We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Royal Cambridge Hotel

Hotels.comUS$120*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$173*
US$120*
US$123*
US$123*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Royal Cambridge Hotel
Royal Cambridge Hotel
Panoramas (12)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

531 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 508: English reviews
Start your review of Royal Cambridge Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The hotel is so well placed for the station and the city centre. We had a quiet room over looking the car park and enjoyed a brilliant two day stay, bed and breakfast. The breakfast was delicious. Nothing was too much trouble. The room was warm and comfortable. It offers on site car parking force small fee. My impression of...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Maureen H
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I stayed at the Royal Cambridge Hotel for an extended stay with a school group. I was very impressed with the hotel! The location is within walking distance to restaurants and shops in the city centre. The staff members always greeted me with a smile and were happy to help. Andra was so kind to me, and she was very...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank SMcIntosh02
Stewart R, General Manager at Royal Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear SMcIntosh02 Thank you for the post and great to read you enjoyed your stay with us and that Andra looked after you so well. Sincerely

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

One of the of pros about staying at The Royal Cambridge is it’s proximity to Cambridge City centre.The hotel is within walking distance of the Fitzwilliam Museum, Kings College and the Botanical Gardens. The hotel does looks slightly dated, but it’s definitely part of the hotels charm! However my room was very clean. Others have made comments about the level...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kerricm
Stewart R, General Manager at Royal Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kerricm Thank you for the post and I am pleased you found our location ideal for your needs, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Sincerely

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I have just checked into the royal Cambridge hotel for a birthday weekend away with my other half. Although the staff in reception were polite we are less than impressed after being shown our room. It looks shabby and scruffy and has no reflection of the photos as shown online when I booked through wowcher/buy a gift. If I would...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank KatieLouise14
Stewart R, General Manager at Royal Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear KatieLouise14 If you have typed this while in the hotel as it seems, just go back to reception and ask to look at an alternate room, I would much rather we try and get things right for you while you are still with us rather than have left disappointed. Sincerely

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Went to to stay at the Royal Cambridge hotel for a murder mystery night, and spent the weekend in sunny Cambridge looking at this beautiful city. The hotel was loverly too, the rooms are very dated and need up dating, but were clean, just very tired. The food was fantastic and the hotel itself is nice, it's just the rooms.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sdbrownb
Stewart R, General Manager at Royal Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sdbrownb Thank you for the post and I am delighted you enjoyed your evening and the food with us and took in the sight of our great city Sincerely

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel is very dated in the public areas but our room had been repainted and was clean. However, there were a number of things that left us disappointed especially considering the price of our stay. The car park is quiet expensive and if you are staying at the hotel the price is excessive. As a disabled traveller we needed...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ew349
Stewart R, General Manager at Royal Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ew349 Thank you for the post although I am somewhat disappointed to read your comments. The feedback card you completed yesterday and left in the room had ticked good for all aspects of your stay and you did not mention any of this during or at checkout. We do not advertise ourselves as a disabled friendly hotel as we...

London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed for two nights and had a nice stay. Be aware that parking is charged at £15 per night, which was not explicit when I had made the booking and asked by the agency if there were any other charges i would be subject to. The staff very kindly removed this when I complained however, and we found them...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Fleur C
Stewart R, General Manager at Royal Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Fleur C Thank you for the post, I will make contact again with our third party providers to see if the car parking charges are visible and indeed explained, we certainly have nothing to hide with that. As a comparison another city centre hotel charges £15, another £19.50 and two others £25. I am glad you enjoyed our location...

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The location is just perfect, within walking distance of the Fitzwilliam Museum, Kings College, the river, the shops etc. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. Our stay was on a bed and breakfast basis, which included a cream tea on the first day. The full English breakfast was top notch, including home baked bread from their own kitchen....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank bubbles362
Stewart R, General Manager at Royal Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear bubbles362 Thank you very much for the post and I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and that we exceeded your expectations. The home made breads are going down very well at breakfast. We look forward to welcoming you back again. Sincerely

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
4 reviews
2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I appreciate this is an old hotel in the centre of Cambridge, but this hotel is in serious need of a makeover.....and this was in one of the exec double rooms.....the room was like a furnace, ground floor so you wouldn't want to open the windows onto the busy main road outside. Even with windows closed noise from the road...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Stewart R, General Manager at Royal Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Man with no name. Having booked a city centre hotel on one of the main roads in Cambridge unfortunately a downside is some traffic noise. If the room was too warm then turning off the radiator and venting the room does help. It is a shame you did not enjoy the room as it had just received a restored...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here for one night (a treat from family to get away without the kids). A great location in Cambridge for a night out. Nice enough public areas and plenty of character. Our room, a standard double, was dismal, in need of a complete refit of bathroom, cracked showerhead, crumbling paintwork, undusted areas, worn carpets. No bottled water in the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mark E
Stewart R, General Manager at Royal Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mark E Thank you for the post and I am sorry you did not enjoy your bedroom provision but did enjoy your breakfast. Sincerely

242 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (76)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (32)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (160)
Viewed
Amenities (17)
Viewed
Double 211 (23)
Viewed
Kingsize Suite 203 (21)
Viewed
Dining (31)
Viewed
Single 109 (19)
Viewed
The Hotel (28)
Viewed
Twin 210 (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.3 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#6 of 36 in Cambridge
399 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,659 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.7 mi away
Ibis Cambridge Central Station
0.9 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access

Additional Information about Royal Cambridge Hotel

Address: Trumpington Street, Cambridge CB2 1PY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Price Range: £93 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Cambridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Cambridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Cambridge
Cambridge Royal Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Royal Cambridge Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Hertford, United Kingdom
Heywood, England, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Royal Cambridge Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Quiet rooms at the rear”
maureenhU3831TX, 26 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Our room was at the back so we didn't have a view. There was a television, which actually worked!”
bubbles362, 7 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Our room was on 1st level, avoid at all costs”
D5630XSmarke, 4 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Our twin room was 223 at the back”
4kazza, 1 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Second floor was my favorite”
heaneypaul53, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$120* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$123
TripAdvisorUS$123
HOTEL.INFOUS$173
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates