We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Bristol

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Bristol
The Bristol
Panoramas (13)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

3,344 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Bristol
See the most recent reviews
Showing 3,272: English reviews
Reviewed 14 June 2014

This was an anniversary weekend and have to say we were disappointed by our room. I had paid £30 for an upgrade to have a waterfront view after reading other reviews. The room we were allocated had a bathroom too small to get into! I did go to reception and was shown to another room with a slightly larger bathroom....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lucy S
Gareth B, Director of Operations at The Bristol, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback; it is incredibly important to me and my team and crucial as we look to continually improve our service and facilities for our guests. I am so sorry to hear of your disappointment with elements of your stay; however I am delighted you enjoyed our cocktails and breakfast and our superb location.. I...

Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We stayed here for three nights. Room was a good size although the bathroom was very small if adequate. The bed was comfortable. The free parking was a great bonus as was the free WiFi. I cannot understand why more expensive hotels charge for in room WiFi. We were at the back which we hoped would be quiet and it...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Pauline J
Gareth B, Director of Operations at The Bristol, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your wonderful review. I am delighted to read that you had a great time with us; as you mentioned we do provide complimentary WiFi throughout the hotel for all of our guests to avail of. This is a standard you will find in all 8 Doyle Collection hotels. I hope we have the pleasure of...

Loughborough
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We stayed at the Bristol hotel as it had been recommended by MShed who we were using as the venue for my daughter's 21st birthday party. It could not have been better located not only for proximity to MShed but also for the great views of the harbour and central Bristol. It is a high quality hotel with friendly and...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ruth W
Gareth B, Director of Operations at The Bristol, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Wow – thank you for your 5 star review1 I am delighted you had a great stay with us and I am glad we helped make your daughters 21st a little more memorable. We are in the perfect location for events hosted at the Mshed; as you mentioned we are only a few minutes walk away. Wishing your...

Reviewed 13 June 2014

My husband and I stayed at the hotel for one night for my birthday. The location of the hotel is great and the free-parking a real bonus. All of the staff we interacted with were professional, helpful and friendly. We called on our way to the hotel in the morning at 11.30am to ask if we could possibly check in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Polly H
Gareth B, Director of Operations at The Bristol, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your amazing 5 star review! I am delighted you have had an overall great stay and thank you for choosing The Bristol Hotel to celebrate your special day. The bubbles and berries package is the perfect way to celebrate an occasion or a great treat for a weekend away. A belated ‘Happy birthday’ and I...

North Yorkshire
Reviewed 13 June 2014

My husband and I stayed in room 428 and our two adult sons in room 426 from Thursday 5th June to Monday 9th June. The hotel has an excellent location right in the heart of the city center over looking the water front. If you are going to the Hippodrome or Colston Hall then this hotel is a stone's throw...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MelNorthYorkshire
Gareth B, Director of Operations at The Bristol, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your wonderful and comprehensive review, I am delighted to read that you had an overall great stay and that you experienced the warmth and friendliness of our team. It great to hear that our customer service ethos transcends to the guest experiences – even during busy times. I do hope we have the pleasure of...

Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We stayed at the hotel after visiting Grillstock festival in Bristol and we cant really fault it. The room was lovely, comfortable bed, and breakfast was really good too. Shame they don't incorporate the price of the breakfast with the room, that would make life a lot easier!! Tea and coffee facilities were good, including the espresso maker! All the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Andy G
Gareth B, Director of Operations at The Bristol, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your review. I am delighted to read that you had a great stay with us. We are in the perfect location for many of the festivals throughout the summer being only a 3 minute walk across the river. I am pleased you will be back with us for the upcoming Harbour festival which...

Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Stayed here with my husband celebrating a birthday with friends, fantastic base for enjoying the night life around Bristol lovely harbour side. Could not fault the hotel, lovely service, free parking, clean and spacious room. Contemporary style, and the breakfast was gorgeous. Would recommend this hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ash1-10
Gareth B, Director of Operations at The Bristol, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your amazing 5 star review! I am delighted to read that you have had an overall ‘fantastic’ stay with us. I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on your next Bristol trip. Regards, Gareth Byrne Director of Operations

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 June 2014

This was my fourth visit to the bristol. While the first three occasions were exceptional, this was very disappointing. Primarily the problem was the room. A small corner room with stained bedding and deep embedded stains on the floor. It has certainly made me question a fifth path visit.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Harvey K
Gareth B, Director of Operations at The Bristol, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback; it is incredibly important to me and my team and crucial as we look to continually improve our service and facilities for our guests. I am so sorry to hear of your disappointing recent stay however I am delighted that you have stayed with us previously and you know that this is not...

Scunthorpe
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I don't usually leave reviews, but for the money which we paid, i feel i need to. Upon arriving i felt it would be a good hotel, but our room had mould under the window and mark on the wall, strange smell

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Littlemare
Gareth B, Director of Operations at The Bristol, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback; it is incredibly important to me and my team and crucial as we look to continually improve our service and facilities for our guests. I am so sorry to hear of your disappointing recent stay. I can assure you that your experience certainly does not live up to our usual standards. Please do...

Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Decided to book for two nights in this hotel and very glad we did. Check in was ultra efficient and polite. Car prking in a multistorey car park free of charge. Rooms and the whole hotel spotless. Food was far better than expected and the breakfast a veritable feast. The who;e experience was one the I would repeat.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank burnsidenigel
Gareth B, Director of Operations at The Bristol, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the online travel community. I am delighted to read that you had an overall great stay with us and that you also had time to discover our fantastic River Grille Restaurant – with locally sourced food cooked well, panoramic harbour views – what a great way to...

733 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (450)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (40)
Viewed
Room/Suite (141)
Viewed
View from Room (31)
Viewed
Bathroom (28)
Viewed
Dining (33)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
2:22
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (175)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (259)
Viewed
Amenities (48)
Viewed
Other (34)
Viewed
Deluxe Bedroom With Harbour View (44)
Viewed
Dining (54)
Viewed
Superior Bedroom (40)
Viewed
The Hotel (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (23)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.2 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#6 of 37 in Bristol
1,121 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to The Bristol!Anyone spending any length of time in Bristol is likely to come across The Bristol. Sitting pretty on the quayside of the Floating Harbour, this luxury Bristol hotel is surrounded by the best of Bristol's Old City and maritime history: Bristol Old Vic and the beautifully restored Queen Square, Bristol Cathedral and at Bristol across Pero's Bridge and of course The Arnolfini, Bristol's celebrated contemporary arts centre, right next door.For all these reasons, The Bristol is hard to avoid, even by visitors who are staying elsewhere. Those who do stay at our hotel in Bristol get to experience our great location, greatly reduced overnight car park rates of £5 at the adjacent NCP, the fresh, modern luxury of our bedrooms, and the chic cuisine and quayside ambience of The River Grille and Shore Café Bar.Make sure you are among them and choose The Bristol, the finest Bristol Hotel! ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Bristol

Address: Prince Street, Bristol BS1 4QF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Price Range: £84 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bristol 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Doyle Collection and Travelocity so you can book your The Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Bristol
Bristol The Hotel
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bristol
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#2 Business Hotel in Bristol
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#2 Family Hotel in Bristol
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Bristol staff and other travellers.
30 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (30)

Questions? Get answers from The Bristol staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid 225 its small”
 of 5 bubbles 0Pete_23, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Beware of standard rooms; very compact indeed.”
 of 5 bubbles Tiderace, 3 Feb 2017 | Read review
“we were on 6th floor and no noise”
 of 5 bubbles melaniehilton, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“6th floor was very quiet”
 of 5 bubbles 87deborahf, 31 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms appear to be more spacious from 3rd floor up”
 of 5 bubbles , 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5