We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Travelodge Chester Central

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Travelodge Chester Central
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

473 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 469: English reviews
nottingham
Reviewed 1 week ago

We were looking for a hotel for the night in Chester and managed to obtain a room in this one for a ridiculous bargain rate. We were pleased to discover on arrival not only the central location but also its proximity to the Ampitheatre and ruins. The room was clean and very spacious.The staff were efficient. Whilst this hotel does...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bonn53
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Not stayed in this travelodge before but as with other hotels in this chain everything was great Despite having to work on Christmas Day the young man on reception was pleasant and helpful. The large room was spotless, the beds comfortable and the bathroom excellent. Great value for money even having paid extra to take the dog! Didn't have breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BLT2
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

The Travelodge Chester Central might not be 5 star but is excellent value for money. Great central location with subsided secure parking nearby. My room was clean and comfortable on the corner of the building with a lovely view. The receptionists were both polite and friendly when I checked in and out, asking if everything was ok. There is a...

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vickicg
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

No customer service on arrival or leaving, carpet very dirty, the smell in room terrible... cold cold room, noisy air conditioning... very poor service... smelly place, noisy place, poor sleep, very dissapointing

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank justynag996
TravelodgeUK, Remy from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Chester Central, responded to this review

We apologise for the issues you experienced during your stay with us and we would like to look into this further for you. May we kindly request you contact us via our website so our customer service team can investigate your comments. Thank you again for posting your comments and we hope to hear from you soon.

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Room was incredibly clean, bed very comfortable, lovely duvet and pillows and tea and coffee making facilities. Fluffy towels provided alongside shower gel/shampoo. Very central location, handy for shops etc, but peaceful on a night so slept very well. Reception very helpful. You get a third off ncp car park, just up the street as hotel has no parking of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa S
Navan, Ireland
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Best location in the city for a budget hotel. Clean room and a great view of the ampetheatre. Standard travelodge stuff in room. So no surprises. Close to pitcher and piano. 10 mins to station. No on street parking so the NCT is across the road but pricy.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Neill K
Herts
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very easy trip. Didn't like main door from reception to rooms being propped open as posed security risk. This happened both evenings we were there. Anyone could then access bedrooms from street as no one in reception either!!! Children's beds VERY uncomfortable in family room. Both children found them difficult to sleep on. Location excellent

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank HertsKatie
TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Chester Central, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting your review of our Chester Central Travelodge. We're so sorry to hear about your recent experience and would like to hear more about your stay. May we kindly request you contact us via our website with your review so our customer service team can investigate your visit with the hotel. Thank you again for posting your...

Ilkley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very reasonably priced overnight stay - minor problem with one ceiling light not working and it would have been nice to have two chairs instead of one. However, over all, really excellent value for money.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 685joyg
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Despite having booked a family room in October, for our stay over Christmas, we arrived to find we'd been given a double instead and no family room available. The receptionist appeared at a loss, stating 'I don't know what to do'. I suggested a discount and she gave us the night free and a breakfast box each - fair enough....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anastasia B
TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Chester Central, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our Chester Central Travelodge. We are really sorry to hear that you had many issues during your stay with us. We strive to offer the best service possible for our guests so please accept our apologies that we did not succeed in doing so on this occasion. We have passed on your...

Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

There is a bar attached to the hotel, they have terrace with loud music, it's so noisy we hardly slept. I definitely would NOT recommend staying here. If i come to Chester again I'll stay somewhere else.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 722emiliec
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge Chester Central, responded to this review

Thank you taking the time to leave us feedback. We are truly sorry to learn that your stay was affected by external noise. Our more central locations may be noisier however to ensure our guests are comfortable we do provide double glazing and we try to work with the local areas and communities. It is regrettable to hear this was...

90 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (81)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (53)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
0.1 mi away
Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Commercial Bar & Hotel
0.4 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 45 in Chester
564 reviews
6.5 mi away
Days Inn Chester East
Days Inn Chester East
#36 of 45 in Chester
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet

Additional Information about Travelodge Chester Central

Address: St John Street, Chester, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Price Range: £41 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Travelodge Chester Central 1.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Travelodge Chester Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Chester Central Hotel Chester
Chester Travelodge
Chester Travel Lodge
Travelodge Chester Central Cheshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Travelodge Chester Central staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question
MERSEYSIDE
over a year ago
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Tatenhill, United Kingdom
Rushden, United Kingdom
7 months ago
Sydney, Australia
10 months ago

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Travelodge Chester Central staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Courtyard facing rooms are quiet, but view is poor.”
 of 5 bubbles Northernlass481, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Request a room not overlooking the main road for a quieter nights sleep - i imagine you might get car noise”
 of 5 bubbles ianl233, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Not 123 stale smell”
 of 5 bubbles _d_clarke940, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Back rooms quieter”
 of 5 bubbles scottimackem44, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“back of the hotel, very quiet!”
 of 5 bubbles sejalr2013, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay