We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Higher Burwardsley, Tattenhall, Chester CH3 9PF England
Lowest prices for your stay
US$161
View deal
Free cancellation until 23/11/22
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Priceline
View all 11 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (329)
Dining (71)
Room & Suite (32)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Daily temperature and symptom checks for staff
  • Individually wrapped toiletries
Updated 16/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 16/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#21 of 75 in Chester
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Tucked in a peaceful corner of rural Cheshire, The Pheasant enjoys some the most magnificent panoramic views across the Cheshire plains. Delightful 300 year old sandstone buildings, open log fires, a flower-filled courtyard for drinks as the sun goes down - they all add up to magic. Nestling in the Peckforton Hills, this is a rambler's and hiker's paradise. A relaxing country retreat to escape from the hustle of city life or for a romantic weekend.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Hiking
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Special diet menus
Outdoor furniture
Sun terrace
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Room service
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Family
1003Reviews13Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 543
  • 206
  • 111
  • 79
  • 64
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
midd014 wrote a review 12 Jun
Liverpool, United Kingdom22 contributions9 helpful votes
Stayed here for an overnight stay with friends. We found that the rooms were superb, excellent quality and very clean. The staff went out of their to offer excellent service, especially India who we spoke to when checking out and processed our bookings for our next visits. Strongly recommend staying here as accommodation, food and service were top quality.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Quiet location, no shops near-by so good for walkers.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from George Vallance, General Manager at The Pheasant Inn
Responded 1 week ago
Hi midd014, Thank you for your wonderful review! Ill be sure you pass on your lovely comments to the team, especially India, who will be delighted to hear! We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, George Vallance General Manager
Read more
Punch wrote a review 12 Jun
Manchester, United Kingdom809 contributions84 helpful votes
Very disappointed 5 of us early doors, seated in a very dark dismal corner at the rear of the Hotel, huge table but facing a wall. Food average, had the sea bass one small fillet, no vegetables only a olive cut into 5 pieces on squashed peas. £23.00 totally overpriced for 1 fillet and violet potatoes??? Good service by Malcolm though very attentive…good job.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from George Vallance, General Manager at The Pheasant Inn
Responded 1 week ago
Hi Judith K, I'm sorry to read that you were not 100% satisfied with your visit. Ill be sure to pass your feedback onto the relevant departments who I'm sure will use it as a way to improve! Ill be sure to pass on your lovely comment regarding the service to Malcolm who I am sure will be delighted. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, George Vallance General Manager
Read more
Matt J wrote a review 2 Jun
Henderson2 contributions
We visited the Pheasant Inn today for our wedding anniversary meal and left utterly disappointed, angry and offended. After pre-booking online 24 hours ahead we arrived to be seated in a dark corner of the pub next to the toilets. Since there were multiple free tables around us we asked if there was any chance of being moved. We were told "no, it's a bank holiday and we're booked up". Ok fair enough we thought, except that for the 1 hour and 45 minutes we were in the pub, multiple other tables remained unoccupied - this was reflected in the online booking system showing a number of available slots. We both ordered the spring lamb main and drinks. The next table over arrived 15 minutes after us, ordered their food, received their starters, main course and even ordered desert before we received our food. After 45 minutes wait, a waitress came to the table to 'confirm our orders' without explanation. After an hour of waiting with no communication from staff we asked where our food was. It took approx. 1 hour and 20 minutes for our food to arrive without and apology from the staff. We were presented with half empty plates of 3 small fingers of lamb, a small portion of greens and a mini meat & potato pasty - this was beyond disappointing after the ridiculous wait, not to mention them charging £25 each for such meagre portions. We asked for the bill and finally received an apology for 1 hour and 20 minute wait in the form of "10% off your bill". They failed to mention gratuity of 7.5% had been added automatically. We approached the front of house staff to complain about the ridiculous wait and poor standard of food only to receive the poorest treatment yet. The staff member's initial response was terse and dismissive, stating they had already taken 10% off the bill. When I responded that I wasn't happy with the price for the standard of service and food they responded "well I'm not going to let you have the meal for free". I've never been so offended. This staff member was clearly under pressure with the bank holiday, but to accuse us of not wanting to pay when we'd said no such thing (in front of other customers) was utterly disgusting. Being unhappy with a bill and refusing to pay are entirely different situations and can usually be rectified with a little customer service - something the staff at the Pheasant clearly lack. We finally settled the bill at 50% off which we paid then left. I'm still shocked at the poor service we received in one of the supposedly highest rated pubs in Cheshire. We have no intention of returning, the two star rating is for the beautiful location and views only. Incredibly disappointing.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Helpful
Share
Response from George Vallance, General Manager at The Pheasant Inn
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hi matthewjJ5745IZ Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. I'm so sorry to read of your disappointing visit to us! We strive for 100% guest satisfaction and I am sad to read that on this occasion, this was not achieved! For that, I apologise. I am certainly shocked to read about the way you say that a member of my team spoke to you so would like to assure you that this is being investigated and an action plan is being put together. We value all feedback both good and bad as we seek to develop a better experience for all of our wonderful guests. Id appreciate the chance to speak with you directly about your visit. Please reach out to me directly on manager@thepheasantinn.co.uk. Id love the opportunity to turn your negative experience around! Kindest regards, George Vallance General Manager
Read more
Denise W wrote a review May 2022
Birmingham, United Kingdom44 contributions26 helpful votes
Booked table for anniversary meal. Strongly recommended by locals. We were working in the area, this is the fourth establishment we have eaten evening meals at in the last few days. Hubby ordered belly pork starter ( £11) , consisted of one piece of pork 4” x less than 1” x 3/4 “ deep. Fancy garnish ( small) , pork was dry! His main course of Spring lamb (£25) consisted of two very small thin strips of lamb ( not as pink as had been promised ) a very small meat pie and a very small garnish of carrots and pea purée artistically arranged. Service was slow, when food did arrive he literally placed on table and virtually ran!We were not asked if we wanted any sauces etc, and upon serving our dessert courses he had to be called back to remove used empty glasses, ( which he had managed to place the dessert between). We were advised when the bill finally got to our table ( Hubby had to go in search of the server to get it , inattentive is an understatement) , we were were advised that a discretionary service charge of 7.5% had been added. The wine (Merlot ) was pleasant but a little ‘thin ‘ and over priced at £27. We paid in full ( we actually would normally leave at least 10% tip) and were asked for feedback, which they got! People at an adjoining table were also expressing similar concerns over a steak meal which was a tiny portion, and they complained that it was not value for money, We dine out often and don’t mind paying ‘top dollar’ if we get value for money. We will not be dining at The Pheasant again, and if you are in the area wanting decent food at appropriate prices we would recommend The Dysart Arms Bunbury or The Bickerton Poacher, Bulkeley.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from George Vallance, General Manager at The Pheasant Inn
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hi 115denisew, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. I'm so sorry to read of your disappointing visit to us! We strive for 100% guest satisfaction and I am sad to read that on this occasion, this was not achieved! For that, I apologise. We value all feedback both good and bad as we seek to develop a better experience for all of our wonderful guests. Id appreciate the chance to speak with you directly about your visit. Please reach out to me directly on manager@thepheasantinn.co.uk. Id love the opportunity to turn your negative experience around! Kindest regards, George Vallance General Manager
Read more
Shirley H wrote a review May 2022
Whitchurch, United Kingdom24 contributions10 helpful votes
We can highly recommend The Pheasant. Super food, lovely staff and service. We stayed in the Eton room which had just been refurbished. Beautifully done and the bathroom fittings are of the highest quality. You won't be disappointed.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from George Vallance, General Manager at The Pheasant Inn
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hi Shirley H, Thanks for a fabulous review! Im so please to read that you ad such a great time with us! We love our newly refurbished rooms so its great to hear that you do to! We look forward to seeing you soon. Kind regards, George Vallance General Manager
Read more
sltWirral wrote a review May 2022
wirral34 contributions76 helpful votes
Well... what a wonderful place. We stayed overnight here and it certainly amazed us, as so near home( 30ins) but like another world. The welcome was warm, the room so beautiful, and food delicious. The attention to detail throughout this country Inn is superb. Special mention to manager Rachel, chef Sophie, and staff in restaurant for their friendliness and hard work. Oh so good , it's a hidden gem!!!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from George Vallance, General Manager at The Pheasant Inn
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hi sltWirral, Thanks for a great review! Ill be sure to pass on your wonderful comments to Rachel and Sophie who will be delighted to hear of your visit. Kind regards, George Vallance General Manager
Read more
Bobby T wrote a review May 2022
Chester, United Kingdom45 contributions12 helpful votes
Disappointing Fish & Chips - chips weren’t fresh quite tough and chewy must have been warm ups. Fish far too greasy!! Not enjoyable Roast lamb dinner vegetables cold. Would have expected much better from The Peasant. Much better restaurants in the area.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: Better restaurants in the area
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from George Vallance, General Manager at The Pheasant Inn
Responded 5 weeks ago
Good afternoon bobbyt113, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate all feedback both good and bad and we will always use it as a way to improve our overall experience. Im sorry to read that you were disappointed with your visit to us. I have passed your comments onto my Head Chef who will certainly investigate what went wrong. Had you mentioned this at the time of your visit, we would have been more than happy to rectify this for you on the day. We hope you will give us another chance to turn your negative experience around in the future. Kind regards, George Vallance General Manager
Read more
Bex401 wrote a review May 2022
Crewe, United Kingdom19 contributions7 helpful votes
Disappointing. High expectations for my birthday meal at the Pheasant,as we have always enjoyed it before. Food was mediocre,which definitely shouldn't be the case with the prices that are charged. My daughter had the lamb (£25) it was a very,very small portion of lamb. The man on the table next to us complained about it. My chicken burger was bland. The southern fried chicken goujons were dry & overdone. The fish cake was mostly potato,not a lot of fish. We didn't have a dessert,as we didn't want to be disappointed again. So opted for an espresso martini,oh dear!!! That was very weak & watery. Service was ok,but on the whole we will not be returning. Such an over priced disappointment,which is shame. Not sure whats gone wrong here.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from George Vallance, General Manager at The Pheasant Inn
Responded 5 weeks ago
Good afternoon Bex401, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate all feedback both good and bad and we will always use it as a way to improve our overall experience. Im sorry to read that you were disappointed with your visit to us. I have passed your comments onto my Head Chef who will certainly investigate what went wrong. Had you mentioned this at the time of your visit, we would have been more than happy to rectify this for you on the day. We hope you will give us another chance to turn your negative experience around in the future. Kind regards, George Vallance General Manager
Read more
Alison P wrote a review May 2022
Runcorn, United Kingdom21 contributions21 helpful votes
Booked for Sunday lunch after reading very positive reviews but very disappointed. Waited a while for our drinks order to be taken then another wait for our food order to be taken. Some of the pint spilt on the table as it was served with no attempt to clean it up and then another wait for 4 x Sunday lunches. Potatoes hard, some Yorkshire pudding more like pancakes and by the time we had taken the fat off the beef we were left with two small pieces. Also charged £3 for a small pot of gravy; if there isn’t enough on the plate in the first place why charge more? Did not pay the automatic tip tip as neither the food or service warranted it - my tip would be don’t charge extra for gravy when there isn’t enough in the first place! Lovely pub, lovely location but very disappointing lunch - will not return.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Pheasant Manager, General Manager at The Pheasant Inn
Responded 3 May 2022
Hi AlisonP142 Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. I am sorry to read of your negative experience whilst dining with us. We strive for 100% guest satisfaction and I am sad to read that on this occasion, this was not achieved. I have passed your comments regarding the food quality onto our Head Chef who will look into this immediately. Our supplier for the Beef has also been contacted regarding the excessive fat on your beef. Had you mentioned this at the time, we would have happily got you fresh dinners. Please be assured, we should not be charging for extra gravy on a roast dinner and so I am shocked to hear that this was the case. I have passed this onto my team who I am certain will take this feedback on board. I would love the chance to rectify this for you and show you how good we truly are. Please reach out to me on manager@thepheasantinn.co.uk. Kind regards, George Vallance General Manager
Read more
CheshireGirl23 wrote a review May 2022
Manchester, United Kingdom107 contributions55 helpful votes
Called here with a friend after a lovely walk through the Peckforton hills .. frosty, unfriendly staff on first impressions , appeared they were doing you a favour by allocating you a table , whether it was because we were dressed in walking gear , I’m not sure , but I detected an air of snobbery from the male on the desk at the door . We had a pot of tea which was as weak and tasteless as water itself , a falafel wrap , nothing special and not cheap . We asked about deserts and was told the passionfruit cheesecake was homemade and very nice . At £8 , I thought this better be good . In fact , neither myself or my friend were impressed . It was a small ramekin size cheesecake with a passion fruit jelly on the top with a sorbet. There was very little cheesecake filling , in fact it tasted of nothing . I really wanted to question whether this was homemade and how they justified charging £8 for it !! However , every where I go just lately I feel im getting ripped off in one way or the other , poor service or overpriced average food and I’m fed up of complaining !!! I just make a conscious choice now , never to return and try somewhere different . The menu in general Is very expensive. Yet another one that bites the dust !!!!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Pheasant Manager, General Manager at The Pheasant Inn
Responded 3 May 2022
Hi Cheshiregirl124, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We strive for 100% guest satisfaction and I am sad to read that this was not achieved on this occasion. I would like to assure you that we welcome all guests in a friendly and welcoming manor and so I am surprised to read that you felt an 'air of snobbery'. I will certainly pass this onto our team to ensure no one else feels this way as it is certainly not the way in which we would like our guests to feel. Unfortunately, as you will be aware, everything in the world is increasing in price and so our prices reflect this movement. I see that you feel as though you are being 'ripped off everywhere you go' and although I can only speak for The Pheasant itself, all of our food is freshly sourced and made onsite in our kitchen and so our prices reflect the time, dedication and freshness that goes into each dish. That said, we are always looking for ways to improve our guest experience with us and so we welcome feedback both good and bad as we continually seek to develop. We hope you will visit us again in the future and hopefully change your views on The Pheasant. Kind regards, George Vallance General Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$161 - US$190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the pheasant hotel chester
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCheshireChester
NUMBER OF ROOMS
12
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Pheasant Inn
Which popular attractions are close to The Pheasant Inn?
Nearby attractions include Land Rover Experience (1.0 miles), Bunbury Mill (3.2 miles), and Sandstone Trail (2.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Pheasant Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at The Pheasant Inn?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Pheasant Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Pheasant Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cock O Barton, Bickerton Poacher, and The Egerton Arms.
Are pets allowed at The Pheasant Inn?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to The Pheasant Inn?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Bunbury Mill (3.2 miles).
Is The Pheasant Inn accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.