We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Grouse & Claret

Station Road, Rowsley, Peak District National Park DE4 2EB England
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (145)
Dining (43)
Room & Suite (41)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#1 of 1 inn in Rowsley
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
This Page is for reviews on our wonderful campsite and 8 beautifully appointed guest rooms, Should you wish to leave a review on our restaurant.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Electric vehicle charging station
Free internet
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Parking
Breakfast available
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Desk
Housekeeping
Clothes rack
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English
909Reviews5Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 268
  • 203
  • 162
  • 136
  • 140
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Pat Howe wrote a review 9 Apr
Sheffield, United Kingdom28 contributions35 helpful votes
Met with friends as we usually do about once a month. We have for the last 2-3 years met at the Grouse and Claret. The recent re-furbs look great. Not so the menu. The lunchtime 2 or 3 course menu now has very little choice. Each of us chose the two courses for £15.95 Each of us had the cod coujons chips & peas. That orcsausagec& mash or salad If this was cod, it wasn't good, it was dark and chewy. We waited an age for deserts thinking we had bbc been forgotten, you cannot go wrong with crumble and custard, so when it finally arrived all ok there. Two beers, two soft drinks and a bill of over £80. Each of us agreed we will not return unless changes are made and there are more choices on the starters and main dishes selection. The prices are high, the quality poor and your left feeling that the customer is paying for the very nice re-furb.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Restaurant review
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from James Ricketts, General Manager at Grouse & Claret
Responded 4 days ago
Good Afternoon, Thankyou for taking the time to leave us a review on your most recent visit, I think your review is a little unfair and not a true representation of our wonderful lunch menu that allows guests to choose from 4 starters, 7 mains and 4 desserts all for a very reasonable £15.50 for two courses or £18.25 for three courses, We don't advertise our goujons as cod so I'm unsure why you expected this to be the case, the menu states fish goujons and they are in fact Haddock which is why there would of been some difference. Your bill totalled £81 which for 4 people to enjoy 2 courses and 5 drinks purchased, 3 of which were alcoholic and 2 were soft. In the current climate our lunch menu remains very competitive and has some great options, I'm sorry that these didn't suit your induvial taste on this occasion Kind regards James Ricketts General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Becky B wrote a review 8 Apr
1 contribution
+1
We had a lovely stay, room modern & clean, slept well, some road noise but didn’t bother us, food was outstanding breakfast was 10/10 and reasonable priced. The staff couldn’t be more helpful, we would highly recommend and definitely come back.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Sarah wrote a review 4 Apr
Rowsley, United Kingdom9 contributions2 helpful votes
I visited on Sunday and had the best roast dinner. The beef was delicious, everything perfect. Cauliflower cheese was some of the best I've ever had. Extra gravy was brought out straight away when asked for, which was also delicious. Yorkshire pudding was huge. I would 100% recommend going here. It was busy when I ate but I received my food within 10 minutes. Drinks service was also great, staff all very polite and friendly. Looking forward to going back
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Chatsworth wrote a review Mar 2024
16 contributions20 helpful votes
Overall, the dining experience was excellent. ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ Returned again while on holidays, extremely dog friendly. Spotless clean. Very relaxed atmosphere, not rushed, very courteous, friendly and helpful staff. ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ 🙁🙁 A couple of menu items were unavailable. Requested prawn and salmon cocktail - friendly member of staff advised no salmon left. Requested Duck pâté again friendly member of staff advised they only had chicken pate. Easter Sunday, busy, so totally understand. We opted for prawn cocktail. It was served with a lovely bread and butter but sauce was not very tasty. Prawns lovely but very watery Marie Rose sauce - sauce needs improving. 👍👍👍 Prawn cocktail ☹️☹️☹️ Steak and ale pie ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ Turkey Dinner ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ Roast beef ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ Trio of roast ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ ran out of roast beef so husband disappointed, it was compensated with additional pork and turkey which he said was really nice and tasty. All the above served with giant Yorkshire puds, fabulous tasty vegetables, stuffing and really tasty gravy. Highly recommend ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ Chocolate brownie ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ Cheesecake ⭐️⭐️⭐️ basque style , not to our taste but others could love it. Lemon tart ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ Apple and berry crumble ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ All desserts very well presented, with choice of ice cream, clotted cream, custard or fresh cream. Overall, highly recommend and will return again while on this trip .
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Jimmy C wrote a review Mar 2024
1 contribution
Tom welcomed us in and was a great host. The food came out quick and was amazing. The food tasted fresh and was well presented. Everyone enjoyed the meal. The pub itself was really clean, welcoming and overall outstanding. We would recommend to anyone. We will also be looking to rent a room out in the summer
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Carol R wrote a review Mar 2024
Birmingham, United Kingdom24 contributions21 helpful votes
Had Sunday lunch here we had to send it back plates were warm but all the vegetables were cold, staff were attentive and problem soon sorted, but certainly not worth the money, and are you sure that you could spare the crackling, would not recommend and will not be returning.Very disappointing.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from James Ricketts, General Manager at Grouse & Claret
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thankyou for taking the time to leave us some feedback, I'm sorry that the dishes weren't right the first time, however I'm pleased to see the team rectified this for you. We are incredibly proud of our great British roasts and today alone have served 200 of them, I'm sorry that they however aren't to your taste. Kind regards James Ricketts General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Steve H wrote a review Mar 2024
Higham, United Kingdom60 contributions52 helpful votes
Just a comment on the bar pricing structure. I'm at a place in life where pennies aren't that important. However I don't like to be taken for a ride. Charging £4.20 for a soda water and orange juice, when a PINT of any fruit juice is also £4.20 is a bit naughty in my opinion. When I questioned it on my next visit to the bar (as I was charged a more realistic £2.90) the justification seemed to be that I'd had more than half an orange, and that I'd asked for ice! Wow!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from James Ricketts, General Manager at Grouse & Claret
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thankyou for taking the time to leave us a review on your visit, As with any drink served there are multiple factors that contribute to the price, I personally served you the first time and it wasn't until your server charged you a little less the second time in error that you raised any concern at the prices Regards James Ricketts General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Bob S wrote a review Feb 2024
Cambridge, United Kingdom7 contributions9 helpful votes
My wife and I stayed on the campsite for 3 nights in February with our dog. There is only one way in /out, via an emergency barrier, this is permanently padlocked and it's necessary to go in to the pub to ask someone to unlock it if you're going in or out.As the staff leave at 10pm it's not possible to re-enter the campsite after this time. This is a poor system and I suggest they fit a gate with code entry or fob. If people were leaving and arriving at the same time I suspect it could be mayhem. It felt like there are too many pitches on the site, they are hard-standing (slate chippings) but are quite small and if they were all booked out the facilities would be unlikely to be sufficient to meet demand. The facilities are a shower / toilet block, washing-up sink, outdoor tap and Elsan. There was no grey water disposal point as far as I could see It was not clear whether the showers / toilets were cleaned during our stay. The showers in the men's were ok, one went hot and cold, the showers have irritating push valves which turn off every 10 seconds. One shower cubicle had no hooks and the lock was hanging off; water from one of the showers leaked over the floor, causing a constant puddle. There was a "disabled" toilet / shower cubicle with raised toilet and grab rails. The location of the site is quite pleasant, beside the river. It had rained a lot prior to our visit but drainage wasn't particularly good. The site is very handy for the pub (which has large gardens) and the nearby shopping - a good selection of independent shops and a large cafe. We ate at the pub once, the food was nice and served quite quickly, but it was quite expensive. The cocktails were like lemonade. Staff were generally friendly and helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from James Ricketts, General Manager at Grouse & Claret
Responded 18 Feb 2024
Thankyou for taking the time to leave us a review on your recent stay, we hope for the most part you enjoyed yours stay with us, Our barrier is in place as we have had recent issues with people entering the site who hadn't booked to stay and making things very difficult for our valued guests, Although the solution isn't perfect, its the best we can do at present to ensure that the facilities we have are used by those who have paid for them. We have had the same number of pitches at site since opened and at height of summer our facilities have always been suitable for the number of pitches we have, although i do appreciate the concern. I do hope we can welcome you again in the future Kind regards James Ricketts General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Sarah L wrote a review Feb 2024
1 contribution1 helpful vote
We've been coming to this caravan site for nearly 10 years, but unfortunately this will probably be our last visit. The main reason is the crazy increase in pitch fees. Asking £45 per night at certain times of the year is just greedy. Attempting to justify it by saying it's the "touches of luxury" is very misleading. There are much better sites around at a lower price, and I think these prices will kill the site. Families can't afford to pay these prices for what they're getting and they'll just go elsewhere. They now have an online booking system, which is a bit of a faff to be honest. You have the option of selecting your pitch, again at an extra cost of £5. We chose this option as I need to be close to the toilets. We received a booking confirmation which stated the pitch we'd chosen. On checking in on our arrival, we'd been put on another pitch further away, which felt like we'd been completely ripped off by paying the extra....I was not happy. It turned out that we had been moved to allow a party of 3 caravans to be next to each other, as one of them was on the pitch we'd booked... disgusting treatment. This certainly wasn't the "high level of service" that they also claim. This is the first time in all the years we've been coming, that we've not used the pub. We just felt we didn't want to give them any more of our money...and believe me we've spent alot in there over the years. The pub is quiet expensive as all Marston s pubs are, and it's nothing special either. The service cancelled be slow even when not busy, they seem to have alot of staffing uses and frequently run out of food items. It's a real shame that our time here has done, but like many others it's what these rediculous increases have driven us to. The list of justifications for additional pitch fees at certain times of the year is something I've never seen in 20 years of caravanning. To see reasons like Mothers Day and Fathers Day amounts to nothing more than greedy.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from James Ricketts, General Manager at Grouse & Claret
Responded 13 Feb 2024
Good Evening, I'm deeply saddened to hear that you are so disappointed with your most recent stay with us, I will feedback to my team regarding your pitch you had requested and booked that you didnt get, this should never be the case and the charge removed as you didn't get your requested pitch, had you mentioned this we would of gone out of our way to fix this for you. With regards to our booking system in general this is a new system we have implemented with the full intention of giving guests a better experience, there have been teething issues, however it was always the plan to get these out of the way before our summer season, Last year we were unable to get to guests requests through multiple platforms quick enough, so this new system enables one place to book, pay and check-in for the guests and enables a much quicker check in process. Our general prices have risen by £5 per season on last years prices in line with inflationary costs we are currently facing and upgrades we wish to make in the future such as a automated barrier system, these things aren't cheap and we are doing our best to control these costs, under these current prices we would still have to sell 105 pitches a month to break even and often this is not the case to add some context to the rises. Adding surcharge on key days is appropriate as you would with a hotel room or other stay overs where the local area is busier down to local event or big calendar event, I'm sorry you disagree with this however it is again proportionate and based on learnings from our last year. Our campsite, Hotel and Pub run as independent business of each other and each has to be self sufficient, im sorry that we wont be welcoming you again in the future, i hope this reply helps to give some context Best wishes James Ricketts General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Kerrbill20 wrote a review Feb 2024
2 contributions
grouse and claret has everything, friendly staff, delicious food, a cosy Bar area with a nice big open fire. Stayed over night the room was well decorated and a nice comfortable bed Will definitely be back Ideal for walking, shopping , camping.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from James Ricketts, General Manager at Grouse & Claret
Responded 18 Feb 2024
Thankyou for this glowing review, i hope we can welcome you again soon Kind regards James Ricketts General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Rowsley area.
PRICE RANGE
£86 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
grouse and claret hotel rowsley
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandPeak District National ParkRowsley
NUMBER OF ROOMS
8
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

GROUSE & CLARET - Updated 2024 Reviews (Rowsley)

Frequently Asked Questions about Grouse & Claret by Marston's Inns
Which popular attractions are close to Grouse & Claret by Marston's Inns?
Nearby attractions include Deception Escape Rooms (4.4 miles), Pendragon Project Team Adventures (3.0 miles), and Bakewell Old House Museum (3.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Grouse & Claret by Marston's Inns?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Grouse & Claret by Marston's Inns?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, blackout curtains, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Grouse & Claret by Marston's Inns?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Grouse & Claret by Marston's Inns?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Grouse & Claret by Marston's Inns?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Shalimar, Restaurant Lovage By Lee Smith, and The Bulls Head.
Is Grouse & Claret by Marston's Inns located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the centre of Rowsley.
Are there any historical sites close to Grouse & Claret by Marston's Inns?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Lumsdale Valley (4.5 miles), Haddon Hall (1.4 miles), and Arbor Low Stone Circle & Gib Hill Barrow (4.9 miles).