Premier Inn Cambridge (A14, J32) hotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Premier Inn Cambridge (A14, J32) hotel

Traveller (166)
Panorama of the Accessible at the Premier Inn Cambridge (A14, J32) Hotel
360
Panoramas (9)
Premier Inn Cambridge (A14, J32) hotel
Videos (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.0
#14 of 32 hotels in Cambridge
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Whether you're messing about on the river or serious about your studies, Premier Inn Hotel Cambridge (A14, J32) is in the perfect place to stay. From the colleges to the business parks, you'll find great transport links too. See the Red Arrows take to the wing at Duxford, or run like the wind at the Chariots of Fire race. Let your imagination take flight wandering through the tranquil grounds of Anglesey Abbey, or land on a bargain with some shopping in Cambridge. Then fly back to the hotel for some lovely food and a comfy bed.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Bar / lounge
Highchairs available
Taxi service
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Vending machine
First aid kit
24-hour front desk
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Electric kettle
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Residential Neighbourhood
Family
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Free Car Park
4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles2,400 reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

The Premier Inn Cambridge (A14, J32) hotel offers a comfortable stay with its friendly staff and welcoming atmosphere, earning it praise from many guests. While some travelers commend the quietness and spotless rooms, others note that maintenance and cleanliness improvements are needed. The hotel's location is appreciated for its convenience, despite occasional noise complaints. Opinions on value are mixed with mentions of affordable options alongside concerns about extra charges. Amenities generally satisfy guests, though some suggest the addition of extras like towels or pillows could enhance the experience.
Location
Convenient
Atmosphere
Welcoming
Rooms
Neglected
Value
Reasonable
Cleanliness
Mixed
Noise level
Mixed
Service
Friendly
Amenities
Satisfactory

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveller reviews and learn more about how the site works.
2,400Reviews29Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,116
  • 822
  • 263
  • 115
  • 84
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
TJeinsteinwood wrote a review Mar 2020
Deal, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Well located to visit Cambridge. Easy to find from the main routes with a good sized and free car park.

Usual standards of what you would expect from Premier - clean room and comfy bed. Some nice touches like additional tea, coffee and milk available downstairs so you can top up your room supplies.

The restaurant is nicer than I expected! Nice evening meal with a good range of choices. Gin and tonic £4.50 which is pretty good! They do a deal for £25 for 2 course evening meal (from main menu) and a drink plus breakfast which is a good deal.

It's easy to walk to the bus stop on the main road - take the bus stop on the left side as you come up to the main road. The hotel give you a map and bus times but the route B bus no longer runs. Take a route A or D bus and buy a day rider ticket for £4.50. Get off at the Grafton Centre and walk through the park on the right hand size (Christ's Pieces) and you will come into the town.

Great hotel in a great location.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
kborrill wrote a review Sept 2020
Ripon, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This was our first outing since March, we stayed for 2 nights. The hotel was easy to find and parking was free. We were impressed by all the Covid preparations, hand sanitiser in the entrance and screens at reception made us feel safe. Our room on the fourth floor was clean and comfortable. There was hand sanitiser at the entrance to the restaurant and the tables had screens between them. Our waitress on the first evening, Lydia, was very helpful, quick and friendly while maintaining a safe distance and the food was good and hot. We ordered our breakfast at the table and were told where to get our drinks and toast. Most guests observed social distancing. We would be happy to return.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
Phil Baker wrote a review Sept 2020
Birmingham, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Had 3 nights at the Premier Inn Cambridge at junction 32 of the A14. Can't fault the hotel at all. The Thyme Bar and Grill attached to it is also very nice and handles the Covid restrictions well. However, like so many restaurants they are operating with a reduced menu that is so basic it let's the side down. If you don't want chips you have a choice of two curries with rice. No pasta, no potatoes other than the ever present chips. Had two meals here and couldn't face a third. Had meals out instead where the choice was much more varied.

If the menu was improved upon, it would be an ideal place to base yourself for exploring the city and surrounding area. Having such a limited menu forces you to go looking for better fare when all you want to do is relax close to your room after a day out and about.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GemmaP29 wrote a review Jun 2021
Bradford, United Kingdom
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We are usually a fan of Premier Inn’s but this one is not a good example. The place itself is fine but we encountered a number of problems during our stay and found the staff we spoke to to be quite rude.

We weren’t told that you had to book a time slot for breakfast in advance so when we arrived all the breakfast slots were booked up. The days we did get into breakfast the service was poor and they had run out of various things. Plus you couldn’t have a poached or boiled egg because there wasn’t enough chef’s to cook them?!?

On an evening we tried to get a drink but we were told that you have to book in advance, we weren’t told this when checking in. Or we would have booked. The staff in the bar were quite rude and argumentative.

There is no housekeeping during your stay, we booked a family room for 4 but apart from the beds nothing else was set up for 4 people, 2 towels, towels cups, 2 tea bags etc. If you need anything you have to go to reception, it felt like we were constantly running back and forth.

The shower didn’t work on the first day, there was no one on reception to help so had to hunt down someone from the restaurant. When someone came to repair it (whilst we were out) they left the bathroom dirty.

I wouldn’t bother with the Wi-fi, free Wi-fi didn’t work, tried the paid Wi-fi and that didn’t work either. We were told by staff it was because of the A14. Not sure how that works!

The staff all seemed over worked and stressed but that doesn’t excuse the rude manner that we encountered.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Don’t bother with the Wi-fi! Make sure you book a table well in advance if you want a drink or a...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Whitbread Hotels and Restaurants, Other at Premier Inn Cambridge (A14, J32) hotel
Responded 28 Jun 2021
Hi Gemma Thanks for taking the time to share your review. Our restaurants do have limited availability, especially with current social distancing measures in place, so we're sorry you weren't advised to book on arrival. It's a shame to see the issues you had with the WiFi and shower and that the room wasn't set up with enough items for your family. Your feedback has ben passed on to the Hotel Management so they can follow this up internally with their teams and they'll see what can be done to avoid your experience being repeated. We hope you'll give us another chance in future for a much better stay. Kind Regards Amy
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dee Dee H wrote a review Sept 2021
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We tend to choose Premier Inn when we go on a UK short break as we know what to expect and the price and location are good. We chose the Premier Inn Cambridge (J14, J32) because it looked modern and had parking. We opted to walk in to town which took about 45 mins rather than take the car which suited us, however, there were good bus options near the hotel as well. We found the hotel to be very clean and the staff very friendly. We loved the room and it was very quiet when we wanted to go to sleep. We only ate breakfast (which was very good) at the hotel as we chose to have dinner in the town after our day of sightseeing. Overall a very good stay!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helene G wrote a review Oct 2020
Bury, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed for 3 nights. The room was clean on arrival. We requested that the room be cleaned daily unfortunately this was only done once so we had to make the bed and clean the bathroom once when we had arrived back late. Parking was free, on two evenings we had Problems finding a space as there where a large amount of work vans taking up the spaces and the disabled spaces.
Breakfast was Plentiful, well organised and well served.
Very convenient location. Well signed re covid. Problems with a hand gel dispenser in reception which appear not to work when I told receptionist she told me it was fine but there was a knack to getting it to work. Surely this should have been changed. Snack machine was out of order.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Alphasem wrote a review Aug 2020
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We are on road trip and stopping at this hotel to browse ,Cambridge , the positive and negatives of the hotel positives
Easy to find , plenty of Free pArking, bus route is less than 5 min walk and that’s the best way to go Town Center unless u want a taxi - quite expensive to park in town , park and ride is ok too, there is a playground for the kids infront of the hotel , power shower is amazing ,breakfast was good and waiters are very attentive , housekeeper Aga was very helpful and she is an asset to this hotel , Anne from the restaurant was very helpful with a smile on her face .
Negatives
Free wifi is not working on the 5th floor so avoid taking those rooms unless they are rectified by the time we check out , I complained twice but WiFi still not working , receptionist Ali was not very helpful when we ask for spare linen and duvet , I ask for a room away from the dual carriageway as I requested before we arrived and guess what , we are accommodated facing the carriageway , just glad we can’t hear any noise from the road, we got locked out at 11am when check out is 12noon . Family room is quite smaller compared to other premier inn family rooms that we have stayed before .
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GINGERNESS wrote a review Oct 2021
Ramsey, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Comfortable Stay,however we asked to be moved from our room as the previous occupants had been smoking in the bathroom and there were hairs stuck to the wall. We were moved to another room which was fine so thank you Ryce was being so helpful.
When we checked in on the Thursday about 5pm we’re not advised to book a table for dinner, so when we went down to dine about 6.00 were were told the earliest booking for dinner was 8.15pm which is far too late for me to eat. We ended up sitting in the bar area on a high table and ordering our food there. I would point out that there were at Least 8 tables free which remained empty until we retired at about 10.30, so I was puzzled as to why we couldn’t be seated at any on those tables.
The bus service into Cambridge is appalling and we ended up getting Uber taxis which are expensive but very good. The buses back to the hotel were ok though if you get the Busway number 8. The bus stops have no information other then to tell you that no buses will be stopping. There are road works along the Huston Road which may have something to do with it. If you are disabled you would need to book a taxi as nearest bus stop Is a long way from hotel. Also I think the menu at the hotel is very basic not enough traditional food as not everyone likes spicy foods like curry etc. we have found this same menu at the last 3 premier inns we have stayed at.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Be carful of all the bikes in Cambridge and scooters they come at you from all directions
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Eleanor C wrote a review Feb 2022
Farnborough, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Friendly welcoming staff, fairly standard comfortable Premier Inn accommodation, but the bathroom would benefit from a refurb. Shower over bath was not the most powerful - other Premier Inns I've stayed in have had better showers. There were a couple of screw holes on the bathroom wall where e.g. a towel rail may have been removed).

Ask for a room on an upper floor if you want mobile phone receiption (I couldn't get reception in the restaurant on the ground floor). 7th floor was fine from this perspective.

The double glazing was effective at insulating my room from the A14 traffic noise. I hope the airconditioning is effective in summer because you wouldn't want to leave the window open.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Ask for a room on the upper floor for good mobile phone reception
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CJG79 wrote a review Oct 2021
Elgin, United Kingdom
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I'm staying here regularly for work at the moment and was surprised that this particular Premier Inn falls way below the normal consistent good standard.

These are some of the various experiences I've had over a number of stays for the last year (I foolishly block booked for a few months in advance without cancellation)

The rooms are tired and need to be refurbished.
No heating in one room
Used cooling in another room and it smelt like an old pond turned it off quickly to avoid the potential cloud of weapons grade legionnaires disease.
Phone broken in one room
No wifi over one side of the hotel, complained and got moved to a room that stank of stale smoke.
Lack of various food items and hard to book for evening meals
No hot water before 7am

There is a travelodge next door, cheaper and better (I'm staying there in December so will find out)
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Go to the travelodge next door
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from Clare C
Cotswolds, United Kingdom24 contributions3 helpful votes
No they don’t open.
Geoff W asked a question Sept 2021
Earliest check in time
Answer from Mumof2
2 contributions1 helpful vote
I recall we arrived about 1-2 hours earlier than the advertised check-in time (which I believe was either 3 or 4pm), and we were not permitted to check-in early. ( As we had a vehicle, they took our registration details and let us park there. We went to explore and returned later.
PEARLIE186334 asked a question Aug 2020
Leicester, United Kingdom46 contributions34 helpful votes
Do you have to pre book breakf ast and dinner due to Covid
Fay W asked a question Jan 2020
19 contributions1 helpful vote
Do you have inter connecting rooms
Answer from Bal1966
Coventry, United Kingdom42 contributions14 helpful votes
Yes they do.
wendy f asked a question Aug 2019
Poole, United Kingdom3 contributions1 helpful vote
What bus do I get from Cambridge coach station to the hotel
Mr and Mrs M wrote a tip May 2024
East Sussex, United Kingdom45 contributions21 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Plenty of free parking. "
Read full review
Sunshine37566867554 wrote a tip Apr 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Lots of places to eat in Cambridge , but best to book to reserve a table as it does get busy "
Read full review
ollie48 wrote a tip Mar 2024
Oxford, United Kingdom19 contributions19 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"BOOK EARLY TO GET A REASONABLE PRICE, ESPECIALLY AT WEEKENDS"
Read full review
Oceanographer wrote a tip Feb 2024
Salisbury, United Kingdom11 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Out of town but easy access"
Read full review
PDogBeerHound wrote a tip Jan 2024
Knaresborough, United Kingdom60 contributions31 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t stay here"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Cambridge area.
PRICE RANGE
£43 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
premier inn cambridge (a14 j32) hotel cambridge
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCambridgeshireCambridge
NUMBER OF ROOMS
154
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

PREMIER INN CAMBRIDGE (A14, J32) HOTEL - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Premier Inn Cambridge (A14, J32) hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Premier Inn Cambridge (A14, J32) hotel?
Nearby attractions include LockHouse Escape Games (2.4 miles), The Piano Bar at De Luca (2.4 miles), and Cambridge American Cemetery and Memorial (3.0 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Premier Inn Cambridge (A14, J32) hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Premier Inn Cambridge (A14, J32) hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Premier Inn Cambridge (A14, J32) hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Premier Inn Cambridge (A14, J32) hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Premier Inn Cambridge (A14, J32) hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Namaste Village Cambridge, Taj Tandoori, and Dishoom Permit Room Cambridge.
Are there any historical sites close to Premier Inn Cambridge (A14, J32) hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting University of Cambridge (2.0 miles), St. John's College (3.2 miles), and Kettle's Yard (1.7 miles).
Is Premier Inn Cambridge (A14, J32) hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Cambridge HotelsCambridge Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in CambridgeHotels near Premier Inn Cambridge (A14, J32) hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire