We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel & Spa Chester

Save
Share
Hoole Hall Warrington Road, Chester CH2 3PD England
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Hilton Honors Discount
Doubletree
US$118
View deal
US$115
View deal
Hotels.com
Booking.comUS$116
Expedia.comUS$115
TravelocityUS$115
View all 19 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (1016)
Room & Suite (247)
Dining (117)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Contactless check-out
Updated 10/12/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel & Spa Chester
Updated 10/12/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#24 of 50 in Chester
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders Bronze level
Set on the outskirts of historic Chester surrounded by twelve acres of landscaped gardens, this elegant hotel provides luxurious accommodation only a few minutes from the city centre. This carefully restored 18th-century manor house beautifully combines the past and the present, offering modern comforts and conveniences with traditional styling and decor. The hotel's outstanding facilities include, Grade II listed conservatory and a stunning Club and Spa.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Personal trainer
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hammam
Hand massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Salon
Steam room
Waxing services
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Room service
Safe
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Green
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Hilton Honors Discount
4140Reviews112Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,887
  • 1,195
  • 611
  • 261
  • 187
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
deepvaid wrote a review Yesterday
Oslo, Norway216 contributions48 helpful votes
Room's were new and comfortable, bed was brilliant. Hotel is set in it's own secure land. Just the room was quiet dusty and not the cleanist. But Breakfast and Free parking made up for everything. Would stay again.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
KentLiverBird wrote a review Aug 2021
Kent46 contributions45 helpful votes
+1
Hotel's Favourite
I'm a frequent visitor to Hilton hotels and Chester is definitely one of my favourites, having stayed here many times before. This time around I stayed for 3 nights in the Presidential Suite. It's great value for money, particularly compared to other presidential suites in other Hiltons too. The room has even been refurbished during lockdown too. The room was spacious and clean (with the exception of dusty surfaces in the living/ dining area) and the complimentary treats in the fridge are a lovely touch- just disappointing that what there is to offer has been halved than on previous visits. The shower is out of this world and is my favourite feature of the room, along with the comfortable bed. I had room service breakfast on one of the mornings, which arrived hot and there was a generous amount of food, with all of it delicious. Both check in and check out were swift and easy and every member of staff I came into contact with were helpful and friendly. The best staff I've come across at a Hilton. They genuinely seem pleased to see and talk with you. So far, I'm yet to find many negatives with this hotel. My only wish would be for some recognition to returning guests, specifically if they've stayed there a lot, just to add the personal touch that other hotels do. That being said, I'm looking forward to having another 2 nights stay in the not to distant future!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Mark Astbury, Guest Services / Front Office at DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel & Spa Chester
Responded 15 Aug 2021
Dear KentLiverBird, Thank you for your loyalty not just to our hotel but the Hilton family in general and we are so pleased to learn that your stay was a positive one again and that our team made your stay comfortable. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again in the not too distant future. Warmest Regards
Read more
Ant wrote a review 24 Jun
Manchester, United Kingdom175 contributions60 helpful votes
I have had the benefit of staying at this hotel twice recently, we returned due to the very good stay the first time round. First thing to mention is the rooms at the front of the hotel which have been renovated are much better than in the older part, on our second stay we were put in one of the older very basic rooms but staff very quickly moved us when we asked. The spa facilities are excellent and definitely worth the money, the pools, hydro pool and facilities are brilliant and excellent value for money. Breakfast also great, the hotel is perfectly placed for going out into Chester and the grounds are kept looking great. Will keep coming back!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: ask for a renovated room at the front of the hotel
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Mark Astbury, Guest Services / Front Office at DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel & Spa Chester
Responded 3 days ago
Dear Ant2009, Thank you for choosing to return to our hotel recently and taking the time to share your 5 out of 5 review of your time here at DoubleTree by Hilton Chester. We are grateful that you let us know your preference for a room in the west wing and that our team were able to reallocate your room quickly and efficiently. When your travels bring you back to Chester in the future we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel. Warmest Regards
Read more
GaryP2341117 wrote a review 23 Jun
Chester, United Kingdom1 contribution
Took the mrs here for her birthday present. she loved it, staff went the extra mile to make my wife feel special. Food and drinks throughout the hotel were brilliant, had a relaxing time at the spa. Would definitely recommend, a great hotel with top class facilities for everyone😊
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Mark Astbury, Guest Services / Front Office at DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel & Spa Chester
Responded 3 days ago
Dear GaryP2341117, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your 5 out of 5 review of your recent stay here at DoubleTree by Hilton Chester. We are delighted to learn that our team were able to make your wife's birthday such a memorable one and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future. Warmest Regards
Read more
Angela k wrote a review 12 Jun
4 contributions
Arrived at the double tree Chester and was greeted and checked in by Mark A, Mark was friendly and welcoming and for our anniversary he went above and beyond with complimentaries which made our stay even more special, this is the 3rd year here and will continue to return! Lovely clean friendly hotel, restaurant staff go above and beyond to make sure you get the most out of your dining experience Highly recommended 👌
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Mark Astbury, Guest Services / Front Office at DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel & Spa Chester
Responded 1 week ago
Dear angelakO2272VU, Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us for your anniversary and I am so pleased that you have departed our hotel with such positive, lasting memories. We will be sure to share your lovely comments regarding the levels of service that you received in the Garden Room, as our team love to hear how they have been able to make our guests stays even better. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again in the not too distant future. Warmest Regards
Read more
smithy652 wrote a review 12 Jun
Leeds, United Kingdom7 contributions2 helpful votes
We have stayed at this hotel four times over the past few years. The service throughout the hotel and hotel facilities are exceptional. The deluxe room was very clean and spacious and the hotel breakfast and evening was of very good quality.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Mark Astbury, Guest Services / Front Office at DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel & Spa Chester
Responded 1 week ago
Dear smithy652, Thank you for choosing to return to our hotel recently and taking the time to share your lovely review with the TripAdvisor community. It is especially pleasing to learn that you felt well looked after by our team and hope to be able to welcome you back again in the near future. Warmest Regards
Read more
madvtraveller wrote a review 12 Jun
11 contributions
I’ll start with the good - lovely rooms, great pool (except it costs £10 for guests staying in the hotel to use it) and a nice touch with a warm cookie upon arrival. The bad: I’ve stayed at this hotel twice for a business meeting, and both times the quality of food for vegetarians was poor. We had lunch in the restaurant, buffet style, and the only veggie options were chips and salad. When I asked staff if there was anything else for vegetarians, she said no and walked away. The dinner was worse - the mushroom risotto was fluffed rice with pieces of mushroom that had no taste. It was replaced by a pasta dish which tasted like tinned tomatoes poured over pasta. For my meat-eating colleagues, half of their sides arrived after their meal was finished. I’d expect better food service for the calibre of hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Mark Astbury, Guest Services / Front Office at DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel & Spa Chester
Responded 1 week ago
Dear madvtraveller, Thank you for taking the time to share your review of your recent stay here at DoubleTree by Hilton Chester. We are always grateful when our guests share their ideas for improvement with us as they help us to imporve both the service and facilities that we offer, it is essential that all guests feel there are good options for dining and this will be reviewed with our executive chef. It is lovely to learn that you enjoyed so many aspects of your time with us and we hope to be able to welcome you back to our hotel in the not too distant future. Warmest Regards
Read more
LoveTravel60033 wrote a review 8 Jun
2 contributions
We stayed at this Hotel for 2 nights. Our visit was to attend a wedding nearby. It’s a beautiful place , the rooms , the restaurant the gardens.Plenty of parking space. We had one evening meal and 2 breakfasts ,The food was beautiful. A lot of family from both sides stayed too, Everyone enjoyed their stay. From a personal point of view the reason this hotel is so good is it’s Staff, exceptional at all times, nothing was too much for them, always a smile and a hello. We had an amazing time staying here and look forward to another visit sometime soon. Well done to you all for making us so welcome
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Helpful
Share
Response from Frank Noel, Guest Services / Front Office at DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel & Spa Chester
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear LoveTravel60033, We are delighted that you have taken to time to leave your your thoughts on your recent experience at The DoubleTree By Hilton Chester. Thank you for your kind words regarding our team members they will be absolutely thrilled to learn that they made such a lasting impression on you. We do hope that should your travels bring you back to Chester you choose to stay with us again.
Read more
Gareth J wrote a review 7 Jun
Dinton, United Kingdom46 contributions89 helpful votes
I have stayed here a few times over the years it’s getting worse but this stay was terrible. The Aircon smelt as they haven’t had this serviced this is not the first time I’ve stayed here with the same issue, they don’t answer the phone when I called ahead I had to call three times for them to answer, the phone in the room didn’t work so again call using my mobile it took three attempts for someone to actually answer the phone, the bathroom extraction doesn’t work and the bathroom smelt of stale urine, the biggest issue is rats I could here them scratching above the room in the evening and again at 5 am yep rats. Well done Hilton.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: A wound staying here unless you like rats
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Mark Astbury, Guest Services / Front Office at DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel & Spa Chester
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear GarethJ565, Thank you for your continued loyalty not just to our hotel but the Hilton family of hotels. We are sorry to learn that we have failed to meet your expectations during your time here at DoubleTree by Hilton Chester. Please be assured that your concerns have been addressed with the relevant departments with the aim of improving both the service and facilities that we offer to our guests. I am grateful that you took the time to discuss your concerns with me after your departure and hope that we will be able to welcome you back to our hotel in the not too distant future. Warmest Regards
Read more
Nathan wrote a review May 2022
Chiswick, United Kingdom150 contributions98 helpful votes
Stayed for business and cannot complain at all. Easy to get to despite the quirks of the local roads, ample parking for the hotel and facilities and reasonable quality rooms. Bar area was busy and vibrant which was a nice surprise, many hotels can be very quiet on a weekday evening. It's not the cheapest hotel in Chester, but i cannot fault it for a business stay. Breakfast was a little bit of a let down at the price, but that would be my only real negative from the stay.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Frank Noel, Guest Services / Front Office at DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel & Spa Chester
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Symerrrr, Firstly thank you for choosing to stay at The DoubleTree Chester, We are delighted at your positive comments and we do hope to see you again very soon.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$95 - US$179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
doubletree by hilton chester hotel chester, hilton international chester, chester hilton international
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCheshireChester
NUMBER OF ROOMS
219
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel & Spa Chester
Which popular attractions are close to DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel & Spa Chester?
Nearby attractions include Laugh Inn (0.7 miles), Alexandra Park (0.7 miles), and The Dee Miller (0.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel & Spa Chester?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel & Spa Chester?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel & Spa Chester?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel & Spa Chester?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel & Spa Chester?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Piper, Marco Pierre White Steakhouse Bar & Grill Chester, and Toby Carvery Hoole Village.
Are there opportunities to exercise at DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel & Spa Chester?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel & Spa Chester?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel & Spa Chester offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel & Spa Chester?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Chester Cathedral (1.8 miles), Chester City Walls (2.1 miles), and Eastgate & Eastgate Clock (1.8 miles).
Does DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel & Spa Chester have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the park view available here.