We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Clifton Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Clifton Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

627 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Clifton Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 602: English reviews
oxford
Reviewed 18 March 2015

Most disappointing hotel experience of recent years. It took 10 or 15 minutes for a receptionist to turn up when we arrived after a long journey. When we got a key to our room we couldn't get it to work in the lock. The receptionist reacted as though we were idiots, but it took him 10 goes and even then...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank StewyOxford
Jamie-Lee_VB, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear StewyOxford, Thank you very much for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at The Clifton Hotel. I am disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us and that you found the customer service to be lacking. I am very sorry that you found the bathroom to be less than adequate for...

Reviewed 14 March 2015 via mobile

This hotel is good value for money. Excellent location, beautiful big Victorian rooms, near pubs, restaurants, and walking distance from the cathedral. Would always recommend staying here. They have a restaurant downstairs, great grill and good food and drinks. Bad side of this hotel is that they charge you for wifi.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LuisBricksoul
Jamie-Lee_VB, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear LuisBricksoul, Thank you very much for taking the time to review The Clifton Hotel after your recent stay with us. I am very pleased to hear that you found the hotel to be good value for money and that you would recommend us. We are very lucky to be located in such a beautiful part of Bristol only a...

Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 March 2015

Stayed here for two nights for a work trip. I was a little shocked by how very basic the rooms were for over 65 a night for a single, completely basic. The shower was the merest of dribbles! The staff were lovely though and moved me to a new room when I complained about the noise. I loved the fresh...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank oozeworthypayana
Jamie-Lee_VB, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear oozeworthypayana, Thank you very much for your review of The Clifton Hotel. I am very sorry that you found the room to be basic and the shower to be less than satisfactory. We are in the process of refurbishing our more traditional rooms to be the same standard as our executive rooms. I am happy to hear that you...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 March 2015

We had a dreadful experience at this hotel, and although we were booked in for two nights, we checked out after one and went elsewhere. What the hotel website fails to tell you is that the bar, which plays loud music, is open until 1am. Our room wasn't even on that side of the building, but it was impossible to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
Jamie-Lee_VB, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Chris H, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of The Clifton Hotel. Guest feedback is extremely important to help us improve our product and the service we offer. I am very sorry to hear that you were kept awake by the event happening downstairs in Racks Bar & Kitchen. We do carry out...

Rugby, UK
Reviewed 26 February 2015

This is a nice building and full of character. Personally I prefer hotels with nooks, crannies and squeeky floorboards like this, rather than the faceless euroboxes and big chain brands. The Clifton is in a great location, with some quite cosmopolitan bars and restaurants on the doorstep. The reception lobby is funky and trendy, with a nice ambiance while the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JohnnyJRugby_UK
Jamie-Lee_VB, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear JohnnyJRugby_UK, Thank you for taking the time to review The Clifton Hotel. Guest feedback is extremely important to us as it helps us to improve our product and the service we offer. I am so pleased to hear that you found the hotel to be full of character and Racks Bar & Kitchen to be appealing. We are in...

Reviewed 26 February 2015 via mobile

My father visited Bristol recently, and as he booked his flight only a few days before the trip, it was very difficult to find a spare room near my house that didnt scrape our wallets. We paid over £75 per night, for an absolutely tiny, single room. Fair enough, we had left it quite late and that was our fault....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rashna V
Jamie-Lee_VB, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rashna V, Thank you very much for taking the time to review The Clifton Hotel after your father’s recent stay with us. I am very sorry to hear that you found the room tiny, dirty and smelling of tobacco. I will pass your comments about the room onto my Housekeeping Manager to ensure that this will be dealt with...

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 February 2015

We booked a 2 night stay for my husbands birthday. Sadly, the room was very run down and worst of all there is a party room underneath the room we stayed in and the noise from this was, no kidding, deafening. We complained but we're told the hotel was full, so we lay awake above a thudding speaker stack until...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bev084
Jamie-Lee_VB, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear bev084, Thank you very much for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at The Clifton Hotel. I am very sorry to hear that your husband’s Birthday was ruined by the noise from the event downstairs in Racks Bar & Kitchen. I am disappointed to hear that you found the room to be run down, our...

Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 February 2015

We stayed at this hotel while we were visiting the University in Fall 2013. It seemed ok at first, check-in was nice and easy and parking was explained. I was not expecting a luxury hotel and it was only for one night, but when we got to our room and it was pretty run down. In no circumstances did I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bcb22_12
Jamie-Lee_VB, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear bcb22_12, I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at The Clifton Hotel. I am disappointed that you found the room to be run down. We have refurbished a number of our rooms in the last year and have plans to do more this year. I believe that in October 2013 the city was...

Canterbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 February 2015

I needed a room for one night and didn't want to spend a fortune. I was a bit dubious about this hotel, but having left it a bit late to book at an exceptionally busy time, I didn't end up with much choice without blowing the budget. Lucky me. Next time, this hotel will be top of my list. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen I
Jamie-Lee_VB, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Karen I, Thank you very much for taking the time to review The Clifton Hotel after your recent stay with us. I am so happy to hear that you found the hotel to be good value for money and that you enjoyed the various complimentary items that we provide in all of our rooms. You are absolutely correct, we...

Wedmore, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 February 2015

Arrived at the hotel late afternoon, greeted by the duty manager and a very polite young lady working in the Clifton Caffe. Booked through late rooms in January and wasn't sure what to expect having read some reviews. Our room was described as recently refurbished and was reasonably spacious, good size bathroom and situated on the ground floor. Although we...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AKM72
Jamie-Lee_VB, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear AKM72, Thank you so much for your kind review of The Clifton Hotel. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass on your lovely comments to the front of house team. Clifton is a great area and we are so lucky to be so close to a variety of bars, restaurants...

134 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (101)
Viewed
Room/Suite (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.1 mi away
The Washington
The Washington
#29 of 37 in Bristol
644 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Berkeley Square Hotel
The Berkeley Square Hotel
#32 of 37 in Bristol
537 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Rodney Hotel
The Rodney Hotel
#31 of 37 in Bristol
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Victoria Square Hotel
Victoria Square Hotel
#28 of 37 in Bristol
494 reviews
0.7 mi away
Avon Gorge Hotel
Avon Gorge Hotel
#27 of 37 in Bristol
891 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Regency Bristol Hotel
The Regency Bristol Hotel
#36 of 52 in Bristol
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Clifton Hotel is situated in an ideal location for visiting Bristol within walking distance of both Clifton Village and the City Centre. A small and independent hotel part of the Clifton Hotels Group we provide clean and comfortable accommodation at competitive prices. We welcome guests with a smile priding ourselves in providing levels of customer service that were mentioned in our recent AA report as being of five star standards. We hope that guests enjoy the relaxed café reception area and our busy and vibrant restaurant Racks. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Clifton Hotel

Address: St Paul's Rd | Clifton, Bristol BS8 1LX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Price Range: £43 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Clifton Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Clifton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Clifton Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Clifton Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“rooms not near the lift”
zoep239, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a quiet room”
keithd649, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“My friend asked and got a quieter room on the first floor the other side of the building to the resuarant/bar, and pub opposite.”
miggins2017, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Check radiator thermostat & eat out!”
Deb121orah, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The upstairs rooms can get a little warm in winter, you will probably have to crack the window open as there is no AC.”
Repto, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5