We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Clayton Hotel Cambridge

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (476)
Dining (119)
Room & Suite (92)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#8 of 32 hotels in Cambridge
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Room types
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Modern
824Reviews14Q+A95Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 453
  • 190
  • 116
  • 43
  • 23
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Lisa W wrote a review Yesterday
1 contribution
The rooms were very comfortable and the breakfast very nice. We were especially grateful for the kindness of the staff. The receptionist Valeria was especially helpful. This hotel is right next to the railroad which makes it convenient. If you have a car, a public parking lot and the railroad parking lot is within a block.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Parking is a public parking space for £14/day or £50/week. It is very close to the hotel.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
tracy t wrote a review Yesterday
2 contributions
I don’t generally write reviews for anything. However, my husband and I had such an enjoyable experience, I thought it was justified. I booked a DBB option for 1 night and everything from breakfast/dinner/staff were just tip top. We will definitely come back again 😊
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Paulo Dias wrote a review 13 Apr
Faro, Portugal2 contributions
Definitely one of the best breakfasts I've ever had!! Thank you very much for such an excellent breakfast! Everything prepared to perfection! Thank you very much to all the staff who welcomed me during my stay, for their professionalism and friendliness, they are a very professional team where the customer is the most important thing here, incredible! Thank you once again to everyone from the kitchen team to the Hotel Manager!!! Believe me, it's worth waking up and having breakfast at the Clayton Hotel! Thank you all.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Callum McBreen, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Cambridge
Responded 6 days ago
Dear Dias1971, Many thanks for sending us your feedback from your recent stay at Clayton Hotel Cambridge. We are delighted that you enjoyed the experience and we do hope to welcome you back in the near future. I will be sure to share your comments with the team here in the hotel. Kind regards, Callum McBreen General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Yasmin H wrote a review 12 Apr
2 contributions
My husband and I had a night away here for our anniversary. We mostly picked it, as it was so close to the train station, but in the end that was the least special bit about the hotel. The dinner was so lovely, really tasty with great seasonal ingredients. The bottle of wine the waiter recommended was great value and really nice too. Our room had a nice balcony with nice views of Cambridge and we shared a drink here before dinner and took some pictures. Breakfast was great and there were plenty of vegetarian options. The receptionist at check out was really helpful and answered some questions we had about trains and buses round Cambridge - she was really lovely and chatty. We will definitely come back here.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: The rooms that have a balcony and a view are definitely worth it!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Callum McBreen, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Cambridge
Responded 6 days ago
Dear 736yasminh, Thank you very much for taking the time to send us your feedback from your recent stay at Clayton Hotel Cambridge. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we do hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future. I will be sure to share your comments with the team which they will be delighted to hear. Kind regards, Callum McBreen General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Bryan S wrote a review 11 Apr
7 contributions1 helpful vote
Large and very comfortable room and bed. Large shower needs a rubber mat for safety. Excellent evening meal. Very close to station and buses, no parking and a long walk to city centre. Nearby didn't book as an exceedingly poor IT system wouldn't let me pay despite multiple and very long messages from hotel, who were unable to take payment on the phone.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Callum McBreen, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Cambridge
Responded 6 days ago
Dear brianf167KG, Many thanks for taking the time to send us your feedback from your recent stay at Clayton Hotel Cambridge. The hotel does not have on-site parking due to our location. There is a multi-storey car park located at the side of the train station. I do apologise that you were unable to pay on-line, I will investigate your point raised. I do hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the very near future. Kind regards, Callum McBreen General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Voyage717212 wrote a review 5 Apr
1 contribution
I recently celebrated a 30th birthday in March. We privately hired the Garden Suite. All the food was sublime and the staff were so proactive and helpful. We will be back soon for another event! Cannot thank the staff enough. See you soon, I cannot wait.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Tyler Roy, Guest Services / Front Office at Clayton Hotel Cambridge
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Voyage, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a lovely review of our hotel. It was an absolute pleasure to host this event on such a special occasion and we are thrilled to hear everything was to your liking. We are also so pleased you hear you intend to return and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future. Kind Regards, Tyler Roy Front Office Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Adam B wrote a review 5 Apr
1 contribution
Fantastic food, lovely bar and very reasonable in price. Atmosphere/staff very welcoming and all round great vibe. The rooms are fantastic over looking the city with some incredible views. Can't wait to go back, thank you Clayton. Stayed 30/03/24
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Tyler Roy, Guest Services / Front Office at Clayton Hotel Cambridge
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Adam, Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review of our hotel. We really appreciate you sharing this experience with us. I am so pleased to hear that the staff and atmosphere left such an impression and we would love to welcome you back to hotel in the future. Thanks Again! Kind Regards, Tyler Roy
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
melanieanneb wrote a review 4 Apr
Cambridge, United Kingdom23 contributions26 helpful votes
We held a surprise party for the occasion of our son’s 30th birthday party, at this wonderfully luxurious, and beautiful situated hotel. The staff couldn’t have been more attentive, welcoming and helpful. The food supplied for the buffet was generous and absolutely delicious. There was a queue for take home boxes, which says it. We also had the pleasure of staying the night, in one of its fabulous rooms, with a very large balcony overlooking looking the city. That also gave us the opportunity to experience a wonderful breakfast, with equally attentive staff. We cannot recommend our stay highly enough.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Tyler Roy, Guest Services / Front Office at Clayton Hotel Cambridge
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Melanie, Thank you so much for this wonderful review of our hotel, we really appreciate you taking the time to share this experience with us. It was an absolute pleasure to host this event on this special occasion. We are also thrilled to elected to spend the night with us and you found the rooms and staff to be of such a high standard. Thank you again for taking the time to leave this lovely review of our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future. Kind Regards, Tyler Roy Front Office Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Luciano L wrote a review 4 Apr
2 contributions1 helpful vote
I recently celebrated a family member's 30th birthday on Saturday the 30th of March. We privately hired the Garden Suite. All the food, staff and the hotel were amazing! We will be back soon! Thank you to everyone who made the day extra special.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Tyler Roy, Guest Services / Front Office at Clayton Hotel Cambridge
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Luciano, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a lovely review of our hotel. It was an absolute pleasure to host this event on such a special occasion and we are thrilled to hear everything was to your liking. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future. Kind Regards, Tyler Roy Front Office Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Swindon A wrote a review Mar 2024
4 contributions2 helpful votes
Lovely hotel in terms of comfort and facilities but let down by some staff who dont make you feel welcome! Breakfast was average and disappointing. Service generally poor. Its a terrible shame because the building is beautiful and clean and rooms are fabulous but somehow it doesn't feel inviting.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Go for breakfast elsewhere
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Tyler Roy, Guest Services / Front Office at Clayton Hotel Cambridge
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Swindon, Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback, I am very pleased to hear that the rooms, comfort and facilities were all to your liking. However, I am terribly disappointed to hear that you found your service to be lacking. This is incredibly unusual as the service from out staff is an aspect of our hotel we particularly pride ourselves on and we apologise sincerely that this was not apparent during your stay. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future to prove your experience was an outlier and is not typical of guest in our hotel. Thanks again, Kind Regards, Tyler Roy Front Office Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Cambridge area.
PRICE RANGE
£121 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
The Tamburlaine Hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCambridgeshireCambridge
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

CLAYTON HOTEL CAMBRIDGE - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about Clayton Hotel Cambridge
Which popular attractions are close to Clayton Hotel Cambridge?
Nearby attractions include Whitehouse Farm Centre (1.4 miles), Northumberlandia (3.0 miles), and Kirkley Hall Zoological Gardens (4.8 miles).
What are some restaurants close to Clayton Hotel Cambridge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Dhamaka, The Chantry Tea Room, and Lollo Rosso Italia.
Are there any historical sites close to Clayton Hotel Cambridge?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Kirkley Hall (4.8 miles) and Lady's Chapel, Bothal (2.6 miles).