We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Pachena Bay Campground

Save
Traveller (25)
Pool & Beach (13)
Room & Suite (4)
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent42%
  • Very good36%
  • Average4%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
“beautiful beach”(5 reviews)
“logging road”(9 reviews)
“camping trip”(3 reviews)
AMENITIES
Public Wifi
Free Parking
Beachfront
Pets Allowed
All hotel details
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (50)
Filter reviews
50 results
Traveller rating
21
18
2
5
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
21
18
2
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeautiful beachlogging roadcamping triphot watercaptain paulbathrooms and showerstent trailerthe water's edgeabsolutely beautiful locationworth the tripan adventurecrabvancouver islandsitecampersgravelcampfire
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 50 reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2017 via mobile

Can not rate campground because we didn't go. Reviews of the road to get there were terrible. It would have been nice to have been for warned of the drive. A different campground was kind enough to explain. When we called to say we weren't...More

Thank Rosann L
Response from Sarah_J_2018_Admin, General Manager at Pachena Bay CampgroundResponded 9 February 2018

Thank you for your feedback.

Reviewed 4 October 2017 via mobile

The campsite was disappointing! We had high hopes from looking at the photos on the website. (Apparently, we were told that the management had changed a couple of years ago.) Bathrooms were in need of serious cleaning (daily would be good). Garbage bins were overflowing....More

Thank Lori-Lynn T
Response from Sarah_J_2018_Admin, General Manager at Pachena Bay CampgroundResponded 9 February 2018

Thank you for your thoughts and feedback.

Reviewed 5 September 2017

My husband and I spent the Labour Day long weekend at Pachena Bay Campground. We had a very lovely time. The road to the site is very dusty and bumpy in spots as you might expect from an active gravel logging road, but we saw...More

1  Thank Meganj83
Response from Sarah_J_2018_Admin, General Manager at Pachena Bay CampgroundResponded 9 February 2018

Thank you for you thought and will take the feedback to make the stay better for everyone. My apologies for the information about the Fire-Ban, Its important to know that this is a private campsite, the land is owned by the Huu-ay-aht First Nation and...More

Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile

We had an amazing time on the beautiful beach. The campground was well kept and the bathrooms and showers we're clean and the staff were very friendly. I would caution you to ensure that your vehicle is well equipped to handle the condition of the...More

Thank Tracey H
Response from Sarah_J_2018_Admin, General Manager at Pachena Bay CampgroundResponded 9 February 2018

Thank you and very pleased you enjoyed your stay

Reviewed 31 July 2017

Camping trip with my 14 year old son - our site was great - near the end so the bigger combined sites with lots of families seemed far away. Beach never crowded at all. Saw lots of wildlife including bears at safe distance. Staff friendly,...More

Thank Laura B
Response from Sarah_J_2018_Admin, General Manager at Pachena Bay CampgroundResponded 9 February 2018

Thank you for kind words and pleased you enjoyed your stay.

View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Vancouver Island
See allSee all
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Beachfront
Free Parking
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Details
Number of rooms
80
Location
Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Barkley Sound > Bamfield
Also Known As
Pachena Bay Campground Hotel Bamfield
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (25)
Pool & Beach (13)
Room & Suite (4)
Family and Play Areas (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
aileen v
7 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Tracey H | Reviewed this property |
We just travelled the road between Port Alberni and Bamfield last week and the road was extremely rough with steep grades. I am not sure if we are spoiled with our well maintained gravel roads at home, but we found the road... More
1
Vote
Room Tips
"Forest side sites cooler with shade"
Read review
"Its a campground. There are a few beachside spots that will be windier but closer to the water."
Read review
"Campsites close to the beach are best."
Read review
"Book on the beachside."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing