We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Priory

Traveller (25)
Room & Suite (9)
Traveller (25)
Room & Suite (9)
Dining (1)
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"]}}
About
  • Excellent73%
  • Very good15%
  • Average3%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible5%
Certificate of Excellence
A former rectory to the village church of St Mary Magdalene which stood on the site 1150-1877. Today named ‘The Priory’, it offers luxury bed & breakfast, private house hire and an apartment for guests; the remaining part of the house is our private family home. Situated on the doorstep of Hereford city, just 3 miles in one direction and rolling countryside in the other; close to the forest of Dean, the Welsh boarders, Brecon Beacon national park and the famous book town - Hay on Wye, to name but a few. Tucked away down a no through lane, boasting lovely country side views, The Priory is situated in a small hamlet of houses set in three acres of land. On your approach to the house you will find plenty of private parking.
Read more
Property amenities
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Public Wifi
Breakfast included
Meeting Rooms
Non-Smoking Hotel
Breakfast Available
Room features
Non-Smoking Rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
HOTEL CLASS
Location
Full view
Getting there
Bristol Airport49 mi
See all nearby hotels
Nearby restaurants
See all nearby restaurants
Nearby attractions
See all nearby attractions
Reviews (116)
Filter reviews
116 results
Traveller rating
85
17
3
5
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
85
17
3
5
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews exclusive use peaceful setting breakfast and dinner following morning warm welcome business trip comfortable bed full english breakfast night stay fresh milk chris chris vintage afternoon tea wedding venue wake proprietor countryside
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 116 reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Stayed here on a Saturday night after a nearby wedding. Email contact to book which was helpful. Be warned that cabs around here are pricy so best to be organised & share cabs with others. The house is lovely, modern, clean, roomy. Rooms well appointed....More

Thank AjayMV
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It was the perfect choice for our 3 day stay in Herefordshire. The Bulmers' apartment had everything we needed for our self-catering break, plus "goodies" and also local knowledge provided by Chris and which we very much appreciated.

Thank Don M
Response from ThePrioryHereford, Owner at The PrioryResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Mr & Mrs Manley Thank you for taking the time to leave us a 5* review for the Bulmer apartment. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay in our self-catering duplex apartment and hope you will return in the future. Chris

Reviewed 13 October 2018 via mobile

Beautiful rooms but very disappointed in the fact that breakfast is £12 extra pp, and the spa/swimming pool is not on site and will cost you twenty something pounds per person to access.please read the small print. The photos are very misleading and I implore...More

Thank Mason N Jo J
Response from ThePrioryHereford, Manager at The PrioryResponded 17 October 2018

Dear Mr Jones We are sorry that you felt you had to leave us a review like this. Unfortunately, when you booked through a third party, you didn't read what you were actually booking. You chose the cheapest rate you could find, which was our...More

Reviewed 12 October 2018

We stayed as a family group occupying the whole hotel. All the rooms were very nice, excellent shower in our room, lovely toiletries. We had breakfast and dinner as part of the package and were offered a really good choice and they went down well...More

Thank 410jennyh
Response from ThePrioryHereford, Owner at The PrioryResponded 17 October 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a 5* review from your house hire weekend. It sounds like you all enjoyed having full run of the Priory and we're glad you liked the feel of the place. Hope to see you...More

Reviewed 8 October 2018

We had a wonderful weekend. We had exclusive use for a mixed age group family of 16. Everything was perfectly organised and the food and accommodation was excellent. We had several vegetarians in the party and we were very impressed with the pre-booked appetising choices...More

Thank marge588
Response from ThePrioryHereford, Owner at The PrioryResponded 17 October 2018

Dear Margaret Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a positive review from your house hire weekend. It sounds like you all enjoyed having full run of the Priory. Our caterer that we have on board, has some excellent menus...More

View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
WelshGirl1107
26 June 2016|
Answer
Response from jredcon | Reviewed this property |
A little too far to walk unless you're fitter than I am. There is a bus stop less than 10 minutes away but I don't know the regularity as I took a cab into town. If you are looking for peace, quiet, a lovely atmosphere and a... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Ours was a self- contained apartment"
DonM883
4 weeks ago
Read review
"Go somewhere else."
mrcarmstrong
14 Sep 2017
Read review
"Poor disabled access"
cerib912
27 Jun 2017
Read review
"Any of the rooms we saw were excellent"
StuartG3
5 Jun 2017
Read review
Show More 
PRICE RANGE
US$139 - US$144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hotel new priory
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
New Priory Hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandHerefordStretton Sugwas
NUMBER OF ROOMS
8
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing