We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Mill Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Mill Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,201 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,190: English reviews
Start your review of The Mill Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

23 of us went to the hotel to celebrate a hen party. It was not a raucous group full of heavy drinkers. The hotel was clean and comfortable but some of the rooms were rather claustrophobic, some had slippers and robs but others did not! One of the receptionists was rather abrasive and curt but other staff were lovely and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maxaddison
Tarporley cheshire
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

First time we have been on the River Cruise and was not disappointed. It was a belated Christmas present for my Dad. We arrived at the hotel prompt for 12 then the waitress came over with menus explained everything as did the bar attendant. We boarded the boat and Jim the Skipper gave a safety talk and was so funny....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JillandRob361
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This is the fifth time we have stayed here in business class rooms and there is no faults from us. The staff in the restaurant need a special mention. As soon as you had finished a course the dirty plates were taken away & your next course arrived. Food was of good quality too. Would recommend this hotel to anyone...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stuart s
West Midlands
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The Mill Hotel was lovely, very clean and staff are very friendly. Standard room was fine for a short break. Spa and Gym facilities were really great. Restaurant and Bar were both really good and the food was lovely and good value. We will definitely be back.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank GarnerWestMidlands
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Good location with free city centre parking Clean rooms (although a bit dated decor). Friendly and helpful staff. An Average buffet breakfast. - premier inn is better and similar cost - but nice enough and well staffed. Good pool and steam room etc- def added value. We enjoyed our stay here. It served us well as a base. Worth choosing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian H
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This was a very special Reunion so had to be a special venue and it lived up to our expectations. The standard is high the food was excellent and well served for a large number. Staff were helpful and very friendly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Meeanee
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Great Hotel near to centre of Chester & all the Pubs & eateries.Canal boats trips available with dinner.Nice bar area & next to canal so on summer eve you can enjoy a nice drink in the sun.Only drawback is the bedrooms are really small,need to sit on the bed whilst other half gets ready as not enough room for 2...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sartorial8
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Mainly we were very disappointed with our room and had to pay for an upgrade and the stay was already expensive. The rooms are very old fashioned and ours was tiny. .on the good points the hotel is very well situated and right in the town. The bar in the hotel was lovely and it was buzzzing at night with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Violet S
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night, lovely reception area, friendly staff. The room we stayed in was small and outdated, but clean enough. TV remote didn't work either in our room. Wifi was also slow. Breakfast was lovely. Handy parking on site, and very easy to walk into the centre from there along the canal.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jadew1994
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I had a very nice time with my family. There was lovely food, you served yourself breakfast and had a lovely view out the windows! The town near it has good shops ect and is worth a visit. The swimming pool was awesome but under sixteens weren't allowed on the Jacuzzi or the sauna/steam room! It's been a good experience,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Emsie S
MillHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Mill Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Emsie S Thank you kindly for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Mill Hotel & Spa. We are delighted to hear what an enjoyable experience you have had with your family. Due to our Health and Safety regulations that we must comply with we are unable to allow under 16's access to our...

152 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (122)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (43)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
5.4 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
1.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#11 of 45 in Chester
1,534 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#3 of 45 in Chester
1,944 reviews
0.6 mi away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#19 of 45 in Chester
1,935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Breakfast included
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Mill Hotel & Spa Destination
Mill Hotel & Spa Destination
Cuisines: Bar, British
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about The Mill Hotel

Address: Milton Street, Chester CH1 3NF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Price Range: £83 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Mill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill Hotel Chester
The Mill Hotel Chester, Cheshire
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Mill Hotel staff and other travellers.
16 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (16)

Questions? Get answers from The Mill Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We only stayed one night and the room we had was a standard and was fine with everything you need.”
 of 5 bubbles GarnerWestMidlands, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ensure ask when booking”
 of 5 bubbles Meeanee, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The rooms on the side of the hotel above the spa are the best”
 of 5 bubbles violets989, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The larger rooms overlooking the canal”
 of 5 bubbles missbeeManchester, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Book a club double across the canal, as it is quiet and the rooms are very spacious.”
 of 5 bubbles rayrids, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5