We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Gonville Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
Panoramas (8)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,557 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,500: English reviews
Reviewed yesterday NEW

My boyfriend and I stayed here with our Doberman dog for a weekend. The room was very comfortable, quiet and large enough for the dog bed too. The hotel is ideally located opposite the park and near nice restaurants if you fancied going out for the evening as we did. Breakfast was superb - lots to choose from and nicely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tina C
Kent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Upon arrival the hotel looked very nice, there was ample parking and it was easy to find. We arrived two hours before check in with the intention of leaving the car in the car park and exploring the area, but we were informed our room was ready so we checked in there and then. Enjoying a complimentary cookie while we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chiara393
Guildford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

I had a great night in this hotel. Staff were welcoming and breakfast was well worth it. Coffee and tea facilities excellent as was bathroom and the bed was incredibly comfortable. The hotel is within a short walk of Cambridge centre but very quiet. only one tiny thing - the room was a little cool but I think that this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jumblefranks5
Christopher O, General Manager at The Gonville Hotel, responded to this review

Dear jumblefranks5, Thank you for your recent review, we are delighted that you had a great stay with us and found the team to be welcoming and breakfast good! We are also pleased that you found the room to have excellent facilities and to be very comfortable. Thank you for feedback with regards to the in room ipads we are...

Essex,UK
Reviewed 1 week ago

As with other reviewers, we picked the Gonville as it had on-site parking, too! But we were not disappointed with the hotel, from our very first encounter with reception to our check out. All of the staff were lovely, and couldn't do enough for you. The room - a deluxe room - was big, and very nice. Bathroom had lovely...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ctietjen
Christopher O, General Manager at The Gonville Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ctietjen Thank you so much for your lovely review! We are delighted that you had a great stay with us and found our team to be lovely, I know they will be very pleased when I tell them of your comments. I was also pleased to see that you liked our handmade Green and Spring toiletries, and found our...

Harrogate, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

One night business stay and hotel was perfect for my purpose. Reception staff were particularly helpful with some email issues I had and needed to urgently sort out on the morning of checking out. Room was comfortable and clean with added bonus of a work desk.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank twin1pritch
Benfleet, UK
Reviewed 1 week ago

Just spent a delightful weekend in Cambridge having stayed at the Gonville Hotel One of the main reasons we booked this hotel is that it has its own car park which is quite rare in Cambridge. Having stayed in Cambridge last summer at a different hotel that didn't have a car park, it was a nightmare finding parking and also...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CarolBenfleet_UK
Oakham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We were made to feel very welcome from the moment we entered this hotel. The service was exceptional from everyone we met and was certainly the best we have experienced in this country. Our room was luxurious and looked out over Parker's Piece. Toiletries were very special, bath robes soft and fluffy and the bed was extremely comfortable. A wide...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 74dorothy
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Staff kind and efficient, facilities very good, location very convenient and very close to the University Colleges, and disabled rooms available and nice. Perfect for a business stay (only the WiFi signal was a bit weak, so the hotel ipad was not working). I shall certainly stay there again when I return to Cambridge

 Report
Helpful?
Thank origen2017
Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The staff were super accommodating! They were constantly one step ahead of me -- anticipating my needs and helping me however I can with eagerness, professionalism, and kindness. Very reasonable price and great location. I'd def stay here again! (The rooms facing the street might be noisy so if you're sensitive about sound then ask for a room facing away...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MinhT0920
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel has a friendly, personal feel about it but rooms are modern and it's in a great location. Close to National Express drop-off and short walk to hub of the town. Very accomodating staff who voluntarily moved me to a particularly quiet room so that I could recover from jet lag. I used to stay in the Hilton but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ajshouse

358 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (176)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (54)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (76)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (128)
Viewed
Amenities (6)
Viewed
Classic Double 116 (24)
Viewed
Dining (31)
Viewed
Superior Garden View 232 (20)
Viewed
Superior Park View 114 (23)
Viewed
The Hotel (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (54)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.8 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,116 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.1 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#4 of 36 in Cambridge
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
2.2 mi away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#8 of 36 in Cambridge
1,074 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
#14 of 36 in Cambridge
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Family owned and run 4 star 84 bedroom hotel, with recently refurbished public areas and rooms. Virtual concierge system in all rooms via Apple Ipads make service requests easy by the touch of a button. Free Fibre Optic high speed Wifi throughout. Limited on site car parking for residents. Located in central Cambridge overlooking the famous Parker's Peice a 25 acre open park, near to the rail and coach stations. Ideal for visiting the many Historic University buildings and close to the main shopping areas. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Gonville Hotel

Address: Gonville Place, Cambridge CB1 1LY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Price Range: £112 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gonville Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Gonville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambridge Best Western
Best Western Cambridge
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cambridge
#1 Green Hotel in Cambridge
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#6 Family Hotel in Cambridge
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Gonville Hotel staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question
Hailey, Idaho
9 months ago
25 days ago
5 months ago

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from The Gonville Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“131 is newly decorated”
 of 5 bubbles PaulGill_12, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“215 is a great room.”
 of 5 bubbles honey017, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“our room was at the back on the second floor and we never heard anything we could have been the only guests”
 of 5 bubbles 429stefanieg, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Superior rooms are spacious and well equipped.”
 of 5 bubbles F9556UPelizabeths, 27 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Don't accept room 202, others may be better but insist on viewing first”
 of 5 bubbles 449rodp, 22 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay