We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Mill Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Mill Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,194 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,183: English reviews
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Mainly we were very disappointed with our room and had to pay for an upgrade and the stay was already expensive. The rooms are very old fashioned and ours was tiny. .on the good points the hotel is very well situated and right in the town. The bar in the hotel was lovely and it was buzzzing at night with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Violet S
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

We stayed here for 1 night, lovely reception area, friendly staff. The room we stayed in was small and outdated, but clean enough. TV remote didn't work either in our room. Wifi was also slow. Breakfast was lovely. Handy parking on site, and very easy to walk into the centre from there along the canal.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jadew1994
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

I had a very nice time with my family. There was lovely food, you served yourself breakfast and had a lovely view out the windows! The town near it has good shops ect and is worth a visit. The swimming pool was awesome but under sixteens weren't allowed on the Jacuzzi or the sauna/steam room! It's been a good experience,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Emsie S
MillHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Mill Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Emsie S Thank you kindly for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Mill Hotel & Spa. We are delighted to hear what an enjoyable experience you have had with your family. Due to our Health and Safety regulations that we must comply with we are unable to allow under 16's access to our...

manchester
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We have stayed here in many occasions and have never been disappointed .... Great location with parking, lovely hotel, fab facilities, great spa and wonderful resteraunt and to top it all its very own pub .... Wouldn't hesitate to recommend this place

 Report
Helpful?
Thank missbeeManchester
MillHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Mill Hotel, responded to this review

Dear missbeeManchester Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us at The Mill Hotel & Spa. We are delighted you have had yet another enjoyable stay with us. We thank you for sharing such wonderful feedback and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards...

Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

We visited The Mill this month on a romantic weekend in Chester. On pulling up the first thought is it's not in the nicest of areas, seemed like it was in the middle of an ongoing building site. Once inside the staff appeared very friendly and the eating areas were lovely. On making our way to the room which was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Spencer C
MillHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Mill Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Spencer C Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us at The Mill Hotel & Spa. I am sorry to hear that there were aspects of your stay that unfortunately did not meet up to your expectations. Feedback is a gift and we are always grateful...

Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Me and my partner stayed in the champagne room for Valentine's Day and my god I'm glad! It was perfect! The room was huge, the view of the canal was lovely, the bed was massive and the bathroom had a large whirlpool bath (that fits two and has multi coloured lights), a stand bucket for your champagne/wine and two wash...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kyer Ruby L
MillHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Mill Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kyer Ruby L Thank you for writing a detailed review about your recent stay at The Mill Hotel & Spa and for your 5 star rating. We highly appreciate our guests’ comments as they help us to improve our service, ensuring that we deliver an experience in line with our guests’ expectations We are delighted you enjoyed our Champagne...

Blackpool
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The hotel as the name suggests is and old mill, the standard room which we stopped in for our two night stay was smaller than perhaps we are used to the bed being a standard double, but was still well equipped with TV etc. Booking in was busy but was done quickly and efficiently, with plenty of staff on reception,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank keithyb
MillHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Mill Hotel, responded to this review

Dear keithyb Thank you for writing a detailed review about your recent stay at The Mill Hotel & Spa. Thank you for highlighting so many positive elements of your stay. I am delighted you had such an enjoyable stay and we do look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards Emma

Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My partner and I stayed at the Mill for the weekend. We chose this particular hotel for a number of reasons - Tripadvisor reviews, price, location etc. I have to say that our choice turned out to be an excellent one as we had a thoroughly enjoyable experience, from booking in, eating in the restaurant (dinner on one night and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rayrids
MillHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Mill Hotel, responded to this review

Dear rayrids Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us at The Mill Hotel & Spa. We are delighted to know that you had an enjoyable stay and we were able to accommodate your needs. It is very rewarding to receive these comments as we strive to...

Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Excellent stay, such a lovely and clean hotel! All staff were great couldn't do enough for you! The pool was lovely and warm. Breakfast was lovely! Highly recommend and would return. Room was lovely overlooking the canal.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dolphinmexico1986
MillHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Mill Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Dolphinmexico1986 Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us at The Mill Hotel & Spa. We are delighted you have had such an excellent experience and thank you for recommending us to future travellers. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. Kind regards Emma

Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Had a fabulous weekend break in Chester staying at the Mill Hotel. Friendly staff, clean and comfortable rooms. We had a great evening meal on Friday night with light entertainment. Sadly, didn't get to have dinner on the boat so will be making a return visit in the future. The only downside was parking as the main car park was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David D
MillHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Mill Hotel, responded to this review

Dear David D Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us at The Mill Hotel & Spa. We are delighted you had a fabulous weekend break and that you will be returning to experience our Restaurant Cruiser. I would advise you to book in advance for our...

152 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (122)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (43)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
5.4 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#11 of 45 in Chester
1,531 reviews
1.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.2 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#3 of 45 in Chester
1,943 reviews
0.6 mi away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#18 of 45 in Chester
1,927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Breakfast included
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Mill Hotel & Spa Destination
Mill Hotel & Spa Destination
Cuisines: Bar, British
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about The Mill Hotel

Address: Milton Street, Chester CH1 3NF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Price Range: £84 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Mill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill Hotel Chester
The Mill Hotel Chester, Cheshire
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Mill Hotel staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from The Mill Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The rooms on the side of the hotel above the spa are the best”
 of 5 bubbles violets989, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The larger rooms overlooking the canal”
 of 5 bubbles missbeeManchester, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Book a club double across the canal, as it is quiet and the rooms are very spacious.”
 of 5 bubbles rayrids, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We had a Business Class Room which was more than enough for our needs and very nice too”
 of 5 bubbles Playedlynny, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“all rooms seem fine”
 of 5 bubbles Juls72_11, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5