We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Peacock at Rowsley

Bakewell Road Peak District, Rowsley, Peak District National Park DE4 2EB England
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (200)
Dining (69)
Videos (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

#1 of 1 hotels in Rowsley
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Peacock at Rowsley hotel in Derbyshire is a charming and luxurious boutique hotel nestled in the heart of the picturesque Peak District. With its rich history dating back to the 17th century, this former manor house has been lovingly restored to offer a unique blend of traditional elegance and contemporary comfort. Situated in the quaint village of Rowsley, the hotel boasts stunning views of the surrounding countryside, providing a tranquil and idyllic setting for a relaxing getaway. The Peacock at Rowsley offers a range of beautifully appointed rooms and suites, each individually designed with a perfect balance of modern amenities and classic charm. Guests can indulge in a culinary journey at the hotel's three rosette award-winning restaurant, one of only three in Derbyshire, where the talented chefs create exquisite dishes using locally sourced ingredients. The menu showcases the best of British cuisine, with a focus on seasonal produce and innovative flavors. The restaurant's elegant ambiance and attentive service ensure a truly memorable dining experience. The hotel's prime location makes it an ideal base for exploring the breathtaking Peak District National Park. Outdoor enthusiasts can embark on scenic hikes, bike rides, or fishing trips, while history buffs can visit nearby stately homes and historic landmarks including Haddon Hall and Chatsworth. With its warm hospitality, impeccable service, and attention to detail, the Peacock at Rowsley hotel promises an unforgettable stay in the heart of Derbyshire. Whether you're seeking a romantic weekend getaway, a family vacation, or a peaceful retreat, this hidden gem offers the perfect blend of luxury, comfort, and natural beauty.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Bicycles available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Meeting rooms
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Golf course
Fishing
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Room service
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English
674Reviews3Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 418
  • 139
  • 69
  • 25
  • 23
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Jewels801 wrote a review 1 Apr
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom192 contributions60 helpful votes
+1
We stayed for two nights recently. We’ve stayed twice before (new year package) and once again the hotel exceeded our expectations. We stayed in Room 7 which is now our favourite - large room overlooking the garden with a nice (compact) bathroom, and air conditioning which was welcome as it was quite mild weather at the time. We had dinner in the lovely bar on our second night and it was wonderful. The staff at the Peacock are exceptional, every single person was so professional, yet friendly. Thank you to Laura for sorting out our stay. We hope to be back very soon for another visit. Thank you all.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Peacock Team member, Other at The Peacock at Rowsley
Responded 5 days ago
We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and really appreciate your feedback. Thank you for taking the time to share this and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Edawes1983 wrote a review Jun 2023
Dronfield, United Kingdom74 contributions23 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
What a wonderful place! My husband and I booked an overnight stay and meal at The Peacock at Rowsley. We were welcomed to a beautiful room, full of history, at 3 pm, where we changed and spent the afternoon in their absolutely beautiful country gardens: waiter service, deck chairs, flowers and a superb GnT. We then went to the restaurant for our evening meal. I always worry about meals in 'hotels' as the atmosphere can be a little dull. But this wasn't the case. The restaurant was full of guests, they had gentle music playing to take away the quiet. The service staff were friendly, knowledgeable and attentive. Now the food, I fully expect this place must be on the shortlist for a Michelin star. We had the taster menu, £75pp, plus wine flight £80pp. I guess the wine flight wasn't essential, but personally, I love the work that goes into pairing food with wine. The food was absolutely fantastic and we are seasoned restaurant-goers! We love experiencing new things, everything was delicious, cooked to perfection and the Yorkshire Lass came out in me and I was allowed more bread to mop up my plate! All in all, a great experience, we would highly recommend it and will certainly visit again! Thank you Team Peacock! x
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Peacock Team member, Other at The Peacock at Rowsley
Responded 19 Jun 2023
Thank you for such wonderful feedback! It's fantastic to hear how much you enjoyed your stay.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
arderne wrote a review Mar 2024
oxfordshire65 contributions28 helpful votes
Impeccable discreet accepting truly old fashioned service Wonderful peaceful atmosphere What an utterly marvellous hotel. Lovely in every way. Absolutely standout service - like the kind of service you would find if you lived at Chatsworth or similar in the last century. Absolutely delicious haddock and chips in room. Wonderful breakfast. Beautiful room. Lovely bar, lovely garden. Simply wonderful. Peaceful is the right word
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Go there if you want peace and old fashioned service
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Peacock Team member, Other at The Peacock at Rowsley
Responded 5 days ago
Many thanks for your wonderful feedback. It is much appreciated and will be share with the team - we're so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Denis O wrote a review Nov 2023
14 contributions20 helpful votes
I cannot understand why someone has moaned about being 1 minute late for breakfast. If they state breakfast finishes at 9 30 am , then breakfast finishes at that time. Simple isn't it !!. Then moaned when offered something different . Get out of bed a bit earlier .
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
JH0ught0n wrote a review Nov 2023
Manchester UK3 contributions4 helpful votes
We booked two double rooms at the Peacock for one night as we were visiting Chatsworth House for their Christmas event. We paid over £640 for two rooms. The hotel is in a good location for Chatsworth. The rooms were ok. Comfortable and clean. Would probably benefit from a refresh. Tea and coffee is provided but you need to ring reception if you want milk or a biscuit. Breakfast service was unsatisfactory. Service finishes abruptly at 9.30am. At weekends I feel this should be later. Having missed it by 1 minute we were offered a tray in our rooms. The offerings were paltry to say the least. A slice of ham, cheese and a tiny croissant. We checked out of the Peacock feeling disappointed and hungry!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Peacock Team member, Other at The Peacock at Rowsley
Responded 4 weeks ago
We're very sorry to hear you were unhappy with the service regarding breakfast. However, we do feel that this review does not entirely represent the facts. Breakfast was ordered to your rooms for your children the night before - we have a cold offer of pastries, croissants, fruit, yogurt, granola, cereals, ham, cheese, tomato and toast, of which you selected ham, cheese and a croissant. You called down from your room that morning at 9.42am, which is 12 minutes after breakfast finishes - we did offer to bring you a continental breakfast but you declined. Our team works tirelessly to provide a good service, and we're disappointed to hear you were unhappy with the breakfast offering.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
AndrewDewhurst wrote a review Nov 2023
Woodbridge, United Kingdom44 contributions35 helpful votes
We only stayed here for one night whilst visiting family. We found our experience here a bit of a mix, although we would stay again for a second try. The positives are: A lovely warm welcome and personal service with very friendly staff, especially in the bar. Beautiful old building with gorgeous grounds in a peaceful setting. The rooms are warm and a generous size, although our bathroom was compact. It had nice towels and toiletries though. Excellent bar with great drinks selection and lovely log fire. The negatives: Our pillows were like wooden logs. Really hard and full like I’ve never seen before. Breakfast was surprisingly poor. I ordered a Full English breakfast. The sausage and mushrooms were good, but the bacon was hard and impossible to cut, the toast was weirdly dry and almost disintegrated into dust when I cut it, and the egg was pale and had no flavour. I was surprised because whilst we didn’t have evening dinner here, the menus looked superb. So we will look forward to staying again as I am sure we just had a bit of bad luck.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Peacock Team member, Other at The Peacock at Rowsley
Responded 21 Nov 2023
Hi Andrew, Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us - we're sorry to hear that there were some negative elements to your stay - this will be shared with the team, both regarding the pillows and breakfast, and we do hope that you'll come again, where hopefully there will be nothing but positives! Kind regards, Kat
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
D Perry wrote a review Nov 2023
8 contributions1 helpful vote
Had dinner in the bar. Log fire & autumnal food done to perfection. Perfect balance of comfort food/healthy food/local food/seasonal food/fresh food/traditional food & superb chocolates with your coffee. I just love this place, thank-you so much.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: If I didn't live here and was visiting, I'd be very happy to save up and stay here a night or two.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Peacock Team member, Other at The Peacock at Rowsley
Responded 21 Nov 2023
Many thanks for your feedback, we're so pleased you enjoyed your meal with us!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Anne G wrote a review Oct 2023
London, United Kingdom72 contributions75 helpful votes
We booked the hotel for a birthday celebration.I’d seen a beautiful picture on Instagram from someone else’s visit, and the reality was even better. Our 3 night stay was wonderful; a comfortable room matched by excellent food and faultless service. My overriding memory will be of how warm and welcoming every member of staff were. We will definitely visit again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Peacock Team member, Other at The Peacock at Rowsley
Responded 24 Oct 2023
We're so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at The Peacock and thank you for sharing your thoughts, it is much appreciated! We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Many thanks.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Gary T wrote a review Oct 2023
Chinley, United Kingdom3 contributions1 helpful vote
My wife had been pestering me to try The Peacock for a meal as we hadn't been for years, turns out it was over ten in fact. Last time we went I wasn't happy with either the food or the service and this was at the back of my mind every time my wife suggested it. She eventually won through and I am glad she did, visited for lunch on Friday, the food and service were outstanding and the building itself is stunning. Even though it was only lunch time the food was no different to what you'd expect at dinner in both quality and presentation and the portions, supposedly light bite mains, were ample. The staff were all polite and friendly with just the right amount of attention and knowledgeable about the products being served. There is a set menu at lunch which makes it easy to see what the likely cost will be, with drinks our bill came to just over £100 for two of us, there are cheaper alternatives out there but taking all things into consideration I felt it was reasonable. To cap it all the car park had spaces large enough to accommodate a 4x4 easily no worrying about others squeezing in. All in all a pleasant and relaxing lunch in wonderful surroundings, I will be returning and would recommend it to others.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: When leaving if traveling by car to Bakewell care is needed turning right onto the main road as...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Peacock Team member, Other at The Peacock at Rowsley
Responded 24 Oct 2023
Many thanks for your feedback - we're so pleased your wife was successful in persuading you to give us another try! We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Many thanks.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
187050Charlotte wrote a review Sept 2023
Telford, United Kingdom19 contributions4 helpful votes
The Peacock is a charming place to stay. The decor is timeless, elegant and in keeping with the beautiful building. We stayed in a room on the 2nd floor (16) which was very clean and well appointed. The bed was super comfortable with lovely bed linen. A fabulous bathroom with luxurious toiletries. Breakfast was a real treat ‘the best breakfast I’ve had for a while’ was my husbands verdict !! A special thank you to Hilary on reception for a warm welcome and Valentina for the shortbread !!! A fantastic place to stay, we enjoyed every minute!!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Peacock Team member, Other at The Peacock at Rowsley
Responded 25 Sept 2023
Many thanks for your feedback, we're so pleased you enjoyed your time at The Peacock!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Rowsley area.
PRICE RANGE
£220 - £315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the peacock at rowsley hotel rowsley
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandPeak District National ParkRowsley
NUMBER OF ROOMS
15
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE PEACOCK AT ROWSLEY - Updated 2024 Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions about The Peacock at Rowsley
Which popular attractions are close to The Peacock at Rowsley?
Nearby attractions include Deception Escape Rooms (4.4 miles), Pendragon Project Team Adventures (2.9 miles), and Bakewell Old House Museum (3.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Peacock at Rowsley?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at The Peacock at Rowsley?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at The Peacock at Rowsley?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Peacock at Rowsley?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Peacock at Rowsley?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Shalimar, The Barley Mow, and Restaurant Lovage By Lee Smith.
Is The Peacock at Rowsley located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.05 miles away from the centre of Rowsley.
Are pets allowed at The Peacock at Rowsley?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to The Peacock at Rowsley?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Lumsdale Valley (4.5 miles), Haddon Hall (1.3 miles), and Arbor Low Stone Circle & Gib Hill Barrow (4.8 miles).