted the field would drain and we would be able to camp, moving our booking to another date or refunding was refused. We put kids back in car and drove home. Really disappointed in the attitudes of this site. Why they thought it was acceptable to not be honest with us on the phone about the conditions of their site is unknown. Then to refuse to help with our booking in any way, shape or form is really bad customer service. It is concerning they were advising for a group with young children to pitch in the flooded conditions with further heavy rain forecast in the early hours of the morning too.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Anna Eastwood, Owner at The Original Hut Company
Responded 1 week ago
Thankyou for taking the time to review us. Throughout this season we have had an unprecedented amount of rainfall, which has unfortunately caused a few flash floods. We have farmed the land for 30 years and have never previously experience what we have done this year. Unfortunately this is what occurred on the dates you were meant to be staying with us. At the point when we spoke to you on the phone, the pitches were usable, however within the hour it took for you to drive down we experienced a flash flood. The unprecedented level of rain we received then resulted in a power cut meaning we were unable to access our online booking system. Our first priority was the safety of the customers already in our campsites, once we were sure everyone was safe we then looked at the arrivals for that day. We were hoping the ground would drain - the water usually disappears as quickly as it appears, however once we knew this was not going to happen we then offered everyone a move of dates or a refund. Unfortunately by this point your party had already left the site, and with no contact details left on the booking we were unable to get in touch. We have now made it a mandatory section on the online booking system to request a phone number. We're very sorry that your booking was unable to go ahead and that we were unable to contact you to decide on a solution. A x
Read more
Tara wrote a review 1 Sep
United Kingdom1 contribution
Lovely environment..Stayed in hop pickers wood. Pitch on a slight slope unfortunately. Fire pit without air vent below made sustained fire difficult at first. Overall a v pleasant stay in and around Bodiam.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandEast SussexBodiam
NUMBER OF ROOMS
8
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Original Hut Company
What are some of the property amenities at The Original Hut Company?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, free parking, and kids activities.
What food & drink options are available at The Original Hut Company?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at The Original Hut Company?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.