Emerald Lake Lodge
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Emerald Lake Lodge

1 Emerald Lake Rd, Field, Yoho National Park, British Columbia V0A 1G0 Canada
Traveller (1760)
Panorama of the Emerald One Queen Bedroom Suite at the Emerald Lake Lodge
360
Panoramas (26)
Emerald Lake Lodge
Videos (2)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#2 of 2 lodges in Field
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Lake View
Charming
Languages Spoken
English
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Canoeing
Game room
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Shuttle bus service
Parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Hiking
Billiards
Canoeing offsite
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
24-hour front desk
Room features
Fireplace
Private balcony
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Hotel links
Special Offer:Gourmet Getaway

Location

1 Emerald Lake Rd, Field, Yoho National Park, British Columbia V0A 1G0 Canada
3,977Reviews29Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 1,571
  • 975
  • 702
  • 449
  • 280
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
S G wrote a review Jan 2023
Cochrane, Canada14 contributions8 helpful votes
Property's Favourite Review
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Rolling into the Emerald Lake Lodge feels like the beginning of a Great Gatsby vacation. After a walk around the lake be sure to order the espresso martini and later that evening go for a smokey old fashioned while playing a card game. It is fully acceptable to chat with the staff as they too are so interesting to spend a little time with. Nothing but the best in this hidden gem. I was able to finish writing a chapter of my book here. The previous. year, I painted. This time - card games. Next time I will bring my fav book and share the best parts with my friends while I listen to my daughter laughing in the hot tub with her friends and my husband sharing stories with his by the fire-pit. Then we meet up for our family dinner and share excellent wine and Canadian cuisine. This is a place where we all can exhale while sitting in the middle of a snow globe.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Experience Team GEM, Guest Services / Front Office at Emerald Lake Lodge
Responded 1 Apr 2023
We are so grateful for your 5-star review, thanks for taking the time to share your experience with us and the community. The Emerald Lake Lodge Team constantly strives to deliver a truly memorable guest experience and the Team will be thrilled to hear these kind words! We look forward to welcoming you back soon so you can one again enjoy a memorable stay in the Rockies. Warmest wishes from the Emerald Lake Lodge Team.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
hamiltontroy wrote a review Jan 2020
Calgary, Canada1 contribution1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
You would be hard pressed to find a more beautiful location anywhere. This is primarily the reason I have given a higher rating. The service provided in face-to-face interactions was great; everyone was very friendly.

Our room was in need of some serious maintenance; bath tub would not drain, faucets turned all the way around, no proper weather stripping on bottom of the door, etc. We are used to rustic cabin like accommodations but there is a difference between rusting and poorly maintained. At first glance the room seemed well cleaned; upon getting into bed and looking down between the side table and bed it was apparent the cleaning done is very "surface" level. Once looking, it was made clear that the cleaners do as quick of a job as possible to make the room look clean, but don't put in the effort to actually move things around to properly clean.

Breakfast buffet was sub-par compared most complimentary continental breakfasts you would get at lower end "motels"

We visited the "Club House" to enjoy the hot tub; arrived and there were no clean towels available, called to request them, 45 mins we expected them to be available, still weren't, requested again and waited 20 mins without them arriving. Eventually gave up and put on our clothes and went back to our room to get cleaned up.

It really is a beautiful location, but perhaps staying somewhere else and taking a day trip would provide you with a more memorable and enjoyable experience at a fraction of the price.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2019
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TheUrbanTraveller604 wrote a review Aug 2020
Vancouver, Canada1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The location of the lodge is stunning. Emerald Lake is beautiful. Overall, the shuttle bus, reception, and restaurant staff were polite, friendly and attentive. I get the impression that the resort is complacent with respect to some of its facilities and services because it seemingly has exclusive rights to this premium location. I would suggest striving for facilities and service standards that are more commensurate with such a world-class location. Specifically, there needs to be much more attention placed on cleaning of the rooms and some basic maintenance and upgrades (carpets, painting, scuff marks, beds and linens, malfunctioning blinds). There were remnants from previous guests in our room, and the carpet was quite filthy and needs vacuuming, particularly under the beds and tables and chairs. We had no running water on the last day, so there was an inability to use the bathroom.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kaitlin D, Marketing at Emerald Lake Lodge
Responded 11 Aug 2020
Greetings, Thank you for your review. We appreciate guest feedback and will be sure to pass your comments along to our team. Thank you for choosing us, we hope to see you again soon! Kind Regards, The CRMR Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Traveller G wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The furnitures of the room were very old and seemed like needing a huge renovation. More specifically, there was a nasty part under the sink; the bed frame, duvet cover and shower curtains were worn out. There were some wooden decorations that holds facial tissue and toiletries in horrible shape in the bathroom. Leaving them on their own without those nasty holders would be so much better.
The sound proofing was horrible that we were able to hear everything from the neighbor room. The water was not suitable for drinking, so we had to take bottled water from the main lodge. Housekeeping could have provided a bottle for each guest everyday. The heating was not working properly enough in the night time. So we had to set our alarm and get up at middle of the night to light up the fireplace. The lodge is not a cheap place, so the fireplace should be seen as an optional recreation for guests not the source of the heating. Because it can't keep flaming up until the morning by itself. I will not stay at the lodge again because of these problems even though the nature was impressive. Because staying in a comfortable place around the area, and visiting the lake daily is possible.

The only thing that I was satisfied with was quality of the toiletries provided.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2019
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kaitlin D, Guest Relations at Emerald Lake Lodge
Responded 6 Feb 2020
Greetings, Thank you for your comments. We are dissappointed to hear the impression you were left with after your stay with us. We will be sure to pass your comments and concerns along to our team. Thank you for choosing us, we hope to see you again soon. Kindly, The CRMR Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Wade wrote a review Jul 2020
Golden, Canada2 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Myself and my Boyfriend recently stayed 2 nights at Emerald Lake Lodge, and it was so so worth it. The location is obviously beautiful looking out onto the turquoise waters of Emerald lake, the rooms are clean, well looked after and create a calm relaxing environment to hang out in. The best part is that you can hike all day, be disconnected and enjoy the sheer beauty of the mountains with out any distractions. The food is delicious at the main lodge and the staff are so genuinely nice and great to chat with (even when they are busy they will find time to chat). We will definitely be back! Thanks so much for having us guys!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kaitlin D, Marketing at Emerald Lake Lodge
Responded 28 Jul 2020
Greetings, Thank you for your review! We are so excited to hear that you had a fantastic stay and will be sure to pass your kind words along to our team! We appreciate your business during these difficult times and hope to see you again soon! Kind Regards, The CRMR Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
CROBB87 wrote a review Nov 2020
14 contributions19 helpful votes
+1
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here on a Tuesday night. The location is beautiful, resort is set up amazing. Love the little cabins(keeps it more intimate, not one giant hotel block) and that you take shuttle from the parking lot so there are no cars driving around (besides the shuttle and resort vehicles). Dinner and breakfast was amazing, as was the staff. The resort itself is need of some TLC. Our room had blinds with missing valances, a lamp shade with large bleach stain on it, the bed comforter was to small for the king bed (probably good for a queen), the box spring is ripped, dirty and in need of repair, the bathroom had holes and plugs from the old shower curtain, the toilet is leaning, one of the blinds was not attached to the bottom of the door and another blind was broken. All small things that add up. In the main lodge lounge there was food underneath the wall radiators(a simple sweep would help)For the price paid the resort should be immaculate. The maintenance ruins the otherwise great experience.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kaitlin D, Marketing at Emerald Lake Lodge
Responded 17 Nov 2020
Greetings, Thank you for your review. We always appreciate guest feedback to know how we did and what may be improved on for the future. We appreciate your business and hope to have the opportunity to 'wow' you in the future. Kindly, The Emerald Lake Lodge Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Anatole99 wrote a review Nov 2021
Paris, France19 contributions13 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
It is difficult to review Emerald lake lodge.

We spent 3 nights in late October in a lake view room with 1 king bed. We got room 122, one of the better ones, on the upper level, not too far from the main lodge, with a (almost) clear view on the lake. Many views are obstructed by large pine trees, so we were lucky.
First the good part: the lodge was built a hundred years ago right on the edge of the lake on a little peninsula, it would never be allowed today. The view from our room, and the little balcony, was breathtaking. In itself, waking up to such a view justifies staying there, and the « very good » rating I am giving.
To continue the good part, the restaurant is very good, which is just as well because it is the only dining option many miles (and I mean many) around.

The problem is that the owners must have realised that the unique location means that they have no competition, and they decided that there was no point in investing money to make the stay a truly unforgettable experience.
Forget the absence of wifi or TV in the cabins, it is part of the experience of being transported in a magical place away from civilisation.
But the rooms have not been renovated in a million years. A bedside lamp was not working (not a lightbulb issue), the furniture is old and of poor quality. A good decorator could do something amazing, keeping a rustic style.
Expense on staff is kept at an absolute minimum : zero housekeeping during our whole stay, which is unheard off. Even the wood supply outside the cabins ( forget inside) had not been replenished, it was empty by the time we left. We would have had to go and steel a log at another building to make a fire. They mentioned a staff shortage, but we were no longer in the worst of the pandemic, domestic and international travel was possible, it would have been easy to recruit staff with a little effort, and why not a better pay and working conditions. Most of the staff we saw were already coming from Europe or other parts of Canada. It was also obvious that no attempt is made to train the staff to procure customer satisfaction. Some were very nice, but it was obviously due to their natural character. The people at the front desk, who looked more senior, did not seem to care very much about their guests satisfaction. I was also expecting people with first hand knowledge of the trails in the park, but the only thing they would do is hand out a map with a few trails marked.
A shuttle ferries guests from the car park to the lodge, a 5 minute trip, there is a phone in the car park to request it. Once, it took more the 40 minutes to arrive, and the driver issued a half baked apology, obviously not meaning a word of it.
I could go on and on like that.

In conclusion, I am glad I stayed there, but the owners of this lodge should be replaced with people who actually care for their guests, and not only for the (very large) amount of money they have to fork. Then, this place could really become magical.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
jkmiles1990 wrote a review Sept 2020
1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Our stay was less than what we had expected. Rooms were run down not rustic. Garbage on our balcony and an ashtray full of cigarette butts. Room smelled like an outhouse if we didnt keep the bathroom door shut. Guest services didnt provide pre-requested items asked to be left in the room. 24 hr shuttle service was terrible tried to checkout early ended up waiting out in the cold for half an hour with my pregnant wife because front desk couldnt contact the shuttle driver and didnt even let us know or suggest we wait inside. Very dissapointing overall experience would choose other accommodation in the future
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2020
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kaitlin D, Marketing at Emerald Lake Lodge
Responded 29 Sept 2020
Greetings, Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. We are disappointed to hear about your experience. We always strive to provide our guests with a seamless experience and apologize if we fell short in anyway. Your business is appreciate, and we hope to have the opportunity to win back your favour in the future. Kindly, The Emerald Lake Lodge Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Chailatte1983 wrote a review Jan 2021
Calgary, Canada46 contributions49 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We travelled here for a couples getaway over the Christmas break. I really wanted to love this experience as the location is amazing and beautiful. We enjoyed snowshoeing around the lake and the nearby Icefields Parkway. We loved that there was no TV or Wifi in the rooms. The fireplace was a great feature and we spent our nights in front of it chatting. We also loved that cars could not drive by the resort as this kept things more quaint. The food was incredible and we had excellent service from the front desk, servers, drivers, and room service.

Unfortunately, I have to take away two stars - one for each sleepless night. I am a sound sleeper but the walls in the resort are paper thin. We were in a Lakeview King room on the upper level of the cabin. There are four rooms in each cabin. Our room had an adjoining room door which we could lock, however, we could hear every word or movement from the people next door. They were not being overly loud, it was simply a function of the poor acoustics of the building. We could also hear the people in the unit below us whenever they did anything like open a door, talk, move their fireplace tools, etc. The noise kept us up until 3am on the first night. We asked to move but were told no and no apology was offered. The second night was also sleepless as the bed was so uncomfortable and tired. The pillows were so thin that I had neck pain the entire trip. There was nothing luxurious about the bed or the bedding and at this price point I would expect a cozy bed and high quality linens.

The rest of the room is dated which I don’t mind from an aesthetic point of view. However, the couch in front of the fireplace was also sagging and well past its prime.

In general the resort is missing some of the other items that comparable places offer - no robes in the room, no slippers, chefs were not willing to make accommodations for dietary restrictions, etc.

I would consider coming back if the rooms are updated and better soundproofing is installed. Otherwise I can’t justify $1500 for two nights as this is essentially Fairmont Lake Louise or Banff Springs pricing but without the same luxury attached.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kaitlin D, Marketing at Emerald Lake Lodge
Responded 4 Jan 2021
Greetings, Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. We are disappointed to hear about your experience and hope to have the opportunity to improve on your visit in the future. Kindly, The Emerald Lake Lodge Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dale K wrote a review Nov 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Overall it was a great weekend. The beds could be upgraded for the price that we pay and the rooms (bathroom) could be cleaned a little more thoroughly. The staff in the Main Lodge were amazing and were very friendly (Im talking about you Tory). I think that we could have had a couple of complimentary bottles of water in our room and not have had to pay 3.50 per bottle on top of the price of the room.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kaitlin D, Marketing at Emerald Lake Lodge
Responded 6 Nov 2020
Greetings, Thank you for your review. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon. Kindly, The Emerald Lake Lodge Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Egtongardener
Calgary6 contributions1 helpful vote
Yes - at the far end (north) of the lake on the alluvial fan.
Answer from Brandi B
Cold Lake, Canada4 contributions5 helpful votes
You need to take the shuttle up to the main lodge especially with luggage, although is not more than a 15 min walk without it. It’s quite a steep upward climb is you walk from your car with luggage though. There’s a phone to call the shuttle and it’s 24/hr. There is no microwave, kettle or coffee pot in the rooms, only a one mug keurig, which they supply coffee and tea for.
MMM54 wrote a tip 5 Jun
Stuttgart, Germany146 contributions71 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"There is no wi-fi connection in the rooms. However, there is good internet connection in the lodge and on the deck by the lodge. "
Read full review
Angele D wrote a tip Apr 2024
Chelmsford, Canada1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't book here unless you like the "camping" feel"
Read full review
Kate A wrote a tip Feb 2024
1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Be prepared for the rooms to be very dated. Book a reservation for dinner - you can't eat anywhere else but their restaurants."
Read full review
SeniorTravelerTF wrote a tip Oct 2023
Fort Atkinson1,192 contribution477 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Do your sightseeing beforehand. Easier to stay put once you arrive."
Read full review
Gayleen R wrote a tip Oct 2023
Olds, Canada46 contributions20 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"October is the perfect month to explore the Rockies- weather pending of course. Emerald Lake Lodge is a beautiful choice. "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Field area.
PRICE RANGE
£296 - £457 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
emerald lake hotel field, emerald lake lodge canada
LOCATION
CanadaBritish ColumbiaKootenay RockiesYoho National ParkField
NUMBER OF ROOMS
85
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

EMERALD LAKE LODGE - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Emerald Lake Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Emerald Lake Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Yoho National Park (3.5 miles), Takakkaw Falls (5.0 miles), and Emerald Lake (0.4 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Emerald Lake Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a fitness centre.
What food & drink options are available at Emerald Lake Lodge?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Emerald Lake Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Emerald Lake Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Truffle Pigs Bistro & Lounge, The Siding Café, and Cathedral Mountain Lodge.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Emerald Lake Lodge?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Emerald Lake Lodge?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Emerald Lake Lodge offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and a banquet room during their stay.
Does Emerald Lake Lodge have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
Is Emerald Lake Lodge accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire