We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Eastgate, Chester CH1 1LT England
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Expedia.com
Agoda.com
US$182
View deal
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
eDreams
View all 13 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (1178)
360
Panoramas (18)
Room & Suite (378)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#7 of 51 hotels in Chester
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Located in the heart of beautiful Chester, the Grade II listed building, with its black and white timbered façade belies the modern elegance of the interior. The hotel offers both relaxed Parisian style dining and an exquisite Michelin star experience along with luxurious bedrooms and a heavenly spa.
Read more
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Spa
Parking
Wifi
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Salon
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Butler service
Doorperson
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Iron
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Luxury
Charming
Languages Spoken
English
3834Reviews59Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 2,675
  • 661
  • 294
  • 136
  • 69
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Club0-14 wrote a review Yesterday
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom167 contributions41 helpful votes
I gave the title a lot of thought, because I feel its the simplest way to put it. The staff are brilliant, love the doormen, like all doormen they know everything about the area. The bar staff were responsive and polite. The room was clean, the bed supremely comfortable and the other trimmings like the bathrobes, the slippers and the luxury soaps and shampoos were a great treat. So luxury made it stately, with the grand chandeliers , the mirrors and the pomp, why the 4 stars and not 5, well like a stately home, it has its raggedy bits, the shower screen leaked and let a puddle form on the floor of the entry hall, rather than a socket by the bedside there seems to be a black rubber extension lead on the bedside table. Around the room some little dings and scratches, in the bathroom there are remains of the fittings of an earlier shower curtain. in the main stairwell the banister desperately needs a fresh coat of paint, so yes, it looks truly like a stately home.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Flep wrote a review Jun 2022
Wales, United Kingdom189 contributions88 helpful votes
+1
We stayed here on 23/06/22 for one night. The hotel is in a fab location with car parking in the Multi-storey (adjoined with its own access) at £10 for 24 hrs, the hotel is plush with nice decor and check-in was very welcoming and smooth and we were given a room on the 2nd floor. We had an executive room which was well decorated and reasonably spacious, we were surprised to see the toilet was used and not flushed (but just flushed it), the bed was mahoosive and very comfortable the only drawback being the view into a gym about 20ft away. facilities in the room were a bit odd with the tea/coffee facilities in the room foyer but no electric point so you had to boil the kettle in the corner of the room and then take it back to the facilities area, this didn't detract from the room though which was excellent, the shower was over a bath but was good with great pressure. Breakfast in the morning was a real event with the Continental included in the room rate and we also went for the cooked full brekkie, all in all the breakfast, service and setting was superb. Would we stay here again..absolutely, we thoroughly enjoyed.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from The Chester Grosvenor, Guest Services / Front Office at The Chester Grosvenor
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Flep, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave such wonderful feedback. We are so very delighted with your kind review of The Chester Grosvenor and we are also so pleased that we could create such a fabulous impression for you. Please do contact our team directly when you wish to return and we will ensure that you are all very well looked after. Warmest regards, Danielle Lorne, Guest Relations Manager
Read more
EMMLEE wrote a review Jun 2022
Penistone, United Kingdom39 contributions112 helpful votes
Dreadful stay. We were really looking forward to a relaxing anniversary stay. However on entering the room it was worn and shabby and in need of refurbishment. After an evening meal out we returned to the hotel to hear music blasting out. We cal down to reception to ask if their was a function on and was told no. This went on until past 4am it was obviously now coming from the room next to us. Despite frequent calls over the night we were never given an option to move rooms. We complained in the morning and they refunded a small amount (it should have been fully refunded) they said they were sorry but could do nothing about noise from other guests. We would not stay again and felt it was dealt with very poorly for a supposedly well regarded hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from The Chester Grosvenor, Guest Services / Front Office at The Chester Grosvenor
Responded 1 week ago
Dear EMMLEE, I hope this message finds you well. I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent stay with us here at The Chester Grosvenor. However, I am most concerned to read the comments, and would really welcome the opportunity to discuss these with you personally. If you would be so kind to contact me directly at GuestRelations@ChesterGrosvenor.com, or by calling the hotel directly on 01244 324024, this would be greatly appreciated. Thank you once again, and I hope to speak with you soon. Kindest regards, Danielle Lorne, Guest Relations Manager
Read more
pmad2015 wrote a review Jun 2022
Widnes, United Kingdom9 contributions12 helpful votes
Arrival at the hotel could not have been easier. We chose to park in the multi storey car park, i was going to take advantage of the valet parking, as \i have some mobility issues. But, the car park option could not have been easier . Very short walk to the entrance into the hotel. First impressions were " Oh this is nice ! " We were greeted at the reception and, although quite busy we were attended to by the most helpful pleasant woman, Really simple and smooth check in. By the time we got to our room, our luggage had already arrived. I had asked for a bouquet of flowers, for my wife as it was a special birthday. My wife was greeted by the most beautiful Display and a lovely little birthday cake complete with a really nice note from the management. Could not have had a better start. Things carried on in this vein, for the next few days, We dined out in a beautiful restaurant located very close to the Hotel , but we dined in the Brasserie the second night. They could not have made it more special !! As for the breakfasts WoW , we tried the Full English on our first morning, which was plentiful, piping hot and delicious. The second morning , my wife and I chose the continental option. This was stunning . We wanted for nothing !! Really fresh food , great coffee, fantastic presentation. The icing on the cake is the staff. They were brilliant . A credit to the hotel Thank you to all the staff who made our stay such a happy and enjoyable one. Now my wife wants us to stay again soon !!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from The Chester Grosvenor, Guest Services / Front Office at The Chester Grosvenor
Responded 1 week ago
Dear pmad2015, Thank you for such a fantastic review and we are so thrilled that you have enjoyed every aspect of your recent stay with us. Please rest assured that I have personally shared your review with the whole team who are as delighted as I too know we played a part in making your visit to The Chester Grosvenor such a memorable experience. We hope to welcome you both back very soon. Best wishes, Danielle Lorne, Guest Relations Manager
Read more
pmdubai wrote a review Jun 2022
Dubai, United Arab Emirates14 contributions9 helpful votes
Of course you can put a top hat on a concierge and make it feel special….but there’s far more to maintaining the positioning of such a property than a costume on a chap. What has happened, why does it feel like the charm has been allowed to waft out of the front door and away down the high street. My wife and I felt like we were really getting in the way of the team and despite paying for the privilege of a valet to park the car we did feel we had inconvenienced the staff. Check-in happened, £400+ for the night, ok it was race day and supply vs demand rules apply but…you have to have a standard that matches the price-point. Maybe we were in staff quarters as it was busy but there are compliance standards that should be applied and the image attached perhaps demonstrates how their facilities team fix the problem of a broken wall socket by using a ‘trailing rubberised socket (unswitched) to service the need and how they feel a room should be presented. I can list the operating regs being missed here but perhaps I should also consider where the bedside light was or why the stain in the carpet was deemed acceptable. Small things I guess…but these build a bigger image of where the management or ownership are taking the property. Such a shame.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from The Chester Grosvenor, Guest Services / Front Office at The Chester Grosvenor
Responded 1 week ago
Good evening pmdubai, I hope this message finds you well. I am saddened by your review and share in your disappointment, and I apologise for any inconvenience caused. I can only reassure you that this is an isolated case and I would be most interested to discuss your comments with you, my contact is GuestRelations@ChesterGrosvenor.com. Kind regards, Danielle Lorne, Guest Relations Manager
Read more
Jane Finch wrote a review Jun 2022
3 contributions1 helpful vote
Very ill after visit - contacted Hotel - they are basically not interested. Very expensive restaurant and night out - poor after service, basically they are not at fault and don't want to know. Won't ever visit again.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
KendalMint2 wrote a review Jun 2022
34 contributions7 helpful votes
This is a beautiful hotel with top notch service. Check in with Elwina was quick and efficient We arrived early so the rooms were not ready.When we returned from lunch,we were given our keys.Our luggage was already in our rooms.My suite was amazing with a fire place and apart from being truly spacious,it is tastefully decorated.The bed of course is super comfortable.The bathroom is also large.Mind you the shower is a bit weak water wise. There was a sumptuous cake in my room in readiness for my birthday. I had some spa treatments 2 with Aloife and 1 with Grace which were excellent.The spa has a really comfy relaxation room.I hope I did not disturb too many guests with my snoring!!! The brassarie bar was a lovely place for a pre dinner drink.O'Neill,James and the team were friendly and fun There are so many excellent restaurants in walking distance to suit all diets.We did eat in the Arkle one evening,see separate review. The gym is small but has everything you need to burn those calories. Talking of calories breakfast is all table service and cooked to order.The variety is wide and the service is excellent. My mum and I had a fabulous time Thank you
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from The Chester Grosvenor, Guest Services / Front Office at The Chester Grosvenor
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Kendalmint2, Thank you for your kind review and clearly you enjoyed the experience that we hope to achieve for all of our guests! I am so happy that you truly appreciated the attention to detail and welcoming manner provided by our team across departments. Your recommendation is much appreciated and we hope to welcome you again. Kindest regards, Danielle Lorne, Guest Relations Manager
Read more
vc1666 wrote a review Jun 2022
London, United Kingdom14 contributions17 helpful votes
Having visited the Grosvenor as a diner numerous times in the past I was very much looking forward to staying at the hotel as a guest. I was not prepared for, and was most unimpressed by, the surly porter who spent literally two minutes showing us our room and failed to look at us once. This attitude was duplicated by the bar staff who, having made us queue outside the bar in the foyer for nearly thirty minutes, not once coming to address us or even acknowledge that we were waiting, told us that as we did not have reservations we could not come in. The fact that we were residents wishing to have a pre dinner drink meant nothing to them. We walked out and went elsewhere for bit dinner and a drink. I was equally unimpressed by the dated room, shabby bathroom, and view of what looked like a gym and pedestrian passageway directly outside our bedroom window. The bed was the most uncomfortable I have ever slept in and the pillows were dreadful. The room was stuffy and hot all night and I barely closed my eyes all night. I left the Grosvenor feeling far from rested and relaxed and will not be returning ever again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from The Chester Grosvenor, Guest Services / Front Office at The Chester Grosvenor
Responded 2 weeks ago
Good evening vc1666, Thank you for taking the time to leave such a comprehensive and constructive view of your stay with us, however I was concerned to read the points that you have raised. As you have highlighted a number of issues I would welcome the opportunity to look into theses and respond to you personally, to that end perhaps you will be kind enough to contact me directly at GuestRelations@ChesterGrosvenor.com with the date of your stay. I look forward to hearing from you soon. Kind regards, Danielle Lorne, Guest Relations Manager
Read more
WendyEvs wrote a review Jun 2022
North Wales, United Kingdom17 contributions9 helpful votes
I stayed here 8 years ago for my 40th and it was fabulous this time i wish i had stayed else where! A special treat after not having a day away in nearly 3 years but a treat it wasnt the 1st room we were taken to was horrendous, dark, stains on the carpet, door to where the fridge was hanging off and an extension lead on the bedside table. I called reception straight away and we were moved to a much nicer room but still cobwebs hanging from the ceiling! I showed the girl that showed us to the new room the pictures i had taken and she asked me to email them so guest relation could see not once did we receive a call the check the new room was ok or any email to confirm the pictures we sent were received. Also even thou it stated breakfast included its only a Continental we had to pay an extra charge of £9.50 each for a cooked breakfast. Also when you check in they take an extra £100 incase you buy anything in the hotel, i work in a 5 star hotel and have stayed in many nice hotels and have never had that done, they then refund the money not spent but Obviously that will take days to go back into your account. Such a shame the standards are not at this hotel during this stay.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from The Chester Grosvenor, Guest Services / Front Office at The Chester Grosvenor
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear WendyEvs, Thank you for taking the time to leave such a comprehensive and constructive view of your stay with us, and I was concerned to read the points that you have raised. As you have highlighted a number of issues I would welcome the opportunity to look into theses and respond to you personally, to that end perhaps you will be kind enough to contact me directly at GuestRelations@ChesterGrosvenor.com with the date of your stay. I look forward to hearing from you soon. Regards, Danielle Lorne, Guest Relations Manager
Read more
kay h wrote a review May 2022
Stourbridge, United Kingdom98 contributions7 helpful votes
Nice stay for a couple of nights but a bit annoyed when I found out that they were doing a stay for 2 night deal that is £200 cheaper than what we just paid for exactly the same thing at the same time, when I hadn’t prepaid. If I’d have known I’d probably have cancelled and rebooked the cheaper rate as they weren’t busy. But that’s life I suppose! Lovely hotel in an excellent location in Chester for sightseeing walk round the walls and cathedral. Excellent English breakfast.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from The Chester Grosvenor, Guest Services / Front Office at The Chester Grosvenor
Responded 21 May 2022
Dear Kayh933, I would like to thank you for taking the time to feedback following your recent stay with us, and I am very pleased that you had an enjoyable stay. We are very lucky to be positioned directly in the heart of the city centre, only a stones throw away from all that Chester has to offer! Should you ever wish to return I would be most grateful if you would be kind enough to make your next reservation through my office, so I may personally handle the arrangements and ensure we are able to fully restore your impression with regards to the room rate. I do hope that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Chester Grosvenor in the future. Kindest regards, Danielle Lorne, Guest Relations Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$178 - US$238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the chester grosvenor hotel chester, the hotel chester
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCheshireChester
NUMBER OF ROOMS
80
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Chester Grosvenor
Which popular attractions are close to The Chester Grosvenor?
Nearby attractions include Escapism Chester (0.3 miles), Breakout Chester (0.2 miles), and Sick to Death (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Chester Grosvenor?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at The Chester Grosvenor?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Chester Grosvenor?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at The Chester Grosvenor?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Chester Grosvenor?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bean and Cole, Marmalade, and The Forge.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Chester Grosvenor?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre and a sauna during their stay.
Is The Chester Grosvenor located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 miles away from the centre of Chester.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Chester Grosvenor?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Chester Grosvenor offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to The Chester Grosvenor?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Chester Cathedral (0.1 miles), Chester City Walls (0.5 miles), and Eastgate & Eastgate Clock (0.03 miles).