We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Rivendale Lodge Retreat

Buxton Rd, Alsop en le Dale, Peak District National Park DE6 1QU England
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (506)
Room & Suite (32)
Dining (6)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

#1 of 1 lodge in Alsop en le Dale
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Explore the Peak District from Rivendale Lodge Retreat. Offering luxury lodge accommodation, you can relax and recharge, or explore the local area at your own pace.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot bath
Bar / lounge
Hiking
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Restaurant
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Picnic area
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Additional bathroom
Seating area
Iron
Kitchenette
Dishwasher
Kitchenware
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
5.0 of 5 stars
200Reviews20Q+A40Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 140
  • 30
  • 14
  • 5
  • 11
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Wild_Panther wrote a review 1 Apr
Worcester, United Kingdom103 contributions22 helpful votes
+1
Stayed at 2 beds Castleton Lodge, which was great value, considering it was school holidays in our area. Lodge was very clean and modern. Plenty specious for myself and 2 children. Location is so peaceful, the park itself is well kept and there is always someone collecting rubbish or checking things. Lots of stunning walks to explore and pubs to go to. Reception staff are lovely, phoned 2 days before arrival, and a few hours after arrival to check up. Even when we had a power cut (National Grid area issue), they were lovely and trying to help.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Kerry wrote a review Mar 2024
Evesham, United Kingdom1 contribution
We booked to stay in a Castleton Premiere lodge with hot tub. First impressions were good with high end equipment and modern interior. However, we soon noticed that the dishwasher was running a cycle but there was nothing in the dishwasher and the seating wasn't suitable for a family. Only one sofa, which was uncomfortable and sank on the sides and two leather armchairs, which were rock hard and uncomfortable. On our first night upon uncovering the hot tub we found that the jets did not work and the water was just luke warm. The following morning we advised Reception and they sent someone to look at it. The hot tub required a new part which couldn't be replaced until the following day, so that was two nights were we left without a working hot tub that we had paid for! On our 3rd day whilst out exploring the local area, we received a phone call to say the hot tub was fixed and fully working. Upon arriving back at our lodge, we found the hot tub only half full of water, making a hideous vibrating noise and spurting water out of some of the jets periodically. Again, off we went to Reception, who sent an engineer to have another look at it. Apparently, someone had turned the valve off underneath which was causing it to drain the water out. The engineer filled the hot tub back up and said we were good to go...finally. However, only a few of the jets sill worked! We have stayed in lodges with hot tubs several times and this is by far the worst hot tub ever, even the head rests were missing! Having spoken with Reception AGAIN, they offered to reimburse us £100, which we need to speak to Hoseasons about as that's who we booked the holiday though. When we woke up the following morning, we had no electric as here had been a power cut in the surrounding area. Because everything in the lodge is electric and has no gas it meant we had no heating or hot water as well as electric. After 5 hours of waiting, the electric was still not back on, so we packed our stuff and left. It's not Rivendale's fault that there had been a power cut, but with the hot tub issue and the crap seating issue was the final straw. Surely, for the price they charge for these lodges, you would think that everything would be checked to ensure it was working prior to guests arriving, especially something like a hot tub. Very disappointed and will not return to Rivendale in the future.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
TPTWhitleyBay wrote a review Mar 2024
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom188 contributions93 helpful votes
Was such a shame as we had to come home after 1 night as our Autistic son was struggling (we have stayed at similar places before with no issues but this visit was just too much - not sure why) This was nothing to do with the lodge or location which were amazing. I was gutted to leave!! would have given 4.9 stars if I could as the only gripe I had was the seating area in the lounge area, the sofa was a 2 seater and the other seating was high backed chairs and not very comfy to lounge on. Also, lodge could have done with a rug! Lots of positives though and a particular shout out to the reception staff (Bev, I think her name was) So nice and welcoming after a long drive and very sympathetic to our plight when we had to leave. Bar and restaurant were also really nice and we enjoyed our dinner. Would love to visit again when things are a bit more settled. Great location for the area and immediate surroundings looked lovely
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from D Escape, Guest Services / Front Office at Rivendale Lodge Retreat
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for your review, we are so sorry to hear you had to cut your holiday short. I will pass on your comments to Bev and the rest of the team and we hope you are able to stay with us again in the future
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Bobble71 wrote a review Mar 2024
Littlehampton, United Kingdom44 contributions15 helpful votes
Very well organised site. Our Lodge was spotless. Short walk from the car park to the lodge but only a problem if it’s pouring when you arrive / depart. On the plus side this makes the area around the lodges safer for children. My party was 5 adults, a 2 year old, and 2 dogs. The dogs were pretty expensive at £70 each for a week but had some treats and a toy each ready when we arrived and the dog washing facility was a great idea, the warm dog shower made it easy to clean them off after a visit to a muddy farm park. The on-site shop only stocks very basic items so it’s a trip into Ashford for Sainsbury’s or Lidl for supplies. Heating problem when we arrived was quickly dealt with and all the staff were helpful and friendly. The in-lodge Wi-Fi worked well in our case.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Car almost essential. Assigned parking space for 1 or 2 cars according to lodge size.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from D Escape, Guest Services / Front Office at Rivendale Lodge Retreat
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we are so pleased you and your family enjoyed the stay, we hope you choose to holay with us again in the future
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
STFHunt wrote a review Mar 2024
West Bromwich, United Kingdom79 contributions71 helpful votes
Really tidy place, set in an old quarry I believe with some lodges on the top and some on the bottom which makes for an an amazing backdrop. We stayed in lodge 15 which for two adults and a 3 year old was great size. Would be great for a small family and four adults they would just have to fight over the sofa as the chairs are a little bit uncomfortable as noted in other reviews. We ate at the restaurant which Monday to Thursday was 20% off we ate there once and it was decent food for the price. We had two burgers, two pints and the little one had nuggets (way to big a portion for a child) and a drink was £38! Standard really for decent pub grub. Great location to explore the lower half of the Peak District. 20mins from Matlock about the same to Bakewell. One thing that did need to be addressed is that the floor needed to be mopped better or more frequently as the state of our feet when we walked around barefoot after a shower was rather dirty. The rest of the lodge is spotless. We had a bargain at £207 for 4 nights, we would come back if it was that reasonable again but upon looking in the summer it’s a bit pricier.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Need to take washing up liquid bin bags and other cleaning bits. Has a dishwasher so take pods...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from D Escape, Guest Services / Front Office at Rivendale Lodge Retreat
Responded 13 Mar 2024
Thank you for taking the time to leave a lovely review, we have noted your comments regarding the floor and passed them onto our Housekeeping team. We do hope you choose to stay with us again in the future
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Abingdoneater wrote a review Mar 2024
Abingdon, United Kingdom65 contributions33 helpful votes
This place is lovely, it is set in an old quarry the views are awesome. The lodges are very nice, modern, clean very nice. Now the bad, i was walking along with my dog and i heard someone shouting. I looked around and saw some guy on a four wheeled thing, i had no idea what he was saying so i asked him to repeat himself. Just a lot of shouting again, which i could not understand. So i just ignored him and walked om. Now i am semi retired so i travel a lot. I have never ever been shouted at by some muppet on a four whheeled drive thing, what was he thinking? I cannot understand that a company would allow such behaviour ever. If you want to go to the peak district go its anazing, but never ever go to this place unlese you wwnt to get shouted at
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Go elswhere
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from D Escape, Guest Services / Front Office at Rivendale Lodge Retreat
Responded 13 Mar 2024
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us but are saddened to here that it was marred at the end. We have no record of any instances such as this occurring, the only thing we can think of is if maybe your dog was not on a lead at the time and a member of our staff was trying to alert you to our strict 'dogs must be on a lead' policy. If you would like to discuss this further please give us a call on 01335 310441 and select option 1 for the Reception team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Alicia G wrote a review Feb 2024
2 contributions
Came to stay here for a weekend away for my friends birthday. Deceiving advertisement , so there was no not tub when we arrived. When we asked to upgrade (we were prepared to pay whatever) we were told as we booked through booking.com there was nothing they could do? Booked a meal at the restaurant for the last night, not only were the staff extremely rude, our food was forgotten about and undercooked. There was no compensation, if the staff had been understanding and nice it would’ve made us feel a bit better but all in all not a great experience.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Log cabins are okay, make sure you know what you’re booking before you pay, DO NOT EAT HERE
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from D Escape, Guest Services / Front Office at Rivendale Lodge Retreat
Responded 13 Mar 2024
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, unfortunately we cannot alter any bookings made through booking.com etc. so for any amendments you would need to contact them directly. I'm sorry that you did not enjoy meal in the bistro and I will pass on your feedback to the team.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
MrsH183 wrote a review Feb 2024
17 contributions42 helpful votes
Be aware that when booking the Castleton Lodge through Hoseasons that it does NOT include a hot tub! Very deceiving on the website. We were upset when we arrived to find there was no hot tub. We called reception staff and unfortunately we could not be moved due to being fully booked for half term. The lodge is OK but could do with a bit of renovating and quite small for 4 people. The kitchen utensils need replacing, they were all very worn. The bedrooms are small. The sofa in the lounge and 2 armchairs are very uncomfortable. The outdoor lighting on the paths to the lodges are not adequate, it is very dark but they do provide the lodge with a torch. Unfortunately we would not return to Rivendale Lodges.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from D Escape, Guest Services / Front Office at Rivendale Lodge Retreat
Responded 13 Mar 2024
Thank you for your review, we are sorry you did not book a hot tub lodge and we were unable to upgrade you. We have taken on board your comments regarding your stay. With regards to the lighting around the park, we are in a low light area and governed by Peak Park restrictions to reduce light polution. We hope you choose to stay again in the future, if so please given the park a call prior to booking so we can discuss the best lodge options for your stay
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
DebJA wrote a review Feb 2024
United Kingdom232 contributions104 helpful votes
This is the second time we have stopped in Bakewell Lodge at Rivendale. It is an excellent Lodge, with plenty of space for 6 people with plenty of utensils, crockery and cutlery. The Lodge retains it's heat so much that even though it was cold outside we turned off the heating at night and only put it on low when we got up. We were attending Rivendale for a Special Birthday weekend with fourteen adults & two dogs in four lodges. All the Staff were so helpful both before we arrived and when we were there. Fourteen of us ate in the Bistro on Saturday night, and everyone said that the food was superb. An excellent long weekend Birthday break.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from D Escape, Guest Services / Front Office at Rivendale Lodge Retreat
Responded 13 Mar 2024
Thank you so much for your 5 star review, we are so pleased you and your family and friends had a wonderful birthday weekend. We hope you choose to stay at Rivendale again in the future
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
ScubamommaDevon wrote a review Feb 2024
Barnstaple, United Kingdom739 contributions382 helpful votes
+1
We’ve just spent a week at RLR. We had booked a 3 bed Bakewell premier with dogs. We were allocated lodge 22 on arrival, the last one in the segment which was a good position as we didn’t have people walking past all the time. The lodge had everything we needed for a week and the washing machine was a godsend as everywhere we went we got muddy. I had bought an airer from home so hung our clothes out at night and they were dry by morning. We spent our week climbing and hiking, so nice to be close to everything, Thors cave and Thorpe cloud were our favourites. We ate on site twice and all the staff were lovely, food was ok and filling after long days. Now the downside, the lodge was quite dirty in places. The bedroom with the en-suite had terrible mould on the ceilings (we kept the window open all the time) Marks/Food mess on nearly every wall and the sofa was damaged as we numerous skirting boards/door frames. The headrests were missing in the hot tub and the lights did not work. Outside furniture was covered in green mould/moss. When you are paying £1500 for a week you expect better, it’s such a shame as I loved the position of the site being so close to everything and the site itself was really well kept, but we would not return due to the condition of the lodge.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Take an airer to dry washing.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from D Escape, Guest Services / Front Office at Rivendale Lodge Retreat
Responded 13 Mar 2024
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay here at Rivendale, we are sorry your expectations were not met however we do appreciate both positive and negative feedback and will pass on your comments to the rest of the team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Alsop en le Dale area.
PRICE RANGE
£132 - £422 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandPeak District National ParkAlsop en le Dale
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

RIVENDALE LODGE RETREAT - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about Rivendale Lodge Retreat
Which popular attractions are close to Rivendale Lodge Retreat?
Nearby attractions include Ilam Park (4.2 miles), Thor's Cave (4.2 miles), and Dovedale Stepping Stones (3.4 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Rivendale Lodge Retreat?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Rivendale Lodge Retreat?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, an additional bathroom, and a dishwasher.
What food & drink options are available at Rivendale Lodge Retreat?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Rivendale Lodge Retreat?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Rivendale Lodge Retreat?
Conveniently located restaurants include Staffordshire Knot Inn, Old School Tea Room, and Sycamore Inn.
Is Rivendale Lodge Retreat located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.9 miles away from the centre of Alsop en le Dale.
Are pets allowed at Rivendale Lodge Retreat?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Rivendale Lodge Retreat?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Tissington Hall (2.7 miles) and Arbor Low Stone Circle & Gib Hill Barrow (4.7 miles).
Is Rivendale Lodge Retreat accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.