We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Van der Valk Hotel Schiphol

Expedia.comUS$109*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$221*
US$109*
Great Deal
US$122*
US$221*
US$109*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
Van der Valk Hotel Schiphol
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

3,340 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,495: English reviews
Start your review of Van der Valk Hotel Schiphol
 Click to rate
Los Angeles, California
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed here for one night on a recent stopover in Amsterdam. We only got to stay for a few hours since our flight coming from Rome arrived late (past 10pm) and our connecting flight back to the US was very early the next morning. The layout of the place seemed a bit strange as we needed to take two...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pccla74
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

This was my second stay here. The reason is the good pricing and close proximity, and very frequent shuttle bus, to Amsterdam airport. Staff is very helpful. My original booked room was smelling like cigarette smoke and problem got solved quickly. My new upgraded rooms showed signs of wear and tear but I will be back

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sailoratvacation
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Because of a medical emergency on our first leg with KLM, which was by the way handled excellently by KLM, we had an unscheduled landing in France. We therefor missed our connecting flight to Aruba. KLM put us into this hotel for the night. We had dinner and breakfast as well, and a few wonderful beers. The rooms are excellent,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Johan J
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

This hotel treated guests as if they are staying only for couple of hours who doesn't deserve their hospitality service. A trainee checked us in, the queue was long but the other ladies behind the counter didn't care much and let a trainee did the job all alone. No one behind the front desk ever greets us on our whole...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mei-lingling
Karin R, Front Office Manager at Van der Valk Hotel Schiphol, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you for your review, we are very sorry to hear that you had such a bad experience in our hotel. Of course you we have informed the entire front desk staff. This is not the service and hospitality we always offer our guest and we are very disappointed. Our sincere apologies. I hope your will give us...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Cons: The outside looked at little dated, the inside of our room smelled like cigarettes, and there was something left in our toilet when we arrived. Pros: Free shuttle from the airport, which helped since the hotel was about 20+ min away. Very easy and quick check-in with a great front desk staff. Plus we were given a free room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JP H
Oranjestad, Aruba
Reviewed 1 week ago

Very nice hotel. We booked it for the proximity to Schiphol airport, but were pleasantly surprised with the size of the room and the cozy Royal bar. We only stayed 1 night on our way from the UK to Aruba, so we did not make use of the restaurant but had drinks and dinner in the recently renovated Royal Bar....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marcel N
Reviewed 1 week ago

I thoroughly enjoyed staying at this lovely hotel during a recent weekend break. I was one of over a hundred women from over 30 nationalities who descended on the check-in desk en masse on Friday afternoon for conference meetings. Despite the fact that the check-in desk was clearly under pressure with not only our conference arriving but also many other...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Judy M
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had to stay here on last minute notice. The staff is arrogant and rude. They dont even answer your queries. No water bottles kept in room, when asked staff says drink tap water. No ironing machine in rooms. As we were on business trip we need ironing machine handy always in room. One worst thing was bathrooms have no door...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Manasvi B
Karin R, Front Office Manager at Van der Valk Hotel Schiphol, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are very sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay in our hotel. Indeed we don't have water bottles in the room, as in Holland the water from the tap is 100% pure water. We do have coffee and tea facilities. We don't have an ironing machine standard in the rooms, we do...

Groningen Province, The Netherlands
Reviewed 1 week ago

So glad I went here instead of using the normal and closer airport hotels. This hotel actually has some atmosphere, unlike most cold uninviting airport hotels. The food is very good and well presented, lovely bar and good check in experience. Room was nice and comfortable bed.Will definitely return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard W
New York City, New York
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

To say that the staff was rude would be an extreme understatement. Their treatment and attitude towards Americans was downright inappropriate and completely unacceptable!! The shuttle driver to the airport was so terrible towards us that he made my girlfriend break into tears. He asked who the Americans were and made us wait until Europeans boarded first even though we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Howie K
Karin R, Front Office Manager at Van der Valk Hotel Schiphol, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review, we were as shocked as you are. We are an international hotel with guests form all over the world, I never before received such a comment. You can be sure that we informed the buscompany we hire to provide our shuttlebus service!! I want to offer you our sincere apoligies. Kind Regards

1,081 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1012)
Viewed
Bathroom (81)
Viewed
View from Room (33)
Viewed
Dining (58)
Viewed
Room/Suite (203)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (155)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
2:37
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (464)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (69)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (23)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schiphol
4.5 mi away
citizenM Schiphol Airport
6.4 mi away
Hotel Ibis Schiphol Amsterdam Airport
2.7 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Amsterdam Airport Schiphol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Airport
2.6 mi away
NH Amsterdam Schiphol Airport
6.4 mi away
Ibis Budget Amsterdam Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Centrally located, a stone's throw away from the Schiphol Airport and close to the centre of Amsterdam, you will find luxury, comfort and hospitality with us. Because of its ideal location our hotel is easily accessible by car, public transport or by the free shuttle service. Our hotel offers generous parking spaces, where you can park your car free of charge during your stay in our hotel. Our friendly staff members, the generous, luxurious rooms, suites and many amenities will make you feel at home straight away.We're looking forward to welcoming you in Hotel Schiphol A4! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Van der Valk Hotel Schiphol

Address: Rijksweg A4 No. 3, 2132 MA Schiphol, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Schiphol
Price Range: £63 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Van der Valk Hotel Schiphol 4*
Number of rooms: 565
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Van der Valk Hotel Schiphol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schiphol a4 Hotel
Schiphol a4 Hoofddorp
Van Der Valk Hotel Schiphol Haarlemmermeer
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Schiphol
#3 Family Hotel in Schiphol
#4 Romantic Hotel in Schiphol
#4 Spa Hotel in Schiphol
#5 Business Hotel in Schiphol
#5 Luxury Hotel in Schiphol
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Van der Valk Hotel Schiphol staff and other travellers.
32 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (32)

Questions? Get answers from Van der Valk Hotel Schiphol staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All good, but I would keep away from the elevators”
W8376XNrichardw, 16 May 2017 | Read review
“Spend a few minutes to learn how to navigate the hotel. It isn't always easy to get from your room to the restaurant, for example.”
Skogsgurra, 5 May 2017 | Read review
“Room 424 was really quite!”
TatyanaB190, 1 May 2017 | Read review
“We were at the rear of the hotel.”
963mille, 30 Apr 2017 | Read review
“A very large hotel, we were on ground floor but did not have any issues with noise.”
  • Quad room - each bed could be moved apart, all had lamps and usb ports.
Going_with_Teen, 27 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$109* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$122
TripAdvisorUS$109
AMOMAUS$221
View all 13 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates