We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Oddfellows Chester

20 Lower Bridge Street, Chester CH1 1RS England
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (979)
Room & Suite (162)
Dining (110)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#15 of 49 hotels in Chester
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
As a hotel, bar and restaurant, Oddfellows brings a fresh and unique experience to Chester. The 18 exclusive boutique bedrooms each have their own charm and combination of iconic and contemporary furnishings. The design of the bedrooms is inspired by architect John Douglas who designed Chester’s landmark Eastgate Clock, cinematographer Peter Newbrook who brought the Oscar-winning Lawrence of Arabia to life, and the illustrator Randolph Caldecott whose humorous images were simply irresistible. Complete with Cultivated by Elliot Hill - and The Secret Garden - a unique indoors/outdoors oasis; Oddfellows provides the ideal escape...
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Rooftop terrace
24-hour security
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Meeting rooms
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Currency exchange
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
VIP room facilities
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Laptop safe
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quirky Hotels
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English
1,832Review20Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 1,111
  • 391
  • 164
  • 92
  • 74
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
James C wrote a review 9 Apr
Amsterdam, The Netherlands10 contributions8 helpful votes
+1
Unfortunately, we did not enjoy our stay at the Oddfellows Apartments. The furniture was grubby, and the glassware and plates all had to be rewashed as they were sticky to the touch. We had about six champagne flutes but none of them matched, same with the cutlery, it felt a bit like a student house to be honest. Everywhere was dusty, with a few dead Woodlice and I even found a false fingernail in the kitchen area. Then there was the price, I paid £195 but on check-in, I was asked to pay £545 and had to show proof that my booking was £195. I paid an extra £10 for late checkout but had to continuously confirm that I had late checkout, I was even phoned by reception asking why I was still in the apartment after 11am. Then the final straw was they took £45 off my credit card without my permission for a breakfast we never even had! Never again.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Abbi Beddall, Guest Services / Front Office at Oddfellows Chester
Responded 6 days ago
Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention regarding your recent stay at Oddfellows Apartments. We sincerely apologize for the disappointing experience you encountered during your time with us. We deeply regret that the cleanliness of your accommodation did not meet our usual high standards. We take cleanliness very seriously, and we will be addressing this issue with our housekeeping team to ensure that such oversights do not occur in the future. Your feedback regarding the condition of the furniture, glassware, and plates is duly noted, and we will take immediate action to rectify these deficiencies. We understand your disappointment and frustration, and we genuinely hope you will allow us the opportunity to regain your trust and confidence in our accommodations. Please consider reaching out to us directly so that we may have the opportunity to personally address your concerns and make amends for the shortcomings you experienced. Once again, we apologize for the inconvenience and disappointment you experienced during your stay. Your feedback is invaluable to us as we continuously strive to improve our services and guest experiences.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Liz V wrote a review 7 Apr
7 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
Lovely sized apartment for a family of 6. Nice and clean and great location. Check in was easy at the hotel. We had dinner at the amazing Italian round the corner. Nice pub on the corner too. Parking space was a great addition. Have booked to come again.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Abbi Beddall, Guest Services / Front Office at Oddfellows Chester
Responded 6 days ago
Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback! We're delighted to hear that you had a fantastic stay with us. It's great to know that the apartment suited your family's needs perfectly and that you found it clean and comfortable. We can't wait to welcome you back for another enjoyable stay! If there's anything we can do to make your next visit even more memorable, please don't hesitate to let us know. Safe travels, and we look forward to hosting you again soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Chris B wrote a review 2 Apr
Bathgate, United Kingdom3 contributions3 helpful votes
Stayed in the apartments and they were absolutely outstanding- everything you needed , spotlessly clean and would definitely return as a great base for not only Chester but Liverpool too , reception staff at the main hotel were extremely helpful and lovely to deal with
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Abbi Beddall, Guest Services / Front Office at Oddfellows Chester
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for your feedback regarding your family trip to Chester. We're delighted to hear that you found our apartments outstanding, with everything you needed and spotlessly clean. We're glad to have served as a great base for your explorations of Chester and Liverpool. Our reception staff at the main hotel are committed to providing exceptional service, and we appreciate your kind words about them. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Susan H wrote a review 1 Apr
30 contributions40 helpful votes
Just spent my birthday at Oddfellows had a super room the food and cocktails were brilliant. All the staff were lovely and so considerate. We did the easter egg hunt two of our party are over 50 and two over 60 however we found them all and were rewarded with chocolate eggs thanks for putting up with us. Will visit again xxx
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Abbi Beddall, Guest Services / Front Office at Oddfellows Chester
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for choosing Oddfellows to celebrate your birthday and Easter festivities. We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, from the super room, food and cocktails. It's wonderful to know that our staff provided excellent service and made your experience memorable. We appreciate your kind words and are looking forward to welcoming you back to Oddfellows for another enjoyable visit. If there's anything else we can do to enhance your experience next time, please don't hesitate to let us know.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Kris A wrote a review 1 Apr
1 contribution
We were after somewhere that was a bit quirky and that sowed our personalities. Oddfellows was just the place for our wedding. So many little oddities hidden around! From the offset nothing was too much trouble. The team were always happy to answer our questions and provide reassurance throughout. They were more than happy to cater to our needs, ensuring that we had a vegan wedding breakfast that was truly delicious! On the day of our wedding, the staff could not do enough! They did absolutely everything possible to make sure our day ran smoothly and perfectly. They helped us to feel so at ease when the wedding nerves were getting the best of us. If you’re after something a bit different, we would 100% recommend Oddfellows.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Abbi Beddall, Guest Services / Front Office at Oddfellows Chester
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you so much for your kind words! We're thrilled to hear that Oddfellows was the perfect venue for your magical wedding day. It's wonderful to know that our quirky atmosphere and attention to detail resonated with your personalities. Our team takes great pride in providing exceptional service and ensuring that every aspect of your special day is exactly as you envision. We're delighted that we were able to accommodate your needs, including providing a delicious vegan wedding breakfast. On your wedding day, our priority is making sure everything runs seamlessly so that you can relax and enjoy every moment. We're delighted to hear that our staff went above and beyond to ensure your day was perfect and that we could help ease any nerves. Thank you for recommending Oddfellows to others seeking a unique and unforgettable wedding experience. It was truly an honor to be a part of your celebration, and we wish you a lifetime of love and happiness together. If you ever need anything in the future, please don't hesitate to reach out.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
J J wrote a review Mar 2024
Chester, United Kingdom5 contributions2 helpful votes
Used to be a very classy place. Since visiting again we are shocked at the atmosphere and in- experienced staff. A bunch of kids working for the establishment. Waltered down drinks and miserable staff. I appreciate it it’s a busy and classy town , but gosh, never again.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Abbi Beddall, Guest Services / Front Office at Oddfellows Chester
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We apologize for falling short of your expectations during your recent visit. We take feedback like yours seriously and will work diligently to address the issues you've raised, particularly regarding the quality of service and drinks. Our goal is to provide a memorable and enjoyable experience for all our patrons, and we're sorry we missed the mark this time. We hope you'll consider giving us another chance in the future to show you the improvements we've made. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Gary M wrote a review Mar 2024
Newton Le Willows, United Kingdom26 contributions18 helpful votes
I stayed for two nights this week for my son’s wedding. The upstairs wedding venue was just right for a smallish party with a bar, outside terrace and room for the ceremony and the meal. All of the staff were very helpful and friendly. A most enjoyable visit.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Abbi Beddall, Guest Services / Front Office at Oddfellows Chester
Responded 2 weeks ago
It warms our hearts to hear that you had such a wonderful experience during your stay for your son's wedding! We're thrilled that our venue provided the perfect setting for such a special occasion. Our team takes great pride in providing exceptional service, and we're delighted that you found our staff to be helpful and friendly throughout your time with us. Thank you for choosing us to be a part of such a joyous celebration, and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future for more memorable moments. Cheers to the newlyweds and best wishes to your family!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
HeatherD wrote a review Mar 2024
16 contributions2 helpful votes
Booked as birthday treat for me and my daughters. The staff were really friendly and helpful! Our dietary requirements were very well catered for with all the sandwich fillings explained to us. The food was lovely and plenty of it, they even boxed up the cakes we couldn’t manage, to take away.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Abbi Beddall, Guest Services / Front Office at Oddfellows Chester
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us! We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your afternoon tea birthday treat with your daughters. It's wonderful to know that our staff made your visit special by being friendly and accommodating. We understand the importance of catering to dietary requirements, and we're delighted that you felt well taken care of. We always strive to ensure that every guest has a memorable and enjoyable dining experience. We're pleased to hear that you found the food delicious and plentiful. It's our pleasure to provide generous portions and ensure that nothing goes to waste. We're glad you appreciated the option to take home the remaining cakes to enjoy later. Thank you for choosing us to celebrate your special occasion. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back for more delightful experiences in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
stace wrote a review Mar 2024
Chester, United Kingdom1 contribution
Ginger bartender was cute enjoyed watching him shake it. Only wanted one drink but his charm led me to stay there the whole night. Wish I asked for his name but didn’t get it hopefully I can call him my beautiful boyfriend one day. Would definitely return nice venue and great drinks.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Abbi Beddall, Guest Services / Front Office at Oddfellows Chester
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for sharing your experience with us! We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your time at our venue and that our bartender made your visit memorable. We're delighted to know that you appreciated the charm and skills of our bartender. We'll be sure to pass along your compliments to him. It's always wonderful to hear when our team members leave a positive impression on our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back for another great experience.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
NPI338 wrote a review Mar 2024
Chester, United Kingdom397 contributions172 helpful votes
We went for a late Mothers' Day celebration courtesy of a family member and had afternoon tea. We parked a distance away as I have a blue badge. We found access hard with stairs and cramped in the restaurant itself. There was little choice. The meal was very expensive and of mediocre standard. The only stand out item was the delicious sausage roll. The service was average and the sandwiches similar. Overall disappointing.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Abbi Beddall, Guest Services / Front Office at Oddfellows Chester
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us regarding your recent visit for afternoon tea. We are truly sorry to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations and that you found it disappointing. Accessibility is important to us, and we apologize if you encountered challenges with access to our restaurant. Your feedback regarding the cramped space and limited choice of menu items is duly noted, and we will certainly take this into consideration as we strive to improve our offerings. We regret that you found the meal to be expensive and of mediocre standard. Providing value for money and maintaining high-quality standards are priorities for us. However, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the sausage roll, and we will ensure to pass your compliments along to our culinary team. Should you decide to visit us again, please do not hesitate to contact us directly, and we will ensure that your next visit exceeds your expectations.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Chester area.
PRICE RANGE
£88 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
oddfellows hotel chester
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCheshireChester
NUMBER OF ROOMS
18
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ODDFELLOWS CHESTER - Updated 2024 Reviews, Price Comparison

Frequently Asked Questions about Oddfellows Chester
Which popular attractions are close to Oddfellows Chester?
Nearby attractions include Breakout Chester (0.08 miles), Treasure Hunt Chester (0.2 miles), and Chester Cathedral (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Oddfellows Chester?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Oddfellows Chester?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Oddfellows Chester?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Oddfellows Chester?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Oddfellows Chester?
Conveniently located restaurants include Rio Brazilian Steakhouse - Chester, Six One Six, and Artezzan Restaurant & Bar.
Is Oddfellows Chester located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 miles away from the centre of Chester.
Does Oddfellows Chester offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Oddfellows Chester?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Chester Cathedral (0.3 miles), Chester City Walls (0.4 miles), and Eastgate & Eastgate Clock (0.2 miles).
Is Oddfellows Chester accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.