Madingley Hall
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Madingley Hall

Traveller (298)
Room & Suite (63)
Dining (18)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#1 of 2 special inns in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
We are an academic venue, offering simple accommodation in the setting of our stunning Tudor Hall and Gardens.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Meeting rooms
Picnic area
24-hour front desk
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Safe
Telephone
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Private bathrooms
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to VisitEngland.
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Business
Languages Spoken
English
306Reviews6Q+A55Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 122
  • 103
  • 41
  • 20
  • 20
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
MarshaMarsha2015 wrote a review Aug 2020
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A beautiful hall and gardens, we were visiting relatives nearby and stayed 2 nights. The staff were very helpful and friendly throughout our visit nothing seemed too much trouble. Hands free hand gel units were placed at entrances and exits and a one way system was in place. around the hall. Our room was a decent size with good facilities, tea/coffee making facilities in the room, a room safe, iron, hair drier and fan heater. The breakfast experience was good on both days with a quick service and a good choice of food. Self service hot drinks and table service food. Also they have a cafe which serves food and drinks to residents/ non residents.
We had a relaxed stroll around the gardens , woodland area and walled gardens and if you like photography its worth taking your camera. Being a short drive from Cambridge and the motorway its very convenient .All together an excellent place to stay. Also if your a history buff ask for a tour of the tower, its ace.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MrsRobbo wrote a review Aug 2020
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here for one night and thought the building and the surroundings were beautiful. The room itself was spacious but basic as expected as part of Cambridge university. You won’t find a large tv, nor a dressing table or mirror; however there are plenty of plug sockets in the room and you can open the bathroom door and see the mirror in there. The bed was comfortable with fresh clean linen and plenty of towels in the bathroom. Bath and shower were fine. The court bar served very tasty food and was very reasonably priced we thought given the area. The staff, especially Daniel from reception, were really friendly and helpful at all times and provided us with a fan as it was so hot.
We have to say the cooked breakfast was one of the best we’ve had in a hotel for a long time, absolutely delicious and plentiful. Our waiter was very friendly and chatty despite everyone seeming to arrive at the same time (sorry didn’t catch his name but he was wearing a knee support) he was kept busy. The food arrived without much of a delay and we sent our compliments to the chef. The grounds are absolutely beautiful and such a lovely building inside and out. We would definitely recommend and will hopefully stay again if in the area.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DavidSB wrote a review Sept 2021
Heathfield, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Ideally located a few miles from Cambridge city centre, set in beautiful grounds, Madingley Hall is an ideal place for the budget conscious traveller to stay while exploring Cambridge.
Efficient staff, spotless!y clean en-suite room, good breakfast, bar, lots of free parking, comfortable bed; everything you need.
You can eat on site, of there is a superb restaurant in the Three Horseshoes pub five minutes walk from the end of the drive.
Downsides: the room really is quite basic. Also, don't plan on a long lie-in; at 07.30 the standard up and about emptying bottles into the bins, and wheeling trolleys noisily back and forth outside: quite a cacophony.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tony Murdock, General Manager at Madingley Hall
Responded 29 Oct 2021
Dear David, Thank you for your positive comments of Madingley Hall, we are always delighted to hear when our guests have enjoyed their stay. In regards to your comments with the noise of bin emptying please do accept my apologies for this. This has been an area of concern which we are rectifying in the coming weeks by changing their location. Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming back to Madingley Hall in the near future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
twonaantom wrote a review Feb 2022
Northampton, United Kingdom
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Me, my partner and my 4 friends stayed here this week for two nights. Some sites will display this hotel as 5 stars, we soon realised that this is not the conventional star system and is instead 5 star university accommodation. The hotel is also part of the university of Cambridge, as-well as a hotel to outside visitors also.

On our first night, us and our four friends were all in one room playing card games and chatting, and at about 8:30pm we had a knock on the door by a member of staff telling us to keep the noise down. We asked when their curfew for noise was and she told us it was 9pm… so why are you telling us before then? We were not being excessively noisy - we had no loud music, we weren’t drinking or anything like that. It was purely the fact that there were 6 of us talking.

We also expected our room to be cleaned and be given fresh towels after the first night, neither of which happened. It seems housekeeping at this “hotel” is not a thing. How many hotels don’t do that?! There is even a sign in the bathroom advising you to leave towels in the bath if they needed changing.

The grounds of Madingley Hall are beautiful and well worth a visit for a day, but I would advise against staying at this hotel. Terrible experience and I will not be returning.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tony Murdock, General Manager at Madingley Hall
Responded 11 Feb 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. In response to you comments, yes the Hall is 5 star, not as a Hotel but for Campus accommodation which is noted clearly on websites and partner booking channels. Our duty manager responded to complaints of excessive noise coming from you room from other guests, hence the need to request the music level and shouting to be kept to a minimum. There is no curfew as such other than that requested to you as a result of the noise levels and the need to be respectful of other guests who had already complained. In regards to room refresh, we have a policy in place due to the pandemic that rooms will not be refreshed unless specifically requested so as to protect both out guests and staff in these challenging times. This is highlighted in the welcome letter you received upon arrival. Thank you for the positive comments regarding the grounds and thank you once again for your comments, such feedback is a valuable way for us to monitor and improve our operation as necessary.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
mel678 wrote a review May 2022
Cambridge
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We decided to visit Madingley Hall for the first time today on a lovely Sunday sunny afternoon.

However as soon as we arrived we were greeted with a huge amount of noise from loud backfiring and revving motorbikes and music blasting out. It seems that there was an event called the Distinguished Gentlemans Ride taking place.

However we had checked the website and social media beforehand and there was no mention of any event taking place. The noise was absolutely deafening and frankly given that this is nesting season, I am really appalled that such an event would be allowed to take place with so many backfiring vehicles everywhere in such beautiful grounds full of wildlife.

Not to mention the fact that the event felt somewhat sexist with men revving vehicles everywhere and barely a woman to be seen.

We went to look for the café but it seems it has been relocated to the Terrace bar.

We asked if they are serving a sandwich or a anything like that and we were told that we could have a vegan sausage sandwich.

This was served in dry bread with no butter or ketchup and was barely edible. We were not even given a plate and were served it in aluminium foil?! Astonishing.

We then asked if we could buy a bottle of water because we had a 4 mile walk home.

They said they had no water left at all and it had all sold out. We therefore went to reception to ask if they could help us and if they had any water. The staff seem to barely be literate. The girl on reception said that we could not buy her own bottle of water because it was hers?! Of course this was not our intention anyway. We simply wanted to buy a bottle of water from the fridge. We ended up asking if we could buy a souvenir sports bottle from the display cabinet. However the girl on reception had no clue how to open the display cabinet and said she couldn’t let us have one. Finally a manager came who sold us one but given that they were £7.50 each, we were only really able to purchase one and fill it with water and go on our way.

While we were there a gentleman was enquiring about hot food. He was informed by the staff on reception that hot food was something they were working on and it will be coming in the next few weeks. I then witnessed him go to the Terrace bar and ask about this, the lady there said that they are serving hot food but that he would need to book in advance. The whole thing was absolutely shambolic and confusing. I’ve no idea if they serve food, don’t have hot food or if the cafe is coming back of the terrace bar is all they have now.

The staff are unfriendly, unwelcoming and the food was probably one of the worst things I’ve ever eaten in my life.

The grounds are lovely but I’m not sure that it is worth a visit for that alone given that there are no facilities worth visiting here.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tony Murdock, General Manager at Madingley Hall
Responded 30 May 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review of Madingley Hall. You have raised some points for consideration which I can respond to. Firstly, in relation to the food, please accept my apologies for this and rest assured these comments will be addressed with the relevant department heads to ensure such lapses in service standards do not happen again. Secondly, in regards to the motorbike event, this is a private booking and like with any other private event we would not be posting this on the website or social media channels, along with the fact the route is kept a surprise for the attendees. The event itself was the Distinguished Gentleman's Ride which is an annual international event raising funds specifically for men’s health (Prostate Cancer and Men's Mental Health), hence the very ‘male’ dominance, although there were quite a few ladies participating and showing support for this very worthy cause. The Cambridge event alone raised £25k. There were many of these events happening at the same time all over the country. I am sorry this affected your visit but as this is a one off annual event and the fact they were only here for two hours we think it is a great cause to support.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jordan G wrote a review Jun 2022
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Me and my partner stayed at the Madingley hall for 1 night in April. We checked in with no issues whatsoever, ample parking available a close walk from the accommodation. The rooms are extremely dated and could do with modernising however for the price this wasn’t really too much of a problem as we were not spending too much time in the room.

We had a fair nights sleep and started getting showered / changed for breakfast. To our disbelief a member of staff unlocked our door from the outside and opened our door. The last thing we expected was for our privacy to be breached and were certainly not dressed appropriately for visitors.

I immediately raised this with reception and was advised “oh yeah we know why that happened, you wasn’t checked in properly”. When I asked to raise this as a complaint I was advised that the “operations manager” Francesca was not on duty but would contact me to discuss the complaint. I left my name and details but received no contact. I have chased this up on a number of occasions and have repeatedly been told that I would be contacted by Francesca. This has not happened.

Breakfast was very nice but that’s all I can say on a positive not. Clearly a hotel that does not prioritise customer service or have any intention of rectifying or acknowledging when a mistake is made. Poor form.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tony Murdock, General Manager at Madingley Hall
Responded 13 Jun 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. Please do accept our apologies for this isolated incident, we have addressed this matter with the team and can assure you that any comments are taken seriously and rectified accordingly. On another note, Franchesca did in fact email an apology to you on 6/5 @ 14:09 so we do dispute your comments regarding our customer service intentions. I am however, glad to read you enjoyed your breakfast at Madingley Hall. Thank you for your comments, such feedback is important to monitor and improve our standards as required.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
vanessabK6664WX wrote a review Aug 2020
Cambridge, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
As part of his Christmas present, I bought my husband a voucher for a champagne afternoon tea. Due to the crisis, we haven't been able to use it, but Madingley Hall is partially open now and so we booked in yesterday. We had a great time and thoroughly enjoyed our tea. I'm a coeliac, but they were able to do a gluten free selection for me with no problems. The photo shows just one sandwich and cake selection. They gave us one of these stands each! It was a bit too much, but they gave us a box to take home what we didn't eat.
The staff were helpful and attentive, but mostly left us in peace to enjoy a leisurely meal.
After the meal we went for a walk in the lovely grounds.
Highly recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
NorfolkHawker wrote a review Apr 2023
Norwich, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here for 5 nights as a base for visiting Cambridge and the local area. It was ideal for our purposes and facilities were as we expected from viewing the website. The room was comfortable and cleaned each day, with plenty of tea and coffee topped up daily. Initial difficulty connecting to WiFi was sorted out by helpful reception. Self service breakfast was in a historic setting with plenty of choices. Evening menu in the small bar area was limited and unchanging but of good quality - limited space so booked in advance each day. There were university short courses and small conferences going on but they didn’t affect our enjoyment and their evening meals were catered in separate rooms. Pleasant walks in the grounds.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JCM2501 wrote a review Sept 2022
Clacton-on-Sea, England, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
A 3 is a generous score and only because after complaining we did get some free drink and food.
Very poor cleanliness throughout especially in our room. Hair everywhere and clearly hadn’t been cleared for sometime. Poor maintenance in many areas and clearly understaffed in the kitchen and bar. Table was booked for 8pm which I booked months ago. Confirmed when I checked in and then when we went to get a drink before our allotted time, at 8pm to be told there was no table - though clearly there was still piled up with the last guests empty plates and glasses. Breakfast - if that’s what you call it - was cold not much on offer and bread stale. Again clearly short staffed. Thanks to the evening manager who checked and cleaned our room and very generously enabled us to have our dinner free of charge.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tony Murdock, General Manager at Madingley Hall
Responded 12 Sept 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. You are correct in saying we are not an hotel as we are not, we are however designated as campus accommodation. Please do accept our apologies for the shortcomings in service and cleanliness you experienced during your stay. This is not our normal standard and not something we tolerate. Your comments have been addressed with the relevant department heads. Thank you once again for your comments, such feedback is a valuable way for us to monitor and improve our operation as necessary.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
GF_Seeker wrote a review Apr 2023
Tel Aviv District, Israel
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Gorgeous English stately home grounds. We gave it only 4 stars because the breakfast was a bit chaotic, the wifi didn’t work in one of our rooms, and our rooms were not made up, but maybe that was our fault for misreading the instructions. A major plus, deserving of a special call-out, was the high level of gluten free food service and attention - fish and chips, hamburger and onion rings, gluten free soups and the best gluten free rolls I’ve ever encountered anywhere.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Douglas H asked a question Aug 2023
79 contributions7 helpful votes
Hi everyone, Do all the rooms have air conditioning?
Douglas H asked a question Aug 2023
79 contributions7 helpful votes
Do the rooms have air conditioning?
Answer from rebeccaburgess2016
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Dear Sara Yes that's fine,we have a small meeting room available on 22 December. Do please email us and we can go from there. Regards Rebecca
Answer from madingleyhall
Thank you for your query. We are about 35 miles from Stansted Airport, the easiest way is by taxi, you can book a taxi at reception during your stay. Alternatively there is a train from Cambridge station direct to Stansted and we are about 4 miles from Cambridge Station
Ruth M wrote a tip Feb 2024
41 contributions5 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Wouldn't stay"
Read full review
Jette K wrote a tip Nov 2023
2 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Pretty good place to stay in a quite and fairy tale castle."
Read full review
fatman9463 wrote a tip Oct 2023
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom30 contributions22 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"I wouldn’t book afternoon tea. Many other better places can be found locally."
Read full review
Graham wrote a tip Oct 2023
Woking, United Kingdom30 contributions10 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Not a business travellers place to stay! Definitely go to the pub up the road… The Three Horseshoes 5 stars from me!"
Read full review
Karyn C wrote a tip Oct 2023
15 contributions2 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Dont do it, visit but stay elsewhere"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Cambridge area.
PRICE RANGE
£80 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCambridgeshireCambridge
NUMBER OF ROOMS
62
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MADINGLEY HALL - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Madingley Hall
Which popular attractions are close to Madingley Hall?
Nearby attractions include LockHouse Escape Games (4.1 miles), The Piano Bar at De Luca (4.2 miles), and CryptX Escape Rooms (3.9 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Madingley Hall?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Madingley Hall?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, a lounge, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Madingley Hall?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Madingley Hall?
Conveniently located restaurants include Namaste Village Cambridge, Africfood, and Golpo Bengal Cafe & Restaurant.
Does Madingley Hall offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Madingley Hall?
Many travellers enjoy visiting University of Cambridge (3.5 miles), St. John's College (4.3 miles), and Kettle's Yard (3.4 miles).
Does Madingley Hall have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the park view available here.
Is Madingley Hall accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Cambridge HotelsCambridge Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in CambridgeHotels near Madingley Hall
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire