Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel

Dinner
Traveller (690)
Guest room
Room & Suite (204)
Dining (53)

View prices for your travel dates

Fully refundable before Sat, 1 Jun
£68
Fully refundable before Sat, 1 Jun
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
£75
£64
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

3.0
#40 of 42 hotels in Bristol
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
The Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel is a magnificent Victorian building in the heart of Bristol, close to the city's Temple Meads railway station. The Grand Hotel is an elegant, convenient base from which to explore Bristol's rich history. Local attractions include Brunel's engineering masterpieces, the ancient cathedral, and one of the region's finest shopping malls.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Car park
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
VIP room facilities
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Accor Hotels.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, Russian, Spanish

Location

Broad Street, Bristol BS1 2EL England
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
Bristol Airport
Cardiff-Wales Airport
32.7 mi
See all flights
1,516Review32Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 363
  • 347
  • 319
  • 260
  • 227
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Martin S wrote a review Jan 2020
Budleigh Salterton, United Kingdom270 contributions161 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Where do I begin?
The Hotel was booked for a short break which included use of the swimming pool and fitness facility.
On arrival I discovered these were unavailable – and had been shut down some two months previously, with no forecast date for resuming.
Goods not as advertised (and priced)
The Room (number 240) was “Bijou” (small) the outlook was onto a red brick wall some 3-4 m away. The light in the rooms was dull and there was insufficient light to facilitate reading.
The air conditioning was inadequate to give reasonable comfort (20 degC). This was in spite of the thermostat being turned up to 26 degC.
Breakfast The traditional British Breakfast “Full Fry” is know throughout Europe. Best taken before a Lazy Sunday. . . . .not on this occasion. There was no bacon or sausages. To run out like this is unacceptable. The staff said their supplier let them down – Accord Management should understand basic logistics of Reserve Stock and Emergency Stock. (an emergency order could have been delivered by a local retailer).
What a let down, what a disappointment. Had I known the full breakfast was not available – I would not have booked and paid for it (for two people).
Housekeeping
: Even in budget hotels, I have not seen so much detritus in hotel corridors. Laundry baskets, service trolleys, litter on the floor, vacuum cleaners etc. I understand the hotel was full due to a rugby tour. Obviously management failed to ensure there was sufficient staff for the housekeeping task to be completed in the usual discreet manner. Poor staff too.
The fat that our room was not tidied (other than simple towel change) is a minor irritation. I guess the staff member started the room but was called away and forgot to complete the room housekeeping.
Marketing: The marketing for this hotel shows four stars, fitness gym, pool – these were misrepresented on the advertising (should have been removed in November last year) and the non availability of the full English breakfast should have resulted in some compensation and not a mere apology.
Accord give this hotel four stars – they did not earn them on this occasion
We will not be going back to this hotel (in case you haven't guessed!)
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Date of stay: January 2020
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TheSwan88 wrote a review Sept 2020
Cornwall, United Kingdom1 contribution1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Booked a weekend trip for a special birthday for my mum and I. We upgraded to a privilege double last minute to try and make it more special as the pool and other facilities were all unavailable due to covid. Glad we did because the standard rooms are tiny and my aunt stayed in one that had a view of a brick wall and a single duvet on a small double bed! Staff were friendly and helpful but I just felt let down for the price of the room. Breakfast was a takeaway bag of fruit, yoghurt and a breakfast panini which was disappointing so we got a refund for our parking to compensate us.
When booking I stated that we were there for a special occasion and was told that they would ensure the stay would be special. No extra effort was made, in fact our complimentary drinks were absent from the mini fridge (which, when delivered later, surmounted to two bottles of water and a glass bottle of Pepsi max).
The hotel room was clean but in general the hotel rooms seemed tired, staffing seemed minimal and the walls are so thin that I spend one night listening to next doors exploits and smelling what they were smoking. Location is good, close to city centre where we spent the weekend shopping.
My mum still had a nice surprise weekend but mainly because we stayed out of the hotel as much as possible and explored lovely Bristol.
Save your money and book a budget hotel for the same experience.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JoeCobb wrote a review Feb 2020
Kendal, United Kingdom138 contributions109 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here for an annual conference. There were positives and negatives but the thickness of the walls was appalling. Woken by my neighbour at 6.30 who was on the phone. You expect a decent nights sleep and sadly I didnt get that.

They clearly try and look after their hotel with areas in good nick and the maintenance man was constantly touching up the paintwork which shows pride.

Breakfast was decent and the welcome too.

I wouldn't stay here again because the thickness of the walls were that bad.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from michael oates, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel
Responded 28 Feb 2020
Dear JoeCobb, Thank you for choosing to stay with us. I am sincerely sorry that you have had any issues with noise during your stay. We are extremely proud of our hotel and we really do try our very best to ensure our guests love the hotel as much as we do. I thank you for taking time to provide us your valuable feedback.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Leopard wrote a review Sept 2020
11 contributions8 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The exterior of this hotel is impressive but that’s where it ends. The double room is no larger than a shoe box. Double bed is pushed up against the wall with only 1 bedside table, if you want to get out of bed during the night you need to climb over your partner. There is a small walk way around the bed which once you put your cases down you block the walk way. The tv had a bar in front of it to hang your clothes, you can manoeuvre the tv however then it is in front of the door. Towels provided are slightly larger than a hand towel.
The window latch was broke and would not close properly.
Breakfast is poor.
Staff unhelpful and wear their masks under their noses.
Beware of the car park next door it is advertised as £15 over night however the machine charges you £20. When we questioned staff about this they couldn’t care less, basically said tough!
I would strongly advice any one not to stay here. The worst hotel I have experienced.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pawl wrote a review Jan 2020
Newport, United Kingdom310 contributions178 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I’ve stayed at this hotel many times over the years but this was my first time since the hotel had a major refurbishment.

My room on first glance was nicely refurbished with a contemporary look. Unfortunately this was let down in several respects.

I noticed the ambient temperature was chilly so I picked up the remote for the air conditioning. I was suspicious when I noticed the temperature was set up 30°C. Sure enough, after thirty minutes there was no change. I complained and whilst I was out they put a portable heater in the room. When I came back it was uncomfortably hot and I had difficulty sleeping.

The next morning I noticed that in the bathroom that the enamel on the bath was badly chipped in several places. The shower, which had unfathomable controls, had very little water pressure. There were no grab handles so getting in and out of the bath/shower was dangerous.

The final thing that annoyed me was the lightning in the room. There were several lamps around the room but you had to search for the switches individually. After a refurbishment surely they should have been controlled from the bedside.

The breakfast was ok but individual elements spread over the room.

Overall I was fairly disappointed as it could have been so much better.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from michael o, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel
Responded 28 Jan 2020
Dear Pawl, Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel and let us know of your experiences. Due to the age of our building and having rooms with rather large height we do find it an increasing challenge to keep our rooms at a good ambient temperature, especially with the challenges of the Great British weather. We have tried to ensure we offer additional heaters so that our guests can increase the temperature should they require it. I appreciate your comments regarding the bath tub, I have recently had a bath enamel replaced to improve the remaining few bath tubs we have left in the hotel. During the design phase of the hotel we have tried to keep the lighting ambience and I am sorry it is not to your liking. We're certainly looking for more ways to improve what we offer and I thank you so much for you valuable feedback.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Andy C wrote a review Aug 2020
Birmingham, United Kingdom43 contributions55 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The plus points:

The guy on reception was very friendly and approachable and upgraded our room without us asking. Our room was spacious with modern decor. The bed was very comfortable and the shower was hot and powerful, we slept very well. Location is great, with plenty of bars, restaurants, shops and the park directly on the doorstep.

Negative points:

We paid £20 extra for breakfast and it was a big disappointment. Due to covid it was limited to a packed lunch style takeaway bag. We had to choose what we wanted the night before, I chose a bacon sandwich but when I went to collect in the morning I was told they'd stopped serving bacon sandwiches. I asked why but was given no explanation. I had to make do with a ham and cheese panini which had the taste and texture of soggy cardboard. Also in the bag was a pre packaged croissant, a child's size orange juice and a couple of other pointless items. Drinks choice was also poor, basic tea or coffee. There was no choice of different teabags and no non dairy milk (my partner is lactose intolerant so had to go without). Breakfast was definitely not worth the extra £20 and if we'd have known the quality we'd have eaten out instead.

The other negative was parking. Firstly it was a nightmare to find, our satnav struggled to get us to the right location and when we got there we were greeted by a closed barrier and a carpark with the shutter up. There was no signage to explain what we needed to do so in the end we parked in an NCP instead, costing us an extra £5. We were then given a ticket by the guy in reception which didn't work and had to wait for the manager to come out and open it for us. The carpark is very tight to get your car into. We had to pay £15 for overnight parking when we left.

Overall, I'd happily recommend this hotel, just don't bother with the breakfast and maybe park elsewhere.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gobbalino wrote a review Feb 2020
Plymouth, United Kingdom89 contributions48 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Pros
The location was great, right in the centre and very convenient.
The room was clean and tidy and the beds were comfortable.
The breakfast was good, with a fair selection and being replenished frequently.
The staff were very friendly, helpful and polite.

Cons
The majority of the towels were thin and almost threadbare and the only one that was thick and fluffy was dirty!
The twin rooms were small, with absolutely no storage space apart from a hanging rail.
There were 5 hangers (to split between 2 women) and no drawers or cupboards, so nowhere to put your clothes and other items.
There was no standard teabags in the rooms, only chamomile or green tea.
The breakfast cost £15.50 if you paid on the morning required. However, if booked the night previously the cost is £10.50. Despite enquiring about the cost and booking of breakfast on arrival, this reduced price was not explained to us, resulting in £5 per person (10 in the group) needless overpayment.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: For two people to be comfortable and without tripping over each other, you will need to upgrade...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
boysandbex wrote a review Jan 2022
Portsmouth, United Kingdom25 contributions9 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Disappointing visit. I stayed on a Sunday night as working in Bristol on Monday, hoping for a relaxing evening. The car park was difficult to find via sat nav. The room was reasonable, although cold (not too much of a problem as I often find hotel rooms too hot at night), and with a very overpowering smell of bleach in the bathroom (but at least very clean). However there was a function going on in the hotel, and the music/dj got so loud that he may as well have been in the room. Tried to ignore it but couldn't, so tried to ring reception via room phone and external number but no reply, so ended up having to get up and go downstairs to reception about 10:45pm to complain. Staff were helpful and did provide an immediate room change, but not ideal having the upheaval of switching rooms at night when hoping for a relaxing evening and early night. There were at least 2 other rooms complaining at the same time. Staff did say they would ask them to turn it down and that it would be finished by midnight, but a bit late by that point- I would have hoped the hotel management would either have ensured that the noise level never reached the point of disturbing other guests or ensured that guests were situated away from any area likely to be affected by noise. Breakfast buffet was a also disappointing, with very watery orange juice, and coffee machine not preparing some of the selections properly, missing serviettes/ sauce on tables etc and general lack of staff. Disappointing stay, and would be reluctant to return, which is a shame as the hotel is a lovely building, and good location.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Don't follow sat nav for car park
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mahesh Jay, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel
Responded 20 Jan 2022
Dear Guest, Thanks for taking the time to share your review. It's great to hear that you appreciated our high standards and perfect location, but sorry that not everything was exactly as you'd hoped. Sorry that you had a bit of bother finding us, just give us a quick ring next time and we'll do our best to guide you in. We're regret that you were disturbed, however we are pleased to know that the team jumped to the mark and found you another room. We're sorry that your breakfast didn't quite hit the mark, just let our restaurant team know of any such concerns at the time; they would happily make things right and rest assured this will be discussed with our chef. We appreciate your feedback as it will help us improve and provide even better experiences for our future guests We hope we can provide you with an improved stay in the future. Kind regards, Mahesh Jay General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Roger J wrote a review Sept 2020
5 contributions7 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Breakfast options not what we expected with the choice being between a breakfast roll, yoghurt or some porridge.

We are staying for four nights, currently on our last night but the room hasn't been cleaned once. On the second day when I mentioned the room hadn't been cleaned and coffee/milk replenished the receptionist stated that it is hotel policy to only clean after five days, and that towels/milk/tea etc. would need to be collected from reception.

Parking is £15 a night at the hotel.

The room was supposed to be a refurbished room but the ceiling had damp patches and the paint was peeling badly.

Overall not the grand experience we expected and no attempt to apologise. Won't be staying again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Toblerone92 wrote a review Jan 2022
United Kingdom33 contributions39 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
My colleagues and I stayed on a Sunday night for business. The booking was made through our corporate travel provider and I specifically requested a quiet room. .

Unfortunately, our stay coincided with their staff Christmas party (not that I begrudge this and acutely aware how challenging the last few years have been for the hospitality sector. Unfortunately, no one advised us of this party during booking or on arrival so we could have made an informed decision. Loud disco music was playing until the early hours and party goers were congregating loudly outside on the side street.

If you want to be kept awake by the Macarena playing repeatedly or inebriated staff this may be just the hotel for you….. compounding the lacklustre experience, breakfast wasn’t great, food barely warm and the place generally looks very tired. There are much better options in Bristol.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Parking in adjacent hotel multi storey tight if you have a large car. Check with the hotel to see...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from robertparker183
Bicester, United Kingdom1 contribution
Try mercure web slte
drchris2016 asked a question Jun 2022
Leeds, United Kingdom28 contributions12 helpful votes
Does your hotel have a car park and how much is it?
Answer from Richard M
Newport, United Kingdom31 contributions51 helpful votes
Car park next to building, can't miss it. Believe it was £15, but worth it if staying 1 night, gets expensive otherwise. Very secure.
Answer from GRH54
Birmingham, United Kingdom10 contributions4 helpful votes
Hi, I'm not sure . The reception staff were helpful I suggest giving them a ring.
Amanda P asked a question Mar 2022
Holywell, United Kingdom36 contributions7 helpful votes
Hi is there a spa at the Grand? TIA
Answer from Mohanned Z
Salford, United Kingdom19 contributions48 helpful votes
No
Lin272017 wrote a tip Apr 2024
Kettering, United Kingdom3 contributions2 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Probably good for families. Rather noisy with children running around."
Read full review
Rallyman23 wrote a tip Mar 2024
London, United Kingdom293 contributions132 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book room only - the breakfast isn't worth the money"
Read full review
glothorn wrote a tip Feb 2024
Santorini, Greece233 contributions138 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t pay the extra for a suite"
Read full review
dwalker5 wrote a tip Feb 2024
London, United Kingdom12 contributions9 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"The quiet rooms are not quiet "
Read full review
EnsignBoys2 wrote a tip Feb 2024
Gosport, United Kingdom344 contributions80 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ok for a short stay. Convenient for the City & buses elsewere."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Bristol area.
PRICE RANGE
£68 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the grand, bristol hotel bristol, thistle hotel bristol
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
The Grand Hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandBristolOld City
NUMBER OF ROOMS
186
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MERCURE BRISTOL GRAND HOTEL - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Whistle Punks Urban Axe Throwing (0.06 miles), Blame Gloria Bristol (0.06 miles), and Smoke & Mirrors Comedy & Magic Theatre Pub (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Taste of Napoli, Ciao, and Matina.
Is Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 miles away from the centre of Bristol.
Are any cleaning services offered at Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and Russian.
Are there any historical sites close to Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting John Wesley's New Room (0.2 miles), St Mary Redcliffe Church (0.5 miles), and Cabot Tower (0.6 miles).
Is Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Bristol HotelsBristol Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in BristolHotels near Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire