We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Chester Grosvenor

2,641 reviews
Save
Traveller (644)
Room & Suite (310)
Dining (146)
Overview
  • Excellent72%
  • Very good17%
  • Average7%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“la brasserie”(114 reviews)
“arkle bar”(53 reviews)
Free Wifi
Air Conditioning
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Room Service
Suites
Bar/Lounge
5.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (2,641)Write a Review
There are newer reviews for The Chester Grosvenor
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
2,611 results
Traveller rating
1,840
462
192
83
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
1,840
462
192
83
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssimon radley restaurantla brasseriearkle barmichelin star restaurantturn down servicethermal suiteafternoon teacontinental breakfastdeluxe roombeautiful hotelmini bartable servicespecial occasionluxury hotelon arrivalporridgecar park
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
881 - 885 of 2,611 reviews
Reviewed 21 September 2016 via mobile

My sister and I booked this as a treat and we weren't disappointed! The room was huge, felt grand and we enjoyed using the robes and slippers too. The chandelier by the stairs was beautiful. The staff were all very attentive, kind and keen to...More

Thank IvyAndGold
Response from TheChesterGrosvenor, Harry Shepherd, Resident Manager at The Chester GrosvenorResponded 23 September 2016

Dear IvyAndGold Many thanks for such a lovely recommendation, and for your kind feedback about our super team. If your stay felt special then we're happy to know that we all did the best we could. I'm especially pleased that you enjoyed our gorgeous chandelier...More

Reviewed 21 September 2016

Stayed here for my wife's birthday and loved it . We got an excellent deal through secret escapes and made a couple of days out of it. The rooms are beautiful old style but luxurious with a very comfortable bed and lovely shower. They have...More

Thank ctmroberts2008
Response from TheChesterGrosvenor, Harry Shepherd, Resident Manager at The Chester GrosvenorResponded 23 September 2016

Dear ctmroberts2008 Many thanks for your kind review, I'm delighted that you chose The Chester Grosvenor to celebrate your wife's birthday and that you had such an enjoyable experience. I was sorry to read your comment with regard to the car parking charge, may I...More

Reviewed 20 September 2016

We stayed at the Grosvenor for two nights whilst on a short break in Chester. The price is at the upper end of the market, but you do get what you pay for. We chose a deluxe room and it lived up to its name,...More

Thank TomPhilUK
Response from TheChesterGrosvenor, Harry Shepherd, Resident Manager at The Chester GrosvenorResponded 23 September 2016

Dear TomPhilUK It's so good to know that we achieved such a fantastic first impression! The Chester Grosvenor has been the heart of this historic city since 1865 and really couldn't be better located to enjoy all that Chester has to offer. I'm only sorry...More

Reviewed 20 September 2016

From the moment we were met at the door in our car to arrival in our stunning suite, we couldnt fault the service. Staff are meticulously trained to meet guests requirements and they do this with style. The room was very well decorated, with good...More

Thank weekendersSWScotland
Response from TheChesterGrosvenor, Harry Shepherd, Resident Manager at The Chester GrosvenorResponded 23 September 2016

Dear weekendersSWScotland I was very proud to read such a fabulous review and to be told that your stay was perfect, this is a huge compliment to all the team. I'm delighted that you will be returning in December to celebrate your partner's birthday, if...More

Reviewed 19 September 2016 via mobile

We opted for the two course dining menu with glass of wine, I think it's reasonably priced . The restaurant itself is nicely laid out ,reminiscent of late French style, with booths and corner seating. Shame the overly lit lighting makes it appear stark ,...More

1  Thank Suzemarnie
Response from TheChesterGrosvenor, Harry Shepherd, Resident Manager at The Chester GrosvenorResponded 21 September 2016

Dear Suzemarnie La Brasserie has built up a huge following since it first opened over 25 years ago, and despite the growth in Chester's restaurants it's just as popular today. Head Chef Gareth Jones is delighted at such super praise of his food, especially your...More

View more reviews
PreviousNext
1175176177178179523
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Room Service
Restaurant
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Hotel Amenities
Room Service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Dry Cleaning
Meeting Rooms
Laundry Service
Concierge
Banquet Room
Multilingual Staff
Conference Facilities
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Minibar
Things to do
Restaurant
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Details
Price range
US$195 - US$433 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#1 Spa Hotel in Chester
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#3 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#11 Business Hotel in Chester
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$195 - US$433 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#1 Spa Hotel in Chester
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#3 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#11 Business Hotel in Chester
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (644)
Room & Suite (310)
Dining (146)
Amenities (39)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (9)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
kevin s
27 November 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from jacqui m | Reviewed this property |
Valet parking hotel £8:50 fabulous
0
Votes
Janet B
3 November 2017|
Answer
Response from John B | Reviewed this property |
I do know that they are having a number of "special events" during December (I get email notifications on occasion) but i'm not sure exactly when these would be or if they are on a Saturday in early December. I'm sure the... More
1
Vote
PreviousNext
12345612
Room Tips
"We had a quiet third floor room at the rear of the property - deluxe executive"
Read review
"Front rooms have lovely Georgian street view but said to be noisy at weekend. We stayed midweek with no..."
Read review
"Room 314 was very quiet with a view over the main street."
Read review
"Interleading rooms convenient for families."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing